DISH vs. DIRECTV: Satellite TV Review 2019

With transparent pricing, DISH is best for most everyone. But if you love pro sports, DIRECTV scores a touchdown with NFL SUNDAY TICKET.
Best for Most
Monthly price
$59.99$89.99
Available channels
290+
Best for Sports Lovers
Monthly price
$59.99$134.99
Available channels
330+

When it comes to satellite TV providers, you really have only two choices: DISH and DIRECTV. And both of these companies know it, which makes it even harder to decide which one will beam down the TV shows you’re craving.

We think DISH is best for most, and here’s why: its pricing is more straightforward than DIRECTV’s and it comes with the Hopper 3 DVR, which sets the standard for DVRs everywhere. But honestly, DIRECTV isn’t far behind DISH—and it’s a pro choice for sports lovers, thanks to the much-coveted NFL SUNDAY TICKET channel.

Those differences aside, here’s how DISH compares with DIRECTV for price and equipment.

DISH vs. DIRECTV overview
FeaturesDISHDIRECTV
Price$59.99–$89.99/mo.*$59.99–$134.99/mo.†
Channels190–290+155+–330+
Max DVR hours500 HD hrs.200 HD hrs.
Contract2 yrs.2 yrs.
DetailsView PlansView Plans

Data effective 10/9/2019. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For 24 months with a 2-year agreement and eAutoPay.
† For 12 months with a 2-year contract, paperless bill, & autopay. Price increases for months 13-24.

DISH vs. DIRECTV package prices

DISH blasts past DIRECTV, thanks to transparent pricing and no price hikes.

At first glance, both DISH and DIRECTV seem to be neck and neck in terms of pricing. But things quickly get out of hand when DIRECTV’s package prices increase during the second year of your two-year contract.

With that in mind, pricing is one of DISH’s biggest advantages. It’s not only cheaper in the long run, but you also tend to get more for your money.

DISH satellite TV prices
PlanPriceTV channel countDetails
America's Top 120$59.99/mo.*190View Plan
America's Top 120+$69.99/mo.*190+View Plan
America's Top 200$79.99/mo.*240+View Plan
America's Top 250$89.99/mo.*290+View Plan
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For 24 months with a 2-year agreeement and eAutoPay.

DISH scores major points for having the clearest pricing, but do its packages add up?

We think so. We’ll dive into DISH channel selection in a bit, but we think it’s pretty great that each package comes with ESPN, the Disney Channel, HGTV, and Food Network. Seriously, that hits all of our binge-watching needs—and our family’s too.

Not to mention you get 290+ channels with DISH’s America’s Top 250 package—but just 250+ channels with DIRECTV’s ULTIMATE package. Plus, DIRECTV ULTIMATE will cost you about $50 more per month once you hit that second year of your contract.

All right, all right. We’ve heard the womp womp of DIRECTV’s second-year price hikes. But it still offers more channels with each package—up to a maximum of 330+. Plus, depending on which DIRECTV package you choose, it’s a sports lover’s dream.

DIRECTV satellite TV prices
PlanPriceTV channel countDetails
SELECT­ All Included$59.99/mo.155+View Plan
ENTERTAINMENT All Included$64.99/mo.160+View Plan
CHOICE All Included$69.99/mo.185+View Plan
XTRA All Included$79.99/mo.235+View Plan
ULTIMATE All Included$84.99/mo.250+View Plan
PREMIER All Included$134.99/mo.330+View Plan
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
/mo. for 12 mos plus taxes
/mo. for 12 mos plus taxes and RSN fee

It’s not obvious what the difference is between each DIRECTV package (something that frustrates us with most TV providers). We’ll save you some time—XTRA gets you a few extra sports channels, and ULTIMATE adds more movie channels.

And if you’re in search of the holy grail of all football channels, NFL SUNDAY TICKET, get ready to do your touchdown dance. DIRECTV includes a season of NFL SUNDAY TICKET starting with its CHOICE package and with every higher-tier package after that.

The price of NFL SUNDAY TICKET tends to change every season, but it’s a value of several hundred dollars. So if you’re signing up specifically for the sports packages, it’s a nice bonus.

Heads Up icon
Don’t forget to cancel your NFL SUNDAY TICKET subscription
That’s one big auto-renewal cost you don’t want popping up out of the blue. So once the season’s over, make sure you cancel your subscription to NFL SUNDAY TICKET before it renews for next year.

