Verizon Fios Home Internet Review 2021

Verizon Fios Home Internet gets you stellar fiber internet speeds and A+ customer service.
Recommended Plans
Our Rating
Our Rating
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Internet 200/200$39.99/mo.200 MbpsView Plans
Internet 400/400$64.99/mo.400 MbpsView Plans
Fios Gigabit Connection$89.99/mo.Up to 940 MbpsView Plans
PriceDownload speedDetails
$39.99/mo.200 MbpsView Plans
$64.99/mo.400 MbpsView Plans
$89.99/mo.Up to 940 MbpsView Plans

If we had any choice of internet service provider (ISP), Verizon Fios Home Internet would be our first choice. Why? Verizon Fios Home Internet consistently tops the charts for fast download speeds, low prices, and good customer service.

While its prices and speeds vary depending on where you live, we think you’ll get a fair deal from Verizon Fios without having to sign an annual contract. Plus, it offers fully fiber internet and continues to expand its 5G and 4G LTE Home Internet options in other locations—including some cities where you can’t get Fios Home Internet service.

Pros

  • Fast, symmetrical fiber speeds
  • Reliable service
  • No annual contracts

Cons

  • Limited availability
Verizon Fios Home Internet plans overview
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Internet 200/200$39.99/mo.*200 MbpsView Plans
Internet 300/300$39.99/mo.*300 MbpsView Plans
Internet 400/400$64.99/mo.*400 MbpsView Plans
Internet 500/500$64.99/mo.*500 MbpsView Plans
Fios Gigabit Connection$89.99/mo.Up to 940 MbpsView Plans
* w/ Auto Pay + taxes & equip. charges.
w/ Auto Pay + taxes.

Verizon Fios Internet Deals

Looking for a Verizon Fios deal? Look no further.

Deals

Now is the perfect time to take advantage of Verizon’s 100% fiber-optic network

Order Verizon Fios Home Internet 200 Mbps or 300 Mbps and get:

  • discovery+ for 3 months

Order Verizon Fios Home Internet 400 Mbps or 500 Mbps and get:

  • discovery+ for 6 months

Order Verizon Fios Home Internet Gigabit Connection (up to 940/880 Mbps)

Order online and Verizon will waive the $99 standard setup charge

See the Deals

Find out if Verizon Fios Home Internet is available near you.

A Reviews.org Editor's Choice award badge for January 2021

Verizon Fios Home Internet prices and plans

Verizon Fios Home Internet’s fair prices earned it our Editor’s Choice award for best ISP.

Verizon Fios Home Internet gives you a handful of internet speed options to choose from, and we’re happy to see they’re all reasonably priced.

But you may notice that some higher-speed packages cost the same as a lower-speed package. For example, both the Internet 200/200 and Internet 300/300 plans cost the same monthly price.

The reason for this is because the Internet 300/300 and Internet 500/500 plans are available only in limited areas of New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. But if you don’t live in that area, rest assured that Verizon Fios will still hook you up with reliably fast internet speeds.

Verizon Fios Home Internet promotional prices
PlanPriceDownload speedUpload speedDetails
Internet 200/200$39.99/mo.*200 Mbps200 MbpsView Plans
Internet 300/300$39.99/mo.*300 Mbps300 MbpsView Plans
Internet 400/400$64.99/mo.*400 Mbps400 MbpsView Plans
Internet 500/500$64.99/mo.*500 Mbps500 MbpsView Plans
Fios Gigabit Connection$89.99/mo.Up to 940 MbpsUp to 880 MbpsView Plans
* w/ Auto Pay + taxes & equip. charges.
w/ Auto Pay + taxes.

With Verizon Fios Home Internet, the only exception to the symmetrical, or identical, download and upload speeds is the Fios Gigabit Connection plan with up to 940 Mbps download speeds and up to 880 Mbps upload speeds. (This is a pretty common set of speeds for most fiber internet providers, so you’re not getting the short end of the stick.)

We usually like to see some low-cost, low-speed internet plans when reviewing an ISP. But we have to admit that the low starting price for the Internet 200/200 and Internet 300/300 plans make them a fairly reasonable choice for even a small family that doesn’t spend much time online.

Is Verizon Fios Home Internet cheap?

You wouldn’t be paying much more for Verizon Fios Home Internet service than you would if you grabbed a lower-speed plan from another ISP. And with those speeds, you’ll be ready for almost anything—streaming Netflix in 4K, online gaming, or working from home—if the occasion arises.

Speaking of, Verizon’s 200 Mbps plan is on the cheap side compared to other 200 Mbps plans out there—and its cost is right in line with other internet providers you’ll see in the Northeastern US, like Xfinity and RCN.

