Xfinity vs. AT&T Internet Review 2021

Both AT&T and Xfinity offer good value, but Xfinity’s low promo prices are likely easier to get in your neighborhood.
Best Value for Low Promo Prices
Monthly price
$20$70
Download speeds
251200 Mbps
Data cap
11.2 TB
Best Gig-Speed Price
Monthly price
$35$60
Download speeds
100940 Mbps
Data cap
Unlimited

Debating between Xfinity and AT&T internet? We dug through all the fine print for pricing, contracts, and speed to help you figure out which of these two internet service providers (ISPs) is best for you.

Long story short: Xfinity is a great choice for low promotional prices, and you’re more likely to get its service since it covers a wider area. But AT&T Fiber offers an excellent fiber internet connection for a low price, plus you get unlimited data. You’ll just need to live in an AT&T Fiber–connected city to get it.

Need to know more? Let’s dig in and shine a light on how these two ISPs stack up.

Compare Comcast Xfinity and AT&T internet prices and speeds near you.

Xfinity vs. AT&T: Prices

AT&T Fiber’s gig plan steals the show with its value-packed price.

Take a quick look at AT&T and Xfinity internet plans and you’ll quickly see that Xfinity has more options to choose from. Also, Xfinity’s promotional prices are all over the place.

That means internet packages like its 200 Mbps Performance Pro Plus plan are a better deal than the slower 25 Mbps Performance Starter Plus plan. So make sure you check and double-check the prices on the plans you’re interested in. But given that most of us need more download speed versus less, that should be a good thing.

Xfinity internet promotional prices for the Central US
PlanPriceDownload speedData capDetails
Performance Starter$20*25 Mbps1.2 TBView Plan
Performance Select$40*100 Mbps1.2 TBView Plan
Performance Pro Plus$50*200 Mbps1.2 TBView Plan
Extreme Pro$60800 Mbps1.2 TBView Plan
Gigabit$701200 Mbps1.2 TBView Plan
Data effective 12/03/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
with a 2-year agreement.
Heads Up icon
Xfinity recently added a data cap to its Northeastern internet plans
If you live in the Northeastern US, you may have expected an unlimited Xfinity data cap. But in late 2020, it announced that customers in Northeastern states like Maryland, New York, and Virginia now have a 1.2 TB data cap.

If you’re concerned about going over your Xfinity data cap, there are a few ways to add data or get unlimited data.

If you glance at the fine print, you’ll also notice that Xfinity’s two oddly priced plans, Performance Starter Plus and Performance Select, come with no contract. That’s likely why these two plans are at a higher price—but if you plan to move soon, it may be well worth paying extra for no contract.

The Xfinity Performance Pro Plus plan also comes with no contract, but its promotional pricing lasts for only one year. That makes it a better deal than the AT&T Fiber Internet 100 plan—at least for 12 months.

Otherwise, AT&T Fiber’s promo prices are cheaper than what you’ll find with Xfinity.

AT&T Fiber internet promotional prices
PlanPriceDownload speedData capDetails
AT&T Fiber Internet 100$35/mo.100 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
AT&T Fiber Internet 300$45/mo.300 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
Internet 1000$60/mo.940 MbpsUnlimitedView Plan
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
for 12 mos, plus taxes & equip. fee. $10/mo equip. fee applies

AT&T Fiber offers some of the lowest prices out there, especially for its gig internet (940 Mbps) plan. You’ll be hard-pressed to find a lower price for similar speeds.

The only catch is, AT&T Fiber is limited to certain cities in the US only, which we’ll cover in just a second. So if you live in a suburban or rural area, you might be left out.

Pin icon
What about AT&T DSL internet service?
In October 2020, AT&T announced that it discontinued its DSL internet service. Current DSL customers continue to receive service, but if you’re a new AT&T customer, you’ll likely see only AT&T Fiber internet options.

Xfinity vs. AT&T Fiber: Availability

Since AT&T discontinued its DSL internet service, its service area became a bit smaller. Luckily, AT&T Fiber internet service extends to a number of major cities and their suburbs. You can check the AT&T site for a full map of locations with AT&T Fiber service.

