Frontier Internet Review

Frontier offers DSL and fiber internet, but what makes it truly unique is its availability in rural and remote areas. Read on to learn more.
Frontier internet logo
Frontier offers DSL and fiber internet, but what makes it truly unique is its availability in rural and remote areas. Read on to learn more.
Overall Rating 4 out of 5
Price:
$20–$200
Speed:
1 Mbps–1 Gbps
Data caps:
None

Is Frontier Internet a Good Provider?

The Bottom Line: Frontier’s internet services include DSL and fiber to the home (FTTH) internet, often covering areas neglected by the competition. The more Frontier grows, the more rural and remote customers have access to internet with higher speeds. While Frontier focuses on these sort of areas, they also provide fast internet (up to 1 Gig) to suburban and urban areas as well.

Fortunately, most plans don’t require a contract—and even better—Frontier has no data caps! All things considered, they may very well be one of the best internet providers out there.

Is Frontier Right for Me?

YES

  • If you need unlimited internet access (no data caps)
  • If you want no-contract internet
  • If you want fiber internet speeds

PROBABLY NOT

Subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Frontier Internet Plans and Pricing

High, low, and everything in between.

Frontier provides satellite, DSL, cable, and fiber internet. Its FiOS fiber internet comes in five different speeds, from 50 Mbps to 1,000 Mbps, and is limited to high-population areas. But if you live in a rural area, you may still have Frontier’s DSL or cable internet as an option.

Frontier FiOS internet plans review

PlanAdvertised price*Download speedUpload SpeedDetails
Simply FiOS 50/50$40/mo50 Mbps50 MbpsView Plan
Simply FiOS 200/200$50/mo200 Mbps200 MbpsView Plan
Simply FiOS 300/300$100/mo300 Mbps300 MbpsView Plan
Simply FiOS 500/500 $150/mo500 Mbps500 MbpsView Plan
Simply FiOS 1G/1G $200/mo.1 Gbps1 GbpsView Plan

Data effective 9/16/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*for 24 mos. Equip., taxes & fees not included.

FiOS internet price increases

Many plans have a 2-year price lock, making it easy to budget your expenses without worrying about potential price increases. Some companies have huge rate increases after a year. Frontier spares you this drastic change and keeps consistent pricing WITHOUT early termination fees.

Broadband plan options

Frontier's broadband internet plans

PlanAdvertised price*Download speed
Internet Core$20/mo.Up to 6 Mbps
Internet Ultra$25/mo.Up to 12 Mbps
Internet Plus$30/moUp to 18 Mbps
Internet Elite$35/moUp to 25 Mbps
Internet Power$40/moUp to 45 Mbps
Internet Extreme$50/moUp to 90 Mbps
Internet Velocity$60/moUp to 115 Mbps

Data effective 9/16/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*for 24 mos. Equip., taxes & fees not included.

People looking for cheap internet have options with Frontier; the lowest plan we saw went for $20 per month.

Frontier bundles deals

Frontier offers bundles with both TV and phone. The following tables show samples of bundles available with internet, but not every option may be available to you.

Double Play plans: Internet + Video (or phone)

Double Play Advertised Price*
TV Prime + 200/200$95/mo.
TV Extreme + 200/200$105/mo.
200/200 + Phone$60/mo.
TV Prime + 300/300$155/mo
TV Ultimate + 1G/1G$280/mo

Data effective 9/16/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*for 24 mos. Equip., taxes & fees not included.

Triple Play plans: Internet + Video + Phone

All plans include unlimited Vantage Voice phone service.

Data effective 9/16/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*for 24 mos. Equip., taxes & fees not included.

What’s the real price?

Frontier offers straightforward pricing: No “regular” rate—your plan costs the advertised price. It still has things like “taxes, governmental, and other Frontier-imposed surcharges” but doesn’t spell those fees out because they vary for each person.

Hidden fees

Be aware of the following fees:

  •  Shipping and Handling charge – varies by location.

  • Early termination fee (ETF) – when it comes to early termination fees, it’s dependent on which services you choose. Internet-only plans have no early termination fees. Bundled packages have ETFs ranging from $200 to $400.

  • Broadband processing fee – if you disconnect one of your bundled services, you’ll pay $9.99.

  • Installation – internet installation fees are currently waived on new internet service (9/1—9/30).

Frontier Internet Equipment

With most plans, Frontier throws in a free Wi-Fi router for life as part of your service, which saves you money on leasing or buying your own. This piece of equipment gives you wireless internet service to all of your devices. Of course, you can always use your own equipment if you prefer.

Speed

The lowest lows and highest highs

Frontier plans start around 1 Mbps and go up to 1 Gbps (1,000 Mbps). Frontier tries to cover every base, especially for the customers other companies overlook. With that in mind, it makes sense that Frontier has such a wide range with differing prices, but remember that the available speeds depend on your location.

One of Frontier internet’s best features is symmetrical speeds.

One of Frontier internet’s best features is symmetrical speeds: Your upload speeds and download speeds are (mostly) equal with Frontier. Other companies will advertise a very high download speed, but then pair it with a weak upload. Upload speeds are a key factor for anyone who has to upload high-quality media often.

What speed is right for me?

When it comes to picking a plan, consider how many users you have and what type of internet use you’ll need. The more HD videos you watch and games you play, the more speed you need to prevent lag/freezing/delay.

Internet speeds are not guaranteed. The factors you should consider are:

  • Multiple users

  • Computer hardware and software

  • Modem

Below are the FCC’s minimum broadband speed requirements for a single user.

