The 5 Best Cheap Internet Providers

Need to surf the web but don’t want to pay an arm and a leg? Find out how to get cheap internet at home.
Editor's Choice

Monthly price:
$29.99$84.99
Download speeds:
501200 Mbps
Best Bundle Savings

Monthly price:
$45
Download speeds:
75100 Mbps
Best Price Lock

Monthly price:
$50$65
Download speeds:
100940 Mbps
Best No-Contract Option

Monthly price:
$49.99$69.99
Download speeds:
200400 Mbps
Best Rural Option

Monthly price:
$27$85
Download speeds:
251000 Mbps
Recent Updates: 1 month ago
Good news: CenturyLink just dropped its data caps and now offers unlimited data on all of its internet plans. That's on top of no contract requirements and a promise to not hike up prices, all of which make this DSL provider a great deal for anyone on a budget.

We all want to watch The Umbrella Academy on Netflix without waiting for the annoying buffering wheel. But at the same time, no one wants to pay a ton for our internet.

So how can you find the lowest price for the best speed without waving your arms to hail the incoming migraine? Easy. Check out our list of cheap internet service providers (ISPs) that give you a big bang for your buck.

Cheap internet service providers comparison
Monthly priceDownload speedsData capLearn more
$29.99$84.99*501200 Mbps11.2 TBView Plans
$45/mo.75100 Mbps1 TBUnlimitedView Plans
$50$65100940 MbpsUnlimitedView Plans
$49.99/mo for 12 mos.$69.99/mo for 12 mos.^200400 MbpsUnlimitedView Plans
$27$85^251000 MbpsUnlimitedView Plans
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.
For the first 12 months plus taxes and equip. fee.
New customers only. Rate requires paperless billing and excludes taxes. Additional fees apply.
^ For the first 12 months.

Find the cheapest internet plans in your area.

A badge depicting this brand as the Reviews.org Editor's Choice for September 2020

Xfinity: Best Value

With a low starting price and tons of speed options, it’s no surprise that Xfinity is our top choice for best value.

Xfinity internet plans
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Performance Starter$19.99°25 MbpsView Plan
Performance$55°100 MbpsView Plan
Performance Pro$70°200 MbpsView Plan
Gigabit$84.99**1200 MbpsView Plan
Gigabit Pro$299.95††2000 MbpsView Plan
Data effective 12/03/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
° For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
** For the first 24 months with a 1-year agreement.
†† With a 2-year agreement.

Pros

  • No-contract options
  • Lots of speed options

Cons

  • Questionable customer service

What we like about Xfinity

Balanced speed-to-price ratio

It’s hard to find prices that match most of Xfinity’s cost for the speed you get. And paired with its nationwide availability, this makes Xfinity our top choice for the cheapest internet.

Sure, you may find better deals here or there, but it’s hard to say whether those deals are available in a city down South, in the Midwest, on the West Coast, or in the Northeast.

We think the Performance Pro and Gigabit plans offer the best amount of speed for what you pay.

Performance Pro
Xfinity Internet - West
Download speed:
200 Mbps
Data cap:
1 TB
$70 a month
Gigabit
Xfinity Internet - West
Download speed:
1200 Mbps
Data cap:
1.2 TB
$84.99 a month

No-contract options

We love that Xfinity offers no-contract options for many of its cable internet plans. But we don’t love that you’ll pay more each month for slipping out of that contract.

But we guess it beats having to pay early termination fees if you move or decide to change internet providers.

Still, the pros of a contract might outweigh the cons. If you’re sure you’ll stick with Xfinity for at least a year, we say go for the contract and pay the lower monthly price.

What we don’t like about Xfinity

Ho-hum customer service

We hate to say it, but there’s a reason most people dread calling up Xfinity customer service. It seems to have one of the worst reputations in the internet provider industry, which is saying a lot since the industry as a whole doesn’t get great marks.

