DISH vs. DIRECTV: Satellite TV Review 2020

With transparent pricing, DISH is best for most everyone. But if you love football, DIRECTV scores a touchdown with NFL SUNDAY TICKET.
Best Price
Monthly price: $59.99–$94.99
Available channels: 290
Best for Sports Lovers
Monthly price: $49.99–$124.99
Available channels: 330

When it comes to picking a satellite TV provider, you really only have two choices: DISH and DIRECTV. Although they are similar at a quick glance, we’re here to help you find the best provider for your living room.

We think DISH has the best DVR option and the best price in the long run. But DIRECTV is a pro choice for sports lovers, thanks to the incredible NFL SUNDAY TICKET channel. (Trust me, you’ll be glued to your couch on Sundays.)

Those differences aside, let’s find out which satellite provider is best for you and your family.

How do DISH and DIRECTV compare?
ProviderDISHDIRECTV
Price$59.99–$94.99/mo.*$49.99–$124.99/mo.†
Channels190–290+155–330+
Max DVR hours500 HD hrs.200 HD hrs.
Contract2 yrs.2 yrs.
DetailsView PlansView Plans

Data effective 6/30/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For 24 months with a 2-year agreement and eAutoPay.
† For 12 months with a 2-year contract, paperless bill, & autopay. Price increases for months 13-24.

How much are DISH’s and DIRECTV’s packages?

DISH blasts past DIRECTV, thanks to transparent pricing and no price hikes

DIRECTV recently lowered its first-year monthly price by about $10. So, at first glance, DIRECTV might look a little more inexpensive than DISH. But things quickly get out of hand when DIRECTV’s package prices increase during the second year of your two-year contract.

With that in mind, pricing is one of DISH’s biggest advantages. It’s not only cheaper in the long term, but you also get a little more for your money.

How much is DISH?
PlanPriceTV channel countDetails
America's Top 120$59.99/mo.*190View Plan
America's Top 120+$74.99/mo.190+View Plan
America's Top 200$84.99/mo.240+View Plan
America's Top 250$94.99/mo.^290+View Plan
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* for 24. months. Everyday Price $94.99/mo. New customers only. All offers require 2-year commitment with early termination fee and eAutopay. Price includes Hopper Duo for qualifying customers.
for 24. months. Everyday Price $99.99/mo. New customers only. All offers require 2-year commitment with early termination fee and eAutopay. Price includes Hopper Duo for qualifying customers.
for 24. months. Everyday Price $109.99/mo. New customers only. All offers require 2-year commitment with early termination fee and eAutopay. Price includes Hopper Duo for qualifying customers.
^ for 24. months. Everyday Price $119.99/mo. New customers only. All offers require 2-year commitment with early termination fee and eAutopay. Price includes Hopper Duo for qualifying customers.

DISH scores major points for having the clearest pricing, but do its packages add up?

We think so. We’ll dive into DISH channel selection in a bit, but we think it’s pretty great that each package comes with ESPN, the Disney Channel, HGTV, and Food Network. Seriously, that hits all of our binge-watching needs—and your family’s too.

How much is DIRECTV?
PlanPriceTV channel countDetails
SELECT$49.99†155+View Plan
ENTERTAINMENT$54.99†160+View Plan
CHOICE$59.99‡185+View Plan
XTRA$69.99‡235+View Plan
ULTIMATE$79.99‡250+View Plan
PREMIER$124.99‡330+View Plan
Data effective 6/30/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
† /mo. for 12 mos plus taxes. Autopay & Paperless bill reqd. Prices higher in 2nd year.
‡ /mo. for 12 mos plus taxes. Autopay & Paperless bill reqd. Prices higher in 2nd year. Regional Sports Fee up to $9.99/mo. is extra & applies.

If you want more information on what the difference is between each DIRECTV package, check out our DIRECTV review. But in a nutshell, SELECT gives you your basic favorite channels, CHOICE gets you a lots of sports channels, and ULTIMATE is perfect for movie watchers.

But if you choose DIRECTV CHOICE or above, you’ll be living the sports lover’s dream. You get a free season of NFL SUNDAY TICKET, which means you’ll get access to all out-of-market Sunday NFL games.

It’s a value of a few hundred dollars. So if you’re signing up specifically for the sports packages, it’s a nice bonus.

Heads Up icon
Don’t forget to cancel your NFL SUNDAY TICKET subscription
That’s one big auto-renewal cost you don’t want popping up out of the blue. So once the season’s over, make sure you cancel your subscription to NFL SUNDAY TICKET before it renews for next year.