This rings doubly true for Verizon’s Fios Gigabit Connection plan. We’ve seen plans with near-gig speeds like this one ring in at the tune of $100 or more each month. (Yes, we’re giving the side-eye to Spectrum.)

Verizon Fios Home Internet price comparison
ProviderMonthly priceDownload speedsConnection TypeLearn more
Verizon Fios Home Internet$39.99$89.99200940 MbpsFiberView Plans
RCN Internet$32$54.993001000 MbpsCableView Plans
Xfinity Internet$59.99$79.99^4001000 MbpsCable/FiberView Plans
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 12 months.
^ For the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.

Notice, too, that other internet providers in the Northeast, like RCN and Xfinity, rope you into a contract and offer those promotional prices for only a year or so. While we can’t say that Verizon Fios Home Internet prices won’t go up, the fact that its fine print doesn’t spell out a timeline for those prices gives us hope that prices won’t keep climbing the stairway to heaven.

Compare prices and plans for internet providers in your area.

Where can you get Verizon Fios Home Internet

Currently, Verizon Fios Home Internet is available in the following Northeastern states:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia
  • Washington, DC
A map of the US showing Verizon Fios service in several Northeastern states

Data effective 11/16/2020. Availability varies by location and is subject to change.

But if you don’t call the Northeastern US home, don’t hang your head just yet. Verizon also launched 5G Home Internet service in quite a few cities across the US, including San Jose, CA, and Chicago, IL. And it’s expanding a Verizon 4G LTE Home Internet service to more rural areas that may lack much choice when it comes to internet service.

Verizon Fios Home Internet speed and data

Thanks to its fiber network, Verizon Fios offers reliably fast download and upload speeds.

Verizon Fios Home Internet comes with symmetrical download and upload speeds starting at 200 Mbps.

Those symmetrical, or same, download and upload speeds are unique to fiber internet. And that’s a huge deal for videographers and photographers who upload a lot of huge files or for anyone who works with large files in their home office, for that matter.

Verizon Fios Home Internet download speeds and upload speeds
ProviderDownload speedsUpload speeds
Verizon Fios Home Internet200–Up to 940 Mbps200–Up to 880 Mbps

Verizon Fios Home Internet’s speeds top off at up to 940 Mbps download speeds and up to 880 Mbps upload speeds.

That’s not as symmetrical as, say, 200 download and 200 upload, but you’ll see these speeds paired together with other fiber internet providers too. We’d say those speeds are close—and fast—enough that you won’t even notice that slight difference in download and upload speed.

Megaphone icon
Verizon Fios Home Internet is our choice for the best fiber internet
Verizon Fios Home Internet earned top marks in our best fiber internet review for its full-fiber to the home connection, wicked fast speed score, and rave customer reviews.

But how do Verizon Fios’s download speeds stack up when it comes to actual web surfing? As it turns out, pretty darn good.

In our review of the fastest internet providers, Verizon Fios Home Internet earned a weighted speed score of 65.1 out of 100—just below the top-scoring Google Fiber.

Verizon Fios Home Internet speed scores1
ProviderWeighted speed score*Overall rank
Verizon Fios Home Internet65.1 out of 1002nd out of 38 ISPs

*The Reviews.org weighted speed score is based on 2019 averages for each ISP’s download speeds (70% of score), upload speeds (20%) and latency (10%).

Light Bulb icon
What internet speed do you need?
Verizon’s got speeds that keep pace with even the fastest NASCAR drivers, but you might not need to spend as much on the fastest speeds possible if you only stream The Handmaid’s Tale on Hulu with your partner.

Check out our guide to how many Mbps you need to find out the right internet speed for you.

Data caps

Verizon Fios Home Internet plans don’t spell out a data limit policy, so we take that to mean you can use the internet as you will. And unless you hear otherwise, you’ll be good to stream movies for your weekend date night or download patch updates for your game.

This is a big plus for file-sharing and (legally) downloading HD movies or online games. Sadly, the same can’t be said for for our friends who just got a new PlayStation 5 and blew past their Xfinity data cap while downloading all the games.

Verizon Fios Home Internet contracts, equipment, and fees

Verizon Fios doesn’t tack on surprise fees or lock you into annual contracts.

Along with no annual contracts, Verizon Fios’s prices don’t come with surprises.

That means no surprise monthly fees—you’ll just pay for your internet plan and equipment rental. (But if you grab Fios Gigabit Connection, your equipment fee is included too.) Even your installation fee is waived if you order your internet online.

This is probably the simplest contract, equipment, and fees review we’ve ever written for an ISP. We’d like to give Verizon Fios a standing ovation for keeping things simple.

Equipment

Here’s one thing you should know about fiber internet: it uses something called an Optical Network Terminal (ONT) instead of a traditional modem.

