TELUS vs. Bell Home Security Systems

Two great Canadian home security companies go head-to-head

Our Recommendation
TELUS logo
4 out of 5 stars
4
Plans starting from
$15.00
/mo
  • pro
    Six home security plans to select from
  • pro
    Two self-monitoring and four professionally monitored plans
  • pro
    $5 monthly discount with 5-year contract
  • con
    No plans offer two cameras, just one
  • con
    3–5-year contract
Bell home security logo
3 out of 5 stars
3
Plans starting from
$9.99
/mo
  • pro
    Bundle home security, internet, and mobile for discounts
  • pro
    One self-monitoring and three professional monitoring plans
  • pro
    Offers more equipment pieces in its packages
  • con
    Cameras don’t specify if they have motion detection
  • con
    3-year contract
Chantel Buchi
Sr. Staff Writer, TV & Streaming
Read More
November 13, 2022
6 min read

We are committed to sharing unbiased reviews. Some of the links on our site are from our partners who compensate us. Read our disclosure policies to learn more.

We compare the best home security system in Canada, TELUS, with Bell, another home security company that should be on your radar.

We like how TELUS has six plans to choose from to fit your budget and needs, and we also like that Bell offers home security at half the price if you bundle it with internet and mobile (two services that are a must).

We don’t like how both home security companies require you to sign at least a three-year contract, but that might not bother you because you’re already planning to keep home security for longer.

Let’s dive into the details to see which home security system is best for you.

TELUS vs. Bell: Prices and monitoring plans

Winner: Tie

For either company, you don’t need to budget for two separate payments for monitoring and the equipment. Both TELUS and Bell include everything in one nice, monthly price.

We believe you're guaranteed to find a home security plan that works for you among the 10 packages these home security companies offer.

For example, TELUS’s and  ’s basic self-monitoring plans include a camera of your choice. But TELUS’s plan is $5 cheaper than Bell’s, but Bell throws in a smart light bulb and smart plug.

TELUS and Bell home security comparison
Home security companyTELUSBell
Price$15.00–$60.00/mo.$19.99–$59.99/mo.
Monitoring typeSelf and professionalSelf and professional
Contract length3–5 yrs.3 yrs.
Details

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

TELUS SmartHome Security plans and pricing

We’ll start by saying that we recommend the Control + Video plan. We know it’s TELUS’s most expensive plan, but it comes with everything you need in a secure security system: smart home, video surveillance, and professional monitoring.

But if you need less features, the table below compares TELUS’s offerings to help you decide on a plan. And check out the equipment section to see what each plan includes.

And if none of these plans fit you and your home, TELUS also offers customized packages.

TELUS home security plans
Monitoring plan Smart CameraSmart Automation PlusSecureSecure + VideoControlControl + Video
Price$15.00/mo.$33.00/mo.$42.00–$47.00/mo.$52.00–$57.00/mo.$52.00–$57.00/mo.$55.00–$60.00/mo.
Contract length3 yr.3 yr.3–5 yr.3–5 yr.3–5 yr.3–5 yr.
24/7 professional monitoring
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Smart home integrations
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Environmental monitoring (smoke, flood, etc.)
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Details

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

All TELUS plans grant you access to its mobile app, but only three TELUS plans include smart home integrations.

If you want to increase the heat on your smart thermostat before you get home, grab either the Smart Automation Plus, Control, or Control + Video plan.

Bell home security plans and pricing

With Bell, you'll receive more home security equipment as you upgrade from one plan to the next (more on that in the next section).

We recommend Bell’s Best plan because it offers home automation. So, you'll be able to turn on the kitchen lights wherever you might be with the Bell mobile app.

Bell offers home security at half the price listed for 36 months if you bundle it with internet and mobility . Bell’s fiber internet plans range from $55 to $150 per month for download speeds of 10 Mbps to 8 Gbps . And mobile plans range from $55–$105 for up to four phone lines.

If you don’t already have a reliable internet provider, you’ll want to consider ordering internet because your cameras will need Wi-Fi to function (like we need nanaimo bars to function).