Activity (single user)Minimum Download Speed
Web browsing1 Mbps
Watching video4 Mbps
Video conferencing4 Mbps
Online gaming5 Mbps

According to the FCC, in 2015 Frontier had 98.10% delivery on advertised speeds. That’s pretty reliable, and when it comes down to it,  the average user won’t notice much difference between speeds of 23.7 Mbps and 25 Mbps. The table below illustrates some of the FCC’s findings.

Frontier Internet Data Caps and Allowances

Don’t worry about it; Frontier has unlimited data.

It’s great having high-speed internet without data caps. Anyone who has ever received additional charges for overages knows how quickly those expenses add up. With Frontier’s free-range approach to the internet, users can explore the web, watch HD videos, and play tons of games without worrying about tacking on up to $200 in overage charges in a single month (like you could with Comcast or AT&T internet).

The big companies aren’t hurting for data bandwidth, just charging for it.

Frontier’s lack of data caps stems from their desire to make sure their customers get what they need without restriction. In the words of Daniel McCarthy, CEO of Frontier Communications: “We want to make sure our product meets the needs of customers for what they want to do, and it doesn’t inhibit them or force them to make different decisions about how they’re going to use the product.” Or in other words, they don’t want you to quit watching HD videos or playing online games just because you’re worried about getting an overage charge.

He went on to explain that the current technology far outweighs the current demand for it. In other words, the big companies aren’t hurting for data bandwidth, just charging for it.

What if I hit the limit?

The Frontier is the limit, if I may be so cheesey. With Frontier internet, the lack of data caps or limitations means you’re free to access the internet at full speed for as long as you’re a subscriber.

Frontier customer service and support

Free support 24/7/365 for all of Frontier’s services.

Frontier sits slightly above average in the customer service department. For 2015, Frontier ended with a score of 64 from the American Customer Satisfaction Index, comparatively the average rating for telecom companies was 63.30. Its JD Power & Associates score of 4.72 is much higher than the 3.14 nationwide average for telecom companies.

In our experience, Frontier’s sales agents were friendly and to the point. Although their chat feature didn’t work for us several times, the phone agents handled our questions promptly without too much pressure to upgrade or add on buying options.

The takeaway

We’ve got to hand it to Frontier: It has something for everyone. With reasonable prices, a wide range of high speed internet, and no data caps, we bet just about anyone can find a plan that fits their needs.

Frontier internet logo
Frontier 100/100 and 150/150 plans are a great bang for the buck.

Frontier 200/200 plan is a great bang for the buck, so if you don’t need that 1 Gbps, you can save yourself some money every month.

Other Options:

  • If you’re in one of the Frontier Gig areas, it’s not a bad deal, but most users would be quite content with plans above 50 Mbps.

  • If you want to bundle your internet, phone, and TV, we recommend the Triple Play Bundle with 375+ channels and 200/200 Mbps download speeds.

  • If you want a budget-friendly option, the FiOS 50/50 plan will suit most users just fine.

What experience do you have with Frontier? Considering switching internet providers but have questions? Leave a comment below to let us know what you’re thinking!

Find the best internet providers in your area.

  • Eddie

    Customer service needs to be re-evaluated, WORST!!! I had no service for nearly a month and still dealing with a discrepancy on my bill. Don’t expect any real assistance from their reps, supervisors or managers. Still waiting to hear back from Benjamin Mansfield, Rachel Fisher or Lisa Hall. I had to contact the bbb and the state general attorney to get some assistance, and still it’s no support. If you get this provider expect issues, and no help.

  • Justin Post

    Ridiculous review. Internet is slow most of the time or doesn’t work at all. This has to be a paid review. I have never heard anyone talk this highly of any internet service provider, especially frontier.

  • Mark Logan

    I can’t believer I’m paying for this service, or rather NO SERVICE. I’ve been listening to music on hold for days … I tried to use their on line chat, but I was 34th in line. I waited thirty minutes, now I’m 33rd. At this rate, I’ll be waiting for 15 hours. What a joke.

  • Destini Kulik

    This is a real review: Frontier does not have great customer service and no one is really connected. I tried to make a change – and did – through chat but they didn’t tell me everything that would change (like losing channels all the while making me on a new contract when I was at the monthly payment point) and when I tried to call and talk to a person in customer service they said I had to go through chat and ask for a supervisor to deal with my complaints with chat. Then I say I still want to talk about my package and then I get put on hold for “customer service”, who I was just talking to. I’m getting shuffled around and no one knows anything – it’s really dumb and I’m about to give up and get direct TV or charter. This is just ridiculous!

  • Heather piccalo

    I am a new costumer to frontier. I had to switch from charter due to moving. I would have never switched if i had the option. Frontier is by far already the worst internet provider ive ever had! I have had it “working” for three days and on the third day its raining. So basically a little drizzle makes it go out. Totally unreliable. Not only that but when we were hooking it up the costumer service people were extremely ignorant and rude. I am looking for a better provider. Good luck with this joke internet service people!

  • Candy

    I am a new customer with Frontier FIOS, in TX. I had a horrible experience with them. When I visited their web site for the 1st time, I saw their FIOS Internet only monthly plan of $24.99 and speed 30/30. Then I called their number to ask for new FIOS internet service with that specific rate plan. That’s the 1st time they confirmed the rate plan with me. A few days before my installation day, I called again to confirm my appt and confirming my rate plan AGAIN. They confirmed it’s $24.99 and 30/30 speed. After the installation, I signed up for online acct. I see my FIOS internet has a speed of 50/50. I called their customer service, they NOW telling me “50/50 is what you originally signed up and we do NOT offer 30/30 speed. Your monthly rate is $44.99.” WTF, ridiculous and unbelievable experience. How can a company lying about their rate? Be AWARE people, you are NOT getting what you signed up for!

