YouTube TV Review 2022

YouTube TV is one of the most complete live TV streaming services on the market

YouTube TV
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5
Plan
Price
TV channel count
Details
$64.99
/mo
85+
Chantel Buchi
Staff Writer, TV & Streaming
Read More
Published on January 18, 2022
6 min read

If you’re looking to cut the cord, YouTube TV is a solid choice.

YouTube TV combines the best of all things TV and streaming has to offer with access to live TV, on-demand movies, full seasons of popular TV shows, unlimited DVR space, YouTube videos, and the latest news clips.

So basically, everyone from your die-hard Seattle Seahawks fan dad to your princess-loving younger sister will have something to watch.

Pros
  • YouTube TV has an unlimited DVR storage space.
  • It has all of the major sports channels.
  • The value of YouTube TV is one of the best.
Cons
  • YouTube TV doesn't have the Hallmark or HISTORY channels.
  • There is no international sports coverage.
An awards badge for the Reviews.org Editor's Choice award 2021

How much does YouTube TV cost?

YouTube TV keeps things simple: one plan, one price

Youtube TV costs $65 per month. If you’re a fan of sports, lifestyle, and broadcast channels, 85 channels at that price is a huge win for everyone in the family—especially if you’re the one paying the bill.

YouTube TV was named our second pick (behind fuboTV) when it came to live TV streaming services.

It has an unlimited cloud DVR storage space and won’t erase your recordings until nine months have passed. YouTube TV also has NFL Network, NBA TV, and MLB Network for your sports entertainment at home. You won't find these perks with another service at this price.

How does YouTube TV compare with other live TV streaming services?
Provider
Monthly price
Available channels
Learn more
$64.99*85
$33$79.99*150
$69.99$75.99*75
$35$5050
$64.99$139.99140
Data effective 11/11/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
Data as of 11/11/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* Data as of 11/11/21. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
DIRECTV STREAM Device avail. for $5/mo. on 24-month installment agmt for well-qualified customers. Others pay $120 upfront for device. Taxes due at sale. See details.

YouTube TV gives you on-demand content and live TV channels. You also get a vast amount of choices for whatever mood you happen to be in. You’ll find drama, comedy, reality, action, mystery, and documentaries all in one place.

Deal for new customers
Deals

Youtube TV has a limited-time offer available for new users. Pay only $54.99/mo for your first 3 months. Check out this deal and save up to $30. 

Limited time offer. Date effective 1/18/22. Terms apply. 

Does YouTube TV have fees?

There are no hidden fees or penalties for canceling your subscription (high five, YouTube TV!).

And if you want to take a break without losing all of your Friends recordings, then you can pause your membership for up to six months and come back to watch Rachel and Ross break up again.

Want the latest TV & streaming reviews, top picks, and deals?

By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Which channels does YouTube TV have?

YouTube TV likely has most of your favorite cable TV channels
YouTube TV guide November 2021

One of the main reasons YouTube TV is one of the best all-around services is because of its channel lineup. Most families could live happily with the channels this live TV streaming service provides.

If you want to know why we chose YouTube TV as one of the best live TV streaming services for sports, scroll down a little to the sports channels section.

YouTube TV news, lifestyle, and kids channels include the following:

  • ABC
  • BBC America
  • BET
  • Cartoon Network
  • CNN
  • The CW
  • Disney Channel
  • ESPN, ESPN 2
  • Food Network
  • Fox
  • FX
  • Hallmark Channel
  • HGTV
  • MSNBC
  • Nickelodeon
  • Paramount Network
  • PBS Kids
  • TBS
  • Telemundo
  • TNT
  • Universal Kids
  • Univision

Also, a bonus feature lets you hide channels you’re not interested in.

You and your family will be able to record or watch your Chopped, Sunday NFL Countdown, and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse simultaneously. But you won’t be able to watch Ancient Aliens or The Open because YouTube TV doesn’t have the HISTORY Channel or the Tennis Channel.

Which local channels does YouTube TV have?

Now for the local channels. YouTube TV offers ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC for your local news and sports needs. But it could still vary depending on your location, so go ahead and check availability to make sure you get Let's Make a Deal on your device.

Which premium channels and add-ons does YouTube TV have?

YouTube TV offers monthly subscriptions to premium channels on top of the base monthly price of $64.99. You’ll be able to watch Shameless during your break at work and Power while your spouse shops.

You'll also get a 5 to 14-day trial before you commit to the monthly cost.

And the best part is YouTube TV offers all of the premium channels so you can have all of your channels in one place.

How much are YouTube TV's premium channels and add-ons?
Channel
Add-on monthly price

HBO Max

$14.99/mo.

