Xfinity Internet Review 2021

With years of testing Xfinity internet service and an in-depth look into its prices, internet speeds, and data caps, we’re confident recommending it as an internet provider with lots of value.

Recommended Plans
Xfinity Internet
Xfinity Internet
Plan
Price
Download speed
Details
Connect$19.99*Up to 50 Mbps
Superfast$59.99*Up to 600 Mbps
Gigabit$94.99*1200 Mbps
Data effective 10/04/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.
Catherine McNally
Editorial Lead, Internet & Gaming
Read More
Published on November 10, 2021
15 min read

Comcast Xfinity’s prices and plans change depending on where you live, but its speed and reliability remain consistently excellent across the US. And those prices are pretty competitive compared to other internet service providers (ISPs) in the same areas.

We’ve used Xfinity for going on 10 years now, and even though it gets a bad rap for its customer service, we still think it’s a pretty good deal.

Let’s dig into Xfinity internet prices, plans, download speeds, and customer service to see if it’s the right internet provider for you.

Comcast Xfinity internet plans for the western US
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Connect$19.99*Up to 50 Mbps1.2 TB
Connect More$39.99*Up to 100 Mbps1.2 TB
Fast$49.99*Up to 300 Mbps1.2 TB
Superfast$59.99*Up to 600 Mbps1.2 TB
Ultrafast$69.99*Up to 900 Mbps1.2 TB
Gigabit$94.99*1200 Mbps1.2 TB
Data effective 10/04/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.
Find Comcast Xfinity internet plans near you.
Pros
  • Reliably fast download speeds
  • Competitive promotional prices
  • Available almost everywhere in the US
Cons
  • Prices vary widely based on location
  • Notoriously difficult Xfinity customer service
Wondering what the cheapest Xfinity internet plan is?
Money

We dug into the numbers to find out which Comcast plans have the lowest price—and which plans offer the best value. Check out our guide to the cheapest Xfinity plans to learn more.

Xfinity internet deals

Looking for a Comcast Xfinity deal? Look no further.

Xfinity Holiday Deals
Deals

Slip some Visa prepaid cards into your cart for more holiday savings from Comcast Xfinity.

  • Northeastern US: Get a $100 Visa prepaid card with Performance Pro, Blast!, and Gigabit plans—or pair your Blast! or Gigabit plan with Xfinity Mobile to save $30 a month.*
  • Central US: Save $30/mo. with the Superfast internet plan + Xfinity Mobile.**
  • Western US: Save $10/mo. on the Connect plan or $30/mo. on the Fast plan with Xfinity Mobile, plus get a $100 Visa prepaid card with your order.

Ready? See the Xfinity internet plus mobile deals in your area.

Save on Xfinity Mobile + Internet

Data effective 11/22/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*Offer ends 12/06/2021. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Blast!® Internet or Gigabit. Offer requires enrollment in both automatic payments and paperless billing. Must enroll within 30 days of placing the order. Cards issued by MetaBank®, Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa® U.S.A. Inc. Cards will not have cash access and can be used everywhere Visa debit cards are accepted.
**Offer ends 01/10/2022. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Superfast. Paperless Billing and Automatic Payments with bank account required, otherwise monthly service charge automatically increases by $10 (or $5 if enrolling with credit or debit card information). Discount will appear on statement within 45 days of enrollment. 1-year minimum term contract required.
†Offer ends 01/10/2022. Limited time offer. Restrictions apply. Not available in all areas. New residential customers only. Limited to Connect. Paperless Billing and Automatic Payments required. Discount will appear on statement within 45 days of enrollment. 1-year minimum term contract required. Cards issued by MetaBank®, Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa® U.S.A. Inc. Cards will not have cash access and can be used everywhere Visa debit cards are accepted.

An awards badge for the Reviews.org Best Value award 2021

Xfinity internet prices and plans

Xfinity’s competitive internet prices earned it our Best Value award. But beware: Prices change based on where you live

First thing’s first: Comcast Xfinity internet prices and plans change based on your location. A lot.

Xfinity breaks down its pricing and plan names by three different regions in the US: Northeast, Central, and West. So if you live in the Bay Area of California, your Xfinity promotional prices will be different than someone who lives in Jacksonville, Florida.

Let’s take a look at how those Xfinity internet prices change from region to region.

Jump to:

Xfinity internet prices in the Northeast

Xfinity internet promotional prices for the Northeast
Plan
Price
Download speed
Details
Performance Starter$29.9950 Mbps
Performance$34.99100 Mbps
Performance Pro Plus$39.99200 Mbps
Blast!$59.99400 Mbps
Extreme Pro Plus$69.99800 Mbps
Gigabit$79.99^1000 Mbps
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
For the first 24 months with a 1-year agreement.
^ With a 2-year agreement.

Xfinity prices in the Northeastern US are pretty competitive with other internet providers you’ll find in the same area, like AT&T and Spectrum. Especially the Performance Pro Plus plan, which nets you 200 Mbps speeds for just a few more bucks each month compared to Xfinity’s 100 Mbps plan, Performance Select.

We assume the Performance plan’s similar price for slower speeds is due to the fact that you don’t have to sign a contract to get it—and you have to order it online. But other ISPs in the Northeast, like AT&T and Verizon, don’t require a contract to begin with. We’ll go into this in more detail when we compare Xfinity to other internet providers.

Xfinity internet prices in the Central US

Xfinity internet promotional prices for the Central US
Plan
Price
Download speed
Details
Performance$40100 Mbps
Blast!$50200 Mbps
Extreme$50400 Mbps
Gigabit$80^1200 Mbps
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
^ With a 2-year agreement.

The prices Xfinity charges customers in the Central US are pretty straightforward. But yes, you’ll pay the same promotional price for 200 Mbps as you would for 400 Mbps speeds.

What gives? We’re not sure—but remember, your price after that first year will be higher for the 400 Mbps plan than the 200 Mbps plan.

Xfinity internet prices in the West

Xfinity internet promotional prices for the West
Plan
Price
Download speed
Details
Connect$19.99*Up to 50 Mbps
Connect More$39.99*Up to 100 Mbps
Fast$49.99*Up to 300 Mbps
Superfast$59.99*Up to 600 Mbps
Ultrafast$69.99*Up to 900 Mbps
Gigabit$94.99*1200 Mbps
Data effective 10/04/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.

In the Western US, Xfinity has a pretty good deal for its slowest plan with 50 Mbps speeds. If it’s just you using the internet, this might be enough to get by.

Otherwise, the Fast plan stands out as a better deal for couples and families. It gets you up to 300 Mbps speeds and costs about $50 a month—not much more than the Connect More plan, and you get a decent bump in bandwidth.

Larger households may want to check out the Superfast or Ultrafast plans instead. These two plans go up to 600 Mbps or 900 Mbps respectively. Thats enough internet juice to run a home business, and the promo price for both plans is a bargain.

Bundling could save you some cash
Price Tag

If you combine Xfinity TVXfinity Mobile, or Xfinity Home Security with your internet connection, you’ll likely see some savings on your bill. Take a look at some of our favorite Xfinity bundles to see how you might be able to save money.

Where is Xfinity available?

Comcast Xfinity is available in 40 states across the US, with Delaware, Maryland, and Massachusetts having the most zip codes served by Xfinity internet.