  • Rob K

    How about the Frontier Vantage TV service? Their pricing seems very competitive vs. Comcast, BUT I’m VERY skeptical about ordering ANY service from Frontier.
    Can anyone out there offer advice or comments about Vantage TV service? Thanks……..

  • TL

    HORRIBLE!! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE internet, customer service. The whole thing… I have complained and complained. I called on 5/15 to check for a rate change on horrible service and I got $30.99 a month. Today, 5/31, I called to see if I could get a better rate. 1 person said it would be $34.99 and the person after that said it would be $49.99!! What the heck!!

  • Sparky

    Frontier sucks. We just changed to Frontier and our bill is higher than what they promised and we’re not getting the channels promised. Customer service doesn’t answer their phone.

    When I sent an email, I got an automatic response saying they don’t communicate via email any longer. Hmm, could this be because the consumer would have communications that can’t be forged? I don’t like when companies practice bait and switch. I thought this practice was against the law??????

    I’m in the process of getting a t shirt that says “Frontier communications sucks, ask me why.” They can’t do anything since I’m stating facts!

    I hate government regulation, but this industry desperately needs it.

  • SK

    How much did Frontier pay you for this?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      $0.

  • Jon Wilob

    I’m considering selling my home just to be able to get out from under the IRON FIST of this-the worst communications company on the planet-FRONTIER-formerly CITIZENS UTILITY. The name has changed but the outfit is still the same-CITIZENS. They made so many enemies as CITIZENS utilities they had to change their name. High priced, poor service, inferior performance. Oh and did I mention horrible support! If you are thinking about moving and your only choice of phone companies is FRONTIER please, I beg of you, reconsider locating elsewhere OUT of CITIZENS money grubbing grasp. You will thank me again and again.

  • Layne

    I am someone who never leaves reviews even if the company wasn’t the best, but I feel like I must warn others out there about Frontier. Their customer service is horrible, every representative tells you something different and I honestly believe they are trained at all and are instructed to make up something that sounds believable. A representative removed my phone service without telling me, which kicked me out of the bundle special discount pricing, and charging me extra for leaving the contract. I expressed my confusion and frustration to a manage and he had zero sympathy for me stating that only I could have made this change. This company ruins my day twice a month, the day I get the bill and the day I have to call to argue over it. Maybe all cable companies are like this but I can’t imagine one being worse than Frontier. Avoid them at all costs.

  • Tanisha Moore

    I have frontier in Texas and it is the worst. I don’t recommend this company to anyone. All day my internet is going in and out I constantly have to reconnect to to my television I can’t got on the computer longer than 20 minutes before it disconnect…

  • Sam

    Good god these people are scummy. When you sign up, read your first bill, it’s always wrong (at least at the three different addresses I’ve had frontier). If you didn’t want a contract, too bad, they probably accidentally put you on one. If they said there was no installation fee, too bad, you’re going to sit on hold for an hour to get it waived. Just an honest mistake though. The last time I signed up I was very clear I didn’t want a contract, and unfortunately didn’t notice on my first bill that they had put me on a 2 year term. After the first bill it was too late apparently, and now they’re charging me a cancellation fee despite signing me up for a service I didn’t ask for — in fact a service I explicitly told them I didn’t want. Now my only choices are have it sent to collection or pay a cancellation fee for a contract I never asked for and didn’t want. WTF.

  • Roger Salles

    I had verizon for 7 years and when frontier came on board my service stayed pretty much the same except for
    their customer service must be the worst in the world, a bunch of retards who have no experience besides, I can`t access the online page, it tells me my account does not exist. I did switch to spectrum and that is even worse, I`m going back to frontier due to the the friendly TV menu, in all they all suck, I try to stay sane over this cable thing.

  • Azam Khan

    Worst company since moved from Verizon.
    I been with Verizon for over a year and had a promotional package. Then i moved to a new location and requested to transfer my services which they assure that will be grandfathered. First month after i moved my bill went up by $120, i called and they said that they did a mistake and added you as a new customer. The said they will fix the issue and I have to pay my original old bill amount.
    Next month i saw that unpaid balance plus new high bill again. Called again spend hours and they promised it is resolved.
    3rd month bill amount went to over $ 600 cause they keep adding it.
    And this time when i called they said we can not do anything you can not have the old promotional price and you have to pay all these extra charges.
    They supervisor said i agree it was there mistake but we can not do anything about it and you have to pay it and keep paying high bill.

    Worst customer support ever and con company in charging there customers over.

  • Jason

    My service has been interrupted 3 times in the last 4 months due to their faulty equipment. The first time the tech told me we got unplugged at the office and it took a month to fix. The last time it took them 6 weeks to fix. Today I had a service tech scheduled to come out which I called and confirmed this morning now I get a call saying they can come a week from today. This service is an absolute joke and their customer service is even worse.

  • LavaFX (Lava)

    Do not get this provider if your thinking about it, especially if your gaming. At this point I actually think they are throttling. I get an average of 1300 ping. Oh and don’t forget that two year contract!

  • Carl

    Let’s face it, Frontier is a huge company and every area of operation is different. I have been a customer of Frontier since the bought out Verizon in our area, and have had very poor customer service as well as very good customer service. The key is when you are working with what you have got be persistent in holding Frontier accountable for delivering the service you deserve and are paying for. I have spoke to many many associates from Frontier from service techs, to customer service folk, area customer service representative managers to the office of the president. I pay 44.98 per month for dsl internet on phone lines that have been in place for decades the service is for 1 to 3 Mbps download. I am not in any way statisfied with my internet but for now it is the only viable option. I encourage everyone that is not happy with the internet they are receiving to contact the office of the president and let them know what your experiences are and continue to be diligent in letting them know that you are not happy. I would also suggest to search out all of your options, call the nearest land cable company (comcast) in my area to see if it is possible to have cable ran to your location. Defiantly continue to blog but be proactive to your own solution.

