Best Cheap Video Doorbells of 2022

Affordable doorbell cameras that cost $100 or less

Best Value
Ring
Model:
Ring Video Doorbell
Price:
$99.99
Slimmest Design
Remo+
Model:
RemoBell S
Price:
$99.00
Best Security System
Scout
Model:
Scout Doorbell Camera
Price:
$99.00
Best Storage Options
Amcrest
Model:
Amcrest Video Doorbell
Price:
$84.36
Mindy Woodall
Managing Editor, Home Security & Smart Home
Read More
November 01, 2021
8 min read

It seems like everyone has a video doorbell these days, but have you seen the price tag on some of those things? Whew. It’s enough to make you clutch your wallet in fear.

But don’t worry, you don’t have to shell out a fortune just to keep an eye on your porch. Cheap doorbell cameras are becoming increasingly common, and we’ve rounded up some of the best, most affordable options for you. Expect to spend around $100 or less.

Best cheap video doorbells comparison
Model
Price
Power type
Storage type
Learn more

Ring Video Doorbell

$99.99

Battery or hardwired

Cloud storage

RemoBell S

$84.95

Hardwired

Cloud storage

Scout Doorbell Camera

$99.00

Hardwired

Cloud storage

Amcrest Video Doorbell

$89.99

Hardwired

Cloud, NVR, or local storage

Toucan Video Doorbell

$29.99

Battery

Cloud storage

Kangaroo Video Doorbell

$24.99

Battery

Cloud storage

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST) Full disclaimer

Want more info about doorbell cameras?

What to look for in a cheap video doorbell

A cheap video doorbell should still have some basic features, such as clear video footage, video storage, and motion detection.

Features to look for in an inexpensive video doorbell:

  • Delivers HD video quality
  • Motion detection
  • Cloud storage
  • Easy installation

Any video doorbell should give you clear HD video, because what's the point of a video doorbell without clear picture?

Video doorbells are also expected to have motion detection to alert you of movement on your front porch. 

You're also going to need storage so you don't have to worry about deleting video files every week. Installation should be simple and easy, along with setting up the video doorbell's app.

Want more info about doorbell cameras?

Ring Video Doorbell: Best value

Ring’s basic doorbell cam has many of the same features as the advanced model
Ring Video Doorbell 2
Ring Video Doorbell
Pro Bullet Battery and hardwired power options
Pro Bullet Works with other Ring devices
Con Bullet Security concerns
One time purchase of
$99.99

Ring is probably the best-known name in the doorbell camera biz. It makes a bunch of different models at different price points. For the budget-minded, we recommend going for Ring’s base model: the Ring Video Doorbell.

What we like

The Ring Video Doorbell has most of the features you could get from a higher-priced Ring doorbell cam, but for only about $100.

Ring Video Doorbell 2 features
ModelRing Video Doorbell 2*
Price$99.99
Resolution1080p
Two-way audioYes
Night visionYes
Power typeBattery or hardwired
Field of view155º
Storage optionsCloud storage
Person detectionNo
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)
*Product not currently sold by the manufacturer on Amazon.com

You still get all the features you might expect, like two-way audio, night vision, and motion-activated alerts.

Ring also gives you the option to use a rechargeable battery to power the doorbell cam or to hardwire it directly into your existing doorbell connection. The battery option is great for renters or people who don’t have a doorbell.

What we don’t like

Ring has had some notorious issues with privacy and security.1,2 It’s not the only smart device manufacturer that’s gotten some heat for security concerns. But if you want a video doorbell with more reliable security features, we recommend the Eufy Video Doorbell.

Bulky design

Despite coming out with some new and improved features in recent years, Ring's lower-priced models aren't the sleekest doorbell cams we've ever seen. Ring's boxy devices aren't exactly low profile, and there are many slimmer options out there.

RemoBell S: Slimmest design

The RemoBell S is simple and reliable
RemoBell S
RemoBell S Doorbell
Pro Bullet Slim profile
Pro Bullet Works as standalone device
Con Bullet Too many motion alerts
One time purchase of
$84.95

The RemoBell S keeps things simple. It’s affordable, attractive, and uses your existing doorbell wiring (if you have it) to maintain a constant power source.

What we like

The RemoBell S is good for people who want a smart video doorbell and not much else. It works as a standalone device, and all you need is the Remo+ app to get push notifications, see footage, and talk to visitors.

RemoBell S features
ModelRemoBell S
Price$84.95
Resolution1536 x 1536
Two-way audioYes
Night visionYes
Power typeHardwired
Field of view180º
Storage optionsCloud storage
Person detectionNo
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)

The RemoBell S doesn’t have person detection, but it does offer a nice, wide 180º field of view so you can see your porch and the surrounding area.

What we don’t like

The RemoBell S has adjustable motion zones, but they’re pretty restrictive. You can select which areas you want the smart doorbell to watch in large blocks. Compare that to Ring, which lets you draw very specific activity zones to match your particular porch/yard configuration.

In our testing, we got a lot of useless motion alerts from the RemoBell S from cars driving down the street and people walking on the sidewalk. We had to restrict motion sensing to the smallest possible zone to control the influx of notifications, and it still wasn’t perfect.