A map showing where Xfinity internet is available across most of the US

One odd thing to note: We mentioned that Xfinity prices change by region, but Xfinity doesn’t necessarily make it clear where its regions begin and end. For example, we were surprised to find that Minneapolis, Minnesota, was considered part of the Xfinity West region.

The best way to check Xfinity internet prices in your area is to use our zip finder tool.

How does Xfinity compare to CenturyLink, AT&T, and others?

In general, Xfinity’s promotional prices are pretty competitive with other large internet providers in the same areas. Let’s take a look at how some specific Xfinity internet plan prices compare to ISPs like CenturyLink, AT&T, Frontier, and Spectrum across different parts of the US.

Jump to: 

How do Xfinity internet prices compare in the Northeast?

Xfinity Performance Select plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - NortheastPerformance Select$34.99100 Mbps1.2 TB
AT&T InternetAT&T Internet up to 75 Mbps$45/mo.75 Mbps1 TB
AT&T InternetAT&T Internet 100$45/mo.100 MbpsUnlimited
Spectrum InternetSpectrum Internet®$49.99/mo for 12 mos.°Up to 200 Mbps°Unlimited
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
° Wireless speeds may vary.

The price for Xfinity’s 100 Mbps plan in the Northeast is almost too good to be true. You’ll pay almost double for the same speeds from other ISPs in the Northeast like AT&T and Spectrum. Not to mention that AT&T’s Up to 75 Mbps plan is fully DSL—an older technology that’s prone to slow speeds and other problems.

On the other hand, AT&T’s Internet 100 plan is a DSL and fiber hybrid connection, which should boost speeds. The AT&T Internet 100 plan also comes with unlimited data, as does the Spectrum Internet® plan. (Xfinity’s plans all have a 1.2 TB data cap.) Not to mention neither AT&T nor Spectrum requires a contract, while Xfinity usually does.

That means Xfinity falls behind a little when it comes to its Gigabit plan: AT&T Fiber’s Internet 1,000 plan is priced too well to pass up. Though the Spectrum Internet® Gig plan pushes the budget limits a bit too much, even with unlimited data and no contracts.

Xfinity Gigabit plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - NortheastGigabit$79.99^1000 Mbps1.2 TB
AT&T FiberAT&T Internet 1000$60/mo.**940 MbpsUnlimited
Spectrum InternetSpectrum Internet® Gig$109.99/mo for 12 mos.††Up to 1000 Mbps††Unlimited
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
^ With a 2-year agreement.
** Ltd. avail/areas for 12 mos, plus taxes & equip. fee. Autopay & Paperless Bill req'd. $10/mo equip. fee applies
†† Speed based on wired connection. Available Internet speeds may vary by address. Gig capable modem required for Gig speed. For a list of Gig capable modems, visit Spectrum.net/modem.

How do Xfinity internet prices compare in the Central US?

Xfinity Performance plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - CentralPerformance$40100 Mbps1.2 TB
AT&T InternetAT&T Internet up to 75 Mbps$45/mo.75 Mbps1 TB
AT&T InternetAT&T Internet 100$45/mo.100 MbpsUnlimited
Windstream InternetHigh Speed Internet 50-100 Mbps$37‡‡100 MbpsUnlimited
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
‡‡ For the first 12 months. Price includes $18.00 promotional credit.

In the Central US, Xfinity’s price for its 100 Mbps is a tad cheaper compared to other providers in the area like AT&T , but almost right in line with Windstream.

Our only hesitation is that Windstream offers unlimited data on all of its internet plans, and AT&T offers unlimited data on its Internet 100 plan. But sadly, Xfinity  still enforces a data cap of 1.2 TB.

And what about that Xfinity Gigabit plan price? It lands smack-dab in the middle of AT&T’s and Frontier’s prices for their gig-speed plans. But Windstream’s Kinetic Gig is by far the best deal (where promotional pricing is considered). Of course, you’ll get an extra 200 Mbps with Xfinity’s Gigabit plan, which might make it the better deal if you need that extra oomph for running a home business or Plex server.

Xfinity Gigabit plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - CentralGigabit$80^1200 Mbps1.2 TB
AT&T FiberAT&T Internet 1000$60/mo.**940 MbpsUnlimited
Frontier Internet - FiberOpticFiberOptic Gig Service$74.99^^940 MbpsUnlimited
Windstream InternetKinetic Gig$57‡‡1000 MbpsUnlimited
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
^ With a 2-year agreement.
** Ltd. avail/areas for 12 mos, plus taxes & equip. fee. Autopay & Paperless Bill req'd. $10/mo equip. fee applies
^^ per month for 36 mos. Max wired speed 940/880 Mbps. One-time charges apply. Maximum speeds are wired speeds. Wi-Fi, actual and average speeds vary. Service performance details at frontier.com/internetdisclosures.
‡‡ For the first 12 months. Price includes $18.00 promotional credit.

How do Xfinity internet prices compare in the West?

Xfinity Performance Select plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - WestConnect More$39.99*Up to 100 Mbps1.2 TB
CenturyLink InternetSimply Unlimited Internet$50°°Up to 100 MbpsUnlimited
Cox InternetCox Internet Preferred 150$49.99***150 Mbps1.25 TB
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.
°° Paperless billing or prepay required. Additional taxes, fees, and surcharges apply. Get the fastest internet speed available at your location (max speed is up to 100 Mbps).
*** for 12 months with 1-yr. term agreement

At about $10 less than other internet providers, the cost of Xfinity’s up to 100 Mbps plan in the Western US is pretty competitive. At least if you’re okay with a 1-year contract.

But if you prefer to go without a contract, CenturyLink may be the better deal despite its higher price. CenturyLink doesn’t bump up your bill year after year, and it comes without a contract too.

The only downside? CenturyLink is a DSL connection, which tends to be less reliable and may suffer from slower speeds compared to Xfinity’s cable connection.

As for Xfinity Gigabit plan prices in the West, we’d say it’s on the expensive side—Cox's Gigablast plan is just a few dollars more per month.

CenturyLink’s gig plan is pretty limited in availability, but if you can get it we say it might just be a better deal than the Xfinity Gigabit plan.

Our advice? Look to the Xfinity Superfast and Ultrafast plans for  a better deal and speeds that almost reach a gig.

Xfinity Gigabit plan comparison
Service
Plan
Price
Download speed
Data cap
Details
Xfinity Internet - WestSuperfast$59.99*Up to 600 Mbps1.2 TB
Xfinity Internet - WestUltrafast$69.99*Up to 900 Mbps1.2 TB
Xfinity Internet - WestGigabit$94.99*1200 Mbps1.2 TB
CenturyLink InternetCenturlink Fiber Gigabit$65†††940 MbpsUnlimited
Cox InternetCox Gigablast$99.99***940 Mbps1.25 TB
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.
††† Paperless billing or prepay required. Additional taxes, fees, and surcharges apply. Offer Details
*** for 12 months with 1-yr. term agreement

Is Xfinity internet cheap?

For the most part, Xfinity’s promotional prices make it a cheap internet service compared to other companies serving similar areas. There are a few exceptions to this, especially since Xfinity mostly requires contracts and caps your data at 1.2 TB.

