Netflix Review

Netflix has the most popular on-demand content than any other streaming service, but it’s also the priciest

Netflix
Netflix
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5
  • pro
    A great mix of movies and shows (maybe the best)
  • pro
    Tons of high-quality Originals
  • con
    The most expensive on-demand streaming service
Chantel Buchi
Feb 08, 2024
bullet6 min read

We may earn money when you click our links.

Netflix has ruled the streaming service industry despite new companies, like Disney+ or Peacock, joining the on-demand streaming game.

We don’t necessarily like the price tag on the monthly subscription of Netflix, but you do get what you pay for (and it still maintains the title of best streaming service). You get access to over 5,000 titles, giving you hours of bingeable entertainment. 

Let’s get into the details to find out if Netflix is worth it for you.

And if you want to stream in HD and 4K, and also want to avoid lag, below are our favorite internet providers for streaming Netflix.

Spectrum
Spectrum Internet®
Our Rating
4 out of 5 stars
4
Starts at
$19.99
/mo
pro 30-1000 Mbps^
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
ATT
AT&T Fiber
Our Rating
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.25
Starts at
$55
/mo
pro 300-5000 Mbps
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
Xfinity
Xfinity Internet
Our Rating
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.25
Starts at
$19.99
/mo
pro 75-1200 Mbps
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
Verizon
Verizon Fios Home Internet
Our Rating
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5
Starts at
$49.99
/mo
pro 300-2300 Mbps
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

How much does a Netflix subscription cost?

The price of one or two movie theater tickets

Netflix has three plans to choose from: Standard with Ads for $7 per month, Standard for $15.49, and Premium for $23.

Although $23 is costly compared to other on-demand services, there’s no better service than this to watch hours upon hours of great entertainment. Prepare to find yourself binge-watching more often than not.

How much does Netflix cost per month?
Plans
Price
Simultaneous streams
HD viewing
More info
Netflix Standard with Ads$6.99/mo.*1No
Netflix Standard$15.49/mo.*2Yes
Netflix Premium$22.99/mo.*4Yes
* Compatible device and internet connection required. Offers and availability may vary by location and are subject to change.

The Standard with Ads plan is perfect for the money-savers, but you won’t get to watch Squid Game in high definition (HD). But you can stream two devices at a time.

If you want HD and plan to share an account with your roommate or your significant other, then the Standard plan is the way to go.

But if the whole family wants to watch their own Netflix movie or TV show on their device, then the Premium Plan will have your family set.

Also, your Netflix account allows you to create five profiles. So you won’t have to worry about getting your child’s suggestions of Fuller House or Victorious getting in the way of your browsing experience.

What is Netflix Ultra?

Netflix Ultra refers to ultra-HD (also called 4K) resolution. Traditional HD starts at 1920x1080 pixels, but ultra-HD has twice that many pixels! Users in the US can get this ultra-HD content with the Premium Netflix plan. If you live in Europe, you can sign up for Netflix Ultra, which costs a little more than Premium.

Can you rent DVDs from Netflix?

We know it’s hard for the younger generation to understand ... but some people out there are still ordering physical DVDs and Blu-ray discs (what are those?).

Currently, almost two million subscribers are using Netflix’s DVD-by-mail rental service.

Maybe grandma and grandpa would like this plan and could choose from a vast catalog of DVD and Blu-ray titles from Star Trek: Discovery to Dune to The Jungle Cruise.

Plans range depending on if you want to be able to rent one or two discs at once.

Invalid Entry in Embeddable Script
Netflix's DVD experience

New password sharing rules

Netflix is cracking down on password-sharing, limiting simultaneous streams to only work within the account owner's primary Wi-Fi network location. It's unclear when Netflix will implement these restrictions globally, but you can check out our piece on Netflix's new password rules to stay up to date.

What content does Netflix have?

  • New Girl
  • Love Island
  • Grey's Anatomy
  • NCIS
  • Suits
  • Jane the Virgin
  • Better Call Saul
  • Gilmore Girls
  • The Mindy Project
  • Alone
  • Cold Case Files
  • Married at First Sight
  • Hoarders
  • Seinfeld

Netflix has new, old, and Original content in a variety of genres, such as comedy, documentaries, crime TV drama, romance, sci-fi and horror, reality, animated series, and action.

Your eldest son will be able to watch Dave Chappelle’s comedy special, your toddler will be entertained with lots of animated movies like Trolls, and you can watch Wedding Crashers or Glass Onion on your day off.

