The Fastest Internet Providers

We looked at speed test data and found the five fastest ISPs, with Google Fiber leading the pack.

Fastest internet provider
Google Fiber
Google Fiber
  • Icon Blank
    Price: Starts at $70.00/mo.
  • Icon Blank
    Overall speed score: 201.10
  • Icon Blank
    Fastest advertised speed: 8,000Mbps
  • pro
    Symmetrical internet speeds
  • con
    Limited availability
Metro Net
MetroNet
  • Icon Blank
    Price: Starts at $29.95/mo.
  • Icon Blank
    Overall speed score: 174.21
  • Icon Blank
    Fastest advertised speed: 1,000Mbps
  • pro
    Symmetrical internet speeds
  • con
    Price hike after promotional period
Xfinity
Xfinity Internet
  • Icon Blank
    Price: Starts at $19.99/mo.
  • Icon Blank
    Overall speed score: 166.05
  • Icon Blank
    Fastest advertised speed: 2,000Mbps
  • pro
    Nationwide availability
  • con
    Slower plans
Verizon
Verizon Fios Home Internet
  • Icon Blank
    Price: Starts at $49.99/mo.
  • Icon Blank
    Overall speed score: 154.78
  • Icon Blank
    Fastest advertised speed: 2,300Mbps
  • pro
    Phone bundles available
  • con
    Limited availability
Optimum
Optimum Internet
  • Icon Blank
    Price: Starts at $30.00/mo.
  • Icon Blank
    Overall speed score: 153.54
  • Icon Blank
    Fastest advertised speed: 8,000Mbps
  • pro
    Phone bundles available
  • con
    Price hike after a year
Brianne Sandorf
Jan 16, 2024
Icon Time To Read8 min read

Google Fiber gets the fastest internet speeds in the United States. According to Reviews.org’s speed test data, the fiber provider delivers impressive average download speeds of 204.04Mbps while offering plans with max speeds of 8Gbps.

Metronet, Xfinity, Verizon, and Optimum come in behind Google Fiber, rounding out the top five fastest internet providers.

When customers pick a fast internet plan, it’s common to look at the advertised speeds. But what about the actual speeds, as shown on a speed test? In this report, Reviews.org looks at a year’s worth of data from our speed test to see how fast internet providers really are. Read on for our findings.

reviews.org next zip logo
See how your internet speeds stack up against other providers available in your area.

The fastest internet providers in the United States

Provider
Overall speed score (OSS)
Avg. download speeds
Advertised speeds
Prices
Learn more
Google Fiber201.10204.05Mbps1000-8000Mbps$70-$150*
MetroNet174.21185.96Mbps100-1000Mbps$29.95-$69.9
Xfinity Internet166.05182.50Mbps75-2000Mbps$19.99-$120
Verizon Fios Home Internet154.78163.00300-2300Mbps$49.99-$89.99^
Optimum Internet153.54166.15Mbps300-8000Mbps$30-$265°
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* Plus taxes and fees. Upload/download speed and device streaming claims are based on maximum wired speeds. Actual Internet speeds are not guaranteed and may vary based on factors such as hardware and software limitations, latency, packet loss, etc.
Offers available to new residential customers only and may not be combined with other offers. MetroNet reserves the right to revoke or modify offers at any time. Taxes, fees, and other terms apply.
Pricing for some packages are for the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.
^ Price per month with Auto Pay & without select 5G mobile plans. Fios plan prices include taxes & fees
° Prices w/Auto Pay & Paperless Bill. Terms apply. Not available in all areas.

Not surprisingly, most of these providers offer fiber internet service. Fiber networks facilitate quick upload speeds, not just quick download speeds, which helps bring up a provider’s overall speed score.

It’s a little surprising that Xfinity not only made the list but ranked above some fiber options. Xfinity isn’t a fiber provider, but it’s one of the only internet services you see almost everywhere in the US. This breadth of experience has likely helped Xfinity perfect the speeds of its cable network.

How we determine the fastest internet providers

To determine the fastest internet providers, we looked at results from 58,740 tests conducted on the Reviews.org speed test between December 1, 2022 and December 1, 2023.

What is the overall speed score (OSS)?

The overall speed score is Reviews.org’s way of calculating the fastest speeds for internet providers. To determine the score, we combined 90% of a provider’s average download speed with 10% of its average upload speed. We then arranged the results from fastest to slowest, and Google Fiber came out on top. View our Methodology section to learn more.