  • Compared to AT&T: Versus AT&T’s DSL internet plans, Xfinity is a clear winner. But AT&T Fiber one-ups Xfinity with a low price, unlimited data, and no contracts.
  • Compared to CenturyLink: CenturyLink’s unlimited data and lack of contracts might sway some folks, but its slow DSL speeds and high prices make Xfinity a better choice if you’re concerned about internet speed and cost. (Though CenturyLink’s fiber internet might make up some ground.)
  • Compared to Frontier: If it’s a toss-up between Frontier DSL internet and Xfinity, go with Xfinity. Otherwise, Frontier’s FiberOptic internet might be a better choice thanks to newer technology, unlimited data, and similar prices.
  • Compared to Spectrum: If you’re more concerned about no contracts and unlimited data, Spectrum’s slightly higher prices might still be a better deal. But the sky-high cost of its gig plan makes the Xfinity Gigabit plan a much better choice.

If you’re still not sure whether to choose Xfinity over another internet provider, these other reviews might help.

View Xfinity Internet Plans | Read Xfinity TV Review

Xfinity internet speed and data

Xfinity tends to deliver the download speeds it promises

Xfinity download speeds range from 50 to 1,200 Mbps. And if you live in the right spot (and have major cash to spend), you’ve also got the option to slingshot yourself into the internet at 2,000 Mbps with the Gigabit Pro plan.

Depending on where you live, here’s a quick glance at some of the download and upload speeds Xfinity offers:

Xfinity by Comcast internet download speeds and upload speeds
Plan
Download speed
Upload speed
Data cap
Details
ConnectUp to 50 Mbps5 Mbps1.2 TB
Connect MoreUp to 100 Mbps5 Mbps1.2 TB
FastUp to 300 Mbps5 Mbps1.2 TB
SuperfastUp to 600 Mbps10 Mbps1.2 TB
UltrafastUp to 900 Mbps15 Mbps1.2 TB
Gigabit1200 Mbps35 Mbps1.2 TB

The major drawback to Xfinity internet speeds is that it doesn’t sport symmetrical, or matching, upload speeds. While Xfinity download speeds range from 50 to 1,200 Mbps, its download speeds range from 3 to 35 Mbps.

Now, don’t get us wrong. Anything around 10 Mbps or faster upload speeds is probably enough to get those YouTube videos uploaded or handle a Zoom call from your boss. But anyone running a livestream or sending out large files on a regular basis might want more.

Save money, get the right internet speed
Money

You don’t want to pay extra for internet speed you don’t need, just like you don’t want to pay too little for not enough speed. We’ll help you find that sweet spot in our internet speed guide.

Is Xfinity internet fast?

As for actual speed performance, you might be happy as a clam knowing Xfinity was seventh out of 38 ISPs we analyzed in our fastest internet providers list. It also ranked fourth out of all large ISPs.

Comcast Xfinity internet speed scores
Provider
Overall rank*
Cable ISP rank*
7th2nd

*Out of 38 internet service providers.

Xfinity also scored better than some of its competitors, like Frontier, Spectrum, AT&T, and CenturyLink. But Verizon Fios Home Internet swept in with some of the fastest internet speeds, likely thanks to its fully fiber network.

Still, you can see that Xfinity scored almost 10 points better than the other ISPs. And while Frontier, Spectrum, and AT&T all scored fairly close, CenturyLink finished this race far behind the others.

Xfinity internet speeds compared to AT&T, CenturyLink, Frontier, and Spectrum*
Provider
Overall rank*
Weighted score*
Download speed range
2nd65.1200940 Mbps
7th46.6501200 Mbps
12th36.0500940 Mbps
14th35.62001000 Mbps
15th33.875100 Mbps
28th20.2100940 Mbps

*Overall rank is out of 38 total ISPs. Weighted score is out of 100.
**Wireless speeds may vary.

Data caps

Almost every Xfinity plan has a 1.2 TB data limit. That’s a pretty significant amount of data, and it matches what Cox and CenturyLink offer.

But if data is a concern for you, Frontier and Spectrum both offer unlimited data on all their plans. AT&T also offers unlimited data on some of its plans, and while Verizon is quiet about its true data cap, we bet it’s unlimited too.

  • Comcast Xfinity data cap: 1.2 TB

If your data usage is blasting past that data cap, you do have a few options for adding data to your Xfinity plan. But be warned, extra data costs extra money.

Xfinity unlimited data prices
Data addon option
Price
Data overage fee$10 per 50 GB, up to $100/mo.
xFi Complete (already have xFi Gateway)$25/mo. extra
Unlimited Data plan$30/mo. extra

Data effective 5/12/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Option 1: Pay the overage fee

Xfinity charges $10 (plus tax) to add an extra 50 GB of data to your internet plan, up to a max of $100 each month.

If you don’t go over your data limit that often, this may be the least expensive option for you. But if you go through data like we go through a bag of white cheddar popcorn, you’ll want to look at Options 2 and 3.

Option 2: Sign up for xFi Complete

If you’re already renting the xFi Gateway modem-router combo, you can add the xFi Complete program to get unlimited data. It costs an extra $25 a month, and that includes your xFi Gateway rental (which normally costs $14 a month).

Option 3: Get the Unlimited Data plan

If you prefer to use your own router instead of the xFi Gateway, you can still get unlimited data. You’ll pay a little more than you would for the xFi Complete program though, to the tune of $30 extra a month.

If paying more for extra data makes you turn up your nose (hey, we have the same reaction), check out our YouTube guide on how to budget data for various online activities.

Xfinity contracts, equipment, and fees

Xfinity has some no-contract options, but they’ll likely cost you more

Xfinity’s approach to contracts seems to vary by plan and by region. You might have to sign a 1- or 2-year contract, or you might have the option to pay extra to dodge that contract.

Equipment

If you decide to go with Xfinity’s xFi gateway modem, it’ll run you $14 a month extra. That’s a pretty typical equipment rental fee, but if you plan to keep your Xfinity service for longer than a year, you can save some money by buying your own.

You can also upgrade your xFi Gateway rental to include xFi Complete, which includes unlimited data and an xFi pod if you need extra coverage in your house.

  • Xfinity xFi Gateway rental fee: $14/month
  • xFi Complete with xFi Gateway rental: $25/month
  • xFi Pod Wi-Fi extender cost: $119 for one, $199 for two

But bringing your own equipment to the table tends to cost less than a full year of renting the xFi. We’ve got recommendations for Xfinity-compatible modems and routers if you prefer to bring your own equipment.

Did you know your Xfinity Gateway comes with a free hotspot?
Light Bulb

Most Xfinity routers come with a home hotspot enabled, meaning you can easily get Xfinity internet on the go. You can find out how to hop on the Xfinity network for free or turn your home hotspot off in our Xfinity Wi-Fi sharing guide.

Service fees

Sadly, there’s no getting away from Xfinity fees, just like with every ISP. Here are a few to watch out for:

  • Professional installation: $89.99, but your pro install price might change based on where you live. And in some cases, Xfinity may not offer pro installation, so you’ll need to grab a self-install kit instead.
  • Self-installation kit: $15.00, and it ships within 3–5 business days. You can also choose to pick your kit up in the store or have its shipment delayed by up to 25 days if you’re in the middle of a move.
  • Early termination fees: There’s a 30-day “money-back guarantee” period to cancel after signing up for a 12-month Xfinity plan. After that, you can expect to pay a fee for the remaining months of your service contract. Xfinity doesn’t list exact amounts, but you can expect to at least pay the monthly price for the time remaining on your contract.