  • Sheri Havens

    You must be working for Frontier there are thousands of complaints because Frontier changes pricing without your knowledge. Wait until you get the first bill what a shock. Nothing is correct.

  • Grandma

    We have Frontier DSL and are reasonably happy with it — EXCEPT they raised our rate two months in a row, no notification!! I just don’t get how a company can do this with no warning — just extracting it our of my Visa. Sounds shady~!

  • Grandma

    The Frontier DSL has been pretty reliable, but in the past two months they have raised our rates twice! How can they do this without a letter or some kind of notification. I don’t like that they think they can just extract it from my Visa and I won’t notice. Bad business on their part!

  • John Stevens

    This company is horrible!!! It is my opinion they intentionally inflate your bill. They do this by claiming you watch movies that you don’t and then you spend hours on the phone getting it resolved. It became obvious when they not only over charged for a movie but charged me for it twice in one day when everyone knows that when you rent it is good for 48 hours. Once they disconnected my service because they hadn’t credited my payment and it took 4 days to restore. While they did eventually remove the disconnect charge, they not credit me for service loss and they never apologized. When they took over from Verizon everything was awful for months. We stayed and they sent a rep around thanking us and promising us service discounts to keep staying. Never received. When I had finally had enough I disconnected the service mid month and requested they prorate the bill. 6 weeks later they informed me that they quit prorating 2 weeks before I disconnected. Then they charged me for the next month as well. I haven’t paid the final bill because they haven’t corrected this, even though I have talked to dozens of their billing folks including 2 supervisors. All of whom assure me that it should be removed. Instead I get a threatening letter stating that they will be sending it to collection and it will effect my credit. THIS COMPANY IS ABSOLUTE GARBAGE. THEY ARE STEALING FROM EVERYONE. WATCH YOUR BILLS. THEY DON’T CARE AND NEVER CORRECT ANYTHING EVEN WHEN THEY SAY THEY WILL. IT IS CORPORATE GREED RUN AMOK. You have been warned. If they do it to one person every month then they are likely doing it to others. How much have they stolen? I only saw the bills for the last 6 months. Before that the wife simply paid it. I asked for all preceding bills and they have refused to send them. Thieves is what they are and they don’t care. Just string you along and lie every step of the way.

  • Cintia Bernal

    the worst costumer service!!! I Was on a chat and the lady Just Stop The Chat Ignoring My Request For a Supervisors Number. In the past I had talked to 1800 costumer Service and they spend 2hrs with me on the phone and did not resolve my problem!!! I do not recommend this Service And please Do not get it Run away From it As Fast As You can They Don’t care about Costumers They only care About Your Money!!! Run Away From Frontier!!!!!

  • Beware

    I had a service date to install, we waited 8 to 5 pm. Did they ever show NOPE. Steve a Supervisor tryed to make up a excuse, i said tell the truth. Okay that they made mistakes and that they where gonna make me wait 8 more days. I said my daughter has home work. He made a comment well how did she do it before. She dont have homework on a weekend. I said what does yoyr bad comments got to do with my service. My daughter is in collage. So over all bad service, bad supervisor trying to cover for there mistakes.

  • Ct

    I call BS – I had Verizon FiOS and it was great for 4 years. Frontier took over and decided to randomly up my contracted rate each month. When I would call to ask how they could increase my contracted rate, they said, oh those rate increases are for all customers.

    • Blueberryfarmer

      Frontier has raised my rates 3 times in 2017. Started at $71 now up to $88 – internet only. Speed tested at 57 mbps NOT getting the advertised 100mbps

  • Sam-a-jam

    Worst company I have ever dealt with.
    It took over 2 weeks to get their services. I got a different answer every single time I called. Wrong orders were placed on my account without my knowledge or request. I just wanted the basic internet that was available in my area and throughout the weeks, without me asking or anything, phone service was added more than once, a request for rewiring was placed, and a cancellation – I never discussed any of those items with anyone.
    Some operators were nice, a few extremely rude, but all had zero idea on what they were doing. Each time I called or talked to someone, I got a different explanation or a different excuse.

    It is the same price to get speeds from 1 mbps to 5 mbps – just depends what is available in your area. They tried to limit us to 1 mbps when really we are able to get over 3. So that was another fight after we got things set up.
    It was a never ending battle.
    Frontier is the only company that my area could get service. So it pains me to pay them $40/month for a very crappy, unprofessional job.
    I documented every conversation because I was warned, but my warning was not enough to prepare me for dealing with these
    The internet itself is OK with the speed we have. We have to reset it more often than not.
    Still extremely disappointed in the customer service and their lack of knowledge/care.

    Highly suggest picking any other provider.

  • Phil Jones

    Everyone complaining about Frontier, have you tried Spectrum? You want to talk about shitty internet try Spectrum in the DFW Texas area. The shit crashes every 10mins all day every day you cant do anything without waiting for the signal to come back. Frontier FTW 150/150 for 45 a month yes sir and no contract.

  • Isabelle NOLastNameProvided

    This company has been a nightmare to deal with. Their customer service is incompetent. I ordered service on 11/24 and was given an install date of 12/9. Since I work from home, this long wait was less than ideal. I called within a couple days to see if any installation orders cancelled, so I could be moved up & was told that’s not possible. Within 24 hours of this phone call, I get an email stating that my order is paused and if I don’t call it it will be cancelled. I call customer service, was on the phone for 53 minutes (in the middle of my workday!!!!!!) only to be told the service install is only available on 12/15!!!! This is 3 weeks from my initial call. Also…. the service rep didn’t know why my install date was moved further back… but there was nothing to be done. HORRIBLE SERVICE!!! I cancelled my order and called Spectrum. They’re coming out tomorrow afternoon. Much better! Stay clear of Frontier.