How did Reviews.org write this report?
Info Box

We write our reviews and other features using original research and proprietary data. We may make money when readers click our links, but our brand partners don’t read our pieces or pre-approve them before they are published.

Take a look at our About Us page for more information on Reviews.org.

How fast should your internet be?

You need internet speeds of at least 100Mbps to comfortably handle most tasks.

A lot of internet providers offer super speedy plans. This article includes internet plans that reach the hyper-quick download and upload speeds of 8,000Mbps. That’s a lot—in fact, it’s faster than what most internet users need.

Typically, a plan with 1,000Mbps download speeds or faster is only necessary if you're a content creator, if you use a comically large number of connected devices, or if you share your Wi-Fi with a very large number of people—think 10 or more.

A 400–500Mbps download speed is plenty for an average household to stream, game, install security cameras, and use other connected devices.

On the other hand, it’s common to get internet speeds that don’t reach the maximum bandwidth advertised by your internet provider (more on that below). So it might not hurt to sign up for a faster internet speed if you really need a reliable connection.

Advertised speeds versus actual speeds

You might wonder how we picked our fastest ISPs, especially since there are other providers out there with faster advertised speeds.

For reference, here are the advertised speeds of our top picks for this piece.

Internet provider advertised speeds
Provider
Download speed range
Upload speed range
Google Fiber1000-8000 Mbps1000-8000 Mbps
MetroNet100-1000 Mbps100-1000 Mbps
Xfinity Internet200-1200 Mbps10-35 Mbps
Verizon Fios Home Internet300-2300 Mbps10-2300 Mbps
Optimum Internet300-8000 Mbps20-8000 Mbps
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

And below are the actual speeds (as detected by our speed test).

Internet provider actual tested speeds
Provider
Average download speeds
Average upload speeds
Overall speed score*
Google Fiber204.04Mbps174.65Mbps201.10
Metronet185.95Mbps68.52Mbps174.21
Xfinity182.50Mbps18.00Mbps166.05
Verizon163.09Mbps79.95Mbps154.78
Optimum166.14Mbps40.12Mbps153.54

*Calculated by combining 90% of the download average with 10% of the upload average.

*Redb disclaimers.

Why are the actual speeds so much slower than the advertised speeds? Are internet providers dishonest? No, not really. The true explanation is a little more complicated.

Internet providers advertise the speeds that their networks are capable of, but there is no guarantee you can reach those speeds. Often, the speeds you get fall short of the maximum possible bandwidth due to a range of factors that can impact how fast your internet actually is:

  • Equipment: Your router may have trouble delivering the bandwidth your provider is capable of. Also, your phone or computer may have a limit on the speeds it can access.
  • Wi-Fi: You likely experience slower speeds through your router’s Wi-Fi connection compared to a wired Ethernet connection.
  • Peak hours: You may sometimes experience a routine slowdown as other internet users living in your neighborhood use the same service as yours. This used to be widely common on cable internet and is likely common now on 5G home internet.
  • Network overload: You could have too many devices signed onto your Wi-Fi at the same time.
  • Weather: Wind, rain, and snow have an especially bad effect on wireless connections, like fixed wireless and 5G home internet.

You don’t need to worry if your tested internet speeds run slower than your max speeds—that’s a common occurrence across all internet connections. Still, if your service consistently gets speeds lower than what you pay for, consider moving to a provider that meets the minimum speeds they promise.

Learn more about internet speed
Heads Up

If you want more information about speedy services, be sure to read How Much Internet Speed Do I Need? and Fastest Wireless Connections.

#1: Google Fiber

Google Fiber
Google Fiber
pro Fiber network
pro Symmetrical internet speeds
pro No extra fees
Overall speed score:
201.10
Download Speed Max
8000 Mbps
Average download speed:
204.05Mbps
Starts at
$70
/mo
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Tech enthusiasts act as if Google Fiber is all that and a bag of chips, and it kinda is. With a 201.10 speed score, Google Fiber delivers the fastest tested speeds of all the providers we tested.

Our speed test results for Google Fiber don’t show anyone reaching 8,000Mbps, the max Google Fiber offers. Even though the provider specializes in gigabit plans, most Google Fiber customers who used our speed test got much lower average speeds—suggesting that many of them still are on slower plans that were available before Google Fiber went full gigabit.