Xfinity customer service

Xfinity is known for bad customer service, but so is every other ISP

The latest American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) shows that Xfinity improved its customer service over the last year. It scored 67 out of 100, up from its 2020 score of 66 out of 100.1 That’s on top of a pretty dramatic improvement from 2019 to 2020, where Xfinity jumped from 61 to 66 out of 100. We hope Xfinity customer service continues that upward trend.

Xfinity internet customer service rating
Rating
Xfinity score
ACSI 2020–202167 out of 100

Xfinity doesn’t list any customer service phone numbers. But you can still chat with them over the phone. You’ll need to request that they call you by using the automated chat on your My Xfinity app.

A screenshot of a chat with Xfinity customer service showing the option to have them call you on the phone

When you chat with the bot in the Xfinity app, you can request to talk to someone and either live chat with a representative or have them call you at a later time.

Aside from chatting in the app, there are a few other channels you can use to contact Xfinity:

And however you do get a hold of Xfinity, these customer service tips might give you a leg up. We’ve also got a guide to Comcast Xfinity customer service—so if you have TV, home security, or mobile questions, take a peek before you call.

Is your Xfinity internet not working?
Heads Up

It’s the moment we all dread: that “No Connection” notification. If your Xfinity internet is out, here are a few troubleshooting tips to try before you call up tech support.

Recap: Is Xfinity internet good?

Xfinity is one of our top picks for internet service thanks to its competitive prices, great range of plans to choose from, and excellent download speed performance. We also like that it’s available across most of the US, plus it has one of the largest Wi-Fi hotspot networks.

On the downside, we wish Xfinity would just swap to unlimited data already. And we’d love to see it improve its customer service even more.

  • Prices and plans: Xfinity’s promotional prices tend to be a good deal for the speeds you get. But there are a few better deals out there from other ISPs that also offer unlimited data and no contracts.
  • Speed: Xfinity scored extremely well in our fastest ISPs report, so we’re confident you’ll get the internet speed you paid for (at least most of the time).
  • Contracts, equipment, and fees: Most Xfinity plans require a 1- or 2-year contract. A few plans come with no contract, but they tend to cost more. The xFi Gateway modem-router combo is a good piece of equipment too. (We use it currently.)
  • Customer service: Xfinity could improve its customer service, but then, so could most every ISP. (Not that that makes it any better.)

Comcast Xfinity internet promotional prices

Xfinity plans and prices vary by region, but here’s a quick recap of the Xfinity prices and internet speeds you’ll find in the West:

  • Connect: $19.99/month*, up to 50 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap
  • Connect More: $39.99/month*, up to 100 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap
  • Fast: $49.99/month*, up to 300 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap
  • Superfast: $59.99/month*, up to 600 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap
  • Ultrafast: $69.99/month*, up to 600 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap
  • Gigabit: $94.99/month*, 1,200 Mbps download speeds, 1.2 TB data cap

Data effective 10/29/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*​For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement. Includes $10/mo automatic payments and paperless billing discount.

Compare Xfinity plans and prices in your area.

FAQ

Still have questions about Xfinity? Let’s see if we can help.

Does Comcast Xfinity offer COVID-19 relief?

Xfinity’s pledge to Keep Americans Connected officially ended on June 30, 2020. That means no more free unlimited data—but the ISP did permanently boost its data caps to 1.2 TB.

Additionally, Xfinity is continuing to offer a few resources that might help anyone still undergoing financial hardship due to COVID-19. These resources include:

  • Free Wi-Fi hotspot usage for anyone through the end of 2021
  • Two free months of Internet Essentials service for new customers, as long as you’re approved by June 30, 2021
  • Flexible payment options for customers whose income is affected by the coronavirus pandemic (be sure to chat with an Xfinity rep to let them know you may need a flexible payment plan)

What kind of modem does Xfinity use?

Almost always, Xfinity will give you an xFi Gateway modem and router combo if you choose to rent from it. There are various models of the xFi Gateway, and if you need to troubleshoot or get started setting yours up, we recommend checking out this xFi Gateway support page.

If you prefer to bring your own modem, you’ll need to make sure it’s a cable modem. And we’ve got Xfinity cable modem recommendations right here if you need help shopping.

Which router should I use with Xfinity?

We’re big fans of TP-Link and NETGEAR routers for our Xfinity internet service. You can see our specific Xfinity router recommendations in our guide.

How can I check my speed with Xfinity?

Our internet speed test will tell you your download and upload speeds and how much latency you experience.

Are Comcast and Xfinity the same thing?

Pretty much. “Comcast” and “Xfinity” are often used interchangeably, but Xfinity is specific to Comcast’s cable TV, internet, voice, mobile, and home security services.

What is Xfinity Blast! Pro and is it good for gaming?

The Blast! Pro Plus plan (sometimes shown as Blast! Pro or just Blast!) is available in all regions and offers 400 Mbps download speeds.

Those speeds should cover you no matter how hectic a battle you get into. Want to see how other ISPs compare when it comes to MMOs or FPS games? Check out our Best Internet for Gaming review.

Does Xfinity have bundles?

A perk to Xfinity is that it offers multiple services you can bundle together: internet, TV, home security, and mobile. Bundling is a great way to save money each month, and you may also find bundle-specific Xfinity discounts.

But aside from cable TV, Xfinity’s other home services might be a bust. Here’s what our fellow experts had to say about other Xfinity services:

Xfinity cable TV: “Xfinity might have a lot of fees, but at least you won’t be disappointed by Xfinity’s service. This cable TV company is reliable, widely available, and you’ll get most, if not all, of the channels you and your family want.” —Chantel Buchi, TV and streaming expert

Xfinity Home security system: “Xfinity Home’s prices are hard to pin down, most of the equipment lags behind other brands, and its customer service (through Comcast) may be the worst we’ve ever encountered.” —Brianne Sandorf, home security expert

Xfinity Mobile: “A solid, cheap [option] for those already in the Xfinity universe, though you have to deal with data throttling, slowdowns, and poor video streaming quality.” —Easton Smith, mobile expert

Does Xfinity have Wi-Fi hotspots?

Another major benefit Xfinity customers enjoy is thousands of wireless hotspots across the US. And if you’ve got Xfinity Mobile or a Performance internet plan or faster, you get Xfinity Wi-Fi hotspot access for free.

This is a huge boon if you’re on vacation and can’t find a Starbucks to siphon wireless internet off of. Not to mention access to all those Wi-Fi hotspots is a lifesaver if your home internet goes down and you’ve got an assignment due the next morning.

You can access the wireless hotspots through the Xfinity Wi-Fi app, which uses your Xfinity username and password.

Share your Wi-Fi with the xFi Gateway
Light Bulb

Xfinity has one of the largest Wi-Fi hotspot networks thanks to its xFi Gateway modems. Most of these modems are automatically set to broadcast a Wi-Fi signal.

If you’re not keen on your own modem broadcasting a Wi-Fi signal that almost anyone can use, here’s how to turn off Xfinity Wi-Fi sharing.

Can I get Xfinity internet only? How much does it cost?

Yes, you can get Xfinity internet without TV or other services. The cost for just Xfinity internet depends on where you live, but in general the price ranges from $29.99–$79.99 a month in the Northeast, $34.99–$94.99 a month in the West, and $20.00–$80.00 a month in the Central US.

Does Xfinity offer student internet packages?

Xfinity doesn’t offer a specific student internet package, but it does regularly offer student discounts.