SHOWTIME $0.99/mo. (for first 2 months), then $11.00/mo.

CINEMAX

$0.99/mo. (for first 2 months), then $9.99/mo.
STARZ $0.99/mo. (for first 2 months), then $9.00/mo.

EPIX

$0.99/mo. (for first 2 months), then $6.00/mo.

Entertainment Plus (HBO Max, SHOWTIME, STARZ)

$29.99/mo.

Sports Plus

$10.99/mo.

Which sports channels does YouTube TV have?

YouTube TV is the only live TV streaming service that gives you access to NFL Network, MLB TV, and NBA TV for $65 per month. 

YouTube TV also has a Sports Plus add-on package that includes channels like NFL RedZone, Fox College Sports, GolTV, Fox Soccer Plus, and Stadium for $10.99 per month.

So for all you NFL and soccer fans, you can get a more complete sports lineup with YouTube TV's new channels and its Sports Plus add-on for about $76 per month.

After the season is over, you can simply cancel the add-on if you'd like.

YouTube TV includes the following sports channels:

  • ACC Network (ACCN)
  • CBS Sports Network
  • ESPN, ESPN2
  • ESPNews
  • ESPNU
  • FS1, FS2
  • Golf Channel
  • MLB Network
  • NBA TV
  • NBC Sports
  • NBC Sports Network
  • NFL Network
  • Olympic Channel
  • SEC Network

If Roger Federer is your tennis idol or you simply like watching Rafael Nadal's backhand, you won't be able to watch either of them with YouTube TV as it doesn't have the Tennis Channel anymore.

And hopefully you're not a diehard University of Utah or Michigan fan because you also won't be getting your PAC-12 Network or Big 10 Network with YouTube TV.

YouTube TV sports channels November 2021
Bonus for sports fans
Megaphone

When you click the information button on your game, you’ll get details of the current score and the lineup. If you’re watching a recording, you’ll be able to see the final score and stats. How awesome is that?

How much DVR storage space does YouTube TV have?

Unlimited DVR storage for no extra cost. Enough said.

Out of all the streaming services (heck, out of all of the TV providers), YouTube TV has the best DVR in the industry.

Unlimited space for no extra cost and recordings will stay in your Library for up to nine months? We'll take it.

But your device must be connected to the internet to view your recordings. This isn’t a huge problem unless you travel a lot on a restrictive data plan and must be connected to Wi-Fi.

You can record all of the NBA playoff games, your roommate can record all of The Office episodes, and you both can record all of the movies your hearts desire.

How does YouTube TV work?

YouTube TV has a clean interface and a relatively bug-free service, but its guide doesn’t display many upcoming shows

The interface

YouTube TV separates its interface into three tabs (four, if you count Search): Library, Home, and Live. It has a similar look to the regular YouTube website, and there’s even a Dark Mode option in the settings (because that’s the cool thing to do these days).

Home

The Home tab is where you’ll find your suggestions, resume watching, Top Shows, Family, Shows, Movies, Sports, etc., and there’s also a horizontal list of genres you can choose from such as Cooking Shows, Comedies, and Documentary Series.

Under Shows, you'll find Chopped, Fixer to Fabulous, and The Kelly Clarkson Show. Family will include TV shows from Disney Junior, like Puppy Dog Pals. And in News, you'll easily find your local news channels, The Lead with Jake Tapper, and Fox Business Tonight.

You will have access to classic and newer movies such as Avengers: Endgame, Joker, Jumanji, Ocean's Thirteen, Wedding Crashers, and Maleficent. You’ll also be able to watch full seasons of Gold Rush, Property Brothers, Law & Order, Bob's Burgers, and Botched.

YouTube TV movies

YouTube TV’s home page will also suggest adding your favorite sports teams to your Library. When you add a sports team or live TV show to your Library, YouTube TV will record all future games and upcoming shows for you to watch whenever you want.

Library

On the Library tab, there are a few different categories: New in Your Library, Most Watched, Scheduled Recordings, and Recordings (all of your recordings).

Live

The Live tab is where you’ll find your live TV channels, giving you that traditional cable TV experience. You can also sort your channels however you’d like, with your favorite channels on top.

The drawback to the Live tab is it only displays a certain number of shows in the Guide. On a desktop, Live displays the show that’s currently airing and the next show in your queue. On a smart TV, Live displays shows airing for the next seven hours. And on a smartphone, Live only displays what’s currently airing.

YouTube TV Cell Phone Live tab

But the search button could come in handy by searching for “movies tonight” or “shows tomorrow”.