Our advice? Instead of calling, pop in to your local Xfinity store and get help face to face. Talking in person usually gets you to a solution faster. If you can, schedule an appointment and try to avoid popular times like weekends.

Speeds and prices vary

Comcast Xfinity’s prices vary drastically based on where you live. For example, you currently pay $10 less for the Digital Starter package if you live on the west coast versus the east coast. So depending on where you live, you might get a deal or pay a premium.

Different areas get access to different speeds too, which makes pricing an Xfinity plan ahead of your cross-country move a crap-shoot.

Check out our Xfinity review if you want to get into the nitty-gritty (which you should before you sign a contract).

AT&T: Best bundle savings

When you bundle it with DIRECTV, AT&T cuts you a deal.

AT&T TV + internet bundles overview
PlanPriceInternet download speedTV channel countDetails
DIRECTV ENTERTAINMENT All-Included Package + AT&T Internet$89.99‡‡100 Mbps160+View Plan
DIRECTV CHOICE All-Included Package + AT&T Internet$104.99‡‡100 Mbps185+View Plan
DIRECTV XTRA All-Included Package + AT&T Internet$104.99‡‡100 Mbps235+View Plan
‡‡ for 12 months plus taxes & internet equip. fee w/ 24-mo. TV agmt & combined bill. Autopay & Paperless bill reqd. Prices higher in 2nd year. $10/mo. internet equip. fee applies*

Pros

  • Tons of bundle options
  • Bundle savings of about $20/month

Cons

  • Limited fiber availability

What we like about AT&T

You save about $20 a month with AT&T bundles

Good news, satellite TV lovers. AT&T’s bundling lets you grab up to 330+ DIRECTV channels plus DSL or fiber internet plans.

The best part is that your monthly price with a bundle is actually cheaper than if you got a high-speed internet plan and a TV package and paid for them separately. More stuff for fewer bucks? That calls for a celebratory House Hunters binge session (one of our many guilty pleasures).

Good prices on internet-only plans

If you do decide to scrap the bundle and go for internet only, you’re still in pretty good hands with AT&T. Its Up to 100 Mbps plan isn’t the best-priced plan on the planet, but if you can get closer to that 100 Mbps top speed, it’s still worthwhile. (With this plan, AT&T matches you with the fastest speed, up to 100 Mbps, in your area.)

But AT&T’s fiber internet are what really shines when it comes to price.

If AT&T Fiber is in your area, we say go for that. Not only do you get a guaranteed 300 Mbps for the same price as the Up to 100 Mbps DSL plan, but you can boost your download speed up to 1,000 Mbps if you want. And AT&T’s price for its Internet 1,000 plan is one of the lowest we see around the block.

Pin icon
How much bandwidth do you need?
Streaming services like Netflix recommend at least 5 Mbps (that’s your bandwidth) for watching videos in HD—but don’t forget to factor in other family members’ or roommates’ devices who will be browsing the web too.

What we don’t like about AT&T

Limited fiber availability

If you like the sound of fiber-optic internet, you’ll want to double- and maybe even triple-check that AT&T offers it in your area. But let’s be real: compared to other fiber-optic internet providers, AT&T Fiber’s availability is pretty good.

We’re crossing our fingers this is something AT&T and other fiber providers improve in the future.

Get all the details

Still curious? Check out our full AT&T internet review.

A badge depicting this brand as the Reviews.org Editor's Choice for September 2020

CenturyLink: Best for unlimited data

CenturyLink offers unlimited data and no contract plans. That’s why it’s our Editor’s Choice for DSL internet.

CenturyLink internet options
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Simply Unlimited Internet$50^^Up to 100 MbpsView Plan
CenturyLink Fiber Internet$65°°940 MbpsView Plan
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
^^ Paperless billing or prepay required. Additional taxes, fees, and surcharges apply. Get the fastest internet speed available at your location (max speed is up to 100 Mbps).
°° Rate requires paperless billing. Additional taxes, fees, and surcharges apply. Speeds may not be available in your area. Maximum download/upload speed of up to 940 Mbps via a wired connection.