Comcast also offers a low-cost internet plan called Internet Essentials, which costs $9.95 a month for 50 Mbps speeds. Families with students may qualify for this plan if someone in your household is enrolled in a program like the National School Lunch Program.

Is Xfinity internet unlimited?

No, sadly Xfinity internet doesn’t come with unlimited data. Instead, your data is capped at 1.2 TB each month with options to buy more data if you need it.

How can I get $10 a month internet?

Comcast Xfinity offers internet for about $10 a month with its Internet Essentials plan. The cost is $9.95 a month, and you get 50 Mbps download speeds. To get it, you’ll need to meet eligibility requirements, such as the following:

  • You or someone in your household is enrolled in housing assistance, Medicaid, SNAP, the National School Lunch Program, or others
  • You haven’t had Xfinity internet within the last 90 days

P.S. If you owe money on a past Xfinity internet bill, you may still qualify.

How fast is Comcast $10 internet?

Comcast’s $10 (technically $9.95 a month) Internet Essentials plan gets you 50 Mbps download speeds.

How can I get unlimited internet for free?

There are quite a few ways to get free internet, but you may or may not run into data caps along the way. We don’t know of any truly free internet plan with unlimited data though.

Sources

Catherine McNally
Written by
Catherine McNally
Catherine has a degree in journalism and an MBA, and has spent the last 10+ years writing everything from Okinawa travel guides to stories on Medium. She’s been online since AOL CDs were a thing and is an unapologetic PC gamer. She believes the internet is a necessity, not a luxury, and writes reviews and guides to help everyone stay connected. You can also find her on Twitter: @CMReviewsIt.

Related Articles

A woman and her child use a laptop together
What Is the Affordable Connectivity Program (Formerly Emergency Broadband Benefit Program)?
Find out more about the FCC’s Emergency Broadband Benefit Program, including who’s eligible and how...
Woman with credit card
How Much Does Vivint Cost?
One of the trickiest parts of buying home security is estimating cost. Here, Reviews.org walks...
Ring Alarm base station in home
Ring Alarm Security System Review 2021
You might know the Ring Video Doorbell, but have you heard about Ring's new security...
Woman using a laptop for a conference call discussing the best internet service providers
8 Best Internet Service Providers 2021
Looking for the best home internet options? Read on to compare download speed, price, and...
  • Hector Robles

    Worst service ever as a new customer wasn’t sastified on how long it took to get internet . Than false information got told about having internet . Should of just stayed with century link they at least take care of there customers.

  • monia

    Comcast wants money for doing nothing. They charge us 29$ for speed up to 25 and we have 5-7 speed, they charged for the bill 10$ so we pay 40$ for 5-7 speed, they told us when we buy new modem its going to be fast, 100$ for new modem and nothing. I wish att was here. comcast is the worst

  • Ashlan Birkett

    I have had Comcast for 5 years now, every year when my 12months is up and my bill for just internet skyrockets I dread calling. This year was the worst so far. Accidentally hung up on twice, transferred around to people I really didn’t need to talk to, on hold forever. Every year I down grade and down grade our service and I still end up paying more. Now I’m paying twice as much for my initial service and have 3x slower internet. If you have another option go with a different company.

  • CV

    horrible!!!, te tratan mal, te cobran dinero que no se supone debes pagar, los empleados trabajan por trabajar, no es un buen servicio, pésimo pésimo.

  • Doobian

    your info is out of date.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      We’ll update it soon! Stay tuned.

  • Stanley Chamblain

    I have been a customer on and off for a number of years. Most recently, I have been with Comcast the past 15 months. During this time, I have had no issues with cable/internet service and customer service/support has been relatively great. However, this past week has been the most frustrating experience I’ve ever had with any major company. On the 22nd of May, I requested a cancel of service because I was moving . The representative that I dealt with was helpful and convinced me to stay with Comcast after initially requesting to cancel my service. At the conclusion of the phone call, he confirmed with me that my appointment to move my service was for the upcoming Saturday (May 27th) and that a technician would be at my new residence between the hours of 1-4pm. The 27th arrived and 1 oclock finally approach. I was still in the process of moving, but made it a point to be at the new residence at 1pm to let the tech in to do their job. 4:30pm approaches and I received no phone call or update of my appointment. I contacted Comcast and was hung up on twice (person failed to call back) before finally speaking to someone. She said I would have to wait for a phone call from a technician 15 minutes before arrival. She asked me what time it was where I was located and I told her that it was 4:40 which is 40 mins past the time the suggested they would be here. She then switched her story (after reviewing her notes) and proceeeded to tell me that I had set my appointment for the 30th (not the 27th) between the hours of 10am-12pm. After explaining to her how there was no possible way that I could set an appointment out that far out on a day that nobody would be at the house, she proceeded to tell me that whatever was in the system was in fact correct information and in a professional way, insinuated that I was lying. She forwarded me to customer support because there was “nothing she could do”. The next rep seemed genuinely caring, however she stated that she’d have a supervisor contact me asap to assist me with the matter. She asked for the best contact and said I’d be receiving a call shortly. Two hours later, still no phone call. I decide to call back (again) and ask the rep if I can speak to a supervisor immediately. The rep informed me that a supervisor was not available and that I would have to wait for a phone call later on the day. At this point, it was 6:30pm and I explained to him detail for detail my experience that day with customer service and customer support. After sharing my frustration, it honestly felt like he did not care and continued to tell me that I couldn’t speak to a supervisor because they were unavailable. As a “valued” customer, I think I’ve earned my right to speak to a supervisor after dealing with the day I experienced. I simply asked to speak to someone who could give me a better explanation of my situation. I understand that the call volume was “extremely high” but if a “valued customer” is unsatisfied with your company, it’s common curtesy that you do anything in your power to keep the customer satisfied. The gentlemen then told me that he reviewed his notes and it shows that a supervisor in fact called me hours ago at a number on my file but the number was out of service. I asked the gentleman to read that number back to me and he repeated the number to my cellphone that I was calling him from. Finally after 30mins of pleading to speak to a supervisor, a call came in on the other line and it was THE SUPERVISOR. She was absolutely no help whatsoever and stated that the department that I actually needed was closed. She said I would have to wait until Monday (dept closed on Sunday) to speak to someone to assist me with my matter. No apologies, no help, no direction no nothing. Overall, this was one of the poorest customer service experience I have ever dealt with. I was inconvenienced by wasting 4 hours of my day waiting for a technician that never came, another 2 hours dealing with a rep that told me I was a liar and dealt with a supervisor who had a horrible attitude and showed no sympathy for me at all. The situation in its entirety still makes no sense. You cut my cable off at my previous residence the day before my expected installation date but I’m being told I instead set the appointment out 5 days from that cutoff day? So now, I have no cable service in my home for 4 days on a holiday weekend where I have family flying into town.

  • Steven Faass

    Comcast can change their name but hasn’t changed their tactics – on returning to my vacation home, my TV service was working and my internet was down. I called the help line after initial troubleshooting, only to be told “my purchased surfboard router” was the problem. The options presented to me were 1) buy a new router, 2) come down to Comcast to rent on of theirs or 3) schedule a service call which they would charge me for if it was my equipment. Humm… you say, well I called the Router company who troubleshot the router, determined it was online and that Comcast likely knocked if off line with recent system updates.
    It seems the Router folks had many similar calls a few months back. When I called Comcast back, they insisted the router was dead, but they reactivated it at my insistence and we were back on line.

