The Best Satellite Internet Providers 2020

Viasat is the best rural satellite provider for speed, but HughesNet can be a cheap satellite internet option.
Fastest Satellite Internet
Monthly price
$30$150
Download speeds
12100 Mbps
Data cap
12150 GB
Cheap Satellite Internet
Monthly price
$59.99$150
Download speeds
25 Mbps
Data cap
1050 GB

The best rural satellite internet providers in the US right now are Viasat (formerly Exede) and HughesNet. But until Starlink and other satellite providers get up and running, Viasat and HughesNet are the only satellite providers you have to choose from.

Out of the two, Viasat is the fastest satellite internet with speeds up to 100 Mbps and larger data caps that go to 150 GB. HughesNet, on the other hand, offers a better price that starts at $59.99 a month for slower speeds of 25 Mbps and smaller data caps.

But sometimes it’s not as cut and dry as price versus speed when it comes to satellite internet. Let’s dig into the features so you can choose the best satellite internet provider for your needs.

Light Bulb icon
Looking for DISH satellite internet reviews?
You’re still in the right spot. DISHnet discontinued its satellite internet service, but if you grab a DISH TV package, you can get satellite internet service through a third party like Viasat or Frontier.

Why are there only two satellite internet providers?

Many of the old satellite internet companies discontinued their service or were bought by another company, leaving Viasat and HughesNet as your two main options. For now.

That said, if you’re looking for alternative ways to get rural internet, we’ve got a few different options in our guide to the best rural internet service.

  • Viasat: Currently available in the US
  • HughesNet: Currently available in the US
  • Starlink: Beta testing is now open; expected to launch in late 2020 with service in the northern US and Canada, and SpaceX hopes to have global coverage by 2021
  • OneWeb: Filed for bankruptcy in March 2020; Hughes, Bharti Global, and the UK government are financially backing OneWeb to keep building its satellite network1,2
  • Project Kuiper (Amazon): Received Federal Communications Commission (FCC) approval in July 2020, launched an Amazon Web Services (AWS) space division, and actively hiring for space-related roles3

Discontinued satellite internet providers

  • Exede Internet: Changed its name to Viasat
  • WildBlue satellite internet: Bought by Exede in 2009
  • dishNET: Discontinued
  • EarthLink: Discontinued

Find the best satellite internet options in your area.

What’s the best satellite internet service?

Choosing the best satellite internet service depends on your needs: go for Viasat if you want faster speeds and unlimited data options, or choose HughesNet if its low prices and slower speeds appeal to you more than surfing the web as fast as satellite will allow.

Viasat compared to HughesNet satellite internet
ProviderMonthly priceDownload speedsData capLearn more
Viasat Internet$30$150*12100 Mbps12150 GBView Plans
HughesNet Internet$59.99$15025 Mbps1050 GBView Plans
Data effective 11/19/18. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 3 months.
Requires 24 month agreement.

Is satellite internet right for you?

Satellite internet is nowhere near as good as DSL, cable, or fiber internet. It’s the sad truth, and for some of us, it’s the only kind of internet we can get.

But before you sign up for Viasat or HughesNet service, it’s worth looking to see if you can get a non-satellite internet provider like AT&T, CenturyLink, Suddenlink, or even a smaller, local provider. (We’ve got a few non-satellite recommendations in our review of the best rural internet.)

Even DSL and cable internet are likely cheaper than satellite internet and come with faster download speeds and higher data caps. (Sometimes DSL or cable ISPs even give you unlimited data.)

So pop your zip code in our tool below to check out which internet providers serve your town. Who knows, you might get a pleasant surprise!

Compare rural internet prices and plans near you.

A badge depicting this brand as the Reviews.org Editor's Choice for September 2020

Is Viasat internet good?

Viasat is the best way to max out your download speeds and not worry about data overages, thanks to its unlimited satellite data plans. Surprisingly, Viasat’s packages are sometimes a better deal than HughesNet when you consider the speed and data you get.

Price Tag icon
Viasat introductory prices go up after three months
No one likes surprises, so we’re setting the record straight: Viasat prices go up after three months. Depending on your plan, you could see your bill increase anywhere from $20 to $50 more per month.

We go into more detail on this in our Viasat review—but even factoring in the price hikes, Viasat can still be a better deal than HughesNet.

Fastest satellite internet speeds

Viasat currently maxes out at 100 Mbps download speeds, which puts it miles ahead of HughesNet’s max speed of 25 Mbps.

With Viasat’s Unlimited Gold 50 or Unlimited Platinum 100 plans, you get enough speed to connect lots of devices to the internet: cell phones, tablets, smart TVs, your home security system—you name it. And Viasat’s top-end speeds are fast enough to stream in HD or 4K. (Just watch your data usage.)