Do DISH and DIRECTV have a contract?

DIRECTV requires you to sign a two-year contract, whereas DISH gives you a no-contract or two-year contract option (the two-year contract options saves you $10–$15 per month.)

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again: we really dislike DIRECTV’s price hike when the second year of your contract hits. To top it off, your autopay and paperless billing discounts (a total of $5 off per month) also disappear.

That price hike means your DIRECTV bill almost doubles. Let’s say you’ve subscribed to the PREMIER package—your bill will spike up by about $50 more a month.

So if you don’t mind dropping some exceptional sports coverage for a more straightforward monthly bill, we highly recommend DISH. (And if you’re looking for a no-contract option, there’s always AT&T TV NOW.)

How much are the equipment, installation, and early termination fees?

Sadly, most every service you sign up for comes with additional fees. DISH and DIRECTV are no exception, so make sure you budget for these costs.

How much are DISH’s additional fees?

  • Installation fee: Free
  • Early termination fee: $20 for every month left on your contract
  • Equipment fee: Hopper Duo included (125-hour DVR), $5–$15/mo. for Hopper 3 (500-hour DVR)
  • Joey DVR equipment fee (additional receiver): $5/mo.

How much are DIRECTV’s additional fees?

  • Installation fee: Free for your first HD DVR receiver; additional receivers cost $99 each
  • Activation fee: $19.95 one-time fee
  • Early termination fee: $20 for every month left on your contract
  • Additional receivers: $7/mo. per receiver
  • Regional sports fee: $9.99/mo.
Pin icon
Can you avoid early termination fees?
Maybe. We’ve put together a quick guide on how to avoid all those pesky fees when you’re ready to swap TV providers.

Which channels do DISH and DIRECTV have?

DISH features channels for every interest under the sun, but DIRECTV trumps all when it comes to sports channels

It’s hard to tell DISH and DIRECTV apart because they both have a well-rounded channel selection.

But it still goes without saying that DIRECTV’s sports channels are its secret weapon. (Although we think DISH has better college sports coverage with SEC, Pac-12, Longhorn, and ESPNU.)

And both are going to have your local, lifestyle, and kids channels. So check out DISH’s channel lineup and DIRECTV’s channel lineup to see if one has a more complete channel lineup than the other for you.

Which popular channels do DISH and DIRECTV have?
ChannelDISHDIRECTV
CWAll packagesNot available
Disney ChannelAll packagesAll packages
ESPNAll packagesENTERTAINMENT and up
Food NetworkAll packagesAll packages
Fox NewsAll packagesAll packages
HGTVAll packagesAll packages
LifetimeAll packagesAll packages
MSNBCAll packagesAll packages
TBSAll packagesAll packages
UnivisionAmerica’s Top 200 and upSELECT, ENTERTAINMENT, CHOICE, and XTRA
USA NetworkAll packagesAll packages

Data effective 7/28/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Which premium channels do DISH and DIRECTV have?

For the most part, DISH’s prices for premium channels are much easier on your wallet. They cap out at a maximum of $10 a month, which is up to $4 cheaper than DIRECTV’s price for the same channel.

But we have to give it to DIRECTV for offering more premium channel options than DISH. And DIRECTV is where you’ll need to go to find fantastic HBO shows like Big Little Lies or The Wire.

How much are DISH's and DIRECTV's premium channels?
ChannelDISH priceDIRECTV price
EPIX®$7/mo.$5.99/mo.
CINEMAX®N/A$13.99/mo.
HBO®N/A$17.99/mo.
SHOWTIME®$10/mo.$13.99/mo.
STARZ®$10/mo.$13.99/mo.
STARZ ENCORE$6/mo.N/A
DetailsView Premium ChannelsView Premium Channels

Data effective 7/28/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

You can also grab add-on packages with extra movie channels from both DISH and DIRECTV. This might save you some cash if you can’t get enough of all those premium channels and movies.

  • DISH Movie Pack: $10/mo. (includes 15 movie channels such as Hallmark Movies & Mysteries, Movieplex, and EPIX).
  • DIRECTV Movies Extra Pack: $4.99/mo. (includes nine move channels such as Hallmark Movies & Mysteries and Sony Movie Channel, as well as three free months of three EPIX channels).
Money icon
Get 3 months of free DIRECTV premium channels
If you’re snagging a DIRECTV SELECT through ULTIMATE package, you’ll get three months of HBO, CINEMAX, SHOWTIME, STARZ, and EPIX for free. Now that’s a pretty rad deal—just be sure to cancel after three months if you’ve had your fill. Otherwise you’re on the hook for $60 per month.