    I wonder how many customers threw out perfectly good routers and are now renting Comcast routers? Now that’s you use customer service to make a profit!!!!

  • Leslie Aaren

    Tempted to go without – at least after reading the reviews I know I’m not crazy – First the good – when you get someone on the phone they are very nice & polite, as was the service professional when I had service started. I have had service for a year and have had no problems with connections even during snow, hail, etc etc. $60 monthly for internet service seems reasonable to me. My negative experience started during the last heavy snow when my neighbor’s tree branch pulled the phone line down. I still had connection but was unable to successfully get someone on the phone to make a simple service appointment. I gave up until today when a salesperson called me because my plan is going to expire soon, and felt bad because I was quite rude in saying – hey you guys need to fix my phone line – and I hung up on him. After taking a closer look at my plan and reading these reviews, I can see I’ll probably end up paying more money for the same service. I live in Pueblo, Colorado and Xfinity is the only provider unless I want dish, but I don’t watch TV, all I need is internet.
    I can understand long wait times in a service area that is relatively remote, but having trouble getting people on the phone for a simple appointment and paying more than reasonable amounts for service is really inexcusable. Prompted by the nice salesperson, I called customer service again to make a service appointment and am awaiting a call back – I’ll keep you posted…..

  • Spirit 49

    Do you think 25 mbps (the performance internet package) would be enough for 4 people?

    • Edwin Gunther Chavez

      No sir.

  • Trident

    Try going to the office. That works and they have lots of them to handle all the cancellations.

  • Trident

    Call Dish back. Or try AT&T. They have optical available in my neighborhood and I’m thinking REALLY strongly about going with them.

  • Trident

    X1 sucks. The DVR is just a communications box. The DVR used to be available even if cable was down. Now, if the cable is down, you can’t even watch what you’ve recorded. But they have a VOICE REMOTE.

  • Trident

    I had that problem when they first went to 25 Mb. I had a DOCSIS 1.0 modem. I bought a DOCSIS 2.0 and my BLAST! 75 MB runs at almost 100 Mb most of the time. And 1 Gb is available now, here, at my house. But nobody needs that much speed.

  • Trident

    discontinue your services with Comcast

  • Trident

    Talk to your District Attorney, and to your State and Federal Consumer Protection Agencies

  • Hua Jin Yang

    Comcast is the worst, I hope there is other service that can replace them. All Comcast service is to do best is to lie to their customers.

  • Landon Mattson

    Nothing but games. I can’t believe I had Xfinity internet for 5 years. They have continually added on new fees without notifying me first; and I’m not talking about the rate increase after the promotional period, which you won’t get notification on that either by the way. What got me to stay with them the entire time is that whenever I found out about the rate increase or added fees I would call and then they would generally make it right. What bothers me is that I would have to actually call them out on it and they wouldn’t just be honest and fair upfront. What finally made me decide to buy out of my contract is when my internet speeds drastically slowed down. Being someone who works from their computer this is unacceptable, but I was willing to try and work with them on it. After a month of troubleshooting over the phone the only options I had left was to either pay for their technician to come out and fix a problem that I was not responsible for or I could buy out of the contract. Needless to say, I am no longer a Xfinity customer, nor will I ever be in the future.

  • Jennifer

    Just had the same thing happen to me but I’m moving and am forced to cancel b/c they don’t provide service where I’m going. I knew this might happen so I wasn’t going to do the security but the rep assured me that it would be no problem to transfer the service if I moved….he just forgot the part about the service not being available where I was going. Tried to talk to their “supervisor” to explain that I wouldn’t have signed up if the rep had been honest about the cancellation policy only to be completely ignored. Will never use them again.

  • jflores

    We started with a specialty package, and ended up needing a new box and a spanish speaing package. Ended up paying almost $300 per month. Screw comcast/Exfinity. We will be switching soon

  • Shareef Yousef

    Worst company in the history of companies. They make you pay for an internet pipe AND what goes through their by enforcing a 1TB cap. You know who else does that? Electric companies, gas companies, and water companies. They’re called utilities. If Comcast wants to charge like a utility they need to be regulated like one as well. Guess what that includes. PRICE LIMITS! Comcast has been increasing prices EVERY … SINGLE … YEAR!

  • Drew

    DO NOT BUY THIS! Comcast is absolutely terrible. The only reason most people actually purchase this service is because they really can’t find any other options that meet all their needs – you can’t get access to all the shows you want strictly through one provider and in the Northeast region of the United States there really aren’t any other major providers. There internet service runs at a snails pace and is probably powered by mice on wheels since it kicks out and freezes about every 20 minutes.

    Aside from having a corner on the market, Xfinity and Comcast are pretty terrible as a service standing alone. Their customer service people almost never have any sufficient advice other than the standard “turn it off, wait, then turn it back on again”. Occasionally they’ll reset your cable box remotely or exchange your old cable box for a new one and chalk it up to something askew internally, but the fact of the matter is that we’ve had the box replaced at our house several times in the past couple of months and the same problems continue to reoccur – DVR service is basically hit or miss when you record shows and about 30% of the time, with no explanation and without a solution, it will refuse to play back something I’ve recorded. I’ve missed countless sports games because of this and Comcast continues to fail to come up with a fix (3 new cable boxes, half a dozen conversations, and 12 hours of wasted time later).

    So here’s the solution I’m devising that I recommend to you all instead of buying Comcast. Buy Netflix, download the apps provided by specific sports leagues that you want to watch on your devices (like NFL Sunday Ticket/Game Pass), and take out movies and shows from your local library for free. You’ll probably save a hundred dollars every month and you’ll likely end up with less obstacles to your viewing.

  • Yutong Guan

    Everything looks pretty good when you sign up. BUT, when you want to cancel or change (downgrade) your plan, the headache begins.
    First, I tried to call customer service to downgrade my service, I was transferred three times to reach the right person, even I made the correct choice and specifically told the agent that I wanted to downgrade. Then I was told that if I remove TV and downgrade internet, my bill will be $30 more, how ridiculous?! Then when I tried to do it myself online, more problems. The “manage plan” is linked to “contact us” directly and i don’t have the option to manage plan online. Online chatting only got reply with non sense and irrelevant.

  • Don H

    I believe that Comcast very poor customer service will lead to there continual loss of customers. Comcast does not understand customer service at all. I cancelled service for internet and they did not do as I asked and then billed me for another month. I then cancelled “again” and they then told me for the first time that there is an $80 early termination fee. I told them that my rental is continuing the service with them and that they are not out anything. They were incapable of seeing this simple truth (this was a senior manager). Therefore, I am cancelling my account with Comcast from now on. I am already signed up with a new carrier. I am saving $10/month and my internet is going from a Max of 25 mbps to 150 mbps. Goodbye Comcast !!!!!!! Hopefully forever.