Here are some of the major US cities where AT&T Fiber is available.

AT&T Fiber cities

  • Birmingham, AL
  • Mobile, AL
  • Little Rock, AR
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • San Diego, CA
  • San Francisco, CA
  • San Jose, CA
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • Miami, FL
  • Orlando, FL
  • Atlanta, GA
  • Savannah, GA
  • Chicago, IL
  • Springfield, IL
  • Bloomington, IN
  • Indianapolis, IN
  • Wichita, KS
  • Bowling Green, KY
  • Lexington, KY
  • Baton Rouge, LA
  • New Orleans, LA
  • Shreveport, LA
  • Detroit, MI
  • Kansas City, MO
  • Louis, MO
  • Jackson, MS
  • Charlotte, NC
  • Reno, NV
  • Columbus, OH
  • Oklahoma City, OK
  • Charleston, SC
  • Nashville, TN
  • Knoxville, TN
  • Memphis, TN
  • Austin, TX
  • Dallas, TX
  • El Paso, TX
  • Houston, TX
  • San Antonio, TX
  • Milwaukee, WI

Take each city listing with a grain of salt, though. For example, my aunt lives in Burleson, Texas, which is listed as having AT&T Fiber service. But the fiber lines are still getting installed in her neighborhood.

The easiest way to check if AT&T Fiber or Xfinity is available in your area is to enter your zip code in our tool below. We’ll pull up all the ISPs available in your area—and it takes only a few seconds of your time.

Find out which internet providers are available in your area.

Xfinity vs. AT&T: Internet speed

Xfinity internet speeds kept pace while AT&T lagged behind. But we bet AT&T Fiber speeds improve.

Sometimes it’s hard to gauge how much internet speed you need, but whatever your online activities are, both Xfinity and AT&T Fiber likely have a plan that keeps you connected.

High pricing aside, we still wouldn’t recommend Xfinity’s 25 Mbps internet plan simply because that’s the bare minimum download speed for doing almost anything online.

Sure, you might see speeds of 3 Mbps required for streaming Netflix, but that required speed doesn’t take into account your other connected devices or other people using your internet.

Instead, both AT&T Fiber’s 100 Mbps plan and Xfinity’s 200 Mbps plan are great places to start. And, luckily, both of those plans come at a pretty good intro price.

Xfinity vs. AT&T internet download speed and upload speed comparison
ProviderDownload speedsUpload speeds
Xfinity Internet251200 Mbps350 Mbps
AT&T Fiber100940 Mbps100880 Mbps

We also looked at actual internet speed performance in our latest report on the fastest ISPs.

After looking at thousands of internet speed tests from 2019, we found that Xfinity speeds stayed zippy while AT&T lagged behind. Of course, part of the reason AT&T scored much lower than Xfinity is because of its DSL internet performance. (DSL technology is just slower than cable or fiber internet, there’s no getting around it.)

However, because fiber internet is a newer and typically faster technology, we bet you’ll see reliably fast download and upload speeds from AT&T Fiber.

Xfinity vs. AT&T internet speed scores1
ProviderReviews.org weighted scoreOverall rank
Xfinity46.6 out of 1007th out of 38 ISPs
AT&T33.8 out of 10015th out of 38 ISPs

Data effective 1/4/2021.

Just a quick note: those weighted scores aren’t actual download speeds.

Rather, they’re a combination of the average download speeds, upload speeds, and latency. And to put things in perspective, our top-scoring ISP, Google Fiber, earned a score of 75.6 out of 100.

Light Bulb icon
Want to see how fast your current internet is?
Take our free internet speed test and get your download speed results in a minute or less.

Xfinity vs. AT&T: Data caps

If data caps make you cringe, AT&T Fiber is your best bet. It offers unlimited data on all of its plans.

Xfinity, on the other hand, might seat you on the struggle bus with its 1.2 TB data cap. Granted, you can get unlimited data with Xfinity, but it requires you to pay $11–$30 extra a month.