Which sports channels do DISH and DIRECTV have?

If you’re anticipating the next season more than an 8-year-old anticipates their birthday, it’s worth making sure you can view your games on DISH or DIRECTV.

Both satellite TV providers offer a pretty beefy sports channel lineup if you’re willing to pay for higher-tier packages—DISH even has NFL RedZone if that’s your jam. But like we’ve mentioned before, DIRECTV is the only place you’ll find NFL SUNDAY TICKET.

Here’s a quick look at how DISH and DIRECTV compare when it comes to sports.

Which sports channels do DISH and DIRECTV have?
ChannelDISHDIRECTV
Big Ten NetworkAmerica’s Top 120+ and upCHOICE and up
CBS Sports NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
ESPNAll packagesENTERTAINMENT and up
ESPNUAll packagesCHOICE and up
Golf ChannelAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
MLB NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
MLB EXTRA INNINGSAvailable as an add-onCHOICE or available as an add-on
NBA TVAmerica’s Top 200 and upXTRA and up
NBC Sports NetworkAll packagesXTRA and up
NFL NetworkNot availableCHOICE and up
NFL RedZoneDISH Multi-Sports PackWith NFL SUNDAY TICKET subscription
NFL SUNDAY TICKETNot availableSeason pass included with CHOICE and up
NHL NetworkAmerica’s Top 200 and upULTIMATE and PREMIER
PAC-12 NetworkAmerica’s Top 120+ and upNot available
SEC NetworkAmerica’s Top 120+ and upNot available
TNTAll packagesAll packages

Data effective 7/27/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

If you’re looking for the best satellite TV service during the NBA and MLB seasons, DISH is definitely our choice. DISH made our top providers list for the NBA season and the best way to get both MLB Extra Innings and MLB.TV.

Does DISH or DIRECTV have the best DVR and equipment?

If we could choose only one DVR, it’d be the DISH Hopper 3

dish hopper 3 dvr and remote

Image: DISH

When it comes to DVRs, we look at HD storage space, the number of simultaneous recordings it can handle, and the price. Unfortunately for DIRECTV, DISH’s Hopper 3 DVR stomps the Genie DVR in all three categories.

Both providers also include the main set-top box in the cost of service, which is nice. A lot of providers charge a fee for the primary receiver, even though it’s basically necessary to use the service.

The DVR service fee, which feels like a great way for service providers to nickel-and-dime you, is fairly low for DISH. DIRECTV’s service fee is included in the monthly price.

And we should also mention DISH comes with a voice remote, and DIRECTV allows you to download an app to use as a voice remote. Watch what you want within seconds with just a few words!

The DISH Hopper 3 DVR and DIRECTV Genie DVR comparison
FeaturesDISH Hopper 3DIRECTV Genie
Storage capacity2 TB1 TB
HD hours500 HD hrs.200 HD hrs.
4K supportYesYes
Simultaneous recordings165
# of TVs supported68
IntegrationsAmazon AlexaAmazon Alexa
Main receiver includedYesYes
DVR fee$5–15/mo.Included
Additional receivers$5/mo./receiver$7/mo./receiver
DetailsView the Hopper 3View the Genie

Data effective 2/13/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Now those are some crazy good specs. There are some notable differences in hardware, though.

With 500 HD recording hours, the Hopper 3 can store more than twice the amount of HD content as the Genie—that’s nearly three straight weeks of continuous watching. As for the simultaneous recordings, the Hopper 3 can handle a whopping 16 at once, whereas the Genie is limited to just five.

You may think you’ll never need to record 16 shows at one time, and you’re probably right.

That’s the point, though—with the Hopper 3, you basically never have to worry about recording conflicts, whereas with the Genie, there’s a very real possibility that you may run into them. Recording conflicts are something you only think about when they crop up, and they can be very frustrating.

(Who wants to decide between the big game and the latest episode of This Is Us? Not us.)

The Hopper 3 also skips commercials automatically, which is the icing on top for us. That said, the Genie is still an outstanding DVR, so if you choose DIRECTV, you won’t be too far behind.

Recap: Which is better, DISH or DIRECTV?