  • Olga

    We work from home a lot and stable , fast internet is our “bread and butter”. Therefore we went for the “gigabit” internet service advertised by Xfinity. No need to say – 1GB/s service doesn’t exist ! At least from Xfinity. Do not buy into it!
    (1) Xfinity “gigabit” doesn’t deliver advertised speed.
    Technician installed it and we tested internet speed together (using 3 of our laptops – windows and 2 Macs) and never got to 1GB while technician was still in the house. Explanation from technician was – “busy time of the day, try mornings and evenings – you’ll get what you signed up for”. We tried service for 3 months, tested speed different time of the day. Internet speed rarely went over 100Mb/s. Usual Download speed would be 60-70Mb/s and Upload speed 13-40 Mb/s. The internet service was extremely patchy and drop off randomly.
    I had to call back to downgrade the service.
    So I asked the Rep how do they feel about ripping off customers. The answer was – we never promise 1Gb/s unless your device is hard wired to the router. I do not know anyone who is using hard wires at their home office. However if you do – you may have a chance to see “Chupacabra of Xfinity” 🙂
    (2) Google if the “gigabit” Xfinity service is still supported in your area.
    I just found out that Xfinity stopped providing their “gigabit” service in many areas. However I am not sure they actually notify customers about it and not sure if they adjust billing automatically.
    (3) More to it – while installing the “gigabit” internet service technician removed a lot of cables from the box outside the house. He claimed it’s “too much of wire splicing”. After he left we noticed that 9v power line was disconnected/cut off as well and other outdoors device (Ring) doesn’t work any longer. When i asked customer support to please send technician to fix the issue – they told me to contact support for the other device (e.g. Ring) even the 9V connection was disconnected by their technician.
    OVERALL FEEDBACK – XFINITY does NOT deliver advertised internet service and customer service is the WORST customer service I ever had to deal with . Good luck !

    • xfinity_guy

      Xfinity absolutely DOES deliver the speeds that are advertised. Quality of work has a lot to do with the outcome, and it sounds like the technician you had out just didn’t do his job correctly. Every speed tier Comcast offers actually tests higher than advertised, when installed correctly. I’d call to have another technician out.

  • Ingrid

    Considero que esta compañia es una estafa, se promocionan muchisimo y su servicio es completamente pesimo. Pagas un internet d alta velocidad y puedes hacer la prueba de que tan rapido te esta funcionando y es una mentira todo, llamas al servicio al cliente y solo saben decirte que lo sienten por el inconveniente y te resuelven por unos dias el problemita, y en mi caso el modem es propio porque ya una vez rente uno y era lo mismo, ademas d pagar la tarifa mensual por un servicio q no recibes como lo tienes en el contrato, te dicen cdo el modem es tuyo q es problemas del fabricante. Seran cara dura y falta de respeto……. la estafa personificada esta compañia

  • Drew von Grimm

    Horrible service! Never works! Always freezing. Have to call every other day. Have to reset modem twice a day. Talking to customer service is dreadful.

  • James

    I hate that Xfinity sends so much junk in the mail. It is crazy wasteful and annoying.

    To boot, Xfinity makes it really difficult to remove yourself from the mailing list.

    Please Xfinity, if you’re listening, create an online website where people—both non-customers and customers—can remove their address from your mailing list.

    Please follow up on your claims to be environmentally conscious.

  • phil thum

    If you have comcast in a KOA campground you may as well turn on an AM radio for all the action you’ll get trying to connect to the internet, it’s almost an insult to the customers giving them a wifi code? read a nice long book like War and Peace while your waiting to sign in and check your mail. Why KOA even offers this ?service at all is a mystery ? it’s like saying here is your internet connection ….. if you want to wait 15 minutes while google boots up. If you pay for this stuff your throwing away money. Time , and probably damaging your pc circuits waiting for this BS. you tube ? videos ? their on another planet not here.

  • David Zamudio

    Horrible company they do not honor their agreements. Their services are always randomly not working…extremely unreliable internet their so called fast speed internet and I paid for premium internet is a joke. Their customer service agents are clueless and not at all helpful. Truly a horrible company will never use them again.

  • Ashley

    I’m so happy to switch off. I get the same problem every month where I have to deal with a week or two (or even three),of almost no uload speed. No idea why, the two techs and customer support we called had no idea either other than “Oh, well it seems fixed now.” And it is, until it repeats itself.

  • liz

    I am currently an Xfinity customer. I typically just get internet but currently I have internet and basic cable channels because it was the better deal. I have been a customer for years. I wanted to switch from AT&T to Xfinity Mobile services and do the BYOD. I went up to the store because you have to do this type of transaction in store. The store is about a 20 minute drive. the first time the guy was very helpful but AT&T flagged my device as fraud so I had to wait on that to clear. The second time I went the girl just told me an error message came up and she called some kind of help desk they use. The man on the other end said we were at a road block and there wasn’t anything to do, to just try again in a few more days. I waited a week and figured out it was because of AT&T. I did the whole unlocking thing once more and it was fine. I went back up there and the guy just told me I have to do it online. I was not allowed to do the BYOD in store. I called xfinity when I left and they told me that I HAD to do it in store. So I went to the next closest store and that was a 45 minute drive. They told me they were getting an error message and that I had to complete an email that xfinity would send me. I have never gotten this email that they speak of. So I had no idea what they were talking about. After I told them I wasn’t leaving the store until I heard more from them than just they are getting an error message they called the help desk again and the guy over the phone tried completing the transaction to get me over to their network. We were almost there and he said he was getting a message not letting him complete the transaction. The guy that was infront of me was actively annoyed that he had to spend some time with. After a few minutes of the guy trying to complete the process the guy in front of me gives me a ticket number and scoots me out of the store with a ticket number. He said they would call me back and I left. They never called back. I called the next day and asked if anything had been done with the ticket number and the lady said it hadn’t been touched since I left the store. I went back up to the closer store and thought id be in the clear for getting all this bull figured out. I got there and she said that email (that they told me about before) was a questionnaire that I needed to complete when they sent it to me. I haven’t gotten this questionnaire so how in the world could I complete it. She looked in my file and said on the Mobile side of things I did not have an email attached to my account. She put an email in there and I asked her “What if I don’t get the email” she said “you will!”… It never came. its been 2 weeks… I am now a proud Verizon Wireless customer

  • Dorothy Rathheim Swoap

    When I watch anything on demand I get halfway through and it freezes. Start again with no way to fast forward and it inevitably freezes again in the same place. I’ve contacted support on multiple occasions and they won’t call or email me back. Last call was a week ago. I was promised a credit on my bill because my Internet has been down constantly over the past 6 weeks. Also was promised someone would be contacting me about a service call. No credit. No contact. I took the time to rate my experience on a survey after I called the last time and STILL haven’t received any communication back. No Internet AT ALL right now. It’s been out all day. No tv. This company is a joke. Maybe the worst service I’ve ever experienced. AND IT’S VERY EXPENSIVE! Also I’ve never run a speed test and gotten the speed that I pay for- not once.

  • nicholas e

    I’ve always tried to find an internet provider that delivered fiber optic connections. Since Comcast has a monopoly in my new building I’m stuck with them again. On a daily basis there are random disconnects or lag spikes. If you play video games, this is a huge problem. My ping will spike to 200 if I’m lucky, 500+ if I’m not. It’s basically a loss if it doesn’t come down within a few minutes.

    The internet is fast on the down, but extremely slow on the up. Usually around 100/5. This is on par with what I experienced a few years ago in NJ. After using other providers, they are easily the worst. But as we all know, they have a legal monopoly and there are no other options.

  • Kurt Bevill

    Overpriced! Their tech support is a joke as well. I have never been more disappointed with a cable/internet provider in my life!

  • Lee New

    I have been researching Comcast, DirecTV and streaming options all day and this article is one of the best I have read so far on Comcast. I agree that their customer service is terrible and their tech service is slow and inadequate, but there are only two options other than streaming for me at the moment. My Comcast bill for cable and 2nd tier internet Blast! was $106 when I first signed up in 2011, went up to $168 in 2014 and starting this month they are charging me $197. I really only watch ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS, CNN, Food, Comedy, Travel, History, FX, HBO and Showtime (the last two alone cost $27 to add).

