HBO Max Review 2021

HBO Max
  • Check
    HBO series and WarnerMedia movies
  • Check
    Lots of highly anticipated content
  • X
    Not a standalone service
Chantel Buchi
Staff Writer, TV & Streaming
Read More
Published on August 13, 2021
4 min read

What is HBO Max? We’re so glad you asked.

It’s a new streaming platform with 10,000 hours of content that everyone is going crazy for, such as Friends: The Reunion. If you want to watch the newest movies that were supposed to be released in theaters, like Space Jam: A New Legacy, then look no further.

HBO Max is a combination of HBO, WarnerMedia shows and movies, as well as new original content. Everyone in the family will have something to watch with its vast selection of kids, drama, action, and fantasy shows and movies.

You get all this for $10–15 per month! But read on to see if this is your next subscription.

Pros
  • HBO Max has lots of highly anticipated content
  • You'll get access to newly released Warner Bros. movies
Cons
  • HBO Max is not a standalone service
  • It's about the same price as Netflix, but with less total content

What is HBO Max?

It’s a unique streaming service with old, new, and original content

HBO Max is the new HBO streaming service, which took over HBO Now.

With HBO Max, you’ll get lots of excellent WarnerMedia shows and movies, a selection of other acquired series and films, and new original content that everyone is raving about. Honestly.

What really sets HBO Max apart at the moment is the fact that all of the new WarnerMedia Bros. movies will be available on this streaming service and the movie theaters. Warner Bros. announced they will be releasing all of its new 2021 movies on its respective release date on HBO Max for those who don't want to attend the theater.

So grab the family, your homemade caramel popcorn, and throw on one of these new releases:

  • The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (June 4, 2021)
  • In the Heights (June 18, 2021)
  • Space Jam: A New Legacy (July 16, 2021)
  • The Suicide Squad (August 6, 2021)
  • Reminiscence (September 3, 2021)
  • Dune (October 1, 2021)
  • The Matrix 4 (December 21, 2021)

In between the new releases, check out HBO Max's excellent on-demand library. HBO Max includes the following TV shows:

  • Friends
  • Euphoria
  • The Big Bang Theory
  • South Park
  • Lovecraft Country
  • The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air
  • Titans
  • The Third Day
  • Rick and Morty
  • Key and Peele
  • We Are Who We Are
  • Young Sheldon
  • Pretty Little Liars
  • Reno 911!
HBO Max TV series

HBO Max includes the following movies:

  • Wonder Woman
  • Underwater
  • Crazy Rich Asians
  • The Hobbit Trilogy
  • Old School
  • The Lord of the Rings Trilogy
  • Scoob!
  • Birds of Prey
  • Emma
  • Happy Gilmore
  • Battleship
  • Matrix Trilogy
  • Joker
  • The Invisible Man

But HBO Max is mostly known for its new originals. So if you're looking to have a binge marathon night, scroll down to HBO Max's highlighted content.

How much does HBO Max cost?

It’s less than the price of an Uber Eats meal

HBO Max is well worth the price if you ask us. There is so much new, original, and exclusive content that there’s no chance you and your family will get bored.

So, $10–$15 for new release Warner Bros. movies, all older HBO content, and new HBO Max content? Yes. Yes, please.

And HBO Max recently launched their new limited ads service. You can save $5 per month by watching no more than four minutes of ads per hour. (But we think it's worth spending the extra $5 for no interruptions.)

A lot of services nowadays throw in HBO Max for free with your TV plan. You can get HBO Max for free for one year with AT&T TV and DIRECTV. If you're on the lookout for a cable TV provider, Optimum TV, Spectrum TV, and Cox TV include a complimentary subscription to HBO Max, as well.

How much is HBO Max?
Service
Monthly price
Details

$9.99/mo.

$14.99/mo.

*Data effective 8/13/2021. Price and channel inclusion vary according to location.

Does HBO Max have a contract or fees?

No contract or fees at all. You can cancel whenever you’d like.

What original content does HBO Max have?

Lots of anxiously awaited TV shows and movies, both new and original

HBO Max is getting some attention because it will give you access to newly released Warner Bros. movies, but HBO Max is also getting attention from its originals.