It’s possible that no one with an 8,000Mbps plan has used our speed test. The 8Gbps plan has been around for less than a year, and the high price makes it an impractical pick for many. Indeed, very few households need even a gig for their home internet, let alone eight of them.

Either way, the max test result in our database is a 1,851.742Mbps download speed from a Google Fiber user in Austin, Texas. Impressive.

Google Fiber service details

Google Fiber is not only fast, but it also uniquely offers gigabit and multi-gig plans only. Plans start at $70 a month for 1,000Mbps and go up to $150 for 8,000. You can get solid internet for slower speeds than that from other providers, but if you want 1,000Mbps, then $70 is a reasonable price.

There are also some nifty perks with Google Fiber’s internet service, like no data caps, no contracts, and no installation or equipment fees. Every Google Fiber plan also includes symmetrical internet so you can smoothly download and upload content.

The biggest drawback to Google Fiber is its lack of availability. You can find the service mainly in tech industry-heavy areas like Seattle, the Bay Area, North Carolina's Triangle, and Silicon Slopes in northern Utah (home of Reviews.org).

#2: Metronet

Metro Net
MetroNet
pro Fiber network
pro Symmetrical internet speeds
pro Lower-tier speed options
Overall speed score:
174.21
Download Speed Max
1000 Mbps
Average download speed:
185.96Mbps
Starts at
$29.95
/mo
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Metronet is the second-fastest provider on our list. It has a 174.21 speed score due to its surprisingly high speed test results.

Our database shows about 22% of Metronet scores are in the 300–900Mbps download range, with an overall speed score of 174.21. For a provider whose fastest plan tops out at 1,000Mbps, that’s excellent. We do want to note, though, that it’s possible many of those users have business internet plans through Metronet, which deliver faster speeds.

Metronet service details

This Indiana-based provider is not as well known as some of its competitors, but it’s a surprisingly good fiber service for not that much money.

Mostly available in the Midwest, South, and East Coast, Metronet relies on a FTTH (fiber to the home) network that gives customers a direct fiber-optic connection without any coaxial cable or DSL copper wiring making up the “last mile.” Like Google Fiber, the service delivers symmetrical speeds and has no data limits, though some service fees apply.

If you want to get on the Metronet train but don't need gigabit speeds, you can also look at the 100Mbps and 500Mbps plans. Then, if you want to upgrade in the future, you can sign up for a higher-tier option.

#3: Xfinity

Xfinity
Xfinity Internet
pro Nationwide availability
pro Cable and fiber network
pro Lower prices
Overall speed score:
166.05
Download Speed Max
2000 Mbps
Average download speed:
182.50Mbps
Starts at
$19.99
/mo
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Xfinity comes in third with a 166.05 speed score. It’s one of the most widely available high-speed internet options in the country, accessible in 41 states to more than 120 million Wi-Fi users.

We have a lot of test results for the service—in fact, more than half of our results for the past year were from Xfinity customers. Many of those download results fall in the range of 300Mbps to 900Mbps, but, as with all internet providers, the overall average download speed is still much lower, at just 164.2Mbps. Still, Xfinity’s keen speeds earn its spot on our list.

Xfinity service details

Xfinity is much more widely available nationwide than Google Fiber and Metronet. Also, while Google Fiber and Metronet offer fiber plans, Xfinity specializes in cable internet, which is usually slower but only because it can’t deliver symmetrical upload speeds. The cable network may be one reason Xfinity plans run cheaper than its competitors: its  gigabit service is about $5 less than most other 1,000Mbps plans. That may not sound like a lot, but it adds up to $60 a year, which could get you six months of Xbox Gold Live instead.

#4: Verizon

Verizon
Verizon Fios Home Internet
pro Fiber and 5G networks
pro Symmetrical internet speeds
pro Phone bundle options
Overall speed score:
154.78
Download Speed Max
2300 Mbps
Average download speed:
163.00Mbps
Starts at
$49.99
/mo
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Verizon stands out because its speed data includes both its wireless 5G internet service and its rapid-fire Fios service, which runs over a fiber-optic network. A third of Verizon’s test results clock between 200Mbps and 900Mbps, and most of the other results come in under 200Mbps.

