Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity Internet Review 2021

Xfinity is available in more places and has more internet plans, but Verizon Fios Home Internet swoops in with reliably fast fiber internet speeds.
Best Speeds
Monthly price
$39.99$79.99
Download speeds
200940 Mbps
Best Nationwide Availability
Monthly price
$29.99$79.99
Download speeds
501000 Mbps

Thanks to its excellent download speeds and customer service, we recommend Verizon Fios Home Internet if you can get it. But Xfinity internet is still a great choice despite a lackluster reputation—and it’s more likely available in your area.

We dug into prices, analyzed download speeds, and did a little sleuthing to uncover the pros and cons of these two internet service providers (ISPs). Let’s dig in and find out which one is best for you.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity internet pros and cons

Verizon Fios Home Internet 

Pros

  • Fast fiber internet speeds
  • Great customer service
  • No annual contracts

Cons

  • Limited availability

Xfinity

Pros

  • Fast internet speeds
  • Low promo prices
  • Available almost anywhere

Cons

  • Prices vary by location
  • Customer service can be difficult

Find out which offers the best price in your area, Verizon Fios Home Internet or Xfinity.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity: Prices

Both ISPs offer low prices, but Verizon’s are the most straightforward.

Both Verizon Fios Home Internet and Comcast Xfinity offer fairly competitive prices. But even at first glance, it’s easy to see that Verizon’s prices are more straightforward than Xfinity’s.

Take a peek at the fine print, and the difference between these two ISPs becomes even clearer. Most of Xfinity’s internet plans require a contract, and the promotional pricing you see lasts for anywhere from 12 to 36 months.

On the other hand, Verizon Fios Home Internet comes with no annual contracts and no surprise fees, really. Even its Fios Gigabit Connection does away with the equipment rental fee, which comes included in your monthly price.

Verizon Fios Home Internet prices and plans
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Internet 200/200$39.99/mo.*200 MbpsView Plan
Internet 400/400$59.99/mo.*400 MbpsView Plan
Fios Gigabit Connection$79.99/mo.Up to 940 MbpsView Plan
Data effective 11/04/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* w/ Auto Pay + taxes & equip. charges.
w/ Auto Pay + taxes.
Pin icon
Pick your five favorite channels with Verizon's Your Fios TV
Verizon’s TV packages are winners if you want TV with your internet service. Personally, we love Your Fios TV. It lets you pick your five favorite channels, then Verizon recommends a channel package based on your favorites. How’s that for choice?

Check Out Verizon Fios TV + Internet Combos

That’s not to say that Verizon Fios Home Internet prices won’t go up in the future. But it’s refreshing to see no annual contracts are required. Plus, the prices you pay for the speeds advertised are quite competitive.

Xfinity’s prices also start out competitive, but you’ll see your monthly bill go up after a while.

While we’re on the topic, we should also mention that Xfinity prices vary greatly depending on where you live. Below, you’ll find a snapshot of Xfinity internet promo prices for the northeastern US.

Xfinity internet prices and plans
PlanPriceDownload speedDetails
Performance Pro Plus$39.99200 MbpsView Plan
Performance Starter Plus$29.99^50 MbpsView Plan
Extreme Pro Plus$69.99800 MbpsView Plan
Performance Select$34.99°100 MbpsView Plan
Gigabit$79.99**1000 MbpsView Plan
Data effective 12/03/20. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
For the first 24 months with a 1-year agreement.
^ $29.99/mo - online only
° For the first 12 months with a 1-year agreement.
** With a 2-year agreement.

For the most part, Xfinity’s promo prices mimic the prices you’d pay for similar speeds from Verizon Fios Home Internet. But there are two Xfinity plans that may seem out of place: Performance Starter Plus and Performance Select.

The prices for these two plans are extremely high for the speeds you get. What you’re paying for here is to wad that Xfinity contract up and toss it in the bin. But we’re raising an eyebrow over here because Verizon Fios Home Internet’s prices are consistently low with no annual contracts in sight.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity: Internet speed and data caps

Both ISPs deliver great speeds, but Verizon Fios Home Internet’s fiber network takes the win.

Xfinity may have raised the stakes by boosting its top plan’s speeds to 1,200 Mbps, but Verizon Fios Home Internet’s top download speeds of up to 940 Mbps are nothing to laugh at.

And when it comes to upload speeds, Verizon Fios Home Internet’s fully fiber network can’t be beat. Upload speeds are more critical for anyone who uploads large files to the internet. So if you’re a photographer, videographer, or work-from-home pro, we recommend Verizon Fios Home Internet.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity download speed comparison
ProviderDownload speedsUpload speeds
Verizon Fios Home Internet200–Up to 940 Mbps200–Up to 880 Mbps
Xfinity25–1,200 Mbps3–35 Mbps

Data effective 1/19/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

Advertised speeds are all well and good, but what we all really want to know is what download speeds will we actually get when we log on to stream Netflix or play Rainbow Six Siege.