HBO Max’s Originals include the following:

  • The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air Reunion (with Will Smith)
  • Raised by Wolves (series about two androids raising human children)
  • Class Action Park (documentary about the most dangerous amusement park)
  • An American Pickle (with Seth Rogen)
  • The Flight Attendant (with Kaley Cuoco and Michiel Huisman)
  • Doom Patrol (with Brendan Fraser and Diane Guerrero)
  • Two Weeks to Live (with Maisie Williams)
  • Sesame Street (Five new 35-episode seasons as well as episodes from the past 50 years)
  • Lovecraft Country (a horror series executively produced by Jordan Peele)

Which devices are compatible with HBO Max?

You’re going to want to watch The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air on your road trip, or your kids are going to need to be entertained with Looney Tunes while you’re grocery shopping.

It’s no question we need our streaming services on the go.

HBO Max is available on most popular streaming devices. When HBO Max made its debut in May 2020, it was only compatible with a few devices. We're happy to see that's changed.

But HBO Max is available for the following devices:

  • iPhone, iPad
  • Android smartphones and tablets
  • Apple TV (4th gen. and later)
  • Android TV
  • Amazon Fire tablets (4th gen. and later)
  • Amazon Fire TV, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Amazon Fire TV Cube
  • Chromebooks
  • Chromecast
  • Mac and PC browsers
  • PlayStation 4
  • Roku
  • Xbox One
  • Samsung TV (2016+)

We should also mention that HBO Max suggests you have at least a 5 Mbps internet connection while using the app. If you are looking for a reliable internet provider, check out our favorite internet providers for streaming chosen by our internet expert, Catherine McNally.

Want the latest TV & streaming reviews, top picks, and deals?

By signing up, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Recap: Is HBO Max worth it?

All old HBO and new HBO Max content combined into one streaming platform? Heck yes

Like we said above: subscribe to HBO Max and you’ll get everything this new streaming platform has to offer, as well as all of HBO's older content, like Game of Thrones. That’s $10–$15 for two streaming services.

For a refresher, here’s what you get with your HBO Max subscription:

  • The entire HBO service
  • WarnerMedia shows and movies (including brand new releases)
  • A selection of other acquired series and films like The Big Bang Theory, Friends, and Joker
  • New original content like The Flight Attendant, Raised by Wolves, and The Not So Late Show with Elmo

You might have found the next streaming service for you and your family. But if you haven’t, check out our full reviews on Netflix, Disney+, and Amazon Prime.

FAQs

How can I watch King Richard?

King Richard will be available on HBO Max on Friday, November 19, 2021.

King Richard is a true story about tennis icons, Serena and Venus Williams, from the perspective of their father, Richard Williams.

Chantel Buchi
Written by
Chantel Buchi
Chantel is all about finding the best tv or streaming service to watch as many football games as possible to keep her Fantasy Football team in check. Prior to being a TV and Streaming Tech Reporter for Reviews.org, she worked for NFL Network and The Alliance of American Football. Before that, she received a B.A. of Communication at the University of Utah and an M.S. in Sports Journalism at USC. Go Utes and Fight On. Contact her at chantel@reviews.org

Related Articles

Ring Alarm base station in home
Ring Alarm Security System Review 2021
You might know the Ring Video Doorbell, but have you heard about Ring's new security...
Woman using a laptop for a conference call discussing the best internet service providers
8 Best Internet Service Providers 2021
Looking for the best home internet options? Read on to compare download speed, price, and...
Hulu video thumbnail
Hulu Review
You've heard of Hulu, but is it the right streaming service for you? We go...
Photograph of iPhone 13 in store
Best Cell Phone Plans of 2021
Researching top cell phone plans can be tough. Read our in-depth reviews to compare the...
  • Cory Fields

    Xfinity customer not happy at all with hbo max. Why has hbo fucked comcast customers?

    • John Kinnear

      Hey Cory! Good news. Xfinity and HBO Max reached a deal earlier this week. You should be good to go now.

  • BillyBob J Smith

    Signed for free trial. Watched a few things at different times.
    Every show had times where I got 3 dots, and waited a few seconds, then picked up again.
    Really poor. Do not recommend at all.

  • Austin Nichol

    ATTENTION DO NOT GET HBO MAX IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY, I have 120 mps internet (so I know it’s not my internet) and I cant watch 1 episode of a show without it freezing ever 2 minutes terrible streaming service get Netflix or Hulu but this was the worst 15 dollars I ever spent I can’t even watch anything on HBO max please don’t make the same mistake I did save your money

  • Bryan Jay Hinkel

    Don’t get HBO Max. It barely streams (constantly pauses or loses connection) and has no 4k. No way is it worth $15 a month.