Pros

  • Unlimited data
  • No contracts

Cons

  • Not-so-great customer service
  • Unreliable download speeds

What we like about CenturyLink

Unlimited data on all its plans

There’s more to CenturyLink’s competitive prices than meets the eye. It also offers unlimited data on all its DSL plans in addition to its Fiber package.

According to CenturyLink, you won’t have to pay any overage fees at the end of the month, regardless of what internet plan you initially purchase or how much data you use in that billing period.

Cue the seemingly endless music streaming, show binging, and gaming because … unlimited data.

No contracts

No-contract options make things so much easier if you ever plan on moving. Or just get tired of your internet service.

CenturyLink doesn’t even bother with the old-fashioned idea of having you agree to stay for a year or two—this goes for all of its plans. How refreshing.

What we don’t like about CenturyLink

CenturyLink’s fiber plan is limited to 13 states

CenturyLink’s high speed Fiber Internet plan is only available in 13 states including Colorado, Oregon, Nevada, Washington, and Florida. Some states such as Colorado have a wider coverage area, so access to fiber internet isn’t restricted to a central city like Las Vegas, NV.

This is still a bit of a bummer for residents of California, Texas and the state of New York but hopefully the ISP’s plans to extend fiber coverage in the U.S. will happen soon!

Unreliable download speeds

You can buy a CenturyLink plan with speeds up to 1 gigabyte per second (1 Gbps, or 1,000 Mbps), but once you start streaming Stranger Things in Ultra-HD you may notice those speeds aren’t as fast as you’d like.

If it makes you feel any better, you’re not alone. Data from the FCC’s latest report shows that CenturyLink’s actual speeds were between 80% and 95% of its advertised speed, on average.2 (OK, we don’t feel any better about it either.)

Scope out our CenturyLink review

Need to get all the facts? Check out our full CenturyLink review and see for yourself.

Spectrum: Best no-contract option

You won’t get cold feet or early termination fees with Spectrum.

Spectrum Internet options
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Spectrum Internet®$49.99/mo for 12 mos.^Up to 200 Mbps***View Plan
Spectrum Internet® Ultra$69.99/mo for 12 mos.^Up to 400 Mbps***View Plan
Spectrum Internet® Gig$109.99/mo for 12 mos.†††Up to 1000 Mbps†††View Plan
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
^ For the first 12 months.
*** Wireless speeds may vary.
††† Speed based on wired connection. Available Internet speeds may vary by address. Gig capable modem required for Gig speed. For a list of Gig capable modems, visit Spectrum.net/modem.

Pros

  • No contracts
  • No data caps

Cons

  • Only three speed options
  • Ridiculously high Gig plan price

What we like about Spectrum

No contracts allowed

If chances are good you’ll be moving to a new location within the next year, Spectrum’s no-contract approach will make your life significantly easier. You won’t have to incur the wrath of expensive early termination fees.

Of course, even if you’re staying put, you can still enjoy not having to deal with being locked into one internet provider for the long haul. You can switch providers if something else catches your eye.

No data caps

While some ISPs will throttle your speed once you hit the data cap, Spectrum doesn’t even have a data cap to worry about.

So go on—binge-watch Stranger Things or battle your way to Gold in League of Legends like the carefree internet user you are.

Money icon
FYI: Your modem is free, but. . .
Spectrum includes a modem with its internet service. That’s $10–$15 you won’t have to spend each month renting a modem.

But Spectrum’s modem doesn’t come with Wi-Fi. So if you need a wireless connection, you’ll want to buy your own modem and router anyway. We recommend this Spectrum-approved modem/router combo on Amazon.