Bell home security plans
Monitoring planGoodBetterBestVideo and Automation Package
Price$39.99/mo.$49.99/mo.$59.99/mo.$19.99/mo.
24/7 professional monitoring
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Home automation options
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Environmental monitoring (smoke, flood, etc.)
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Details

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

PS: all plans have a three-year contract, and make sure to budget for installation, which is $200. But Bell waives your installation fee if you choose to bundle.

TELUS vs. Bell: Security equipment

Winner: Tie

For TELUS and Bell, the security equipment you receive depends on which plan you go for.

TELUS has pieces from reliable brands like Alarm.com, Skybell (doorbells), and Weiser. So you’re guaranteed to receive some quality equipment to feel secure in your home.

TELUS home security equipment
Package
Price
# of pieces of equipment
Learn more
Smart Camera$15.00/mo.1 camera
Smart Automation Plus$33.00/mo.2 smart devices of your choice
1 camera
Secure$42.00–$47.00/mo.1 control panel
2 door/window sensors
1 motion sensor
Secure + Video$52.00–$57.00/mo.1 control panel
2 door/window sensors
1 motion sensor
1 camera
Control$52.00–$57.00/mo.1 control panel
2 door/window sensors
1 motion sensor
3 smart devices of your choice
Control + Video$55.00–$60.00/mo.1 control panel
2 door/window sensors
1 motion sensor
3 smart devices of your choice
1 camera

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

Check out our thorough review on TELUS to find out more information on the equipment that it offers.

Bell, on the other hand, provides quantity. Bell’s $50 plan includes eight pieces of equipment; not even TELUS’s most expensive package offers that number. And with the Best $60 plan, you can get two cameras.

Bell home security equipment
Package
Price
# of pieces of equipment
Learn more
Good$39.99/mo.1 touchscreen control panel
2 motion detectors
3 door/window contacts
Better$49.99/mo.Everything in Good + 1 camera
1 smoke and heat detector
Best$59.99/mo.Everything in Better + 1 smart lock OR smart thermostat OR extra camera
Video and Automation package (self-monitored)$19.99/mo.1 camera OR video doorbell OR smart thermostat
1 smart light bulb
1 lamp dimmer/smart plug

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

TELUS vs. Bell: Cameras

Winner: TELUS

TELUS and Bell tied on the pricing and plans section and the equipment. But Bell doesn’t specify if its cameras have motion detection capabilities, so we have to give the camera award to TELUS.

Other than that, TELUS and Bell have features in their cameras that the other doesn’t—but they’re just minor differences.

TELUS cameras

A few features that stand out to us that TELUS has are the following:

  • The indoor camera has two-way talk.
  • The doorbell camera has a zoom feature
  • Each camera has motion detection.
TELUS camera comparison
FeaturesIndoor cameraOutdoor cameraSlimline Wi-Fi Doorbell Camera
Inside/outsideInsideOutsideOutside
Resolution720p1080p720p
Night vision
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes, up to 40 ft.
Icon Yes  DarkYes, up to 8 ft.
Zoom
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes, 5X
Motion detection
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Two-way talk
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Learn more

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

Consider an indoor camera if you’d like to keep tabs on what’s happening in your home. A doorbell camera is great for seeing who’s at your door. And an outdoor camera catches video of any funny business in front of or behind your home.

Bell cameras

We tried asking an agent if Bell’s cameras have motion detection, but they didn’t want to disclose that information before they got our information.

Soooo, even though we’re not sure if Bell’s cameras have an essential home security camera feature, Bell’s indoor camera does have two features we think you could get behind:

  • 1080p resolution
  • Night vision
Bell camera prices
FeaturesIndoor cameraOutdoor cameraVideo doorbell
Inside/outsideInsideOutsideOutside
Resolution1080p1080p720p
Night vision
Icon Yes  DarkYes, up to 15 ft.
Icon Yes  DarkYes, up to 40 ft.
Icon Yes  DarkYes, up to 8 ft.
Angle of view110°117°180°
Motion detectionNANANA
Two-way talk
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon No  DarkNo
Icon Yes  DarkYes
Learn more

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

The indoor camera is excellent for seeing your kids arrive home from school. An outdoor camera has great night vision, so you’ll be able to view clear video of any intruders. And the doorbell camera comes in handy when catching proof of package stealers.