The Verizon Fios ONT can be installed on the outside of your house or inside in places like your garage, a closet, or your basement. The ONT converts the light signals that fiber internet uses into copper and electrical signals your router can understand.

As for routers, you’ll likely receive the Fios Router G3100, which features new, faster Wi-Fi 6 technology. A Verizon Fios router costs $15.00 each month to rent—unless you grab the Fios Gigabit Connection plan.

You also have the option to buy your router outright, which might be cheaper in the long run. (Some of the official Verizon Fios routers, like the G3100, go on sale on Amazon for cheaper than the Verizon buyout price.*)

On top of that, you can grab a Wi-Fi extender from Verizon too. Wi-Fi extenders are perfect for stretching your wireless connection to those hard-to-reach spots in a large house—or if your router has to sit in a far-away corner.

Here’s a quick look at the Verizon Fios router and Wi-Fi extender:

  • Fios Router G3100: $299.99 buyout or $15.00/month rental
  • Fios Extender: $199.99 buyout or $10.00/month rental

Service fees

Service fees, who needs ‘em? We love that Verizon Fios doesn’t bombard you with handfuls of random service fees like some other ISPs do.

You might pay an installation fee if you don’t order online, and you may also pay a monthly equipment rental charge. But those are far more straightforward than something like a “Wi-Fi activation fee” or monthly charge to keep any service technician visits from blowing up your wallet. (Both of these service fees exist out in the wild. You’ve been warned.)

  • Installation fee: None if you order online, otherwise a set-up fee of $99.00.
  • Equipment rental charge: $15.00 a month for all plans except the Fios Gigabit Connection plan.
  • Early termination fee: Verizon Fios has no annual contracts, so no early termination fees.

Verizon Fios customer service

Every Verizon Fios Home Internet customer we’ve talked to had glowing remarks about customer service.

Verizon’s well-known for taking care of its customers, which is no small feat in the internet industry.

Most of us dread the thought of picking up our phone and calling our ISP. But Verizon Fios Home Internet earned top marks in HighSpeedInternet.com’s customer satisfaction survey.

Verizon Fios Home Internet customer service rating2
RatingScore
HighSpeedInternet.com customer satisfaction3.96 out of 5

A buddy of ours in Virginia swears by his Verizon Fios Home Internet service and recommends it to anyone who asks. He told us he rarely has to call customer service despite using the internet almost constantly (he’s a gamer and streamer). And when he does, he’s promptly taken care of, he said.

If you do need to get a hold of a Verizon Fios customer service rep, there are a few ways to do that:

Our picks: The best Verizon Fios Home Internet plans

Best for solo web surfers: Internet 200/200

Who it’s best for: If you’re sticking to a budget, you can still get fast enough internet speeds for multiple users to do regular work and even stream and game a bit.

Why we picked it: Our small household with a handful of devices and two serious gamers gets by just fine with 200 Mbps. And this price for the speed is right on target.

Internet 200/200
Verizon Fios Home Internet
Download speed:
200 Mbps
$39.99 a month

Data effective 11/16/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*w/ Auto Pay + taxes & equip charges

Best for large families of gamers and streamers: Fios Gigabit Connection

Who it’s best for: Is your house home to five or more people? Do you all like to stream movies, game, and maybe get a little work from home done on the side? Does a famous YouTuber live in your home? The Fios Gigabit Connection plan is pretty much made for you.

Why we picked it: We’ve seen far higher prices for near-gig speeds from other internet service providers. We’ve also seen slower speeds for the same price or more. That makes the Fios Gigabit Connection plan a bargain—but if you don’t quite need these speeds, the Internet 400/400 plan hits the sweet spot between price and speed too.

Fios Gigabit Connection
Verizon Fios Home Internet
Download speed:
Up to 940 Mbps
$89.99 a month

Data effective 11/16/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*w/ Auto Pay + taxes

Pair Verizon Fios Home Internet with Fios TV

If you’re tired of pre-packaged internet and TV bundles, you’re not alone. We think the folks at Verizon Fios are also weary of one-size-does-not-fit-all bundles, because they created a way for you to mix and match an internet speed with the Fios TV service you want.

We picked the 400 Mbps Internet + Your Fios TV as a well-priced combo. But seriously, you can and should play around with your options when it comes to mixing and matching your Verizon Fios services.

400 Mbps Internet + Your Fios TV
Verizon Bundles
Internet download speed:
400 Mbps
TV channel count:
125+
$109.99 a month

Data effective 11/17/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*General: For new eligible TV and/or Internet res. custs. Availability varies. Wired & wireless Internet speeds vary due to device limits, multiple users, network & other factors. See Verizon.com/yourspeed for more info. $15/mo. router and $99 setup charges & other taxes & terms may apply. Auto Pay & paper-free billing reqd. Subj. to credit approval & may require a deposit. Fios TV: $12/mo. STB charge may apply.