Scout Doorbell Camera: Best security system option

The Scout Doorbell Camera works with the Scout home security system
Scout Doorbell Camera
Scout Doorbell Camera
Pro Bullet Works with Scout security system
Pro Bullet Offers smart home integrations
Con Bullet Monitoring costs extra
One time purchase of
$99.00

If you want a cheap doorbell camera that will integrate with a full (affordable) home security system, then the Scout Doorbell Camera is for you.

Scout is one of the cheaper home security systems on the market, and the Scout Doorbell Camera fits right in.

What we like

Scout is a good option for people who want to add other smart home devices to their system. Scout equipment works with Zigbee, Z-Wave, IFTTT, Amazon Alexa, and Google Assistant.

If you want smart lights, outlets, and locks along with your doorbell camera, then Scout will let you add them on.

Scout Doorbell Camera features
ModelScout Doorbell Camera
Price$99.00
Resolution1080p
Two-way audioYes
Night visionYes
Power typeHardwired
Field of view180º
Storage optionsCloud storage
Person detectionYes
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)

As for the cam itself, the Scout Doorbell Camera offers standard features like two-way audio and a wide field of view (180º). It also offers person detection, so you know when it’s a human being walking through your yard and not the neighbor’s cat.

What we don’t like

The Scout system as a whole is a bit finicky, and its other security camera (an indoor version) isn’t our favorite. If you want a security system, and you don’t mind spending a bit more on a doorbell camera, then we recommend SimpliSafe over Scout.

Monitoring costs extra

Because the Scout Doorbell Camera is part of the Scout security system, you have to sign on for Scout’s monitoring plan before you’ll have camera support. For Scout, the basic monitoring plan costs $9.99 per month.

Amcrest Video Doorbell: Best storage options

The Amcrest Video Doorbell gives you three different storage options at a low price
Amcrest Video Doorbell
Amcrest Video Doorbell
Pro Bullet Multiple storage options available
Pro Bullet HD resolution
Con Bullet Long lag times
One time purchase of
$89.99

If you want a doorbell camera that will let you use cloud storage, local storage, or even NVR storage, then the Amcrest Video Doorbell is for you. It costs only about $100, and it offers all three storage types in one little device.

What we like

The Amcrest Video Doorbell uses your existing doorbell wiring for power. Once it’s set up, it offers 1080p HD recording and a bunch of different storage options.

Amcrest Video Doorbell features
ModelAmcrest Video Doorbell
Price$89.99
Resolution1080p
Two-way audioYes
Night visionYes
Power typeHardwired
Field of view140º
Storage options"Local, NVR, or cloud storage"
Person detectionNo
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)

For local storage, the Amcrest Video Doorbell offers either storage through a microSD card inserted in the camera itself or through NVR (Network Video Recorder) storage.

The NVR storage is a great option if you have other Amcrest cameras and want to store the footage from all of them in a single, secure place. If you just want the video doorbell camera and nothing else, then a microSD card works best.

What we don’t like

The Amcrest has some glitches, like long lag times and connectivity issues. It also does not let you view footage remotely if you opt to record to a microSD card. Otherwise, you’re going to need a cloud storage plan to see your doorbell cam’s video on your phone.

Toucan Video Doorbell

The Toucan Video Doorbell is battery-powered with a built-in siren
Toucan Video Doorbell with wireless chime
Toucan Video Doorbell
Pro Bullet Comes with accessory chime
Pro Bullet Built-in siren and in-app 9-1-1 calling
Con Bullet Some bug issues
One time purchase of
$29.99

The Toucan Video Doorbell packs in quite a few features for such an affordable price. It has a built-in siren, 9-1-1 calling, and a super-wide 180º field of view. It’s also battery-powered, so you can put it up anywhere, even if you don’t already have a doorbell.

What we like

The Toucan gives you a battery-powered doorbell camera with a wide field of view and standard features like two-way audio and night vision. It comes with a small digital chime that goes in your house to alert you when someone's at the door.

Toucan Video Doorbell features
ModelToucan Video Doorbell
Price$29.99
Resolution1504 x 1504
Two-way audioYes
Night visionYes
Power typeBattery
Field of view180º
Storage optionsCloud storage
Person detectionNo
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)

We love features like the Toucan’s built-in siren. If you get an alert and see someone doing nefarious things on your porch (stealing packages, picking flowers, whatever your neighborhood problem is), then you can set off the siren and scare them off.

We also like that Toucan includes a 9-1-1 call feature in its app. And that the accessory chime is battery-powered. (Most accessory chimes have to be plugged into a wall outlet.)

What we don’t like

The Toucan suffers from some general glitchiness. Its motion alerts tend to have long lag times when you pull up the app, and it only records events if you don’t open the motion alert and talk to the person on your porch. If you do, then it won’t actually record anything. Not ideal for a security camera.

We also don’t like that you have to take the entire doorbell off the wall when it’s time to recharge the battery. Some battery-powered models, like Ring, let you remove the battery to charge separately.

