Xfinity Mobile Review 2021

Xfinity Mobile offers affordable 5G cell phone plans, millions of hotspots, and best-in-class customer service. The only catch is you must already have Xfinity home internet.

Xfinity Mobile
4 out of 5 stars
4
  • Check
    Cheap, flexible data plans with free 5G
  • X
    Only available to current Xfinity customers
Easton Smith
Mobile, TV, & Moving Expert
Read More
Published on November 16, 2021
9 min read
Pros
  • Cheap, flexible data plans with free 5G
  • Runs on Verizon's powerful network
  • Extends network with 18 million Wi-Fi hotspots
  • Best-in-class customer service
Cons
  • Only for current Xfinity internet customers
  • 4G LTE data caps, throttling, and slowdowns
Xfinity Holiday Deals
Deals

Slip some Visa prepaid cards into your cart for more holiday savings from Comcast Xfinity.

  • Northeastern US: Get a $100 Visa prepaid card with Performance Pro, Blast!, and Gigabit plans—or pair your Blast! or Gigabit plan with Xfinity Mobile to save $30 a month.*
  • Central US: Save $30/mo. with the Superfast internet plan + Xfinity Mobile.**
  • Western US: Save $10/mo. on the Connect plan or $30/mo. on the Fast plan with Xfinity Mobile, plus get a $100 Visa prepaid card with your order.

Ready? See the Xfinity internet plus mobile deals in your area.

Save on Xfinity Mobile + Internet

Data effective 11/22/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*Offer ends 12/06/2021. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Blast!® Internet or Gigabit. Offer requires enrollment in both automatic payments and paperless billing. Must enroll within 30 days of placing the order. Cards issued by MetaBank®, Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa® U.S.A. Inc. Cards will not have cash access and can be used everywhere Visa debit cards are accepted.
**Offer ends 01/10/2022. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Superfast. Paperless Billing and Automatic Payments with bank account required, otherwise monthly service charge automatically increases by $10 (or $5 if enrolling with credit or debit card information). Discount will appear on statement within 45 days of enrollment. 1-year minimum term contract required.
†Offer ends 01/10/2022. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Connect. Paperless Billing and Automatic Payments required. Discount will appear on statement within 45 days of enrollment. 1-year minimum term contract required. Cards issued by MetaBank®, Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa® U.S.A. Inc. Cards will not have cash access and can be used everywhere Visa debit cards are accepted.

You might know Xfinity from Comcast for its internet, television, and home security services. Now, meet Xfinity Mobile.

Xfinity Mobile offers solid and cheap cell phone plans for those already in the Xfinity ecosystem. The downside to Xfinity Mobile is that you have to endure data throttling, slowdowns, and poor video streaming quality (unless you have a 5G device).

The first thing you should know about Xfinity Mobile is that its mobile services are available only to people who’ve already signed up for Comcast-Xfinity residential internet. (If that’s a deal-breaker for you, check out these other individual and family plans that compare in quality and affordability.)

Here's what else you need to know about Xfinity Mobile right up front:

  • Plans: Xfinity Mobile offers two types of plans: Unlimited and By the Gig. Unlimited is cheap but does come with data restrictions. By the Gig is perfect for those who don’t need much data.
  • 5G: Xfinity Mobile offers 5G on all data plans at no extra cost—you just need a 5G device.
  • Data speeds: Expect 4G LTE download speeds of 5–12 Mbps and upload speeds of 2–5 Mbps. With a 5G device and access to a 5G network, expect download speeds around 450 Mbps and upload speeds around 50 Mbps.
  • Hotspots: Xfinity Mobile has millions of hotspots operating at 3G speeds.
  • Network: Xfinity Mobile uses Verizon's network, which offers the best coverage in the country.
  • Customer service: Xfinity Mobile has the best customer service rating among full-service MVNOs.
  • Phones and devices: Xfinity Mobile offers deals on the latest flagship smartphones and rewards for bringing your own device.

Let's get down to brass tacks.

The best Xfinity Mobile cell phone deals right now
Deals

Xfinity Mobile has three great deals going on right now for new customers. (Remember, Xfinity Mobile is available only to existing Xfinity home internet subscribers.)

New customers can get a free Samsung Galaxy A42 5G smartphone or $100 off any Motorola phone. To qualify for these deals, customer need to purchase one of these phones and transfer their number within 30 days. Credits will be applied to the device payment plan over a period of 24 months. These smartphone deals from Xfinity Mobile end November 21, 2021.

For new customers who already love the phone they have, they can receive a $200 prepaid card when they switch to Xfinity Mobile and bring their own phone or device (BYOD). This BYOD offer from Xfinity Mobile ends November 17, 2021.

Find these and other Xfinity Mobile deals and offers here.