Netflix TV shows include the following:

Netflix movies include the following:

  • A Man Called Otto
  • This Is Where I Leave You
  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • We're the Millers
  • The Angry Birds Movie
  • The Five-Year Engagement
  • The Mule
  • The Hateful Eight
  • Leap Year
  • I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry
  • Sing 2
  • The Boss Baby
  • The Age of Adaline
  • How to Lose a Guy In 10 Days

If you want to learn more about the kids content on Netflix and its excellent parental controls, head on over to our best streaming services for kids piece. Netflix won the No. 1 spot for the best service for your little ones.

Which Originals does Netflix have?

Netflix is top-notch when it comes to Originals. Why? Because Netflix produces Original content with famous directors, producers, and actors.

And wow, they make for some great TV shows and movies. So great that lots of Netflix’s Original titles become popular and known. Current popular Netflix Original shows include the following:

  • Queen Charlotte
  • The Umbrella Academy
  • Emily In Paris
  • Love Is Blind
  • Black Mirror
  • Workin' Moms
  • Grace and Frankie
  • The Recruit
  • Virgin River (with Alexandra Breckenridge)

Current popular Netflix Original movies include the following:

  • Your Place or Mine (with Reese Witherspoon and Ashton Kutcher)
  • The School for Good and Evil (with Charlize Theron and Kerry Washington)
  • Glass Onion
  • We Have a Ghost
  • Extraction and Extraction 2 (with Chris Hemsworth)
  • You People (with Jonah Hill and Eddie Murphy)

Does Netflix have premium channels?

Unfortunately, you’ll have to go elsewhere for your Max (formerly HBO Max) or Paramount+ with SHOWTIME®. Just get Max through its own app, and you’ll get all of Max's older Original series on top of Max’s new Originals.

Does Netflix have sports?

Netflix is an on-demand service and doesn’t provide live TV channels. But you can still find binge-worthy sports series and movies.

Netflix includes the following sports content:

  • Hustle (with Adam Sandler)
  • Bill Russell: Legend
  • Jerry Maguire
  • The Swimmers
  • Kicking & Screaming
  • The Last Dance
  • Gridiron Gang
  • Friday Night Lights
  • Untold: The Girlfriend Who Didn't Exist
  • Southpaw

If you’re interested in a live TV streaming service with lots of sports channels, check out our top streaming services for sports. Just make sure to put together an awesome man cave before you start streaming.

Does Netflix have Spanish-language or international content?

If your mom is obsessed with telenovelas like mine, your mamá will love Netflix.

Netflix has a Spanish-language genre, and if you (the daughter or son of the telenovela-loving mother who gets lassoed into watching these shows with her) don’t speak Spanish, there are subtitle options.

Netflix subtitle menu

Some Spanish-language series and movies on Netflix are the following:

  • Through My Window
  • Como Caído del Cielo
  • You've Got This
  • Honeymoon with My Mother
  • Sí Mi Amor
  • El Rey, Vicente Fernández
  • Anonymously Yours
  • Street Food: Latin America
  • Sounds Like Love
  • Don't Blame Karma!
  • Perdida
  • Guatemala: Heart of the Mayan World

Netflix’s international content is diverse and unique to an on-demand streaming service. It’s also a nice break from American titles if you’d like to venture off and visit other countries virtually.

Here are some popular international titles you can expect on Netflix:

  • Flavors of Youth: International Version
  • The Forest
  • Lorena, Light-Footed Woman
  • Eye for an Eye
  • I'm No Longer Here
  • Spoiled Brats
  • Blood Sisters
  • African America

Is my internet fast enough to stream Netflix?

Netflix suggests you have at least a 3 Mbps internet connection to stream and 5 Mbps for HD quality while using the app. If you have two simultaneous streams, you will need 10 Mbps for HD quality. (Not sure what internet speed you have? Test it out with our tool.)

If you want uninterrupted streaming, Tyler Abbott has a few internet provider suggestions for you.

Which internet providers are best for Netflix?
Service
Monthly price
Download speeds
Learn more
Xfinity$19.99-$12075-2000 Mbps
ATT Preferred Dealer$55-$225300-5000 Mbps
Verizon$49.99-$89.99^300-2300 Mbps
Spectrum$19.99-$89.9930-1000 Mbps°
Data as of 04/05/2023. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
Pricing for some packages are for the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.
Price after $5/mo Autopay & Paperless bill discount (w/in 2 bills). Plus taxes $ fees. Limited availability. May not be available in your area.
^ Price per month with Auto Pay & without select 5G mobile plans. Fios plan prices include taxes & fees
° Limited time offer; subject to change; valid to qualified residential customers who have not subscribed to any services within the previous 30 days and who have no outstanding obligation to Charter.