Recap: Is Verizon Fios Home Internet good?

We like pretty much everything about Verizon Fios’s internet service: fast speeds, decent prices that can include your equipment and installation charges, no annual contracts, and excellent customer service.

We do wish Verizon Fios Home Internet offered service in more areas of the US, but overall, we’re pleased with what it’s got going on.

  • Prices and plans: Prices for Verizon Fios Home Internet are lower than what you might see from competitors. And it offers quite a few different speeds to choose from, so you’re more likely to find a plan and a price that fit your needs.
  • Speed: Verizon Fios Home Internet regularly earns top marks when we analyze speed tests from around the US. If we were betting people, we’d wager you’ll get the speeds you pay for.
  • Contracts, equipment, and fees: No contracts and no hidden fees. Now that’s a sentence we love to type. Verizon Fios does have a monthly equipment charge for all but its Fios Gigabit Connection plan though.
  • Customer service: We consistently hear praise for Verizon Fios customer service, and that’s quite an achievement for an internet provider.

Verizon Fios Home Internet plans recap

Data effective 8/4/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*w/ Auto Pay + taxes & equip charges
**w/ Auto Pay + taxes

Find out if Verizon Fios Home Internet is available in your neighborhood.

FAQ

Q: Does Verizon provide any COVID-19 support?

Verizon continues to offer resources in response to COVID-19. You can read the latest news on what Verizon is doing to keep its employees and customers safe.

Sources

  1. Catherine McNally, Reviews.org, “The Fastest Internet Providers,” October 2020. Accessed November 16, 2020.
  2. Rebecca Lee Armstrong, HighSpeedInternet.com, “2020’s Best Internet Providers in Customer Satisfaction,” May 2020. Accessed November 17, 2020.

*Reviews.org uses Amazon affiliate links.

  • Simon

    If I’m using Roku for streaming live sports and movies with fios wifi which speed would you recommend I purchase?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      If it’s for one user, I’d go with the 50/50 Mbps plan. In theory, that should be more speed than you need, but there are other factors to consider: is your WiFi router up-to-snuff? are you watching in HD? are you sharing the internet with someone else (e.g., a high-speed online gamer)? More questions might not be helpful, but make sure you have at least 15 Mbps of speed all to yourself (the 50/50 Mbps should easily cover that). Let us know what you decide to get and how it works out.

      • Simon

        Thanks for the quickly reply Scott! In regards to the router I plan on purchasing one. Do you have a more affordable alternative recommendation than the one Verizon is offering ?
        In regards to the speed I’ll be sharing it with my girlfriend and we’ll be watching in HD. We only have one TV though for now so the most that will be happening is one watching TV and the other working on a laptop. Would you still recommend the 50/50?

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

          You can find a more affordable modem on Amazon.com (you can even find Verizon’s modem on Amazon for less), but I would call a Verizon rep and ask if it’s compatible BEFORE you buy. In fact, I would recommend calling and just asking what modem a representative would recommend instead of Verizon’s. It sounds odd, but I’ve done it with other ISPs and a representative has never pushed their modem on me (if they do, call back and speak with someone else). That being said, Verizon’s quantum gateway is actually pretty good, so it’s hard to go wrong with either choice.

          As for sharing, the 50/50 plan should be enough for you and one other person. Also, you do have 30 days with Verizon to change or even cancel your service. So as soon as the internet is set up, turn on a live game (in HD) and have your girlfriend turn on Netflix or Youtube and see if there are any issues. (You can also do an internet speed test to see what speeds you’re getting.) I’d check internet speeds during prime-time hours—for example, during Monday Night Football. If the 50/50 plan is not enough, but you still like Verizon’s service, you can upgrade to the 100/100 plan within the first 30 days at no charge. If Verizon’s service isn’t what you thought it would be, then you can just cancel it all.

          Hope that helps. Let us know if you have other questions, and we’d love to hear how it goes when it’s set up.

  • Jerome Prince

    Well my advise is to stay as far away from Verizon fios. We’ve had them for several years and about 15 months ago, soon after upgrading to 50/50 ,we started experiencing lagging from the service in some areas of the house. Their solution was to install a WiFi extender which kinda solved the problem. Now the lagging started again and Verizon wants us to purchase a new extender for $100,because the tech thinks that’s the problem. Why, if I take 5 steps in any direction away from the router the 50/50 suddenly drops in half? That seems to be the router’so problem. Needless to say we’re looking at other providers.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Hmm…that’s weird. Hope you find a better service.