Kangaroo Video Doorbell

The Kangaroo Video Doorbell is extremely cheap, but the quality shows it
Kangaroo Video Doorbell
Kangaroo Video Doorbell
Pro Bullet Extremely cheap
Pro Bullet Battery-powered cam works well for renters
Con Bullet Low-quality performance
One time purchase of
$24.99

The Kangaroo Video Doorbell is as cheap as a doorbell camera gets. It costs only about $20. That said, it’s definitely not our favorite model. But if you want something on your porch and you don’t want to break out a Grant or two, then the Kangaroo will suffice.

What we like

The best selling point for the Kangaroo Video Doorbell is the price. It’s a remarkably cheap camera. It’s also good for renters who can’t install a doorbell camera using their existing wiring. The Kangaroo Video Doorbell is battery-powered.

Kangaroo Video Doorbell features
ModelPrice
Kangaroo Video Doorbell$24.99
Resolution480p
Two-way audioNo
Night visionYes
Power typeBattery
Field of view60º
Storage optionsCloud storage
Person detectionNo
Learn more

Amazon.com List Prices (as of 10/28/21 8:15 MST)

The Kangaroo doesn’t offer any free cloud storage, but you can sign up for a plan if you want to be able to review clips from the camera later.

What we don’t like

The Kangaroo Video Doorbell doesn’t so much take recordings as it does snapshots. Instead of recording an entire video clip, the Kangaroo takes several still photos and stitches them together into a gif.

The quality also isn’t great. The Kangaroo records in 480p resolution. That’s DVD-quality definition.

Recap: Which cheap video doorbell is best?

Expect to pay around $100 for a good cheap doorbell camera

You don’t have to spend a lot of money on a doorbell camera. There are some quality cheap video doorbells on the market that still offer enough features for porch protection.

  • Ring Video Doorbell: Best value—Ring is the best-known name among video doorbells, and the Ring Video Doorbell is Ring’s affordable older model. You still get customizable activity zones and HD recording.
  • RemoBell S: Slimmest design—The RemoBell S is a simple cam that works as a standalone device. It uses your existing doorbell wiring for power. The motion zones are not easily adjustable.
  • Scout Doorbell Camera: Best security system option—The Scout Doorbell Camera works with the full Scout home security system. The whole system is pretty affordable, and it supports home automation.
  • Amcrest Video Doorbell: Best storage options—If you want local storage options, then the Amcrest Video Doorbell offers both microSD card and NVR storage. You can also opt for cloud storage if you like.
  • Toucan Video Doorbell—The Toucan Video Doorbell is battery-powered and comes with an accessory chime. It has some bugs, but it offers some unique features like a built-in siren.
  • Kangaroo Video Doorbell—The Kangaroo Video Doorbell is the cheapest option on our list at only $20. It’s a much lower quality product, which is why it costs so little. But if you just want something, then this might work.

Want to see more doorbell camera options? Check out our Best Video Doorbells review for the best models on the market.

Methodology

We research, personally test, and compare inexpensive video doorbells based on these four categories:

  1. Price
  2. Video quality
  3. Basic features
  4. Ease of installation

Price is, of course, a big deal when it comes to inexpensive video doorbells. The video doorbells we have chosen range from $30–$100.

We tested the video doorbells ourselves so we could let you know how we liked the video quality, basic features, and the installation process. We did the hard work for you so you could find the best doorbell for your home.

FAQs

Are video doorbells worth it?

Video doorbells are worth it if you'd like more security for your home. 

A video doorbell will film whenever someone knocks at your door, drops off a package, or tries to do any suspicious business. You'll be able to see their faces on clear HD video.

What is the best, cheap video doorbell that works with Alexa?

Our favorite video doorbell that works with Amazon Alexa is the Scout Doorbell Camera

For $99, your Scout outdoor video doorbell will film in 1080p resolution, and it has infrared-vision and two-way audio.

Scout equipment not only connects with Amazon Alexa, but also with Zigbee, Z-Wave, and IFTTT.

Sources

  1. Adam Clark Estes, Gizmodo, “Don’t Buy Anyone a Ring Doorbell,” April 2020. Accessed August 3, 2020.
  2. Jay Stanley, ACLU, “Should You Buy a Ring Doorbell Camera?” September 2019. Accessed August 3, 2020.

Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon.com. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Reviews.org utilizes paid Amazon links.

Mindy Woodall
Written by
Mindy Woodall
Mindy has been writing about technology for seven years. She covers all things smart home for Reviews.org, and keeps track of the latest robot gadgets. Mindy attended the University of Utah and her work has been featured on the likes of Parents.com, Digital Care, Hostfully, and more.

Related Articles

Best Home Security Systems of 2022
Whether you want a simple alarm system or a full smart home ensemble, cameras and...
Military member on smartphone
Best Cheap Cell Phone Plans of 2022
Here's the cheapest unlimited data plans. Find the best options for unlimited data, family plans,...
Best 4k TV services
The Best 4K TVs of 2022
After sifting through the most popular 4K TVs on the market, we narrowed it down...
Man and woman sitting in car with tablet
Best Streaming Devices for Life on the Road
We found five inexpensive devices that perform well, have a fair amount of storage, and...