And we mentioned that the price Viasat charges for the speed you get can be a better deal than HughesNet. We go into more detail about this in our Viasat vs. HughesNet review.

We should mention, though, that Viasat ranked just below HughesNet in our look at the fastest ISPs in the US. This could be attributed to HughesNet’s steady 25 Mbps speeds across the board, since Viasat speeds start at 12 Mbps.

But if you’re able to land Viasat’s 100 Mbps plan, you’ll likely surf the web at speeds faster than anything HughesNet can dream of.

Unlimited data plans

If you’re after unlimited satellite data, Viasat is the way to go.

Though you technically don’t get unlimited high-speed data, you do still get a hefty chunk of priority data each month. And if you happen to use it all, your speeds get slowed—but you’re still connected to the internet.

If you need the most priority data Viasat has to offer, go with the Unlimited Platinum 100 plan. It comes with 150 GB of data each month, not to mention 100 Mbps speeds.

Liberty plans for light internet users

Only need a little bit of internet to check your email and Facebook? Then Viasat’s Liberty plans might be more your speed—and price.

The Liberty plans offer 12 Mbps download speeds, plus anywhere from 12 to 50 GB of data. And you can add more data to your Viasat Liberty plan.

Just know that, while the price is much lower, the Liberty plan speeds are likely too slow for you to optimally stream videos or connect more than a few devices to the internet at the same time. This is why we generally don’t recommend these plans for your average internet user.

EasyCare service program

Servicing your satellite internet isn’t an easy task. There are a lot of things that go into positioning your dish in just the right way, not to mention hooking everything up to your home.

If something goes wrong, a service visit could cost you $95. But if you enroll in Viasat’s EasyCare program, it’s free (though the program costs $8.99 a month). We found the Viasat EasyCare program refreshingly simple compared to HughesNet’s similar Express Repair program.

While HughesNet still charges you $8.99 a month to get coverage for service visits, you could end up paying anywhere from $24.99 to $199 for that service visit on top of your monthly fee. HughesNet calls this a copay, and the final cost depends on your “vested” time in the Express Repair program.

Confusing, right?

Our recommended unlimited plan: Viasat Unlimited Gold 50

Who it’s for: Medium- to large-sized families who enjoy streaming videos and playing a few online games.

Why we like it: The Unlimited Gold 50 plan comes with 50 Mbps speeds and 100 GB of data. And even when you factor in the price after three months ($150 per month), it’s still a better deal than any of HughesNet’s plans if speed and data are truly what you’re after.

Unlimited Gold 50
Viasat Internet
Download speed:
50 Mbps
Data cap:
100 GB
$100 a month

Data effective 7/29/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*Price for the first 3 months.

Our recommended Liberty plan: Liberty 12

Who it’s for: One person, maybe two if both are light internet users who don’t intend to stream, game, or work online.

Why we like it: The Liberty 12 plan won’t cost you more than $50 a month even after the infamous three-month price hike. And let’s face it, if you’re looking at the Liberty plans, chances are you don’t need more than 12 GB of data and 12 Mbps download speeds. So why pay more for what you don’t need?

Liberty 12
Viasat Internet
Download speed:
12 Mbps
Data cap:
12 GB
$30 a month

Data effective 7/29/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*Price for the first 3 months.

Is HughesNet internet good?

HughesNet’s small data cap plans offer excellent value when it comes to price for the speed you get—and your cost doesn’t go up after three months. (We’re giving Viasat the side-eyes right now.)

Cheap satellite internet

If your wallet is staring you down while you check satellite internet prices, HughesNet offers a great compromise between speed, data, and price. We found its 10 and 20 GB plans to be more cost effective than Viasat’s plans with similar speeds of 25 Mbps in our HughesNet vs. Viasat review.

HughesNet’s prices also stay the same for your entire two-year contract, unlike Viasat’s prices, which go up after three months. How’s them apples?

Chances are your HughesNet speeds will put some of Viasat’s slower plans to shame too. In our look at the fastest ISPs across the US, HughesNet scored slightly higher than Viasat. Well, well, well.

Options to add more data

Although it doesn’t offer unlimited data plans, HughesNet knows you don’t always use the same amount of data every month. So instead, it offers you a couple of ways to extend your data cap.

You can buy data tokens to add anywhere from 3 to 25 GB of extra data to your account. Or you can wait to surf the web during the HughesNet Bonus Zone. Sure, you’ll need to stay up until 2 a.m. to 8 a.m. local time, but if you can keep your eyes open that long, you’ll get an extra 50 GB of Bonus Zone data.