What we don’t like about Spectrum

Few speed options

The bare-minimum internet speed with Spectrum bottoms out at a measly up to 100 Mbps.* Oh wait, sarcasm doesn’t always come across well on the internet—for comparison, CenturyLink’s slowest internet speed is 15 Mbps.

Spectrum caters to customers who want fast internet speeds at a reasonable price. If you don’t want anything near 100 to 1,000 Mbps*, you’ll probably find lower prices and slower speeds with another ISP.

Outrageous Gig plan price

Speaking of Spectrum’s prices, that up to 1,000 Mbps* plan though . . . Its price is skewed toward the top-end of prices ISPs charge for gig speeds.

If you want to push the limits of your download speed to 940 or 1,000 Mbps, we recommend Xfinity, AT&T Fiber, or Verizon Fios instead.

Okay, but is Spectrum good?

It depends what you want. Check out our Spectrum review and see if its a good fit for you.

Windstream: Best for cheap internet in the country

Prices for Windstream internet vary a lot, but most of its plans are cheap and available in the country.

Windstream internet options
PlanPriceDownload speedData capDetails
High Speed Internet 25 Mbps$27‡‡‡25 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
High Speed Internet 50-100 Mbps$37‡‡‡100 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
High Speed Internet 200 Mbps$42‡‡‡200 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
High Speed Internet 300-400 Mbps$47‡‡‡400 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
High Speed Internet 500 Mbps$47‡‡‡500 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
Kinetic Gig$57‡‡‡1000 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
‡‡‡ For the first 12 months. Price includes $18.00 promotional credit.

Pros

  • Availability in often overlooked areas
  • Unlimited data
  • Lots of download speed options

Cons

  • Prices change based on location
  • Issues delivering speeds it promises

What we like about Windstream

Rural availability

While it’s available only in 18 states, Windstream focuses on rural areas and counties.1 That’s a huge deal, especially considering 19 million Americans still don’t have internet speeds that hit 25 Mbps.2 Let alone anything faster.

Unlimited data

We love it when we hear the words “no” and “data cap” in the same sentence.

Sure, most ISPs give you 1 terabyte (TB) of data each month, but if you love to download new games on Steam or work with large files from home, that cap looms large by the end of the month.

What we don’t like about Windstream

Prices change a lot based on where you live

It’s hard to gauge how much Windstream will cost you since the ISP has different prices for its plans for different areas of the US.

Windstream does solve for this by checking what speeds are available at your address, but we don’t love that extra step. And there’s just something about entering our address online that gives us the heebie-jeebies.

Windstream doesn’t always deliver on speed

We’re disappointed to see Windstream still struggles to deliver the speeds it promises. This is based on the latest Federal Communications Commission (FCC) report, which outs Windstream for delivering an average actual speed that was only 95.6%  of the speed it promised.3

For example, if you paid for Windstream’s 200 Mbps and it delivered only 95.6% of that speed, you’d end up streaming The Great British Baking Show at 191.2 Mbps.

Dig into the full review

Curious if you should get Windstream internet? Check out our full Windstream internet review to find out if it’s right for you.

Recap: The 5 cheapest internet providers

  • Best Value: Xfinity. Xfinity offers up a wide range of slow and fast download speeds that won’t make your pocketbook cringe. Plus it’s available nationwide.
  • Best way to save on bundles: AT&T. AT&T lets you bundle its fairly priced internet service with the wonder that is DIRECTV. And that saves you about $20 a month.
  • Best unlimited data option: CenturyLink. Say goodbye to data overage fees and excessively slow broadband speeds at the end of the month. All of CenturyLink’s internet plans now come with an unlimited data cap.
  • Best no-contract option: Spectrum. Don’t worry about early termination fees. Spectrum’s got your back with contract-free internet.
  • Best cheap rural option: Windstream. With speeds up to 1,000 Mbps and unlimited data to boot, we think Windstream’s prices are perfect for the rural areas it serves.
Top 5 ISPs with the best internet deals
ProviderXfinity InternetAT&T FiberCenturyLink InternetSpectrum Internet®Windstream Internet
Monthly price$29.99$84.99*$35/mo.$60/mo.$50$65$49.99/mo for 12 mos.$69.99/mo for 12 mos.^$27$85^
Download speeds501200 Mbps300940 Mbps100940 Mbps200400 Mbps251000 Mbps
Learn moreView PlansView PlansView PlansView PlansView Plans
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.
For the first 12 months plus taxes and equip. fee.
New customers only. Rate requires paperless billing and excludes taxes. Additional fees apply.
^ For the first 12 months.