      • Jerome Prince

        I’m working on it.

  • Wang_amexobc

    I totally agree with Jerome Prince. Stay away from Verizon fios and you do not hope to have bad experience with them. Here is my story. Two Verizon people knocked my door last year and asked my to switch my internet service to theirs. They offered me 49.99/ month for 50/50. I told them I was moving in around one year and did not want to switch. They said you could terminate your service any time with no fees. However, this year, the price goes up $10 a month. I called them and asked why. I was redirected by the reps to my emails and bills. The information that this $10 discount expires in 1 year is hidden in a lot of places, such as your previous bills, your welcome emails, etc. Especially the information in your welcome emails, you have to read it very carefully and then you can get that the next year price will be $10 up. Another thing is that they do charge termination fee because the contract is signed for 2 years, not like I was told by technicians that I can cancel at any time. I feel I was totally cheated. The even worse thing is that the internet speed never ever reached 50/50. It is always around 10-20, which is the same as COX I used previously, but the latter is much cheaper. I used ATT, COX, and other internet services. Verizon is the worst ever. Please stay away from it.

  • Laura

    Hey Scott
    Do you still reccomend FiOS with Verizon? I have seen almost all bad reviews.
    But, if satellite is my only other choice, I’m pretty sure this is my best bet.You?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      If your only choice is Verizon FIOS or satellite internet, go with FIOS. There’s absolutely no reason to choose satellite internet over cable (or fiber) internet. Really. Verizon will have better pricing, equipment, and no data caps.

  • Facely

    I had the same problem as the customer Moha described. They removed my chance to change and I am stuck paying for internet service that all of a sudden is not that great as it was last year. There is only myself and my boyfriend in the house and we don’t have a lot of gadgets. I have to have the internet for school so we are stuck paying this until we can get out of this contract. Needless to say, don’t get pulled into their flashy deals. Read ALL of their plans, buy only what you need, and compare plans with other providers. Verizon will not be getting my business in the future.

  • Js

    I have not had problems with Verizon in general. I switched from their 75/75 service to the gigabit and now regret it. The installation went fine and the service is fine. The problem is the connection keeps going down and up like dribbling a basketball. After trying to troubleshoot the connection with me, Verizon gave up and sent me a new router to try that, and that isn’t helping the problem either.

    This product is not ready for prime time.

  • Danika

    Online it says their internet only plans have no annual contract..

  • Meg

    I am a customer with Verizon Fios for 2 years. And just FED up with their service. I never had the connection problems with Time Warner Cable that I do with Verizon Fios. For the $80 a month I spend with them. It sure is a rip off and waste of my money. The service sucks, I can barely watch videos on my phone as the connection is horrible. Not to mention I have Verizon Wireless as well that sucks too! In October when my wireless is up I do plan to switch out of Verizon Wireless and very shortly plan to leave their internet service as well. I think people hype them up to be something that they are not. When I tried to call customer service about my connection problems. All they do is want you to spend more money with them on either upgrading (which I fell for before and essentially am paying more money for even more crappy service) or pay for another device. They don’t wanna do anything to help the existing paying customer. All they want is their money every month and their help is suggesting to spend even more money with them. I honestly would not recommend them to anyone. It’s been painful to have their service! Both Fios and wireless customer service is horrible and their regular services that you pay for every month is horrible! I’m not one to write reviews on any site, however, I am that disappointed with where my money is going to every month! Too much money for crappy crappy service! PLEASE PEOPLE TALE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY AND GO ELSE WHERE. If not you’ll eventually see why most of these comments are bad ones.

  • Faraz Naqvi

    HORRIBLE service and rip off’s you cant take away service without cancellation fees!!! Beware!!!!! these guys are a complete rip off. I am still kicking myself in the ass. I was put in a contract without my knowledge, and the promotions last for a short time (six months) which i was also not notified about. Donot got with Frontier unless you want to get ripped off like me.

  • DB

    Verizon is so frustrating! I pay hundreds of dollars a month and can only get service in 3 of my 4 bedrooms without having to purchase an extra extender! The customer service reps are generally polite but they have zero authority to keep their customers happy. Sad that they won’t do more to keep customers happy.

    • No Quarter

      You need to remove your hard earned money from their coffers instead of lamenting the lack of service. QUIT THEM

  • K T Gaming

    They suck very much👎🏼

  • Peter

    Horrible service and nobody to complain. Had a service for two month, was promised $35/month but receive a bill for $145. Tried to call customer service that was extremely rude and told me that I have to pay regardless of what I have been told. Supervisor Liz was absolutely rude and obnoxious

  • Kevin Goldstein

    God Awful.. customer service is a joke, so is their equipment.. I call once a week to get my internet service fixed, and most of the reps just try to pass the buck by sending out a tech. Cant wait till my contract is up so i can return to Comcast

  • Andrew

    Very disappointed in all my interactions with customer service. Took 5 months for them to remove the router I returned (finally got a rep that knew what they were doing). Was also told I would get a pro-rated bill when I cancelled service for internet, but was later told they don’t do pro-rated bills for stand alone internet service. It wasn’t a lot of money, but how don’t they know their own policies.