Contracts

Both DISH and DIRECTV make you sign a two-year contract, but that’s where the similarities end.

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: we really dislike DIRECTV’s price hike when the second year of your contract hits. To top it off, your autopay and paperless billing discounts (a total of $5 off per month) also disappear.

That price hike means your DIRECTV bill almost doubles. Let’s say you’ve subscribed to the PREMIER package—your bill will spike up by about $50 more a month.

So if you don’t mind dropping some exceptional sports coverage for a more straightforward monthly bill, we highly recommend DISH. (And if you’re looking for a no-contract option, there’s always AT&T TV NOW.)

Equipment, installation, and early termination fees

Sadly, most every service you sign up for comes with additional fees. DISH and DIRECTV are no exception, so make sure you budget for these costs.

DISH additional fees

  • Installation fee: Free (for a limited time)
  • Early termination fee: Prorated based on how much time is left on your contract
  • Hopper 3 equipment fee: $15/mo.
  • Joey DVR equipment fee: $5–$7/mo.

DIRECTV additional fees

  • Installation fee: Free for your first HD DVR receiver; additional receivers cost $99 each
  • Activation fee: $19.95 one-time fee
  • Early termination fee: $20 for every month remaining on your contract
  • Additional receivers: $7/mo. per receiver
Pin icon
Can you avoid early termination fees?
Maybe. We’ve put together a quick guide on how to avoid all those pesky fees when you’re ready to swap TV providers.

DISH vs. DIRECTV channel lineup

DISH features channels for every interest under the sun, but DIRECTV trumps all when it comes to sports channels.

When it comes down to it, DISH has a more well-rounded channel selection than DIRECTV.

But it still goes without saying that DIRECTV’s sports channels are its secret weapon. (Although we think DISH has better college sports coverage with SEC, Pac-12, Longhorn, and ESPNU.)

DISH vs. DIRECTV channels
ChannelDISHDIRECTV
CWAll packagesNot available
ESPNAll packagesENTERTAINMENT and up
Fox NewsAll packagesAll packages
HGTVAll packagesNot available
MSNBCAll packagesAll packages
TBSAll packagesAll packages
UnivisionAmerica’s Top 200 and upSELECT, ENTERTAINMENT, CHOICE, and XTRA
USA NetworkAll packagesAll packages

Data effective 10/9/2019. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Curious to see if DISH or DIRECTV has more of your favorite channels? Check out the full channel lists here:

Premium channels

For the most part, DISH’s prices for premium channels are much easier on your wallet. They cap out at a maximum of $10 a month, which is up to $4 cheaper than DIRECTV’s price for the same channel. (Except EPIX, which is $1 per month cheaper with DIRECTV.)

But we have to give it to DIRECTV for offering more premium channel options than DISH. And DIRECTV is where you’ll need to go to find epic HBO shows like Chernobyl or The Wire.

DISH vs. DIRECTV premium channels
ChannelDISH priceDIRECTV price
EPIX®$7/mo.$5.99/mo.
CINEMAX®N/A$13.99/mo.
HBO®N/A$17.99/mo.
SHOWTIME®$10/mo.$13.99/mo.
STARZ®$10/mo.$13.99/mo.
STARZ ENCORE$6/mo.N/A
DetailsView Premium ChannelsView Premium Channels

Data effective 10/9/2019. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

You can also grab premium channel packs from both DISH and DIRECTV. This might save you some cash if you can’t get enough of all those premium channels and movies.

  • DISH Movie Pack: $10/mo.
  • DIRECTV Movies Extra Pack: $4.99/mo.
Money icon
Get 3 months of free DIRECTV premium channels
If you’re snagging a DIRECTV SELECT through ULTIMATE package, you’ll get three months of HBO, CINEMAX, SHOWTIME, STARZ, and EPIX for free. Now that’s a pretty rad deal—just be sure to cancel after three months if you’ve had your fill. Otherwise you’re on the hook for $53.99 per month.

Sports channels

If you’re anticipating the next season more than an 8-year-old anticipates their birthday, it’s worth making sure you can view your games on DISH or DIRECTV.

Both satellite TV providers offer a pretty beefy sports channel lineup if you’re willing to pay for higher-tier packages—DISH even has NFL RedZone if that’s your jam. But like we’ve mentioned before, DIRECTV is the only place you’ll find NFL SUNDAY TICKET.