Verizon service details

Verizon’s relatively new 5G Home Internet service uses the provider’s cellular network to bring wireless internet straight to your home. Without a phone and internet bundle, its prices are similar to fiber services. But with the bundle, you get a $25 monthly discount.

All Verizon 5G internet plans include unlimited data, and there are no contracts or fees for installation or equipment. The upload speeds are much slower than a fiber service’s, but the gig plans offer about twice the upload speed most households require.

Verizon Fios, the fiber service, runs a bit more expensive than both its 5G option and its competitors. Fios offers unlimited data and symmetrical internet options for fast media uploads. There are no contracts and no mandatory fees, and you can save on installation fees by opting for the self-install kit.

#5: Optimum

Optimum
Optimum Internet
pro Cable and fiber networks
pro Symmetrical internet speeds
pro Phone bundle options
Overall speed score:
153.54
Download Speed Max
8000 Mbps
Average download speed:
166.15Mbps
Starts at
$30
/mo
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Last but not least on our speed tour comes Optimum, with an overall speed score of 153.54.

Our speed test results for Optimum show about half the download speeds in the area of 100Mbps–700Mbps. While that’s a far cry from Optimum’s advertised top speeds, the average of all the speed results put the provider squarely in the top five.

Optimum service details

Like Xfinity, Optimum offers both cable and fiber options. Fiber’s a good fit for most households, but if it’s not available where you live, the cable option is an excellent alternative.

Optimum offers some amazing prices (especially for its 500Mbps Fiber Internet plan), but those prices are introductory and increase significantly after a year. Available mostly in the Northeast, Optimum requires no contracts and imposes no data limits. But be aware of its many fees: You pay extra for installation and basic equipment rental. There are also fees for late payments and any additional equipment you want.

Recap: Fastest internet providers for home use

Review our top five fastest internet providers.
  • Google Fiber is the fastest internet provider. For being a premium, somewhat exclusive service, it’s surprisingly affordable.
  • Lesser-known Metronet is the second-fastest provider and offers a variety of speeds, including slower options.
  • Xfinity comes in third and is the only provider on our list with a widespread network.
  • Verizon lays its claim to fourth-fastest spot with not one but two internet networks (5G and Fios).
  • Optimum takes fifth place and has some impressively low promotional prices (although it’s nowhere as good of a deal once they run out).

Methodology

How do we pick the fastest internet providers? We start with the Reviews.org speed test. Readers like you click the button to get a detailed readout of your download speed, upload speed, and latency.

Site Icon  Light
There was an error initializing the test. Please reload the page and try again.

Connecting to a server ...

... Icon Pros  Dark Icon Pros  Light
Connecting to
another server...
00.00 Test in progress Testing Your Speed Test Download speed Test complete 0 1 5 10 20 40 80 160 320+
Upload Speed
Latency (ping)
Provider
IP address
Server Location
Compare Providers
Restart

Your speed is faster than of our speed test results

When you take the speed test, you remain anonymous, but your download and upload speeds go into our database. To create our rankings, we take our speed test data from the previous year, then add 90% of each provider's average download speed to 10% of its average upload speed. This calculation accounts for both sides of the speed equation—but we give more weight to download speeds, since internet users typically rely more heavily on downloads than uploads.

Brianne Sandorf
Written by
Brianne Sandorf
Brianne has a degree in English and creative writing from Westminster College and has spent 6+ years writing professional, research-based content. Before joining Reviews.org, she wrote safety and security content for ASecureLife.com. Her pieces and quotes are published across the web, including on MSN.com, Social Catfish, and Parents.com. Hobbies include wearing a seatbelt, wearing a life jacket, and keeping her arms and legs inside the ride at all times. Contact her at brianne@reviews.org.

Related Articles

Woman using smartphone near a downtown city street
How Much Cell Phone Data Do I Need?
You need data for your smartphone. But how much? Here’s how to figure out just...
happy couple sitting on couch in trendy room surrounded by plants while watching tv
The Best Internet for Streaming
We have three fiber internet and two cable internet suggestions. We go over speeds, pricing,...
male and female sitting on a gray couch while one watches tv and one uses a laptop
Best Cable TV and Internet Bundles
We picked the top cable TV and internet providers with the best bundles based on...
Woman using a VPN for streaming on a computer
Xfinity vs. Spectrum Internet Review
Xfinity and Spectrum are two huge internet providers. We’ll compare their prices, plans, performance, and...