How to get cheap internet at home

Has your internet bill gotten too big for its britches? We’ve got five tips to help you lower that monthly bill—even if you’re staying with the same provider.

1. Negotiate your bill

Don’t be afraid to push back on how much your internet costs—even if you’re staying with the same company. If you have an offer from another provider that’s cheaper, let your ISP know.

We managed to negotiate our bill with Comcast Xfinity by letting them know we had a competing offer from CenturyLink. After doing the research, we knew what we could get for what price from both providers, and then we approached Xfinity.

The key to a successful negotiation like ours is to stay firm—and don’t bluff. You should also be prepared to actually cancel your service or go with another provider if the company you’re talking to just can’t match the better price.

Pin icon
Mark a negotiation day on your calendar
If you know when your contract or promotional price ends, mark that date on your calendar. Then give your ISP a call a few days beforehand and negotiate your bill. Remember: be firm, do your research, and don’t bluff.

2. Test your internet speed

Test your internet connection speed and make sure you’re getting the speed you pay for. If you’re not seeing your connection hit speeds at or above what your ISP advertises, check out these easy tips to try to resolve the issue yourself.

If your connection is still slow as molasses after troubleshooting, give your ISP a call and see if it can resolve the issue. If it can’t, it’s probably time to switch providers.

3. Know how much speed you need

Do you need a 100 Mbps internet plan? And what’s the difference between that and a 5 Mbps plan?

Picking out the right plan without going overboard can be difficult, but you can get a good idea of what speed you need by figuring out what you usually do online. (Don’t forget to factor in what your other family members are doing online too.) Here’s what speeds the FCC recommends for certain activities.

FCC-recommended speeds based on internet activity
Internet activityMinimum download speed
Browsing the internet, social media, and email1 Mbps
Personal video calls (ex. Skype)1 Mbps
High-definition personal video calls1.5 Mbps
High-definition video conferencing6 Mbps
Student research, downloads, etc.5–25 Mbps
Working from home5–25 Mbps
Downloading files10 Mbps
Streaming standard-definition video3–4 Mbps
Streaming high-definition video5–8 Mbps
Streaming Ultra HD 4K video25 Mbps
Online console gaming*3 Mbps
Online multiplayer gaming*4 Mbps

* If you game online, you’ll also want to consider latency, or the amount of time it takes for data to travel from the game’s server to your computer and back. Check out latency ratings by ISP in our Best Internet for Gaming review.

4. Bundle up your services

You might get a lower price for your internet if you bundle it with other services like TV and phone. We managed to bundle our Xfinity internet with a cable TV package—both together cost less than if we just purchased internet.

5. Look for subsidies

Depending on your income, you may qualify for an internet subsidy.

To find out if you qualify and to find subsidized internet offers in your area, check out the nonprofit EveryoneOn. All you need to do is enter your ZIP code and answer an eligibility question to find low-cost internet in your area.

Sources

1. Windstream, “Coverage Map

2. Federal Communications Commission (FCC), “Eight Broadband Progress Report

3. FCC, “2018 Measuring Broadband America Fixed Broadband Report

* Wireless speeds may vary.
°Speed based on wired connection. Available Internet speeds may vary by address. Gig capable modem required for Gig speed. For a list of Gig capable modems, visit Spectrum.net/modem.

Additional contributors

Jerusha Kamoji