  • Ali Moshet

    Service is great and reliable. This is my 3rd year with FIOS. Speed 50/50.

  • Ali Moshet

    Reliable and excellent service. Fios 50/50. My third year.

  • Lilly

    Fios sucks !! Every other month I have a new fee to pay! They turned off my service over $80, that I told the representative I would be paying in two days. Payed the $80, Told the representatives that I had to make an arrangement days ago, she told me well you called on a Saturday so it doesn’t count! Then to get my next bill of $200 because of restored services!! Mind you I only have internet and cable, No phone !! They also renewed my 2 year contract without me knowing . HORRIBLE , I wouldn’t recommend Verizon if my life depended on it. Ready to switch to Cox and talk to the damn remote!

  • Jasoturner

    XFinity jacked my price from roughly $180/month to $255/month recently. Called and they said that was the best they could do.

    Fios gets installed tomorrow. Goodbye XFinity, you greedy pigs. I’ll be saving over a grand a year.

    • trish damico

      Don’t worry Fios will be doing the same as soon as your contract expires!!

  • Aaron Smith

    Can someone post the total monthly cost on a triple play starter promotional deal which is currently $79.99/month. I mean what are the fees etc.. and what do you really pay at the end of the month?

    • Tomas S

      Mine came to about $167 a month I have the triple play with custom tv package with the DVR four set top boxes hope that helps 😉

  • No Quarter

    Hi Sean, How long have you been at verizon? lol

  • Bri

    My bundle went from $201 a month to $298 a month when my contract was up. Now that its time to renew the only option they give is $278 with all their wonderful fees…rip off!

  • Akshat Gupta

    Fios should change the name to Fraud!! Persistent liars !! Time for a class action Law suit to bring justice to all customers who were promised rebates and gadgets at time of enrollment and Fios never fulfilled any of them !! Again!

  • Scott Pietroski

    I just got a ‘bait and switch’ from Verizon. I have been a customer for 11 years and now have no contract. I have had wireless router issues for a while so I called support to fix the router. They said they couldn’t send a new router because I didn’t have a contract. They then quoted me a price for a contract and confirmed 3 times that the new router would be arriving in 3-5 business days. So we signed. Well – the new router never arrived and now when I call them back they say that the new contract never included a new router! Even though they said one was on its way three times! Watch out for them. They will screw you if they can. Buyer beware!

  • eddybreen

    I have heard that you must have your land line disconnected if you have FIOS. Is it possible to keep your land line and phone number from Verizon and have a fios internet only connection as well. I am trying to cut the cord have internet fios only with out having to sacrifice my land line and phone number which are now with verizon.

    • Mj

      No, they didn’t a lot obj the fiber network and want t make their money back. Get Spectrum if you can.

  • Sandra Sanchez

    If they would allow the Discovery Go apps, then I would stay with Verizon. I am tired of waiting (2 years +).Time to switch back to Comcast.

  • Himagain

    VERIZON SABOTAGE?
    Since we moved into our house in 1990
    we have had phone service via 2 copper landlines (i.e. 2 phone numbers) with Verizon.
    One main reason we have kept them is because when the power goes out,
    even for extended periods, the phone lines almost always continue working.
    On the afternoon of Friday Jan 19, 2018, a salesperson representing Verizon knocked on our door.
    He was pitching FIOS, but I told him we were keeping our copper landlines, and wished him luck.
    He kept trying to talk to me as re-entered my house and closed the door.

    THE VERY NEXT MORNING, our primary phone line no longer had dial tone.
    Our second line worked fine.
    Unfortunately, no one at Verizon was answering a request for repair call on Saturday,
    So I had to wait until Monday to request repair service.
    When I finally, after over 20 minutes waiting, got a person to request repair,
    I was told that they refused to repair my copper service,
    and I must change over to FIOS to keep my phone service.

    Our home is now Verizon-free.
    Order# D6LJ60203

    • Frank Smith

      Switch to Vonage.
      As long as you have an internet connection, all you need do is plug in their box.

      It “finds its own way home”.

  • J Cobery

    What kind of security does Fios provide?