    So their bottom line for the slowest Internet (5mb) and cable TV (140 channels) plus a phone service that I do not need is to sign a two-year contract (I am currently paying month to month) and drop HBO and Showtime, but keep the DVR service ($10 a month) for $168 a month for the next year that goes up to $202 in months 13 through 24, which I found to be ridiculous and a even worse value than paying $197 and keeping the faster internet and HBO and showtime.

    I gave DirecTV the same opportunity and they told me that I would receive a $300 VISA gift card and pay $42 for months 1-3 (with HBO and Showtime), $96 for months 4-12 and $139 for months 13-24, but this does not include Internet service and HBO and Showtime would cost extra (not sure how much) after month three. Reviews indicate that picture quality and DVR service are less than adequate for DirecTV Now compared with Comcast so I am think I may be ready to cut the cable and give either DirecTV, Sony Playstation Vue, Sling TV, YouTube TV, Hulu Live TV or Amazon TV a try and just keep the Internet service ($60) from Comcast. Any reasonable comments on this dilemma would be appreciated.

    • Arianus

      Considering internet phone is free your getting ripped off.
      Considering that abc cbs nbc pbs are free over the air your getting ripped off.
      Considering that you can find cnn (average age of people watching cnn is 7o + and 6o year old cartoons on reruns gets better ratings and most the crap they play is disingenuous lies and fake news you should get your impartial information from other sources unless you like being told how to think about everything then cnn is for you) for free in different places your getting ripped off.
      Places like hulu and amazon let you subscribe for hbo how time etc from them. You can also sign up for individually from hbo and showtime etc.

      I haven’t paid for cable tv in 5 years and l now have more of a selection of tv shows and more lives than l ever did paying $3OO + a month for Comcast cable & their slowest net. I had almost all the channels you could buy. Now l have Comcast business class net and it’s fast, yes it costs too much everything does nowadays. Now l watch shows from all over the world whenever l want. I watch any show l want to watch when l want to watch it not when I’m told to and l haven’t watched a commercial in years.

    • Gary Rethford

      Sounds good to me, I had Universe for a few years before Comcast, they raised their prices so I left. I’m going to leave Comcast and go back to Universe, their service is awesome, all the way around.

  • David Harris

    xfinity is the worst!!! I’ve had it for 4 years now and every year you have to call and haggle with them to keep the same rate. they up sale you on the tv, phone and other services for hrs and hrs before just giving you internet only service. they won’t give you internet only unless you go through the sales pitch, then you have to call every year to keep the same rate!!! stupid business plan!!

  • Lee Ann Blazejewski

    Comcast is a terrible company. I have been with them for many years and they have gone downhill. I am being charged for equipment that I did not request and the new equipment doesn’t work. I called Comcast and they told me that I have to go to the local service center which is only open 10am to 6pm and Saturday mornings. I work an hour away and I work on Saturdays. I do not believe it is right to charge me for something I didn’t request and to expect me to take time off work (which, will cost me money) to return equipment I didn’t ask for!! I seems like fraud to me!

  • Gary Rethford

    Comcast Xfinity is horrible, you can’t watch videos on the internet without interruptions most of the time and I’ve got their best internet service. Their customer service is horrible. Their TV service is good most of the time, but at the price forget it. I’ve been with Xfinity for over 2 years, and I’ve had enough. I’m going back to Universe, cost a little more, but I had the service for 3 years and never had any problems, I left when they raised their prices.
    You want great TV, Internet service, get AT&T Universe.

  • Solomon Kraner

    Hello fellow Xfinity customers.
    I would like to express my frustration with Comcast without using BAD BAD words. Terrible service!!!
    Unfortunately I’m the second year a customer of this “company’. Four (4!!!) days as I lost hot spot connection. Since I’m traveling a lot it was very attractive to sign for the “service” . The reality?
    Go look for a hot spot and if you lucky you might can get it. If you complain about lack of connection call them up and listen what advice the idiots are given… stay close to Starbucks or other public places. MORONS… if I will be at Starbucks I will use their WI-I free!
    I’m the 2-d day (!!) try to reach anybody for help over the phone. The worst automatic system you can meet. Tens of stupid questions. The funniest thing is … If you have troubles, go on line with such in such address…
    MORONS!!!! I have troubles sign in, that’s why I’m calling, how can I go on line??
    Lately, Three times they simply disconnect me and when finally was lucky to hear a voice…… I spoke to a ZERO knowledgeable young lady.
    Congratulate me! I’M STILL WITHOUT INTERNET!!!

  • jon

    I first heard from xfinity from a Walmart lady that promised me internet and tv for only $35 a month, she said I would get one month free and free Netflix. BEWARE IF IT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, ITS PROBABLY BECAUSE ITS NOT. I was paying three times more then what she’d told me. I called the representatives to try to figure it out and two of them HUNG up on me. I kept getting charges like crazy and they threaten to destroy my credit if I didn’t pay. Xfinity has just been the worst service provider ever and trust me I’ve had some bad ones before. If you can find another provider in your area I would recommend that. Avoid Comcast at all cost.

  • Dracidephgm

    I am a high end user with work related needs that require me to have a 24/7 reliable connection. My area of the country gets many electrical storms and my comcast internet connection goes out with almost every electrical storm. Each time it is a major battle to get back up and running again. Even though the outage is NOT on my property they want me home if they will come out, they want to set the appointment days or even over a week later, and their customer support is out of the country with no ski in the game. They have a script to follow and will not stray from that script. if I functioned in a similar fashion as the comcast customer support I would no longer have a job. This weekend I am going through this process for the 6th or 7th time in 3 years and though each time I finally get someone on the line who actually does help, the fix they “give me” for the problem, ends up not being a fix, and the number they tell me to call to expedite the process the next time my service goes out does not work any better than past encounters…..I am through with this and will be looking for ANY other provider in my area of Houston

  • Catherine Heaton

    Xifinity is the absolute worst internet and cable ever, they tell you one thing to get you signed up and then everything changes. Extra fees, It half picks up, the customer service is rude and unhelpful. They add extra fees every single month. They promise a $100 gift card that never comes. It’s ridiculous, I will be contacting the FCC and Athens Better Business Bureau.

  • Duby Anuebunwa

    Comcast Xfinity as a very average/subpar services. Speed and quality depends on what package you pay for but rest assured there will be frequent outages with little to no offer for help or compensation. That being said they have disgustingly horrendous customer service who do not care about providing quality service to their patrons. Was wrongfully charged for a transfer of service inside the physical Comcast store but an incompetent worker. Attempted to get the problem remedied but was met with workers and managers repeating the same phrases over and over again even though I know for a fact the bill was wrong. After 5 weeks of deliberation to know avail I decided to pay the fee they charged me and completely cut ties with this trash service known as Comcast xfinity. 10/10 Do NOT recommend going with them.

  • Marc Mod

    WORST COMPANY TO WORK WITH!
    Overall bad experience working with Xfinity. Talked to 6 different people. Explained my situation 6 different times. Had sales people talk over me on the phone and in the store. Quoted multiple prices for the exact same service. Terrible experience! Walked into this store to a 30 minute wait…not enough places to sit down. If I could rate Xfinity lower, I would.