TELUS vs. Bell: Smart home integrations

Winner: TELUS

TELUS takes the championship belt in the smart home integration arena.

Why does this matter? If you’d like to turn on the AC on your smart thermostat or turn on the porch lights from your smartphone, your choice of plans is easily narrowed down.

TELUS offers home automation in three of the six home security packages:

Bell offers smart home integration with only one of its plans: Best for $60 per month.

TELUS vs. Bell: Which is better?

Winner: TELUS

TELUS and Bell tied on pricing and equipment, but TELUS came out on top with its cameras and smart home integration offerings.

  • Prices and monitoring plans: Tie. TELUS SmartHome Security offers six plans ranging from $15 to $60, and Bell's four packages range from $20 to $60. Both offer self-monitored and professionally-monitored plans. TELUS provides discounts if you sign a 5-year contract, and Bell applies discounts if you bundle with internet and mobility.
  • Security equipment: Tie. TELUS gives you 1–8 pieces of equipment from reliable brands, like Alarm.com, Skybell, and Weiser. Bell home security gives you 3–9 pieces made by Bell themselves. The equipment from either company includes video doorbells, indoor and outdoor cameras, and motion detectors.
  • Cameras: TELUS. TELUS’s cameras win because TELUS specifies on its website that all of its cameras have motion detection, while Bell’s website does not. The other differences are that TELUS’s indoor camera has two-way talk and its doorbell camera has a zoom feature. Bell’s indoor camera gives you 1080p resolution and night vision.
  • Smart home integrations: TELUS. TELUS offers home automation in three of its six home security packages: Smart Automation Plus, Control, and Control + Video (the plan we recommend). Bell provides home integrations with its Best plan, which is also the package we suggest ordering from this home security company.
TELUS and Bell comparison
Home security companyTELUS Home SecurityBell Home Security
Price$15.00–$60.00/mo.$19.99–$59.99/mo.
Monitoring typeSelf and professionalProfessional
Contract length3 yrs.3 yrs.
Details

Data effective 9/22/2022. Offers subject to change.

Methodology

To find out if TELUS or Bell was the better home security system, we looked at the following:

  • Pricing and discounts
  • Equipment (quality and quantity)
  • Camera features
  • Home automation

When possible, we like to test all home security systems we review so we have hands-on experience to relay to you.

In this case, we don't live in Canada, so we did hours of thorough research based on our expertise to avoid leading you astray.

FAQs

Is TELUS only in Canada?

Yes, TELUS offers mobility, internet, TV, and home security services in Canada only.

How do I contact Bell Home Security?

You can call Bell Home Security at 1-800-267-2001 if you want to order or move your services to a new location.

How can I contact TELUS SmartHome Security?

Call TELUS’s customer service at 1 (866) 771-9666 for help with any questions.

Chantel Buchi
Written by
Chantel Buchi
Chantel is all about finding the best tv or streaming service to watch as many football games as possible to keep her Fantasy Football team in check. Prior to being a TV and Streaming Tech Reporter for Reviews.org, she worked for NFL Network and The Alliance of American Football. Before that, she received a B.A. of Communication at the University of Utah and an M.S. in Sports Journalism at USC. Go Utes and Fight On. Contact her at chantel@reviews.org

Related Articles

Woman using a laptop for a conference call discussing the best internet service providers
8 Best Internet Service Providers 2022
Looking for the best home internet options? Read on to compare download speed, price, and...
A man with dark hair and a beard pays bills on his laptop while lying on a couch
5 Best Internet Deals of December 2022
Save money with the best home internet deals this month, including Xfinity deals, AT&T deals,...
Grandmother sitting on couch in living room watching cable TV
Basic Cable Packages and Channels Guide
We’ll help you find the best basic cable package for your living room and your...
Woman looking at cellphone outside
Visible Wireless Cell Phone Plans Review
Looking for a simpler cell phone plan? Visible Wireless is a no-nonsense prepaid provider that...