Turns out, both Verizon Fios Home Internet and Comcast Xfinity held up well when we analyzed internet speeds in our fastest internet service providers report.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity internet speed scores1
ProviderOverall rankRank by connection type
Verizon Fios Home Internet2nd out of 38 ISPs2nd out of 20 fiber ISPs
Xfinity7th out of 38 ISPs2nd out of 22 cable ISPs

Data effective 1/19/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

We’re pretty confident that you’ll get excellent internet speeds from both of these providers. (And if you’re not, check out our tips on what you can do at home to speed up your internet.)

But Verizon Fios Home Internet scored higher than Xfinity, likely thanks to its fiber-optic network. Fiber internet is a newer technology than the cable tech Xfinity uses. And it gives you faster download and upload speeds, plus fiber internet connections tend to be more reliable.

So, in terms of internet speed, Verizon Fios Home Internet gets our vote.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity: Data caps

Talking data caps gets a little fuzzy when it comes to Verizon Fios Home Internet: The ISP doesn’t state what its data policy is. Xfinity, on the other hand, now limits all its users to 1.2 TB of data per billing cycle. (Some Xfinity customers in the Northeast previously didn’t have a data cap.2)

  • Verizon Fios Home Internet data cap: Unknown
  • Xfinity internet data cap: 1.2 TB

But until it says otherwise, we’ll assume that Verizon Fios Home Internet comes with no data caps, making it the superb choice if you work from home or have lots of internet users in your household.

That’s not to say Xfinity’s data cap is horrible. To be honest, 1.2 TB of data is pretty standard. And you can purchase an unlimited Xfinity data plan for a little extra each month.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity: Customer service

Verizon Fios Home Internet satisfied more customers with its low bills and customer service.

Verizon Fios Home Internet and Xfinity both scored well in HighSpeedInternet.com’s latest look at customer satisfaction.

In fact, the two providers were about neck-and-neck for internet speed, reliability, and technical support, though Verizon Fios Home Internet edged into the lead for customer service satisfaction and how customers felt about their monthly bills.3

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity internet customer service ratings3
RatingVerizon Fios Home Internet overall ratingXfinity overall rating
HighSpeedInternet.com 20203.96 out of 53.88 out of 5

Data effective 1/19/2021.

In general, internet providers aren’t known for great customer service. (Though we’ve heard glowing remarks about Verizon Fios Home Internet and not-so-glowing remarks about Xfinity.) If you do need to call your ISP’s customer service, check out these tips for an easier customer service call.

Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Comcast Xfinity: Which is better?

If you can get it in your area, Verizon Fios Home Internet is the way to go. It elbows past Xfinity with low prices, no annual contracts, faster, more reliable internet speeds and better customer service. (It may also come with no data caps, but the ISP neither confirms nor denies that.)

But Xfinity is still a great choice for low promotional prices and fast internet speeds, plus you’re more likely to find it in your neighborhood.

  • Price: Verizon Fios Home Internet. Both ISPs offer low prices, but Verizon Fios Home Internet doesn’t require an annual contract on any of its plans.
  • Internet speed: Verizon Fios Home Internet. Thanks to its fiber internet network, Verizon Fios Home Internet offers fast download speeds that tend to be more reliable. Plus it comes with fast upload speeds that are perfect for creatives and those who work from home. Xfinity internet speeds are still great though, and will work well for a majority of people.
  • Data caps: Tie. Xfinity caps your data at the usual 1.2 TB, while Verizon Fios Home Internet has its lips sealed when it comes to its data cap. We’ve got a hunch the Verizon Fios Home Internet doesn’t come with data caps, though.
  • Customer service: Verizon Fios Home Internet. Both ISPs scored well in a customer satisfaction survey, but Verizon Fios Home Internet rose to first place with slightly better scores for customer service and low monthly bills.

Best speeds: Verizon Fios Home Internet

Best Speeds
Verizon Internet - Fios Gig
Download speeds:
200940 Mbps
Starting at$39.99/mo.

Data effective 1/19/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*w/Auto Pay + taxes. Equipment charges may apply.

Most widely available: Comcast Xfinity

Best Availability
Xfinity Internet - Northeast
Download speeds:
501000 Mbps
Starting at$29.99

Data effective 1/19/2021. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*For the first 12 months. Some packages require a 1- or 2-year contract.

Now that you know about Verizon Fios Home Internet versus Xfinity, check these out next.

Compare Verizon Fios Home Internet and Comcast Xfinity internet plans near you.