  • Elleon35

    I found the Verizon modem brand new on Amazon for $89.99 and the reason why I’m leaving Comcast is because 7 yrs ago I had the double play package and when XFinity came out the sales rep. informed me my double play package would go up in price but if making the switch to triple play would save money for 2 yrs. I told the rep I have a cell phone with unlimited call and text and she said even if you don’t use the phone our triple play package will still save you money and the promotion is good for 2 yrs. After one year of service can say I had no issues but on year 2 my bill skyrocketed and when I called informing them I had one year left on my promotion was told that was never a guaranteed and my bill was now $160 a month and when I asked to get rid of the phone was told my bill would remain the same regardless. Being on a limited income had to use a credit card to pay the bill but later I noticed every month my bill was increasing by $3 and when called asked what’s going on and the rep claimed it’s taxes so I told her to reduce my internet speed and and change my viewing channels but keep Bravo, Own, Life and Animal Planet and was told no problem. The next day I noticed all my favorite channels were gone and replaced with 5 home shopping network channels and 4 HBO which by the plays reruns constantly but my bill went down to $105 and was told as long as my package remains intact my bill would never go up “LIES”. Last night I logged into my account and was told promotion period ended and my bill is now $150 a month. I’m sick and tired of the lies and felt as though I was being held hostage because they knew no other provider was in my area except for them but when Fios attempted to come into the area the Christi administration denied permit and come to find out Comcast was paying his administration to keep out all other service providers but Christi is gone and there’s a new Gov. in town so Fios is coming and unlike Comcast I have a 2 yr contract and the promotion is good until 2021 and my bill with tax will be $98 a month and I’m going to get back all the channels I lost as well so on Feb. 20 I’m going to tell Comcast to go screw themselves and when they see customers leaving maybe then they’ll stop treating loyal customers like trash.

    • Chortlton Wheelie

      You’ll likely face the same issues in 2 years, once your discounted Fios price promise ends. Both Verizon and Comcast attract new customers with big discount 12 or 24 month agreements (some 2 year deals have slightly less discount in months 13-24, so watch out for that) but rarely will them come close to the new customer discounts for existing customers once the agreement is up. I’m at the end of my current discount period with Verizon Fios and they told me they can’t extend the pricing…the best they can do is a $20 discount from their standard rate if I sign up for 2 years. This still means $207.98 compared to my current deal of $162.98. Last year (May 2017) I did get one year of the discounts being extended (making a total of 3 years) and I thought maybe they’d introduced a more enlightened retention policy for existing loyal customers…but no, they’re not offering any more extensions this year. So I’m back to the ‘switch’ every two years. As a ‘new’ Xfinity customer I will get the comparable bundle for $160.99; similar channel line up (at least the ones that matter) and faster internet download speeds (although I expect upload on Xfinity won’t match Fios), and the same (now) pointless landline included. I’ve switched between the two enough times over the last 10 years to know the service, regardless of these pro-Fios review websites, is equally good and (for me) works 99.9% of the time. I think they’re both overpriced but cutting the cord creates a lot more hassle and once you get close to the same channels/services (that matter to me) through streaming, cutting the cord doesn’t actually save much (at least compared to the 2 year new customer deals I have to switch to every few years).

  • Elleon35

    I’ve a Comcast customer for 7 yrs and their so called prices is constantly increasing but paycheck remains the same and cable is considered a luxury not a must have. For 7 yrs I dealt with one lie after another and I offered to buy my own modem so my bill could go down and the rep. told they don’t do that mind you I have two TV’s left one in the box and rented one set box and Internet and the rep told me if I were to get a 2nd box I would be looking at roughly $200 a month for basic service.

  • Frank Smith

    Feb 2018.
    They just ran FIOS into my neighborhood in NJ.
    This article is stale and needs to be updated.
    They are now offering free install in my area and speeds of almost 1 Gb up and down.

  • Dash

    Man 2-5 years ago Verizon was the best but now you guys are trash WiFi is horrible pay for more still trash plus 50$ add to my bill old used materials and you only love the new customer. Pay bout 460 a month smh we gotta do better

  • Martin Baldessari

    Here’s a disqualifier for Fios over Xfiniity: Fios does not transmit Turner Classic Movies in HD.

  • Jackie Miller

    Decided to contact Optimum (my current TV provider) and Verizon (my landlineInternet provider) to unify all series to one provider. Customer service which I think was Sales with both companies seems professional even though information. on pricing was obtuse. Today a Verizon FIOS tech was scheduled for 10-12. At 12 I called and was told that my no tech was scheduled and that my installation was considered a “self-installed”. I don’t know who can install FIOS but I am not one of them. After wasting a half day, my decision is to stay with current providers for the services they provide. My experience with Optimum has been excellent for years. However, I will wait for the bugs to be worked out before I migrate to Altice. At that time I’ll look into adding my landline and Internet to OptimumAltice and cutting off Verizon entirely. It has become clear that Verizon is no longer committed to their copper wire customers preferring to push FIOS. I WILL NOT BE BULLIED INTO PAYING FOR A SO-SO SERVICE.