Xfinity vs. AT&T: Contracts and fees

Neither ISP lets you dodge contracts completely, but Xfinity offers a few no-contract plans in the Northeast.

Unfortunately, both AT&T and Xfinity require you to sign a contract to get internet service. In general, both ISPs require a one-year contract, though there are a couple of exceptions from time to time.

For example, Xfinity offers a few no-contract plans to customers in the Northeast, and its Gigabit plan typically requires a two-year contract.

What a contract means is that, if you need to cancel your Xfinity or AT&T internet service before the contract is up, you’ll pay an early termination fee (ETF).

Here’s how Xfinity and AT&T ETFs compare:

  • Xfinity early termination fee: Xfinity doesn’t list exact amounts, but you can expect to at least pay the monthly price for the time remaining on your contract.
  • AT&T early termination fee: $15 for each month left on your contract—up to a total of $180.

The early termination fee is typically prorated by a certain amount depending on how many months you’ve already paid for service. For example, AT&T’s ETF is $180, but if you paid for three months of service, your fee is prorated to $150.

Xfinity vs. AT&T: Customer service

Neither Xfinity nor AT&T amaze us with customer service, but AT&T is better by a slim margin.

Let’s face it: internet service providers aren’t known for exceptional customer service experiences. And, sadly, Xfinity and AT&T aren’t an exception to this unwritten rule.

In the latest American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) report, both AT&T and Xfinity scored slightly higher than the internet industry as a whole.2 But neither scores would be considered a passing grade if these two ISPs wanted to graduate the school of customer service.

  • Xfinity: 66 (61 in 2019)
  • AT&T: 68 (69 in 2019)
  • Industry overall: 65 (62 in 2019)
Xfinity vs. AT&T customer service ratings2
RatingXfinityAT&T
ACSI 2019–202066 out of 10068 out of 100

It’s nice to see that both Xfinity and AT&T improved their scores from the last ACSI report. But if that doesn’t make you feel better about calling either ISP, here are a few tips for dealing with internet customer service.

Recap: Which is better, Xfinity or AT&T?

It’s a hard call to say whether Xfinity or AT&T is better since both ISPs are fairly similar. But we’d say AT&T Fiber is your best bet thanks to its low prices and fiber internet technology.

That’s not to say Xfinity doesn’t bring a few perks to the table too. It offers fast internet speeds and low prices as well. Plus, the chances that Xfinity is available in your neighborhood are high since this ISP almost blankets the whole US with internet service.

  • Pricing: Both Xfinity and AT&T offer low promotional prices to new customers. But if you need gig speeds, go with AT&T Fiber. Its Fiber Internet 1,000 plan is one of the lowest-priced gig-speed plans we’ve seen.
  • Internet speed: Xfinity internet speeds hold up better than AT&T’s speeds, but we bet AT&T’s DSL internet plans are to blame. That said, we think AT&T Fiber internet speeds might leave Xfinity in the dust. (And AT&T Fiber offers unlimited data.)
  • Contracts: Both internet providers require a contract, though Xfinity has a few no-contract plans if you live in the Northeastern US.
  • Customer service: AT&T. Neither company is outstanding, but slightly higher customer satisfaction scores make us lean toward AT&T.

Take a look at Xfinity and AT&T Fiber internet plans available in your area.

Sources

  1. Catherine McNally, Reviews.org, “The Fastest Internet Providers,” December 2020. Accessed January 2021.
  2. American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI), “ACSI Telecommunications Report 2019–2020,” June 2020. Accessed January 2021.
  • Margery Guest

    I have AT&T and am totally disgusted with their customer service. Is XFinity’s any better? And what is the name of the company–Comcast or XFinity?
    Margery Guest

    • Steve

      Comcast customer service is the worst you will find anywhere. You would not believe how bad they are. By far the worst customer service I have ever dealt with in my life. It took us 14 months to get a correct bill, and that was after monthly calls for hours to person after person in some other country. Every time they would tell us “okay the bill should be correct now”….then the bill would come and it was still totally wrong! On top of that we had the contract with signed right in front of us and they did not want to honor the contract. Terrible does not even begin to describe comcast customer service. We switched from Wideopenwest to comcast about 4 yrs ago because comcast had a channel package we wanted, now out of the blue they dropped the main ch we went with them for, which is something they have done before. The ONLY good thing with comcast is the internet speed, other than that everything about them sucks. We are looking to drop comcast now, unless you want continual headaches I would avoid comcast like the plague.