  • Karen

    At this point I am frustrated with Frontier. I don’t have a high speed plan but I’ve been an exsisting customer for over a year. My internet has been out for a week through no fault of my own. Its been out since last Monday and the soonest they can come out is 8 days later. I have called several times. The first time I was on phone for 90 mins. Then was cut off. I called back and my CService yelled who was talking to Karen and they all started laughing. Like it was funny. I asked for supervisor. Took another 30 mins till I spoke to someone who I was believe was just another tech..not a supervisor. Said i had to wait 5 more days for a tech to come out. Told her that was unacceptable. Said she would flag it which means if someone gets cancellation they will come out. Well 3 days later still waiting. Called again today. I was told problem was not my modem. That the problem is 3500 feet from my house. WTH is that?? So its 8 days ..no internet. Looking for other deals. Go somewhere else. Customer service sucks

  • marley tellier

    This company plain and simple sucks. Our internet goes down many times durning the day and lags. They sent a technician out to help solve the problem but said they couldn’t fix it meaning just deal with it and give us your money for aggravating the crap out of you. It’s the worst service ever! Please do not use them! Not worth getting robbed!

  • Thomas S

    I don’t think this is accurate… I’m paying over $100/mo for 150/150 FIOS service, which I’ve had for years. Seeing these much lower rates, I called Frontier and was told the low rates are for new customer acquisition only and are not offered to existing customers. For a loyal customer like me, here’s how the pricing works:

    150/150:
    new customer $40/mo
    existing customer $112/mo

    300/300:
    new customer $100/mo
    existing customer $167/mo

    Sucks dealing with a government-backed monopoly….

  • Jb

    Horrible customer service. The longer you are a customer, the more they gouge you on the bill! Good offers are only for new customers.

  • Fios Bad Service

    I ordered the special they are running on TV for $80 mo. TV, Internet, phone with “FREE Amazon Prime”. It’s been well over a month and still no sign of them offering Amazon Prime, I have called customer service more than five times about my subscription.
    I also paid my first month as I figured they were holding out to secure payment and not get burned!
    Update just got off the phone with them as I am typing this, They apparently “ran out of Amazon Prime codes/ gift cards until further notice and there is nothing they can in the meantime for any customers” Exact words!

    Amazing how they take your money and not to mention what I have read here about disconnection of service with a couple of days past due. Not coming back after this promo ends.

  • Steven Daniel

    What were you paid to write this B.S. Article? This company is not even accredited member of the Better Business Bureau. They are however listed in the BBB with over 10,000 complaints. https://www.bbb.org/upstate-new-york/business-reviews/telephones/frontier-communications-corp-in-rochester-ny-31775/reviews-and-complaints They recently have lost over 600,000 existing customers due to poor customer service and service fails.https://www.dallasnews.com/news/watchdog/2017/03/31/watchdog-frontier-communications-lost-600000-new-verizon-customers-one-year. Read Google reviews 1.6 out of 5 stars. I found that the customer service complaints in the comments here and elsewhere are not exaggerations I was once a Frontier customer and had the exact same service and customer service experiences.

  • russ

    Most of the comments I have read here ring true for me also! I wanted to add about how bad even their chat is: Their website shows no rate info on their internet only offerings. So I thought it would be quick and easy to chat to get the least expensive rate. Their chat agent was apparently trying to sell me something, instead of answer my simple rate question. Numerous times, she said “almost done”, “I am checking now”….. But I persisted, and finally 46 minutes later I got the basic monthly rate and with further re-asking and re-asking, I also got at least an estimate for the “taxes, surcharges, fees and other nuisance charges”. To pull a rate off a rate table should have taken 2-3 minutes instead of 46 minutes. That’s frontier’s service for you…..

  • Disgusted

    I have had the worst experience ever with any company, with Frontier. However they are the only FiOS provider in my area. Despite being charged $300 over my bill due to multiple errors on their part that they admit to, they would not refund me the money. It’s like having any abusive, neglectful parent every time I call their customer service. This morning I got transferred 3x after huge hold times and finally no one picked up. I am looking into Spectrum right now to stop putting up with the abuse.

  • Gwen Sutton

    My experience was horrible as well. I switched over from Spectrum which was a total mistake. I only had their services for a few months and my services (phone, cable and internet) were not working half of the time. I’ve called in several times and they are quick to pretend to solve the matter including resetting it and then it goes right back. I called to cancel around the end of December (around New Years ) and spoke to someone that said he would note everything and as soon as they were back in the office my services would be disconnected. Not the case at all! I happen to notice a couple weeks after that they were still on so I called again. To make a even longer story shorter, they claimed they never told me that blah blah blah …Now I see that I have two bills which I should not have because my services was suppose to be off. Beyond pissed and never again!