Here’s a quick look at how DISH and DIRECTV compare when it comes to sports.

DISH vs. DIRECTV channels
ChannelDISHDIRECTV
Big Ten NetworkNot availableCHOICE and up
CBS SportsAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
ESPNAll packagesENTERTAINMENT and up
ESPNUAll packagesCHOICE and up
FOX Sports 1Not availableCHOICE and up
Golf ChannelAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
MLB NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upCHOICE and up
MLB EXTRA INNINGSAvailable as an add-onAvailable as an add-on
NBA TVAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
NBC Sports NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
NFL NetworkAmerica’s Top 120+ and upCHOICE and up
NFL RedZoneDISH Multi-Sports PackNot available
NFL SUNDAY TICKETNot availableSeason pass included with CHOICE and up
NHL NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upULTIMATE and PREMIER
Pac-12America’s Top 120+ and upNot available
SEC NetworkAmerica’s Top 120+ and upNot available
TNTAll packagesAll packages
DetailsView Sports PacksView Sports Packs

Data effective 10/9/2019. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

DISH vs. DIRECTV DVR and equipment

If we could choose only one DVR, it’d be the DISH Hopper 3.

dish hopper 3 dvr and remote

Image: DISH

When it comes to DVRs, we look at HD storage capacity, the number of simultaneous recordings it can handle, and the price. Unfortunately for DIRECTV, DISH’s Hopper 3 DVR stomps the Genie DVR in all three categories.

Both providers also include the main box in the cost of service, which is nice. A lot of providers charge a fee for the primary receiver, even though it’s basically necessary to use the service.

The DVR service fee, which feels like a great way for service providers to nickel-and-dime you, is fairly low for DISH. DIRECTV’s service fee is included in the monthly price. Nice.

DISH Hopper 3 DVR vs. DIRECTV Genie DVR comparison
FeaturesDISH Hopper 3DIRECTV Genie
Storage capacity2 TB1 TB
HD hours500 HD hrs.200 HD hrs.
4K supportYesYes
Simultaneous recordings165
# of TVs supported68
IntegrationsAmazon AlexaAmazon Alexa
Main receiver includedYesYes
DVR fee$10/mo.Included
Additional receivers$5/mo./receiver$7/mo./receiver
DetailsView the Hopper 3View the Genie

Data effective 10/9/2019. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Now those are some crazy good specs. There are some notable differences in hardware, though.

With 500 HD recording hours, the Hopper 3 can store more than twice the amount of HD content as the Genie—that’s nearly three straight weeks of continuous watching. As for the simultaneous recordings, the Hopper 3 can handle a whopping 16 at once, whereas the Genie is limited to just five.

You may think you’ll never need to record 16 shows at one time, and you’re probably right.

That’s the point, though—with the Hopper 3, you basically never have to worry about recording conflicts, whereas with the Genie, there’s a very real possibility that you may run into them. Recording conflicts are something you only think about when they crop up, and they can be very frustrating.

(Who wants to decide between the big game and the latest episode of This Is Us? Not us.)

The Hopper 3 also skips commercials automatically, which is the icing on top for us. It really is no wonder it was named best DVR again in 2019 by CableTV.com.1 That said, the Genie is still an outstanding DVR, so if you choose DIRECTV, you won’t be too far behind.

For a more in-depth comparison of these DVRs, check out our complete review of the Hopper vs. the Genie.

DISH vs. DIRECTV customer service

DISH barely edges into the lead for customer service—but both satellite TV providers need improvement.

Both DIRECTV and DISH rank above the average score of 62 out of 100, according to the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI).2 But above average in the TV service provider world still isn’t that great, to tell the truth.

DISH vs. DIRECTV customer service
ProviderDISHDIRECTV
ACSI 2019 rating67 out of 10066 out of 100

Still, you could do worse than DISH’s or DIRECTV’s customer service, since those scores still put both providers in the top five for subscription television services. And while DISH is our choice here, we’d love to see both services improve their customer service.

Recap: Which is better, DISH or DIRECTV?