  • O Kay

    WORST experience ever! First they sent their representatives to my door with a ‘one-time-offer’. Next few months they kept sending promo mails saying FIOS is finally available in our building. After I finally called them, I got a HARD INQUIRY on my credit report. I asked if it would be a hard inquiry before agreeing, and the answer was ‘I don’t know’. The guy on the phone was rude and never sounded professional. They sent the equipment, and the technicians came on the agreed date and time but they said they needed to drill the wall and for that I had to get permission from the landlord. Really? After months of receiving mails, a hard inquiry and knocking on my door you say that you can’t provide me with your internet???? I asked them to contact my landlord because it was their job to sell their product, not mine. They never did. I did and my landlord did not give me permission to drill the walls. Why would he – I’m just a tenant, not a big company like Verizon offering internet connection. After hours of talking on the phone it became obvious they would never take responsibility. I asked them to come and pick up the equipment. They said I had to spend my time and drop it off myself. And if I didn’t, I would be charged $100 within next 3 weeks or so. Now tell me how you consider yourselves professional and how excellent your customer service is. To this day they keep sending their mails…

  • SCarroll

    I was Paying my Fios Bill today. I saw an adder to Expand Wi-FI reach in home, And get fastest and most powerful router for large Home. My first thought was I should get this, the coverage in my House is bad since switching from Comcast (I did save money). My family has complained endlessly to me about using data while at home. What they heck, yes i should pay them more to have Coverage in my house. Then it hit me. When i signed up i was sold on how great the Wi-Fi was. No mention about not having it everywhere in the house. Why are they asking me to pay extra? Be aware

  • Cin

    I have to say the same about comcast, the on demand does the same thing. Could there be a third provider out there?
    It all sucks

  • RedRaider

    Sounds like all of y’all who are complaining will soon be dumped just like Verizon did to Texas and will be 100% a wireless cellular company. It sounds like Verizon is now worse than Frontier who Verizon sold Fios to in Texas.

  • Neb

    I usually don’t wright reviews but after 5 attempts in the past 2 month to resolve installation issue, I fell that consumer should be aware of what I went through. Extremely frustrated. I signed up for Verizon Fios approx 2 month ago. They ran service wires across the street and across my front lawn and driveway on the first day of installation, they had noted the wires would be buried underground the next day. Two month later wires are still running across my street, front yard and driveway. It is currently a safety hazard for my family and neighbors. 2 people have tripped over the wire already. After 5 attempts trying to get Verizon to come out to do the insulation properly, I give up. They have repeatedly promised and wasted countless hours on the phone and waiting for appointments for the installation to be done. Huge FAIL and bad business. Will never deal with verizon again. Already scheduled Comcast to set up service install hopefully they can deliver. Now they want to charge $300 early termination fee…haha good luck getting that out me.

  • Artez Mage

    I can’t with fios, i used time warner cable and had no problems however Fios is just becoming a pain, the internet slows down, the apps arw horrible, the internet keeps losing connection despite everything being fine with the routers, the tv loses it’s connection to the cable box almost everytime, I rather just get an internet box and watch everything on netflix then waste time any further with this.

  • BrianMc

    Buyer Beware: I canceled my Verizon service due to poor service and expense after having been a customer for many years paying over $2,400 annually. I was told my balance was zero and even received a refund check for just under $40.00. Today received a new invoice for $96.00 and called to find out what it was for since there was no description on the invoice. 1.) A $50.00 cancelation fee for a contract I never authorized. 2.) Prorated charges for internet service beginning after I canceled my service through a month after I canceled my service. Verizons defense is that it says I owe the money in their system and are unwilling to correct it. The supervisor (Mr. Parker) also provided no contact information for me to pass this to legal to resolve. I have also since requested a copy of the contract and asked what legal jurisdiction the contract is under and was sent to the website where this information is not easily available leaving me to believe this is business practice rather than an error.

    • PAK-GG

      Same man, same

  • PAK-GG

    this is the second worst WiFi, next to Comcast. First thing is that if you pay for the highest one, congratulations you just got scammed, you can get something better for about half the price. second the WiFi just dies at the worst time (example: i play a certain game called counter strike, it lags you to the dept of ping hell. Not to mention that every time it happens, my team screams at me for not winning them the round.) third you “can” connect multiple devices to the WiFi, but over 3 small device just kills the network for 1, or when downloading something, IT KILLS THE TV, HOW CAN YOU MESS UP THIS BAD.