  • Michelle Marie Gomez

    I LOVE HAVING FRONTIER FIOS THEY ARE SUCH AN AWSOME COMPANY FOR CABLE AND INTERNET OR WI-FI THERE SERVICE IS AWSOME AND THEY HAVE GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE IVE BEEN WITH THEM ALREADY A YEAR AND SO FAR SO GOOD I HAVENT HAD A PROBLEMS AT ALL TV IS AWSOME INTERNET IS ALSO AWSOME I USED TO HAVE CHARTER CABLE FOR INTERNET AND TV AND PHONE SERVICE AND I HAVE TO SAY THAT WAS THE WORSES CABLE COMPANY I HAVE EVER HAD I HATED THAT I HAD TO SHARE MY INTERNET WITH EVERYONE ON MY BLOCK MY INTERNET WAS ALWAYS SO SLOW ESPECIALY WHEN YOU WERE GAMEING OR WATCHING NETFLIX IT ALWAYS STARTED FREEZING OR IT WOULD STOP RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOVIE AND NOW SINCE IVE SWITCHED TO FRONTIER I HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS WAS THE BEST DECISION THAT I COULD OF MADE I WILL CONTINUE TO STAY WITH FRONTIER

  • Magicalwizard

    THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME WITH FRONTIER RECENTLY

    What a joke of a company!
    Called the other day to order your service. Was told the install date was for today Wednesday, January 24, 2018 between 8 AM – 12:00 PM and the technician will call me about 1 hour before heading my way.
    Since didn’t heard nothing by 11:30 AM I called customer service to find out what was going on to find out that the installation was scheduled for Wednesday, February 21, 2018 and not for today as was told.

    I asked if it was possible to get it installed today and was told no.

    Took the day off and waited on them to find out that they seem not to know what they are doing.

    Since the installation couldn’t be done today and not until February 21, I ended up cancelling it all together.
    Not going to wait this long because Frontier Communications can’t get their act together.

    Seems that I will be keeping Xfinity (Comcast) and not switching to Frontier as wanted.

    Maybe this is a warning telling me not to use Frontier and that the service I will be receiving from them won’t be good at all and a nightmare.

  • Michael

    Oh wow. Normally when you look at reviews, you find a few bad ones and you have to make the best judgment on if you want the product or service. All the reviews are bad. This company sucks ass.

  • Bob M.

    From experience, every bad review that you read about Frontier is true. They are without a doubt the worst company on the planet. Please do yourself a favor do not, I repeat do not order in Frontier, you’ll be so sorry you did. I don’t know why the goverment doesn’t shut their sorry ass down.

  • TValley

    Read terms!!!! When you terminate service, you have to 1) pay for entire month (even if you terminate on the 1st), and 2) pay a $10 disconnect fee. They keep sending us bills a month after we’ve terminated.

  • Rodgman

    Guess I’m one of the lucky ones, but I’ve had FIOS since Verizon installed it in our neighborhood about 8 years ago. Of course, now it’s Frontier, but the service has suffered any. Price has gone up some, but for what I’m getting, it’s not unreasonable. Have considered switching from Frontier to Spectrum to save a few bucks, but that would only last a while as the promotional discounts go away after one year. My mother-in-law has Spectrum and I’ve seen what happens after the discounts drop off.

  • http://www.modinedesigns.com Chad

    Worst service ever. Overbilled on provisional speeds that barely reached 1.2 MBPS, was supposed to be a 6 MBPS service. The reps are idiots as well. Then they hit you up for a $10 disconnect fee? Really, all they do is hit a button. Thumbs down, don’t use them. You can get a 25MBPS package at Comcast for $25 instead of the $20 for 1 Meg service. And when running a speed test I actually get over 25 down with Comcast, surprise. I will be filing a complaint with the FCC.

  • Terrell

    I highly encourage you to avoid this headache until they can get their accounting together. I got Frontier back in Feb 2017 and I was told I would get 100/100 Internet and Standard TV package for 77$ for a 6 month promotion. My first bill was over 400$. When I called they told me I had to pay the 400 up front and they would reimburse me the over charge. Took me about 2 hours to get this resolved. The next month the bill was over 200$ even though I was told the problem was fixed. Took 1.5 hours of my time to fix. The 3rd month the bill was over 150$ and took another 1.5 hours to fix. I finally told them I am no longer in need of their cable services (about 9 months later) and I’d like to just keep the internet services. They tried to charge me a 130$ early termination fee. I told the lady I was paying month-to-month didn’t have an annual contract. She tried hard to convince me I was mistaken. I asked her to show me where I had to pay a termination fee and the cost that it would be. She said this does not exist but I broke the contract so of course I’d have to pay a termination fee. We went back and forth for 25 minutes before she talked to an associate who informed her that my account did not have to pay a early termination fee. She never apologized for trying to overcharge me. I asked to speak with a manager to discuss my overall experience with this company. She said she would have him/her give me a call back. So she asked for a call back number (2nd time I gave her the number). Although I’m satisfied with the internet speed I have with the company (100/100), I’m looking forward to terminating that in 2 months so that I can be completely done with this company. Their service reps are not very informed people which are causing customers to pay extra money. I can only imagine how much extra money they are making for charging people for unnecessary early termination fees and for inaccurate billing. I’ve had no issues with the cable and internet service but the accounting (the basics) is HORRIBLE.

  • Kevin L

    Worst internet provider I have ever experienced. Service would go down several times a day and we had to call them every time to get it back up and working. I had service at my business and it caused us a lot of problems just trying to get work done and upset a lot of our customers because we were unable to access information due to the service being down. The service techs are terrible and did not come out when they said they would. On several occasions they reported to their office that they came out to my office and found not problems but they never came at all. I switched to Sudden Link and have had no problems since then.

  • Joseph Wathen

    Terrible company. Back in December we agree on a new rate to keep my monthly costs about the same. Good until today and they raised the bill by $40 a month. I called and they said the price increase was on my. bill. We both checked and nothing was on my bill notifying me. I did work out an agreement to get the price about the same again. Only thing good is the internet speeds

  • Sarah Melquist

    I highly disagree with this rating and this service! They are nothing but problems and issues. They are a monopoly in our area for wireless internet and know it and take advantage af each and every one of us in the area. No customer service. Schedule days for them to come to the house and no one calls and no one shows up. Missed day of work and problems not fixed. This company needs to take another look at this review and follow through with all their promised extra resources and added WiFi connections for the past 5+ years.