We’ll tell you how to add more data to your plan or make use of the Bonus Zone in our HughesNet data guide.

Straightforward plans and pricing

There’s something to be said for HughesNet’s clearly labeled plans (each one is named after how much data you get). Not to mention, it doesn’t play around with gotchas and spike your price after three months like Viasat.

But because HughesNet’s plans all come with the same 25 Mbps download speed and its data caps are much lower than Viasat’s, you may end up paying a better price for Viasat internet than HughesNet—even after Viasat’s price hike.

HughesNet vs Viasat download speeds and data caps
ProviderDownload speedsData cap
Viasat Internet12100 Mbps12150 GB
HughesNet Internet25 Mbps1050 GB

Our recommended plan: HughesNet 20 GB

Who it’s for: A small family or a couple of roommates who casually surf the web and maybe stream a movie or two once in a while.

Why we picked it: You shouldn’t expect ludicrous speeds or massive data caps from HughesNet. But this satellite ISP delivers a decent 25 Mbps download speed, which is enough to stream in SD (and maybe even HD) while your partner hops online too. And 20 GB of data is plenty for two to three people to stream a few shows, browse the internet, and check Facebook.

So if you’re truly after a satellite internet plan that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, we think the HughesNet 20 GB plan is a good compromise between data and price.

20 GB
HughesNet Internet
Download speed:
25 Mbps
Data cap:
20 GB
$69.99 a month

Data effective 7/29/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
*Requires a 24-month agreement.

Recap: What are the best satellite internet providers?

The best satellite internet providers out there right now are Viasat and HughesNet. Viasat is a great pick if you want to get the fastest satellite internet speeds and unlimited data, while HughesNet offers excellent value in the form of lower prices but still decent speeds and data caps.

  • Viasat: Fastest satellite internet speeds. When it comes to satellite internet, Viasat’s download speeds are as good as it gets. And compared to HughesNet, which is your only other option, you get more data and the chance at higher speeds for your money.
  • HughesNet: Cheap satellite internet plans. HughesNet is a great pick if you’re more concerned about your monthly bill than you are about download speeds. Even with lower prices, HughesNet offers a decent 25 Mbps download speed with all its plans, plus 10 to 50 GB of data. (And options to add more.)

The best satellite internet plans for rural areas

Data effective 7/29/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.
* For the first 3 months.
**Requires a 24-month agreement.

Satellite internet buyer’s guide

If you’re new to the world of satellite internet, things might look a little different around here. You’ve got data caps to consider, and the speeds and prices don’t match what you may have seen with other internet providers.

Here are a few tips to get you started on your satellite journey.

Consider how much data and speed you need.

Before you look at prices, get a peg on how much internet speed and data you might need each month.

You’ll want more speed and more data if you have more people using your internet connection at the same time. And don’t forget that you may have some devices, like your home security system, using the internet too.

Your data usage also depends on what kinds of things you do online. Do you and your kids like to stream lots of Disney+ and Hulu? You’ll need more data than someone who just checks Facebook every day.

Check out our internet speed guide and list of how much data online activities use to get a better idea of how much data and speed you’ll need.

Know your options for adding data.

We don’t always use the same amount of data every month. So it’s wise to know how you can add more data to your satellite internet plan if, say, your grandkids visit for a week and soak it all up while streaming YouTube videos.

  • HughesNet: Allows you to buy anywhere from 3 to 50 GB of extra data for any of its plans. Prices range from $9 to $75. Learn more in our HughesNet data guide.
  • Viasat: Lets you add data to its Liberty plans, but not its Unlimited plans. Liberty plan data costs anywhere from $10 to $95 and comes in chunks of 1 to 10 GB. Find out more about Viasat data thresholds in our guide.

Don’t forget to factor in installation and equipment costs.

There is no “bring your own” option with your satellite dish, and you can (and should) forget about installing it yourself too.

Satellite dish installation requires your receiver to be pointed at a specific set of coordinates to get the best signal, along with mounting the receiver and hooking everything up.

So put away the ladder and let the pros handle this one. (The good news is that Viasat and HughesNet often run free installation promotions, so you won’t have to pay to get your service installed.)

You’ll also want to decide whether you should rent or purchase your satellite equipment. Renting can give you peace of mind if your equipment needs servicing or replacing, but purchasing your equipment outright could save you some money over the long run.

Temper your expectations.

Satellite internet has improved greatly over the years, and it’s a far speedier (and better, in our opinion) choice than dial-up. But if you’re swapping to satellite from DSL, cable, or fiber, it won’t be the same.