We think DISH is best for most, especially if you’re on a budget and want to avoid mid-contract price hikes. But when it comes to pro sports, DIRECTV is hard to beat. Here’s why:

  • Pricing: DISH, hands down. While DIRECTV’s prices start out cheaper, they’ll go up during the second year of your contract. That means you’ll likely save money overall if you choose DISH.
  • Packages and channels: We think DISH has a good assortment of channels, and it offers more when it comes to college sports. But DIRECTV is pretty much the only way you can get NFL SUNDAY TICKET. Yes, please.
  • DVR: DISH’s Hopper 3 is the most powerful DVR on the market—and as a result, DISH takes this category by a landslide. DIRECTV’s Genie is still great, though.
  • Customer support: Both services could benefit from improving their customer service, but DISH edges slightly into the lead based on ACSI ratings.

Want to dig into the details? Check out our in-depth DISH and DIRECTV reviews.

FAQ

Where is DISH service available?

DISH service is available nearly everywhere in the United States. In fact, if you can’t get DISH, we’re surprised.

This is because the satellite TV signal is routed from space. All you need is a receiver rather than complex cable infrastructure that other providers need.

Where is DIRECTV service available?

DIRECTV should be available basically anywhere in the United States thanks to its satellite technology.

Are satellite signals reliable?

Generally, yes, satellite TV signals are reliable.

There’s a popular notion that satellite is unreliable, but while weather-related interference is technically possible, you’ll only see issues during particularly heavy rain, snow, or hail.

Both DISH and DIRECTV advertise “99% signal reliability,” and in our experience, that’s about what you can expect. That said, if you happen to live in an area that gets a lot of rain or thunderstorms, you might be better off with a cable TV provider rather than satellite TV.

Do I need to worry about weather interference with satellite TV?

Weather interference with satellite services is technically possible, but you’ll only have issues in extremely heavy precipitation. For the most part, your satellite signal will come in loud and clear.

Sources

  1. CableTV.com, “Top 5 DVRs of 2019
  2. American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI), “ACSI Telecommunications Report 2018–2019

Additional contributors

Catherine McNally

  • Derek Jude Tallman

    I want to preface this by saying that I have no experience with Dish as a consumer, only as a guest in someone’s home, but I have had Comcast, Uverse, and currently have DirecTV.

    If you’re not a sports fan, Dish is probably your best bet. It’s cheaper than DirecTV, and comes with Netflix, so you have a ton of options.

    However, if you are a sports JUNKIE like me, not just football, DirecTV gives you access to every pro game not being shown in the local market or a national cable station. Every. Pro. Game. In all four “major” American sports (NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL). If you’re a transplant wanting to follow your childhood teams, or a fantasy fan that likes to watch all of your players live, you cannot beat DirecTV.

    And, since they’ve merged with AT&T, their customer service, in my experience, has been brilliant. Every issue I’ve had has been handled professionally and as quickly as humanly possible. I highly recommend the service. Uverse is pretty good, too, but (other than the occasional satellite/weather issue) DirecTV is all that plus.

    Rabbit ears are better than Comcast, and their customer service is horrible. I’d avoid them.

    Bottom line, if you are only a casual, local sports fan, or not a sports fan, and want “free” Netflix, go with Dish. If you’re a big sports fan, go with DirecTV.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Derek,
      Good to hear from someone with personal experience with multiple providers!

      You’re absolutely right, the DIRECTV sports package is by far the most comprehensive for major league sports, and it’s only getting better. How cool is it to be able watch two games at once with split-screen capabilities? It’s nice keeping up with multiple teams, or having fantasy stats off to the side during the main game.

      We’ve been anxious to hear what customers say about the AT&T and DIRECTV merger, so to see that it’s been a positive experience is good news for everyone.

      Thanks for your insight, we appreciate the feedback!
      -Trevor

      • Gerardo Gastelum

        Customer service and price will be sacrificed with the merger. I have both and ever since the cost of having both have gone through the roof and customer service is horrible. I am switching to Dish and T-Mobile

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

          Hey Gerardo,

          We’re also wondering how the merger will affect customer service (probably for the worst based on info from the American Custer Service Index).

          DISH does have our highest overall rating (we recommend the America’s Top 120 package), but if you want better customer service Verizon is a great option; it consistently earns high ratings from JD Power and ASCI. You can see our review for Verizon here. Also, Verizon offers a discount if you bundle TV with cellular service.

          Thanks for the comment, and if you have questions, let us know.

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

          The trend with mergers seems to be that customer service suffers initially, presumably due to growing pains between the companies. Not only may they have differing philosophies on how best to handle customer service, but there’s also a learning curve for agents to become familiarized with new products, and services. Unfortunately, it takes some time to adjust and improve their customer satisfaction scores as a result.