Which devices are compatible with Netflix?

Pretty much all devices are compatible with the Netflix app, as long as you’re connected to the internet. Most mobile phones, tablets, smart TVs, and gaming consoles allow you to download the Netflix app.

But remember, you can only stream on one to four devices at a time depending on your plan. Here are a few streaming devices to choose from:

  • iPhones and iPads
  • Android smartphones and tablets
  • Windows smartphones and tablets
  • Apple TV
  • Chromecast
  • Fire TV
  • Nvidia Shield
  • Roku TV
  • PS3 and PS4
  • Xbox 360 and Xbox One
  • Smart TVs such as Hisense, LG, Panasonic, Phillips, Samsung, Sanyo, Sharp, Sony, and Vizio
  • Blu-ray players such as Funai, LG, Magnavox, Panasonic, Toshiba, Samsung, Phillips, Sharp, and Sony

Does Netflix have a good interface?

Netflix’s interface is traditional and easy to use

Open up Netflix, and you’ll be welcomed with a user interface that’s simple, seamless, and intuitive.

Netflix homepage October 2022

Find your convenient tabs at the top of Home, TV Shows, Movies, New & Popular, and My List. Now Netflix includes a new tab: Browse by Languages.

Scroll down, and you’ll find series and movies categorized by Popular on Netflix, Trending Now, Comedies, Familiar Favorites, Small Town Charm, Documentaries, and more.

One feature we love: when you watch a movie, such as 21 Jump Street, there will be a category on your homepage of Because You Watched 21 Jump Street. You’ll find similar movies like Pineapple Express and Me Time (a Netflix Original featuring Kevin Hart and Mark Wahlberg).

We also like the search bar. Netflix won’t tell you if a title isn’t available. Instead, it will suggest other movies or TV series similar to the one you're looking for.

Netflix's search bar January 2023

Recap: Is Netflix worth it?

There’s a reason Netflix is the most popular streaming service

Recently, Netflix has seen more competition with Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, and Disney+, just to name a few. But there is no other on-demand streaming service that is as well-rounded as Netflix.

You’ll find excellent movies and series, incredible Original content, and one of the best interfaces on Netflix. These are the reasons why it has a high price tag among the rest.

Netflix is the best option for families, those who love exclusive content, those who love the idea of 5,000+ titles to choose from, and those who love to binge-watch. Tons of positive user reviews don’t lie.

If this doesn’t sound like you or you’d like to see your other options, check out our full review on the best streaming services. And if you'd like a streaming service with live channels, we have a list of the best live TV streaming service providers

Plans
Price
Simultaneous streams
HD viewing
More info
Netflix Standard with Ads$6.99/mo.*1No
Netflix Standard$15.49/mo.*2Yes
Netflix Premium$22.99/mo.*4Yes
* Compatible device and internet connection required. Offers and availability may vary by location and are subject to change.

FAQs

Squid Game season 2 will release on Netflix—you're not going to like this—at the end of 2023 or beginning of 2024. 

You can't get Netflix free with Amazon Prime, unfortunately. Netflix costs $7–$23 per month, and Amazon Prime Video costs $9–$15. 

Chantel Buchi
Written by
Chantel Buchi
Chantel is all about finding the best tv or streaming service to watch as many football games as possible to keep her Fantasy Football team in check. Prior to being a TV and Streaming Tech Reporter for Reviews.org, she worked for NFL Network and The Alliance of American Football. Before that, she received a B.A. of Communication at the University of Utah and an M.S. in Sports Journalism at USC. Go Utes and Fight On. Contact her at chantel@reviews.org

Related Articles

An African-American man works at a desk with a laptop
CenturyLink Internet Review
Are CenturyLink prices as good as they seem? We spill the beans on its Price...
Young family using Cox internet in their living room
Cox Bundles Review
Save hundreds of dollars by combining your cell phone plan and internet service with Cox.
A man lies on a brown couch and shops online with his laptop
Cheapest Internet and Wi-Fi Providers
Looking for cheap internet? Read our review to find the best cheap internet and Wi-Fi...
5G coverage
T-Mobile 5G Home Internet vs. Verizon 5G Home Internet
Verizon’s 5G home internet service offers the best speeds and prices, but T-Mobile’s superior availability...