  • Amy

    No Fronteir has terrible terrible customer service. They cancelled an appointment without even telling me because they “fixed the problem” on their own and they DID NOT ! So I waited for five days for the next available appointment and they CANCELLED WITHOUT TELLING ME – NO CONSIDERATION THAT I TOOK WORK OFF. F fronteir. F them

  • Amy

    F fronteir. They are terrible . THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. DIDNT TELL ME THEY CANCELLED AN APPOINTMENT THAT I HAD WAITED FOR FIVE DAYS because they “fixed the problem”. Who decided it was fixed assholes, you didn’t even check. So I’m left now – draining my data because you f’ers suck at providing this service. If you have the option never go with Fronteir ever ever ever

  • Buster

    I have lost connection to internet, TV, and phone. Frontier will send out a repairman in 9 days.

  • Closed

    The worst in customer service. It has taken 4 calls just to close my acct. with a few transfers each call! I agree to money grabbing. They just added $1.99 to my bill which is supposed to be a surcharge fee but thing is, my service is on suspension or vacation! Had to complain about it for them to give it attention and credit – well, they said they would anyway. Hopefully will never encounter them again as only server in future.

  • Yeah buddy

    DON’T SIGN UP FOR FRONTIER THE LIE AND MISGUIDE CUSTOMERS BOUT THEIR SO CALLED PLANS AND THEIR SERVICE IS LOUSY EVEN WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Bee Real

    I Haven’t had any problems Frontier at all and Honestly there customer service is good to me, I think that people don’t understand that there human and are just doing there jobs it amazes me that some people take it out on customer service when in fact it may be the companies set up! It’s a business and if you don’t like it take your business elsewhere, My experience has been all good with frontier but today people want all the bells and whistles and higher an higher internet speeds unless your running a business I see no need for all that everyone is so inpatient these days I see it all the time and I have experienced it myself and I’ve tried to correct it, I treat people the same way I expect to ‘ve treated you get on the phone with a representative and your mad upset and inpatient they get upset and can’t think straight I’ve seen it over an over so I’d say you will get a lot more results with patience and kindness there just workers who probably make little pay they don’t want to be cursed at an made responsible for mistakes if you explain and stop being so rude life will be much easier for if they don’t know the answer to your questions or problem I guarantee you that they will help you find the solution and will go beyond the call and make sure your connected and your problem is fixed. Yelling and screaming isn’t the way to go, besides it’s so much easier to be nice then rude and ultimately it pays off cause you learn that people are just people and they just want respect like you and me. Just had amazing conversation with a representative what a nice fella and it’s not the first time they have all been very kind and helpful so I’d say I recommend them 100% cause I’ve had no problems with internet or phone not once! You know maybe some area just don’t have as good connection as I do? That could be the problem and that’s Frontiers responsibility to let there customers know that guy who connected my service said I’d have really good service and he was right and he was a really nice guy kind and I was truly impressed by how there employee took time to do it perfectly so I’d have no problems. Maybe I got lucky or maybe I just get results cause I’m just a humble person who knows that humans make mistakes just like me and that there is always a solution to anything.

  • Noreck

    I had same problem.

  • Noreck

    Not professional.

  • Tex_Dude

    Frontier squandered an opportunity to deliver good customer service during the handover.
    They lost 25% of their customer base here in Texas after 2016 and have an F reputation on the BBB website.
    You would think that would have factored somewhere in this “review” vs. a 2015 JD Power survey?
    Lots of people unhappy – you can read reviews here from existing / past customers.
    They need to (1) focus on keeping existing customers happy by offering same rates as new customers (2) give updates to existing customers if they have service issues / offer guarantees if they fail to deliver (3) take surveys of their customer support staff to hold individuals accountable.

  • BK

    I have had the worst possible experience with Frontier. They have lied to me about every possible thing and have horrible customer service. One of the most frustrating experiences I have ever had. I would never recommend them for any reason. I can’t imagine how they manage to stay in business.

  • Dustin

    Change your router that might be your problem.

  • Luis

    There is no way Frontier is rating this high. Over a 2hr wait with no resolve when I was requesting my old telephone lines removed and have one new one installed. Horrible customer service.

  • James

    Do yourselves a favor and RECORD EVERY CONVERSATION you have when calling Frontier, Or any cable/internet company for that matter.. This will save you immensely and it holds the millennials Frontier employs ACCOUNTABLE! Until recently I didn’t understand the term “Millennial” however, after interacting with many over the last 5-6 years they have several bad traits common directly related from the soft-hands, never told they’re wrong parental guidance. I don’t entirely cast 100% blame upon them, spoiled children grow into spoiled adults that continue to behave and expect to be allowed to say what ever they feel without any reprocussion and that is a major social cue they choose to ignore. The only way to get their attention is how the parents of generation x did, WHIP THEIR ASS!! This is every boomer’s fault you should have to take a beating as well for creating all these problems you a**holes

  • Sandy

    I placed an online order last week. I was so worried after reading the reviews. Today, the Frontier technician showed up on time, installed internet and set up everything quickly and was very nice. It’s way beyond my expectation!!

  • Donna Jackson

    This company is the worst company i have ever had to deal with. I have turned them in to BBB at least 3 times. They only offer dsl here and i am lucky if i get 3mb. Usually not even enough to stream netflix. I have no other options or i would drop them like a hot potato. Also,their customer service dept. is the worst! Everyone should turn in a complaint to better business beureau.