          Keep in touch and let us know how your service switch goes!

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

          Hey Gerardo,
          Thanks for dropping us a comment! It’s definitely a trend that customer service drops (albeit temporarily) after a merger, sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Please let us know how your switch to DISH and T-Mobile goes, we’re always curious to hear back from people with first hand experience in TV/Internet/Phone services.

  • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

    You’re right! We did mess up the table. We’ve had to update this comparison every few months, and we’re currently working to update it again (it should have an update done by the end of next week).

    We do think DISH and DIRECTV are very comparable, but DISH is still the winner.

    The thing that stands out most between the two is price, and that’s the largest pain point we’ve found for customers. DIRECTV introduced “all-inclusive” pricing recently, and it only benefits households with a minimum of four TVs (the fee for four receivers is included in the price). What’s worse is that there is a significant second-year price increase with DIRECTV, even though there is no change in service. (For example, the XTRA package goes from $70 a month to $118 a month.)

    DIRECTV does offer two-year price locks, but only if you bundle with AT&T services like phone or internet. DISH on the other hand offers two-year price locks if you just want TV and it doesn’t make you pay for four receivers.

    It’s a bummer DISH is so bad to work for (do you have link for the source?). It’s nice to hear from technicians, and I’m glad DIRECTV treated you so well.

    • ZandarKoad

      Yes, historically Dish has been cheaper than DirecTV. I agree with that assessment.

      Dish’s standing as the worst company in America was based on reviews from GlassDoor.com. A Yahoo article on The Worst Companies mentions Dish Network here: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/worst-companies-130656663.html

      Usually employee dissatisfaction doesn’t directly affect the customer, so it’s not highly relevant for the purposes of your ranking.

    • LuAnne

      I think it sucks that people are FORCED to get another AT&T service if they want to keep the 2-year Direct TV price guarantee (unlike Dish). My mom lives in an area where AT&T internet is not available and her cell is free so if she gets Direct TV, the 2nd year, she’s screwed!

  • Angela

    Are they both equally as good as far as reception & how often they go out……like if it rains, or the wind is blowing hard?

    • Jenn Diffley

      Hey Angela,
      Good question. The deal is that they both rely on external satellite dishes, so both have identical issues with weather (the same way that, when it hails, every car is bound to be damaged, no matter the make or model). So yes, they’re equally good in the reception department. However, DIRECTV has a higher HD channel count, so if you’re looking for higher quality, that might be a deciding factor.

  • Dylan Campbell

    The ONLY reason you should ever have Directv is if you want the NFL Sunday Ticket. That’s it. That is the only thing advantage that Directv has over Dish. I was a long time (5 years) customer of Directv. In September 2016 I had a new roof put on my house and needed a simple realignment of the dish after the work was completed. Directv told me when I called on September 21st that they couldn’t have a tech there until October 11th!!! Are you kidding me? Three frickin weeks to get a tech out for a 2 minute job? That’s the start of football season, beginning of the fall lineup, start of MLB playoffs, etc. So I called DISH and they said they could be there in the morning to do the full setup at no charge. I was set up by noon the next day. I was able to get the America’s top 250 package with DISH (best package) on 5 Tvs for $32 less per month than I was paying for the Choice package (middle package) with Directv. $143 vs $111 and my price is guaranteed for 2 years with DISH. Directv will always jack up your rates and then you have to call in and threaten to disconnect your service at which time they will give you some discounts. Despite the fact that Directv would not get a service tech to me for 21 days, they still hit me with a $120 disconnect fee. That’s what you get for 5 years of loyalty to Directv. Dish has better channels, better service, and better features. There is no comparison on the DVR and Joey system compared to Directv. DISH blows Directv out of the water with technology. You also get Netflix directly on the DISH Hopper (you still pay the subscription price) so you don’t need a Bluray or Roku in every room to get Netflix. DISH also has Sirius XM in their channel lineup. I’m getting them for free right now. I’m not sure if that is a permanent deal or not, but that would be another feather in the cap of DISH. Customer service? I get directly to a person within a few minutes when I call DISH. I called Directv yesterday and was on hold for a total of 48 minutes before I got to the person who could solve my minor problem (returning the equipment). The AT&T/Directv merger may have been the worst thing that ever happened to Directv. Their customer service has plummeted and they no longer give a damn about their customers at all. It’s too bad, because I would have never left and found out how much better DISH is if they had just provided the service you would expect from your satellite provider.