Compare the Best ISPs in the US

VIEW THE TOP INTERNET PROVIDERS

FAQ on Verizon Fios Home Internet vs. Xfinity

What are early termination fees (ETFs)?

Early termination fees (ETFs) are charged when you cancel your service before your contract is up. Most ISPs require you to agree to a one- or two-year agreement that says you’ll keep the service for that period of time. If you change your mind, those fees can add up fast.

Because it has no annual contracts, Verizon Fios doesn’t charge early termination fees. But Comcast Xfinity may charge you up to $480 in early termination fees if you cancel your service before your contract is up.

What’s the difference between fiber and cable TV and internet?

Fiber is faster and can be more reliable signal than cable, but it’s costly to set up. This means it’s less available and more expensive to install, but we think it’s worth it.

Are Comcast and Xfinity the same thing?

Comcast brands its television, internet, and other services as Xfinity. In the past, the names were often used interchangeably. Today, the company prefers to be called Xfinity.

Are Verizon and Fios the same thing?

Verizon owns Fios, but Fios is the name given to the fiber optic network.

Which has more Wi-Fi hotspot access?

If Wi-Fi hotspots are a concern, then Xfinity is your winner. Xfinity has over 15 million hotspots nationwide compared to Verizon’s 5,700+.

With Comcast, more hotspots means less data drained and more connectivity and support throughout the country. Verizon won’t charge you for your data use, but you may prefer having more easy-access points if you travel frequently.

Which is more reliable, Verizon Fios or Xfinity?

Fiber technology is more reliable and faster than cable. While a thunderstorm may disrupt a cable connection, fiber should operate fine as long as your house still has power.

Do Fios or Xfinity offer trial periods?

Because it comes with no annual contracts, Verizon Fios doesn’t throw early termination fees (ETFs) your way. Xfinity, on the other hand, gives you 30 days to cancel your service without incurring that pesky ETF.

Sources

  1. Catherine McNally, Reviews.org, “The Fastest Internet Providers,” December 2020. Accessed January 19, 2021.
  2. Brett Molina, USA Today, “Comcast Is Rolling Out Data Caps to Xfinity Users Nationwide, and Consumers Are Angry,” November 2020. Accessed January 19, 2021.
  3. Rebecca Lee Armstrong, HighSpeedInternet.com, “2020’s Best Internet Providers in Customer Satisfaction,” May 2020. Accessed January 19, 2021.
  • Tony Hoffman

    The MAJORITY of verizon’s HD channel are the same station but different coasts…so you will have STATION-E, STATION-C, STATION-MT, STATION-W. The ONLY time that is beneficial is if you miss a show and want to catch ti from another timezone…but that’s what DVR and On Demand is for. If you do not count repetitive channels, Xfinity has MORE HD CHANNELS than Verizon. Verizon is a bust and not worth the money!!!

  • Fredrik Jonsson

    The uplink information in the table is incorrect for Comcast/Xfinity (it should say 6-30Mbit) which makes them very slow compared to Fios symmetrical (50-750mbit) connections. Can be important if you work from home over VPN or if you’re a serious gamer.

  • Jack Fiamingo

    All of the info offered here is interesting and needs to be considered BUT the User Experience is the ultimate test. It’s all about FUNCTIONALITY for me.
    The following examples are issues with xFinity that ARE NOT issues with Verizon FIOS. It is also the reason that if FIOS ever becomes available at my current location OR if I relocate somewhere that FIOS is available… I will be an ex-Comcast customer. The features (or should I say, LACK OF features) are very important to me and seem to be correctable by Software Update. Is the technology not robust enough to provide basic features that were available to me as a FIOS customer? So, should I assume that there is a financial reason that we don’t get the functionality? I suppose that if I was never a user of FIOS services I wouldn’t know the difference. I was and I am.
    Buffer Issue #1:
    You have been watching a program live from its beginning. TEN minutes into the program you decide you want to record it. Let say that you think your spouse would appreciate the program and you want them to see it. You set it to record. IT DOESN’T MATTER that the buffer has the last half hour (or whatever) your recording begins TEN minutes into the program.
    Buffer Issue #2:
    You were watching live TV in the family room. You decide to go to the bedroom to finish the program. You are not recording the program. You turn off the TV (NOT the xFinity box). You turn on the TV in the bed room. THERE IS NOTHING in the buffer.
    Buffer Issue #3:
    With FIOS, if you have 3 viewing locations with boxed (clients and main unit), ALL maintain whatever channel you are currently watching AND/OR were previously watching ARE AVAILABLE at any other location and are RETAINED so that you can go to ANY location and select ANY of the channels (whether the location are active or not) and you will have NINETY MINUTES of buffer available for EACH and EVERY channel.
    Remote Function:
    SKIP FORWARD. No time programmable Skip Forward button. Forget about programmable. There NO BUTTON for this purpose at all. XFinity might say, but you can just use the Fast Forward button. Here is the deal. I program the (non-existent) Skip Forward button for (let’s say) 30 seconds. The program I am watching has 6 – 30 second commercials for each break. I don’t need to stand there tending the remote while watching the TV screen poised to hit the button to catch the return of the show from the break. I JUST HIT THAT BUTTON 6 times and… boom! We are back to the show. I didn’t need to even look at the screen.
    There are several other issues and annoyances but those are my biggest complaints. They just make the experience frustrating.