We think DISH is best for most, especially if you’re on a budget and want to avoid mid-contract price hikes. But when it comes to pro sports, DIRECTV is hard to beat. Here’s why:

  • Pricing: DISH, hands down. While DIRECTV’s pricing is cheaper during the first year, DIRECTV’s monthly cost goes up during the second year of your contract. That means you’ll save money overall if you choose DISH.
  • Packages and channels: We think DISH has a good assortment of channels, and it offers more when it comes to college sports. But DIRECTV is pretty much the only way you can get NFL SUNDAY TICKET. Yes, please.
  • DVR: DISH’s Hopper 3 is the most powerful DVR on the market—and as a result, DISH takes this category by a landslide. DIRECTV’s Genie is still great, though.

Want to dig into the details? Check out our in-depth DISH and DIRECTV reviews.

FAQ

Where is DISH service available?

DISH service is available nearly everywhere in the United States. In fact, if you can’t get DISH, we’re surprised.

This is because the satellite TV signal is routed from space. All you need is a receiver rather than complex cable infrastructure that other providers need.

Where is DIRECTV service available?

DIRECTV should be available basically anywhere in the United States thanks to its satellite technology.

Are satellite signals reliable?

Generally, yes, satellite TV signals are reliable.

There’s a popular notion that satellite is unreliable, but while weather-related interference is technically possible, you’ll only see issues during particularly heavy rain, snow, or hail.

Both DISH and DIRECTV advertise “99% signal reliability,” and that’s about what you can expect. That said, if you happen to live in an area that gets a lot of rain or thunderstorms, you might be better off with a cable TV provider rather than satellite TV.

Do I need to worry about weather interference with satellite TV?

Weather interference with satellite services is technically possible, but you’ll only have issues in extremely heavy precipitation. For the most part, your satellite signal will come in loud and clear.

  • Derek Jude Tallman

    I want to preface this by saying that I have no experience with Dish as a consumer, only as a guest in someone’s home, but I have had Comcast, Uverse, and currently have DirecTV.

    If you’re not a sports fan, Dish is probably your best bet. It’s cheaper than DirecTV, and comes with Netflix, so you have a ton of options.

    However, if you are a sports JUNKIE like me, not just football, DirecTV gives you access to every pro game not being shown in the local market or a national cable station. Every. Pro. Game. In all four “major” American sports (NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL). If you’re a transplant wanting to follow your childhood teams, or a fantasy fan that likes to watch all of your players live, you cannot beat DirecTV.

    And, since they’ve merged with AT&T, their customer service, in my experience, has been brilliant. Every issue I’ve had has been handled professionally and as quickly as humanly possible. I highly recommend the service. Uverse is pretty good, too, but (other than the occasional satellite/weather issue) DirecTV is all that plus.

    Rabbit ears are better than Comcast, and their customer service is horrible. I’d avoid them.

    Bottom line, if you are only a casual, local sports fan, or not a sports fan, and want “free” Netflix, go with Dish. If you’re a big sports fan, go with DirecTV.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Derek,
      Good to hear from someone with personal experience with multiple providers!

      You’re absolutely right, the DIRECTV sports package is by far the most comprehensive for major league sports, and it’s only getting better. How cool is it to be able watch two games at once with split-screen capabilities? It’s nice keeping up with multiple teams, or having fantasy stats off to the side during the main game.

      We’ve been anxious to hear what customers say about the AT&T and DIRECTV merger, so to see that it’s been a positive experience is good news for everyone.

      Thanks for your insight, we appreciate the feedback!
      -Trevor

      • Gerardo Gastelum

        Customer service and price will be sacrificed with the merger. I have both and ever since the cost of having both have gone through the roof and customer service is horrible. I am switching to Dish and T-Mobile

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

          Hey Gerardo,

          We’re also wondering how the merger will affect customer service (probably for the worst based on info from the American Custer Service Index).

          DISH does have our highest overall rating (we recommend the America’s Top 120 package), but if you want better customer service Verizon is a great option; it consistently earns high ratings from JD Power and ASCI. You can see our review for Verizon here. Also, Verizon offers a discount if you bundle TV with cellular service.

          Thanks for the comment, and if you have questions, let us know.

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

          The trend with mergers seems to be that customer service suffers initially, presumably due to growing pains between the companies. Not only may they have differing philosophies on how best to handle customer service, but there’s also a learning curve for agents to become familiarized with new products, and services. Unfortunately, it takes some time to adjust and improve their customer satisfaction scores as a result.