  • LuAnne

    Does anyone know how much Direct TV charges to add 6 TVs instead of 4?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Thanks for your question, LuAnne.

      Each additional receiver after 4 TVs adds $49 to your initial price and $7 to your monthly equipment price.
      6 TVs would add $98 to your first bill only, and then $14 to your monthly bill.

      Hope that clears things up!

    • Sharsoz

      I would like you to know that just because you have the added boxes, you may keep them and not pay the 7.00 a month. You can have them turned off. Like, I rent a room out. The box in that room is off . I pay nothing. If the person renting wants tv, I have it turned back on….which makes their rent go up, 7.

  • Sharsoz

    READ THIS IF YOUHAVE HUGHES-INTERNET: I am a frustrated Direct customer. I have Hughes as my internet provider. It is the only Internet in my area. The installer for Direct connected the Genie to it .I was told that it would work with it. I was paying Hughes 130.00 a month for 25 GB’s. Hughes had also said it would work with it. The Genie used all of my GB’s. Just being plugged into it. No streaming etc. For several months I could not use my 130.00 a month internet because of going over GB’s. You have to pay more after going over alloted amount. When I finally figured out where all the GB’s were going; I disconnected the Genie. I now use around 2 GB’s a month without Genie. I complained to both companies. They both pointed the finger at each other. However, looking for an answer to who’s fault this should be, I googled it. Turns out since 2015 they knew. I found where many other people had complained. With all that said I am paying to dump Direct. I have to pay to get out of my contract. Im going with Dish . Dish said that it will not eat all of my GB’s.. (I spoke a few in customer service about this ) Unless someone tells me that the same overages will occur with Dish I will proceed with the install.

    • Brad Holliday

      We had a very-similar experience with Hughes.net. (if not a bit worse!)
      Customer service is offshored (even though I was specifically told while I was trying to conduct proper due diligence on the company that all employees were here in the USA and all spoke English), and was abysmal. Like you, we found that simply connecting the DVR used up the monthly data allowance under the plan… and to make it worse, even when we turned off the DVR, the download speed routinely averaged between 0.26mbs and 1.31mbs on days with not a cloud in the sky. Then, to put the cherry on top of the cake, when I finally got so fed up that I called to cancel and just buy-out the rest of the contract, I was specifically told (on speakerphone with 3 other guests in the home who overheard the conversation) they didn’t want the dish back at all and that it could be thrown away, they later came back to ask where the “satellite receiver” was. I explained on multiple calls with multiple Hughes.net people that I was told they did not want the old dish back and that I could simply discard it, but then was essentially told I was an idiot for not recognizing that the end piece pointing to the dish was the satellite receiver. They said since I didn’t return it, they were charging my card on file for nearly $300. We successfully engaged our credit union to reverse the charge, but then these dishonest Hughes.net folks turned the amount over to one collection agency after another; each would go away as soon as I provided them with all of the emails that had gone back and forth during the cancellation, but it was still an unnecessary hassle.
      Regardless of how remote/rural you may be, in my opinion you are FAR better off without internet access at all than trying to do business with such an unscrupulous company as Hughes.net.

  • Pats Allen

    Dish which is AT&T will hit you with Two hard inquiries on your credit report. This will lower your credit score. I believe they do this on purpose to lower your chances with their competitors. Don’t give them a chance to hurt you. Don’t go to Dish AT&T.

  • Hohn Q Public

    It’s absolutely ridiculous that Dish has equipment that requires a customer to have one of their technicians pay a visit in order to simply relocate a Joey from one room to another. Nope! Not going to do it! I’ll go back to cable first!

  • Jillxz

    Directv is cheaper for me. With Dish , I have to go to a higher package to get the channels I want. With Directv The Select Package gives me all the channels I like. But I would have to go with the Dish America 200 to get all those channels that I like in DTV Select package.

  • Tswcwc

    I’m currently a DirectV customer for over 20 years and looking into switching over to Dish. When I called Dish to inquire about service/pricing, I was told I had to give a credit card number even to get any kind of information. When I explained I did not have a credit card handy, the customer service rep rattled off a robotic statement defending their policy that a credit card is required to inquire about packages, told me to call back when I had a credit card, wished me a good day and hung up. Just wow.