  • https://www.tricountyinspector.com Jeff Baker

    ATT UVERSE stinks. Bad picture quality and they even charge you for HD premier. I’ve had DTV for 15 years and is by far a better picture. Can’t get DTV where I live and I miss it. UVERSE needs to do something about their HD quality. Techs told me all their equipment is refurbished junk. You would think UVERSE could put a little more effort in to their equipment and services. Roku and streaming picture quality BLOWS AWAY UVERSE equipment. It’s sad that consumers get screwed by companies and SEO’s that make millions. It’s 2018 not the 90’s-Get your act together ATT

  • gloria

    Morning, you don’t talk about phone service with both companies. I have both. Comcast for TV, Att&t for internet/phone service. I need to change because the cost for both is too much. I can not decide which is better. My children use the internet and we use the TV. Out internet service is too slow. I don’t like DirectTV. I have been with both companies for over 35 years.

  • Michael Kowaleski

    I live in an area that gets ATT fiber (Zip 77433). They say 1000 mbps on their site. Does that change any of the recommendations above?

  • EllaFino

    What you are quoting are the base prices. You throw in the cost for the DVR, Modems, additional TV boxes, taxes, misc fees etc. and you are paying a heck of a lot more.

  • Clarkson Kent

    Here’s my story… First off, Comcast “straight up” lies to you. I cut the cord a long time ago. Didn’t know Comcast was breaching the contract, till my nephew moved in and comcast said I was using over 1TB of data each month. Turned out they changed my plan without my knowledge. Called to see what I could do and that’s when all the lying started. That’s another story, won’t get into that here. Started looking at options, saw this article and others – that are just flat out wrong.

    First off 50Mps, 150Mps – has nothing to do with speed (despite how the cable companies try and sell it). 50Mps, 150Mps has to do with the size of the internet pipe. So unless you’re running 25 HD TV’s you don’t need 150Mps. I did some real time tests. HD uses 5-6MPS, Netflix 4K HDR uses around 15MPS, Oculus GO VR uses around 12MPS, per stream. I ended up going with Uverse U300 and 50MPS, and ran that system right along side Comcast’s 144 Channel, 150Mps. Comcast promo price $113/mo w/1TB cap – plus $50 a month extra if you want unlimited (no recorder). Uverse 500+ channels,50Mps with Unlimited $85/mo (with recorder). As far as TV, side by side – they look identical. I do like ATT’s box a lot better, pulling up your favorite channels is really easy, and they do a few other things better. ATT’s box seems snappier too. On the internet side – ran real time tests on both systems – ATT is a consistent 50Mps, and let’s just say Comcast does “a lot” of throttling (very inconsistent). Uverse does take up some of that 50Mps for TV, but not much. I ran uverse HD TV upstairs, had Netflix HD running downstairs, along with a You Tube 720P video playing on one computer – all at the same time. Was seeing 35Mps (still open) on my wireless laptop. So if you’re hesitant on Uverse I wouldn’t be, I’m very happy with it. Unlimited internet, as long as I keep TV…sure the price is going to go up after the first year, but will be about the same as Comcast internet only with unlimited. BTW, saw faster upload speeds on ATT – if that’s important to you.

  • michelle

    Ok here is my dilemma I have comcast blast pro xfinity 250 Mbps on shared loop for the most part its pretty fast and lags sometimes I have about 7 devices average on the wifi. At&t internet 75 which is u verse and is offered at my house which is better????