Xfinity Mobile cell phone plans

Xfinity Mobile offers 5G on all unlimited and By the Gig plans

All Xfinity Mobile plans come with free unlimited talk and text. You just pay for the data in one of two ways: either By the Gig or Unlimited. Within the By the Gig plan category, there are 1 GB, 3 GB, and 10 GB plans.

All data options now include 5G data at no extra cost, just as long as you have a 5G device and live in an area with a 5G network.

Compare Xfinity Mobile cell phone plans

Figuring out which of these two plan types—unlimited or By the Gig—is right for you may take a bit of math. But don’t worry, we’ve got the cheat sheet. It boils down to this:

If you think you will use more than 3 GB of data per month, then the unlimited plan becomes cheaper than paying by the gig.

But let's talk about each plan type in detail.

Xfinity Mobile unlimited data plan

At $45 a month for one line, Xfinity’s unlimited data plan costs less than most of the top-rated unlimited plans out there. It’s a full $15 cheaper than T-Mobile’s cheapest unlimited plans and $20 cheaper than AT&T’s. That sounds pretty good.

What do you have to give up to get a price that good? In some cases, speed.

Data speeds

Here's what you need to know about Xfinity Mobile's unlimited plan and data speeds.

4G LTE data speeds are throttled, capped, and deprioritized. For LTE data, you’ll get download speeds of 5–12 Mbps and upload speeds of 2–5 Mbps. However, just like with Xfinity internet, once you hit their soft data cap (in this case, 20 GB), you’ll get deprioritized, meaning your speeds will get slashed to almost nothing (1.5 Mbps download and 750 Kbps upload).

5G is much faster. For 5G data (where available), Xfinity Mobile says you can expect download speeds around 450 Mbps and upload speeds around 50 Mbps. The only limitations are your device (must be 5G-capable) and your location (must have 5G infrastructure in place).

Mobile hotspots use 3G speeds. Xfinity’s throttling also extends to mobile hotspots, which are capped at 600 Kbps. That's 3G-level slow, which is fine for basic websites and email, but don’t expect to stream much of anything at that speed.

Video streaming resolution starts at 480p for non-5G devices

Video streaming on the unlimited plan depends on the network (4G LTE vs. 5G) and whether your device is 5G. As this table shows, the default streaming resolution is 480p, which is just standard definition (SD), for non-5G devices on either network.

Default video resolution by network and device type — Unlimited Data Option
Network
Non-5G devices
5G devices

4G LTE

480p

720p

5G

480p

4K

5G devices on the 5G network get the most love, but if you don't have a 5G-capable device, you can still buy HD streaming for any line. That'll get you 720p resolution for smartphones and 1080p for tablets.

Xfinity Mobile international coverage
Pin

Xfinity offers international roaming service in over 200 countries. Check the international rates online for the country you are traveling to.

Xfinity Mobile By the Gig plan

This plan is like the bulk section of the grocery store: instead of buying pre-packaged data, you buy it raw, by the gig.

This plan is ideal if you use data only once in a while to send a picture to your kids or reply to an email. You could pay as little as $15 a month and still get unlimited calls and texts.

By the Gig plans really pay off if you’re strategic about your data usage. With free access to Xfinity’s 18 million hotspots, you’ll often be able to use the internet through Wi-Fi rather than 4G, especially if you’re in an urban area.

Better default video streaming resolution

One advantage the By the Gig plans have over the unlimited option is the default video streaming quality.

Default video resolution by network and device type — By the Gig Option
Network
Non-5G devices
5G devices
Tablets

3G Ev-DO

720p

720p

1080p

4G LTE

720p

720p

1080p

5G

720p

4K

1080p

As this table shows, the lowest quality stream on the By the Gig option is 720p, even if you're only on the 3G network. That's HD, and it looks a lot better than the 480p you'll get with the unlimited option.

Of course, if you want to save on data usage (because you are, after all, paying for it by the gig), you can elect to stream at 480p.

Interested in prepaid plans?
Money
If you’re interested in the flexibility of the By the Gig plan, but Xfinity is not right for you, check out our list of the best prepaid cell phone plans.

Xfinity Mobile vs. the competition

As we've said, Xfinity Mobile's plans are cheap but not the cheapest.

Here's a quick look at how the company's plans compare to similar offerings from other carriers.

Xfinity Mobile cell phone plans vs. other carriers 

As you can see, Xfinity Mobile is right in the middle of the pack—there are a few other MVNOs offering cheaper unlimited plans, but Xfinity is still cheaper than the Big Three.

Xfinity Mobile is best for existing Xfinity home internet customers

As we've mentioned, Xfinity Mobile's cheap cell phone service is available only to those who have Xfinity internet already.

The downside is that Xfinity doesn't appear to have bundling deals to entice new customers. In other words, you can't get a discount for signing up for both Comcast cable TV and Xfinity Mobile.