  • Szuwarski Ziom

    is anyone mentioning the saaaaad fact that even the fastest COMCAST data plan slows down to a 5-7 meg creep during evening hours when your whole neighborhood is on Netflix/Hulu/YouTube or other data heavy domain. additionally Comcast/Xfinity could give me free TODAY internet and i still would not want it!
    internet access is as good as it’s availability – every Comcast customer knows how to reboot their gateway/router as they are inherently PO-PO DEVICES – ask Fios customer – most have never ONCE rebooted their router/gateway.

    you can guess i was Comcast customer before. for 12 Y and i thought this is how internet supposed to be – then this miracle happened 7 Y ago Fios came to my neighborhood and – HOLY MOTHER OF GOD –
    i have since switched router 2 times once to get gigabit and second time to get rid of it – i now run my own router. (this is the only issue i have with Verizon they access/spy everything on the router from WIFI password to logs/traffic to Q&A port forwarding to occasional modem reset/update logon to your account and 10 minutes after u changed your WiFi password they will display it on your account page)

    I’m OTA type a person (50$ antena in the attic + silicon dust tuner and 150$ Mini PC do all my DVR) so i only have internet service from fios 50/50 (they throw in free 75/75 upgrade) meg service 40$
    after 2 year contract the price hikes but i just switch service to my wife and we’re back on the 40$ plan!
    I can do this for as long as it takes. I’m on the 4th switch.

    i’ve been with both and hands down Comcast don’t stand in the same room as FIOS!
    although when u call u cant listen to advises from sales people as they will tell u that if u have more than 5 devices u need gigabit –
    most businesses have 50-100 workstations running fine on 100 meg service ping gives you speed and 100 meg bandwidth is plenty sufficient for 30 device (which household has 8 devices streaming hd video at once
    MPEG-4 AVC Video at 18000 kbps for 1080p — 18megs
    MPEG-4 AVC Video at 8000 kbps for 720p — 8megs
    HEVC 4K video at 25000-40000 4K — 25-40 megs

    so 100 Mbps bandwidth gives u
    5 streams of 1080p
    10 streams of 720p
    2 streams of 4K streams
    easy peasy for 100Mbps service
    if u game 20 meg bandwidth with ping under 20 will do wonders (fios generally gets ping 6-17 ms – milliseconds on 50Mbps service and above)

    there u go who needs gigabit which they are pushing
    40$V plan suffices for 99% of EVERYONE

    I should’ve wrote this article and paint Comcast for the disaster that they are
    but then this domain would NOT post it as COMCAST would probably sue them!

  • Jay Gerard

    I had Fios for 4 years. Internet only. Used a digital tv antenna. Comcast offered a tv (local) plus internet for about what I currently pay Verizon. I called Verizon to see if they could come close, they cannot as an existing customer.
    I don’t upload, No Facebook. No Netflix, Hulu etc. Very little TV and only on 1 set. I do not record. I do use a Roku mainly for music and Podcasts. I am not a gamer and I do not download music etc.
    Would Comcast, offering my local tv and internet be a good buy to replace Verizon internet only (at a higher price).

    BTW, my phone is thru OOMA.

    Any suggestions?

  • Steve Eagle

    im looking to leave Verizon to go to comcast. is this a goods move

  • Steve Eagle

    i’m looking to leave Verizon to go to comcast is this a good move

  • Dr. B

    I have FIOS for about 20 years. They increased my rate continuously but never upgraded anything including internet speed of 20/20. When I call and complain they say they will update but I have to pay a lot more because I am an existing customer. Thus, I am going to Xfinity!!

  • Andre’ B

    I think Its fair to say that Verizon does not offer no contract plans at a good price. They advertise one price but never say its another price for no contract. They don’t even say that they will ding you extra money for bleating them to ding your credit report. Imagine that, someone wouldn’t a company to din their credit for internet packages. I have to ask… If a company puts out that they offer one plan. Don’t put up front that there’s additional fees if you don’t choose that package, and then penalize you for not wanting to go with the less expensive package they advertise but its really not that price….isn’t that a form of extortion? And aren’t we; the consumer and of the tech; deserved of not being bullied into paying more for really bad customer service? You tell me