Which devices is YouTube TV compatible with?

In case you want to watch First Take on the train to work or your kids want to watch Paw Patrol while you're grocery shopping, you're going to need to know if your device is compatible with the YouTube TV app.

But there shouldn't be any issues, because YouTube TV is compatible with most devices. Here are a few to choose from:

  • iPhone, iPad
  • Android smartphone, Android tablet
  • Apple TV
  • Android TV
  • Roku TVs, Roku smart soundbar
  • Roku Ultra, Roku Streaming Stick, Roku Express, Roku Premiere
  • Fire TV Stick, Fire TV Cubes
  • Vizio SmartCast TVs
  • Samsung & LG smart TVs
  • HiSense TVs
  • Chrome, Safari

You can also watch YouTube TV on multiple devices with up to six accounts and three simultaneous streams.

We should also mention that YouTube TV suggests you have at least a 3 Mbps internet connection to stream and a 7+ Mbps for HD quality while using the app.

Recap: Is YouTube TV worth it?

For the price of $65 per month? You betcha

YouTube TV is a solid option for cord-cutters because you get all of these things for $65 per month:

  • More than 85 channels
  • NFL Network, NBA TV, and MLB Network
  • Disney Channel, Hallmark Channel, HGTV, and  Nickelodeon
  • An unlimited DVR storage space that saves for nine months
  • Access to all of the premium channels
  • A Sports Plus add-on to get the NFL RedZone Channel

Compared to some of the other live TV streaming services, they're not as well-rounded as YouTube TV because they either don't offer as many channels for this price, don't have all of the major sports channels in their lineup, or don't have an unlimited DVR storage space.

If you like live sports, movies, a DVR with no limits, and a variety of channels that makes everyone in the house happy ... you’ll like YouTube TV.

But if you need to get your college football fix with the PAC-12 Network or you just can’t live without the HISTORY channel, then YouTube TV might not be for you.

If you're not sure if YouTube TV is for you, we suggest checking out our review on fuboTV, our number one pick for live TV streaming services. 

Chantel Buchi
Written by
Chantel Buchi
Chantel is all about finding the best tv or streaming service to watch as many football games as possible to keep her Fantasy Football team in check. Prior to being a TV and Streaming Tech Reporter for Reviews.org, she worked for NFL Network and The Alliance of American Football. Before that, she received a B.A. of Communication at the University of Utah and an M.S. in Sports Journalism at USC. Go Utes and Fight On. Contact her at chantel@reviews.org

Related Articles

A teenage boy listens to music while doing homework on his laptop
Xfinity vs. CenturyLink Internet Review 2022
We compared Comcast Xfinity and CenturyLink's prices, download speeds, channels and more to choose a...
Reviews.org Phone Addiction Report
2022 Cell Phone Usage Statistics: How Obsessed Are We?
We sent out a survey asking some cutting questions about how people use their smartphones—and...
young man relaxing and working on laptop
Optimum Internet Review 2022
Optimum isn't available everywhere, but if you can get it, we recommend it. Read our...
A man and a woman sitting next to each other at a table looking at their smartphones.
AT&T Wireless vs. T-Mobile Review 2022
We put AT&T and T-Mobile up against each other to help you make an informed...
  • Carl Sandage

    UTub has locked the zip code change. GPS location is now forced. It’s a shame.

  • Sue Baron

    George Washington said, “If freedom of speech is taken away, then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.”

    Why are CNN, Youtube and Google suppressing freedom of speech? We have US laws that are supposed to protect freedom of speech. What happens when those laws only apply to the party supported by most of mass media? What happens when the very media that says they protect freedom of expression, freedom of opportunity, freedom of information, freedom to belong does the opposite of their claims? When freedom of expression starts to become limited as it was in the former Soviet Union, we move closer toward widespread repression. What happens when it is the very sectors that profess to be the strongest supporters of freedom of expression suffocate it?

    CoVid 19 has provided me with the opportunity to do something that I haven’t done since I was 16:To watch the so called “news”. I’m mot sure that is any more of a blessing than it is to be required to self isolate. After there is a vaccine, I will be happy to cease monitoring TV news again. Recently, I commented on a CNN news program that presented a young girl known for not going to school as a CoVid 19 expert.. To my shock within a couple of hours, I was blocked from not only commenting on CNN but also from accessing my account. I am blocked from Youtube for expressing my freedom of speech there which turns out not to be free at all. I have either licenses, degrees or certifications in Engineering, IT, Finance, English and Communications. I pay taxes, I vote and I have never committed a crime. So, why would CNN,Youtube and Google treat me as a threat? While I am a registered Democrat, I do not support criminal activity that I’ve seen recently in Joe Biden who is on camera in news worldwide threatening or bribing Ukraine officials nor do I condone deliberate lies on CNN.Since my review was not on these legitimate news subjects and since it was rather mild, I am shocked at being silenced

    The level of “news” today is not in dispute. Swedish writer Henning Mankell says of US media, “We have never seen such a flow if information and never has people known so little as today because everything has been done into fragments just look at TV news…The worst case is obviously the United States where you don’t understand anything of the news. So, that is obviously a risk. And, also, words are misused very much today, very much today. But I think the words that you and I use are always be the most important communication so I think there will always be a way of cleaning up the mess.”