Even so, existing Xfinity home internet customers who want to cut their cell phone bills should definitely look into switching to Xfinity Mobile.

Xfinity cell phones and devices

Xfinity Mobile carries all the flagship smartphones, devices, and even wearables

Need a better camera to up your Insta game? Xfinity Mobile has deals and payment plans for the newest Apple, Samsung, and Google devices.

Here's a look a some of Xfinity's most popular phones.

Xfinity Mobile's most popular phones

Xfinity Mobile has some great deals on new smartphones, especially if you're in the market for a new 5G device.

And if you're looking to switch but want to keep the phone you already have, now is a great time to do it. Through June 7, 2021, Xfinity Mobile is offering a $25 prepaid gift card when you sign up for the unlimited 5G plan and bring your own device.

Check out Xfinity Mobile's current deals here for the details.

Xfinity Mobile coverage

Xfinity Mobile offers great coverage via Verizon’s network

Xfinity Mobile is a mobile virtual network operator (or MVNO). That means Xfinity uses one of the Big Three networks—in this case, Xfinity uses Verizon’s cell towers. That’s good news for Xfinity customers because Verizon's network tops our list for best mobile coverage. Check out this coverage map to see for yourself.

Xfinity Mobile customers may actually be marginally more satisfied with their coverage than Verizon customers. Xfinity has a large number of Wi-Fi hotspots—millions, in fact—that bolster its network.

Our own research shows that Verizon is the second fastest network in the country. Just remember that Xfinity Mobile's unlimited plan caps your 4G LTE download speed at 5–12 Mbps and upload speed at 2–5 Mbps. To get the most out of the Verizon network, you may want to consider a 5G device.

An infographic ranking wireless networks by speed: #1 T-Mobile, #2 Verizon, #3 AT&T, Sprint unranked because it was acquired by T-Mobile in 2020

If you've ever wondered why a cell plan with an MVNO is cheaper than going with one of the Big Three, it has a lot to do with the data speeds you see here. To get access to the max download speeds a network has to offer usually means ponying up for an unlimited plan from Verizon, AT&T, or T-Mobile.

Xfinity Mobile customer service

Xfinity Mobile provides best-in-class customer service

Mobile is a relatively new service from Xfinity, so there wasn't much data out there regarding their customer service until recently. But according to the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) Wireless Service and Cellular Telephone Report for 2019–2020, Xfinity Mobile debuted at the top of the list for full-service MVNOs.

Here's what the ACSI report has to say about Xfinity Mobile:

In its ACSI debut, Comcast’s Xfinity Mobile comes in a winner—topping the full-service MVNO category with a customer satisfaction score of 79. Moreover, Xfinity Mobile ranks second across all three wireless categories—behind only Consumer Cellular (83). … Across all wireless services, Xfinity Mobile is best in class for the quality of its app.

That's a pretty glowing review for Xfinity Mobile's customer service and its app.

Recap: Is Xfinity Mobile good?

There’s just one adjective to describe Xfinity Mobile service: unique. Because of its bundle-only model, plan structure, and rock-bottom prices, it really is like no other mobile carrier. Here's a quick rundown of what we found in our review of Xfinity Mobile.

  • Plans: There are only two types of plans: Unlimited and By the Gig. Unlimited is cheap compared to other carriers, but comes with more restrictions than we’d like. By the Gig, though, is great for people who don’t need much data.
  • Performance: Verizon's network ensures that Xfinity Mobile's coverage is on par with the best of the best. Keep in mind Xfinity throttles its 4G LTE data and video streams.
  • Customer service: Xfinity Mobile offers the best customer service and a best-in-class app for full-service MVNOs.
  • Overall: A solid, cheap plan for those already in the Xfinity universe, though you have to deal with data throttling, slowdowns, and poor video streaming quality (unless you have a 5G device).

If you're reading to plunge deeper into the Comcast universe with Xfinity Mobile, you can sign up easily online.

Frequently asked questions about Xfinity Mobile

Still have questions about Xfinity Mobile that we didn't cover above? We've got you covered.

Q: Does Xfinity Mobile have an app?

Yes. You can download it from the Apple and Google app stores, as well as from Xfinity here.

Q: Does Xfinity Mobile charge an activation fee?

Xfinity Mobile doesn’t charge an activation fee, assuming you’re already an internet customer (otherwise, signing up for Xfinity internet is the activation fee). Compared to leading carriers like T-Mobile and AT&T, this is a great perk for returning Xfinity customers.

Q: Should I get a warranty or insurance for my Xfinity Mobile phone?

If you’ve got butterfingers, then you’ll be happy to know that Xfinity Mobile phones come with a 12-month manufacturer warranty.