          Keep in touch and let us know how your service switch goes!

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

          Hey Gerardo,
          Thanks for dropping us a comment! It’s definitely a trend that customer service drops (albeit temporarily) after a merger, sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Please let us know how your switch to DISH and T-Mobile goes, we’re always curious to hear back from people with first hand experience in TV/Internet/Phone services.

  • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

    You’re right! We did mess up the table. We’ve had to update this comparison every few months, and we’re currently working to update it again (it should have an update done by the end of next week).

    We do think DISH and DIRECTV are very comparable, but DISH is still the winner.

    The thing that stands out most between the two is price, and that’s the largest pain point we’ve found for customers. DIRECTV introduced “all-inclusive” pricing recently, and it only benefits households with a minimum of four TVs (the fee for four receivers is included in the price). What’s worse is that there is a significant second-year price increase with DIRECTV, even though there is no change in service. (For example, the XTRA package goes from $70 a month to $118 a month.)

    DIRECTV does offer two-year price locks, but only if you bundle with AT&T services like phone or internet. DISH on the other hand offers two-year price locks if you just want TV and it doesn’t make you pay for four receivers.

    It’s a bummer DISH is so bad to work for (do you have link for the source?). It’s nice to hear from technicians, and I’m glad DIRECTV treated you so well.

    • ZandarKoad

      Yes, historically Dish has been cheaper than DirecTV. I agree with that assessment.

      Dish’s standing as the worst company in America was based on reviews from GlassDoor.com. A Yahoo article on The Worst Companies mentions Dish Network here: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/worst-companies-130656663.html

      Usually employee dissatisfaction doesn’t directly affect the customer, so it’s not highly relevant for the purposes of your ranking.

    • LuAnne

      I think it sucks that people are FORCED to get another AT&T service if they want to keep the 2-year Direct TV price guarantee (unlike Dish). My mom lives in an area where AT&T internet is not available and her cell is free so if she gets Direct TV, the 2nd year, she’s screwed!

  • Angela

    Are they both equally as good as far as reception & how often they go out……like if it rains, or the wind is blowing hard?

    • Jenn Diffley

      Hey Angela,
      Good question. The deal is that they both rely on external satellite dishes, so both have identical issues with weather (the same way that, when it hails, every car is bound to be damaged, no matter the make or model). So yes, they’re equally good in the reception department. However, DIRECTV has a higher HD channel count, so if you’re looking for higher quality, that might be a deciding factor.

  • Dylan Campbell

    The ONLY reason you should ever have Directv is if you want the NFL Sunday Ticket. That’s it. That is the only thing advantage that Directv has over Dish. I was a long time (5 years) customer of Directv. In September 2016 I had a new roof put on my house and needed a simple realignment of the dish after the work was completed. Directv told me when I called on September 21st that they couldn’t have a tech there until October 11th!!! Are you kidding me? Three frickin weeks to get a tech out for a 2 minute job? That’s the start of football season, beginning of the fall lineup, start of MLB playoffs, etc. So I called DISH and they said they could be there in the morning to do the full setup at no charge. I was set up by noon the next day. I was able to get the America’s top 250 package with DISH (best package) on 5 Tvs for $32 less per month than I was paying for the Choice package (middle package) with Directv. $143 vs $111 and my price is guaranteed for 2 years with DISH. Directv will always jack up your rates and then you have to call in and threaten to disconnect your service at which time they will give you some discounts. Despite the fact that Directv would not get a service tech to me for 21 days, they still hit me with a $120 disconnect fee. That’s what you get for 5 years of loyalty to Directv. Dish has better channels, better service, and better features. There is no comparison on the DVR and Joey system compared to Directv. DISH blows Directv out of the water with technology. You also get Netflix directly on the DISH Hopper (you still pay the subscription price) so you don’t need a Bluray or Roku in every room to get Netflix. DISH also has Sirius XM in their channel lineup. I’m getting them for free right now. I’m not sure if that is a permanent deal or not, but that would be another feather in the cap of DISH. Customer service? I get directly to a person within a few minutes when I call DISH. I called Directv yesterday and was on hold for a total of 48 minutes before I got to the person who could solve my minor problem (returning the equipment). The AT&T/Directv merger may have been the worst thing that ever happened to Directv. Their customer service has plummeted and they no longer give a damn about their customers at all. It’s too bad, because I would have never left and found out how much better DISH is if they had just provided the service you would expect from your satellite provider.