    CNN not only breaks everything into fragments but also constantly repeats those fragments over and over to convince the simple minded of their views no matter how corrupt those they are supporting.

    Writer George Orwell said,

    “If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.”

    I hope that my party, the Democratic party and its supporters at CNN, Youtube and Google will no longer block freedom of speech because the writer says something they do not want to hear.

    I’ve included Google in this review because it is Google who is not responding.

  • CircuitWizardry

    YouTube TV is great from a standpoint of the channels offered. I even feel the price is fair. Where YouTube TV fails is the user interface, and some features most people just expect. Steaming live TV, we’ve come to expect a guide interface that allows us to quickly move between channels. This is a horrible experience on YouTube TV. If I bring up the guide on a streaming device, it brings me to the beginning of my channel list… rather than to what I am watching. So, instead of being able to go back to what I’m watching by just pressing OK, I have to scroll down until I reach the channel I’m on, and then finally press OK once I find it, which could easily be 30 or more channels away! Similarly getting info on shows, like many of the other cable and satellite offerings do, is horrible on YouTube TV. The real failure, is that for live streaming shows, they have only stereo sound! No support for 5.1, or even more modern standards for surround. This is a huge failure, as most of the other services have supported this for a while. If you care about watching live TV, and/or care about surround, YouTube TV gets a failing grade!

  • GrafZeppelin127

    I tried switching from YouTube TV to Sling twice in recent months, one during the latter service’s free “Happy Hour” promotion and once in response to YTTV’s price hike. Both times, I went right back to YTTV. (I also used Hulu Live for a time, until YTTV became available on Fire TV devices about 10 months ago.)

    I find that YTTV is far and away the best of these services, even though it’s the most expensive and the price hike was, shall we say, very upsetting. Hulu Live’s user interface is nightmarishly terrible compared to YTTV’s, and you can’t skip commercials on recordings or on live TV if you rewind (unless you pay an extra $10/month, which brings the price even with YTTV). YTTV’s unlimited DVR is simply unbeatable. And YTTV has another feature that the others can’t touch: the ability to customize your channel guide to see only the channels you want, in the order you want, on every device.

    One thing that never comes up in these reviews is the video frame rate, which is just as important to picture quality and watchability as pixel resolution. All three services stream live channels at 720p; YouTube TV streams just about every channel in 60fps, same as cable. When I last used Hulu Live it was still streaming some channels (most notably, and annoyingly on NFL Sundays, CBS) in 30 fps; hopefully that has improved by now. But Sling streams most channels — the only exception being certain sports networks and local NBC and Fox channels — in 30 fps. On a phone or computer monitor you won’t notice, but on a large HDTV (via, e.g., Fire TV or Roku device), you will, and 30fps can be brutal to watch if you’re used to the higher frame rate.

    In recent months YTTV has added Viacom cable channels (Comedy Central, MTV, &c.), Amazon Alexa integration, HBO Max (as an add-on), and WPIX-11 in New York which no other streamer has. Sling has some other drawbacks that I won’t get into here; suffice it to say that, although YTTV costs more than twice as much as Sling, you really do get that much more for your money.

  • Edward Marciniak

    I love youtube tv, I was just wondering if you are going to get at&t sports pittsburgh channel?

  • McGonagall’s Cat

    I had You Tube TV for two and a half years. I was quite happy with it UNTIL THEY PRICED ME OUT! I spent an hour trying to get hold of anyone who might help in their Customer Service department, but they really didn’t care. They are increasing prices just like Cable did. Great business model there. I quit Dish and Direct for the same reason, they just kept increasing and increasing what they were charging – for not much in the way of improvements.

  • Sue Kraus

    I have found that some of the “live” programming on YouTubeTv doesn’t match the live programming on DirecTv. Food Network for instance. The programming is vastly different on YouTube tv. The show line up on a given day is different-see Saturday am. And if the show being aired on both are on at the same time, the episodes are different. Why is this?.