  • Thomas

    My bill is wrong every month and they have a excuse every month.
    I would not recommend them

  • Thomas

    My bill is wrong every month

  • 미셸고든

    Absolutely horrible! I scheduled an appointment and waited three weeks and was given a window between 1:00pm-5:00pm and they never called, emailed or pony expressed. The technican never showed up. I called 3 times throughout the day and customer service was disorganized and continued to give me alternative facts and had the unmitigated gall to want to reschedule. No thank you I’d rather watch paint dry than to waste time or money with Frontier Internet.

  • Amanda Hammond

    I would never recommend frontier services. I moved back in November of 2017 and had them transfer my services, instead they opened an additional account in my name. I continued to pay on my original account, not knowing of this new account until February. Immediately I called them to cancel the account but instead they opened ANOTHER account in my name. So now it’s June of 2018 and I still have three accounts, two of which are being charged late fees and I still cannot get removed because of their poor customer service. I continue to pay on my original account and yet I can’t get the employees of Frontier to remove my other two accounts. I recommend Armstrong over these guys any day, I am calling to cancel tomorrow and hopefully get all three accounts removed.

  • VG Guevara

    I just change from spectrum to you guys I have to told you have very bad service in support I am waiting more than 37 minutes One guy in English transfer me to Spanish the Spanish guy Cesar transfer me to another one I still waiting here the picture then I still waiting not resolve my issue is the second time less than one year I have problem do not change to frontier is very bad service https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/b893bef085fb3532adba00adde66033b5f082b80f1676122221ae417197cdea6.png

  • Madigan John

    Hi this company sucks!

    we odered an internet package and the day of install they never came so we called and they said the work was done then they said oh we don’t device that area ? Really took all info and set up the work then don’t even tell us you don’t service that area but your service dept said you do? don’t use and for the most part while on the phone with them asking why did they make a work order knowing they don’t install in me area they hung up the phone on us?

  • Aunt Ashley

    SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM! Told me my account was cancelled since I moved to an area they did not service but 3 weeks later they charged me the whole amount and never cancelled my account. Now I have to argue with people on the phone for 2 hours trying to get my money credited back.. It is not my fault you do not service the area we moved to. But im being penalized for it. It makes no sense how easy it is for you to take the money from me but cant give it back even though your employee stated my account would be cancelled on the 6th, and here it is the 16th, still up and running. But we moved 2 weeks ago.. Now I have to pay from the 6th to the 20th and I didnt even live at the address anymore. Makes no sense whats so ever! Worst internet company scam artist yet. Also, I paid $79 for 50/50 at first and then paid $56 for 75/75.. not sure how that worked out but yeah… pay more get less… that should be their motto!

  • NAM

    Agree – horrible company. Everyone lies – they quote you a price and then bill you a higher amount.

  • Amanda Krebs-White

    Worst ever. I hadn’t even gotten service installed before I ran into problems. First, they couldn’t get the account set up correctly. Then, when they did, they “forgot” to add the phone. Then on the deposit they charged my card twice and said we only see the charge once, so we can only credit back one charge. These people rob customers or prospective customers blind. I canceled and will go with another company, price is higher but I suppose you get what you pay for. Lesson learned before I got stuck in a contract.

  • Matt

    I have been a loyal customer to Frontier for over 8 years now. The past 3 of which have been the worst experience with an ISP in my life. Was forced to buy a landline phone if I wanted internet, the internet itself disconnects 15+ times a day, get ~50% of the purchased speed package, customer service & tech support are idiots who can’t help you with even the simplest of tasks. The network for my town has been congested to the point where hundreds of people loose service multiple times a day; and they aren’t even remotely interested in putting the work to making sure the area is capable of withstanding the packages they offer. The only good thing about this joke of a company if the fact that they have no data cap. I would not recommend this company or their services to anyone, for any reason. Too bad there is a virtual monopoly on telecoms in my area, or they would have been put out of business ages ago. Fix your stuff frontier, seriously.

  • Photo Man

    on a 1Mbs line lucky if you get 0.25mbs get disconnected 20 + times a day, then if you call they say to much traffic, I’ve found there is no hours without to much traffic here in rural Oregon. But they’ll come out and change router within a couple of days however it doesn’t improve the service!!! Too much Traffic..

  • Mazhar

    Customer service is very bad. They charged me more what they say before I get connection. They did not mention me about installation fee and some shipping charge while I explicitly ask many times if there are any other charge other than monthly charge.
    I ask many times whether I will get internet net connection before 6th Aug or not. The representative says he will get me install before 5th. However, later via email i found that my date to install is 8th Aug. I call them and the representative told me to call back again 2 days later and at that time they can get me earlier date before 6th Aug for sure. However, I call them again 2 days later, new representative call me that she will call me back about early installation date But never call me back, again I call back 1 day later, then again newer representative said it is not possible…
    It looks like they lies a lot . I will not recommend Frontier to my friends who are thinking to get new internet connection or just moved into my city.

  • Mazhar

    Customer service is very bad. They charged me more what they say before I get connection. They did not mention me about installation fee and some shipping charge while I explicitly ask many times if there are any other charge other than monthly charge.
    I ask many times whether I will get internet net connection before 6th Aug or not. The representative says he will get me install before 5th. However, later via email i found that my date to install is 8th Aug. I call them and the representative told me to call back again 2 days later and at that time they can get me earlier date before 6th Aug for sure. However, I call them again 2 days later, new representative call me that she will call me back about early installation date But never call me back, again I call back 1 day later, then again newer representative said it is not possible…
    It looks like they lies a lot . I will not recommend Frontier to my friends who are thinking to get new internet connection or just moved into my city….