  • LuAnne

    Does anyone know how much Direct TV charges to add 6 TVs instead of 4?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Thanks for your question, LuAnne.

      Each additional receiver after 4 TVs adds $49 to your initial price and $7 to your monthly equipment price.
      6 TVs would add $98 to your first bill only, and then $14 to your monthly bill.

      Hope that clears things up!

    • Sharsoz

      I would like you to know that just because you have the added boxes, you may keep them and not pay the 7.00 a month. You can have them turned off. Like, I rent a room out. The box in that room is off . I pay nothing. If the person renting wants tv, I have it turned back on….which makes their rent go up, 7.

  • Sharsoz

    READ THIS IF YOUHAVE HUGHES-INTERNET: I am a frustrated Direct customer. I have Hughes as my internet provider. It is the only Internet in my area. The installer for Direct connected the Genie to it .I was told that it would work with it. I was paying Hughes 130.00 a month for 25 GB’s. Hughes had also said it would work with it. The Genie used all of my GB’s. Just being plugged into it. No streaming etc. For several months I could not use my 130.00 a month internet because of going over GB’s. You have to pay more after going over alloted amount. When I finally figured out where all the GB’s were going; I disconnected the Genie. I now use around 2 GB’s a month without Genie. I complained to both companies. They both pointed the finger at each other. However, looking for an answer to who’s fault this should be, I googled it. Turns out since 2015 they knew. I found where many other people had complained. With all that said I am paying to dump Direct. I have to pay to get out of my contract. Im going with Dish . Dish said that it will not eat all of my GB’s.. (I spoke a few in customer service about this ) Unless someone tells me that the same overages will occur with Dish I will proceed with the install.

    • Brad Holliday

      We had a very-similar experience with Hughes.net. (if not a bit worse!)
      Customer service is offshored (even though I was specifically told while I was trying to conduct proper due diligence on the company that all employees were here in the USA and all spoke English), and was abysmal. Like you, we found that simply connecting the DVR used up the monthly data allowance under the plan… and to make it worse, even when we turned off the DVR, the download speed routinely averaged between 0.26mbs and 1.31mbs on days with not a cloud in the sky. Then, to put the cherry on top of the cake, when I finally got so fed up that I called to cancel and just buy-out the rest of the contract, I was specifically told (on speakerphone with 3 other guests in the home who overheard the conversation) they didn’t want the dish back at all and that it could be thrown away, they later came back to ask where the “satellite receiver” was. I explained on multiple calls with multiple Hughes.net people that I was told they did not want the old dish back and that I could simply discard it, but then was essentially told I was an idiot for not recognizing that the end piece pointing to the dish was the satellite receiver. They said since I didn’t return it, they were charging my card on file for nearly $300. We successfully engaged our credit union to reverse the charge, but then these dishonest Hughes.net folks turned the amount over to one collection agency after another; each would go away as soon as I provided them with all of the emails that had gone back and forth during the cancellation, but it was still an unnecessary hassle.
      Regardless of how remote/rural you may be, in my opinion you are FAR better off without internet access at all than trying to do business with such an unscrupulous company as Hughes.net.

  • Pats Allen

    Dish which is AT&T will hit you with Two hard inquiries on your credit report. This will lower your credit score. I believe they do this on purpose to lower your chances with their competitors. Don’t give them a chance to hurt you. Don’t go to Dish AT&T.

  • Hohn Q Public

    It’s absolutely ridiculous that Dish has equipment that requires a customer to have one of their technicians pay a visit in order to simply relocate a Joey from one room to another. Nope! Not going to do it! I’ll go back to cable first!

  • Jillxz

    Directv is cheaper for me. With Dish , I have to go to a higher package to get the channels I want. With Directv The Select Package gives me all the channels I like. But I would have to go with the Dish America 200 to get all those channels that I like in DTV Select package.

  • Tswcwc

    I’m currently a DirectV customer for over 20 years and looking into switching over to Dish. When I called Dish to inquire about service/pricing, I was told I had to give a credit card number even to get any kind of information. When I explained I did not have a credit card handy, the customer service rep rattled off a robotic statement defending their policy that a credit card is required to inquire about packages, told me to call back when I had a credit card, wished me a good day and hung up. Just wow.

  • Connie Asher

    And terrible customer service! Taking away channels that I based my picking the package for! They broke the contract and now I’m done with them. My neighbor has Direct and never has issues like this! Funny how they only respond to the positive comments??