They’ve also teamed up with Assurant to offer Xfinity Mobile Protection Plan, which has no-fee early upgrades, accidental damage protection, lost or stolen coverage, and personal TechPro help.

Q: Does Xfinity Mobile let you bring your own phone?

Yes! Just make sure to check availability for your phone model.

Q: Can I keep my phone number when I switch to Xfinity Mobile?

Yes! And if you want a new number, you can do that too.

Q: What’s Xfinity Mobile’s return policy and early termination fee?

Xfinity Mobile’s customer agreement states that you can cancel service anytime without a fee. Plus, the return policy gives you 14 days to return devices from the date of shipping.

Q: Does Xfinity Mobile have a military discount?

No, but if you are signed up for other Xfinity services, you may be eligible for a gift card.

Q: Does Xfinity Mobile have a student discount?

Methodology and sources

When we looked at Xfinity Mobile's cell plans, we compared them to similar plans from the Big Three networks and other MVNOs. We use the WhistleOut online comparison tool and combine it with our own independent research and information provided by the carriers themselves. Sources are listed below.

For network coverage information, we use WhistleOut coverage maps, which are sourced from the carriers and other third-party sources.

For data speed comparisons, we rely on our proprietary information and research into the subject, which is based on hundreds of thousands of unique wireless internet speed tests submitted to Reviews.org and related sites.

Customer satisfaction ratings are based primarily on reports from the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI). We use the latest reports available but also consider historical performance in past reports. We also include information from forums and other online rating sources when appropriate.

If you want to know more about how we work, check out our complete methodology.

Sources

Easton Smith
Written by
Easton Smith
Easton has worked as a freelance writer and researcher for several years, reviewing health, lifestyle, and technology products. He has probably read more Terms of Use contracts than any human alive. When he’s not sitting in front of a computer, Easton spends his time camping, climbing, and volunteering with humanitarian aid organizations.

Related Articles

Ring Alarm base station in home
Ring Alarm Security System Review 2021
You might know the Ring Video Doorbell, but have you heard about Ring's new security...
Woman using a laptop for a conference call discussing the best internet service providers
8 Best Internet Service Providers 2021
Looking for the best home internet options? Read on to compare download speed, price, and...
Hulu video thumbnail
Hulu Review
You've heard of Hulu, but is it the right streaming service for you? We go...
Photograph of iPhone 13 in store
Best Cell Phone Plans of 2021
Researching top cell phone plans can be tough. Read our in-depth reviews to compare the...
  • theohall

    Well, until they fix the ability to send photos via MMS while on wifi, this service doesn’t even deserve one star. Starting in mid-January, my wife has been unable to send photos via MMS while connected to wifi. When talking to customer service, their answer is you “can’t send photos via MMS while connected to wifi and most use your cellular data”. This answer is BS since my phone, using the same service has no problems sending photos via MMS while connected to wifi. Turns out – folks with Android 9.0 (like my wife) or later or the newer Iphones have this issue and ONLY with Xfinity mobile. Change providers and this issue vanishes. This looks like nothing more than a scam to force Xfinity mobile subscribers to use data in efforts to force them to buy bigger plans. Considering the customer service lady specifically mentioned my wife considering an unlimited plan, even though she used .04 GB of her 1 GB plan. I’d stay away from this until they prove it’s not some scam by actually fixing it.

  • Melissa

    Xfinity partnering with Assurant is ridiculous. I am 5 days in still waiting for them to communicate with Xfinity on my plan to replace my device. It will be a week before I get a response on if they will replace my phone or not. I have NEVER experienced anything like this. It is beyond frustrating, this alone has me thinking of leaving and going to a different provider. My advice dont join xfinity mobile.

  • Josh Bailey

    I don’t understand all the bad reviews! I have had an iPhone 11 with Xfinity for months now and I am extremely happy! I have had great customer service experiences! Great coverage no dropped calls download speeds from 17mps to 29mps! I will never go back to Att! I am extremely happy with them but everyone has different experiences I guess! I highly recommend them and have to several friends and family members that are just as happy as I am!

  • GloriaJean

    You should all pray you never have to transfer any lines from one xfinity account to another. It is a total nightmare. I started the process of transferring 2 lines from my son-in-law’s account to my account on Sept. 10. It is now October 13 and it still has not happened. I have spent approximately 15 hours on phone calls and chats over this period of time. You always get someone very nice on the phone, but at this point it is apparent that their whole system for completing this process needs an overhaul. I was told they needed to text a pin number to one of the lines being transferred but it would not go through. Strange, because I can text to both numbers and do it often. Why could they not do it? Why did nobody contact me to let me know this was holding up the process? I just found out yesterday on my 4 hours of phone calls! I am told it will be done today. This is at least the 3rd or 4th time I was told it will be done. We’ll see, but I am not holding my breath!