  • Your latency will be greater with satellite internet, so doing things like online gaming may be more frustrating.
  • You’ll have a much lower data cap with satellite, so you’ll need to monitor your data usage each month.
  • You won’t be able to get über-fast speeds of 200, 500, or even 1,000 Mbps with satellite.
  • The price you’ll pay for satellite will likely be higher than what you’d pay for an equivalent DSL, cable, or fiber internet plan.

All that said, we realize that some homes don’t have other internet options. So rest assured, satellite is still a valid and decent option if you live outside of town.

FAQ

Q: How does satellite internet work?

Satellite internet works by sending data from your computer to the satellite dish on your house, then to a satellite sitting in geostationary orbit above the Earth’s equator. Next, that satellite sends your data to your ISP’s Network Operations Center (NOC), then all the way back to your computer.

An illustration showing how data is sent from a home, to a satellite, then to a satellite ISP and back

To get your satellite internet working, you need a satellite dish or receiver facing the southern sky, a modem, and a satellite internet plan.

Want to get the full picture? Check out our full guide on how satellite internet works.

Q: How fast is satellite internet?

Generally, satellite internet speeds range from 12 to 100 Mbps, but how many Mbps you get depends on which ISP and plan you choose.

For HughesNet, you’ve got the option of 25 Mbps download speeds—and that’s it. With Viasat, you can choose anywhere from 12–100 Mbps for your download speed.

Of course, those are the advertised download speeds. There are a lot of factors that can influence your speed, including your modem, router, and even your computer. The number of people and devices using the internet in your house also affects your speed, and so does what each person is doing online.

If your satellite internet speed is slow, there are a few tips you can try before calling your ISP’s customer service department. Check them out in our video below, or read our guide to speeding up your satellite internet.

Q: How reliable is satellite internet?

Your satellite internet connection is pretty reliable even though your dish is outside in the elements. That’s because modern satellite equipment is built with weather in mind, and snow, ice, or rain should have little impact on its performance.

Now, that’s not to say that your satellite receiver is completely weather-proof. Viasat says it’s rare—but still possible—for your antenna to lose connectivity due to weather.4 But even if you lose connection during a bad storm, it should be a short disruption. (Hopefully, unlike the hours we’ve spent waiting for our cable internet to come back up when a tree fell on the line during a storm in Georgia.)

Q: Is satellite internet a good option?

Satellite internet is a great option if you live in a rural area with no DSL, cable, or fiber internet options. Satellite offers faster speeds than dial-up, though it tends to be pricier than other internet options.

Low data caps and high latency can also make satellite internet less than ideal if you want to stream videos, work from home, or game online. But if you lack rural internet options, satellite is certainly a good choice—and better than no internet. (The horror!)

Q: How much can I download on satellite internet?

How much you can download depends on your satellite internet plan and data cap. For example, if your plan comes with a 10 GB data cap per month, then that’s about four two-hour HD movies or 180 hours of streaming music.

Check out our list of the online activities that use the most data to figure out how much data you need.

Q: Can you stream video and music on satellite internet?

You can absolutely stream both videos and music while using satellite internet. You’ll just want to be careful of your data cap, and both HughesNet and Viasat come with tools to help you do that.

HughesNet automatically adjusts video quality to a lower resolution to help you use less data. Yup, you won’t be watching anything in 1080p. Instead, expect all your Netflix shows to play in 480p.

Viasat offers a Video Data Extender tool that lets you tone down video quality to 480p too. The best part? If you want to watch the new photorealistic version of The Lion King in all (or most of) its glory, you can turn the Video Data Extender off.

Want more details? Check out our guide to streaming with satellite internet.

Q: Is satellite internet fast enough for Netflix?

Yes, you can stream Netflix with satellite internet. All of Viasat’s and HughesNet’s plans come with enough download speed to stream Netflix in standard definition (SD) or high definition (HD). Though we recommend streaming in SD when you can since it uses less data.

If you want to stream in 4K on satellite internet, be wary of your data cap. You’ll also want one of Viasat’s faster plans that come with 50 or 100 Mbps. HughesNet’s 25 Mbps speeds are technically enough to stream Netflix in 4K, but you’ll likely find the buffering icon getting a little too chummy with you.

Q: Can I play video games on satellite internet?

Yes, technically you can game on satellite internet. But the full answer is a bit more complicated than that.

Satellite internet isn’t a great choice for gaming because of its notoriously high latency. It just takes too long for your internet signal to reach your house from the satellite hanging out about 22,000 miles in outer space, then back to the satellite and on to the game server. That’s going to cause a lot of in-game latency, also called “ping” or noted as “MS” on your game interface. You’ll get in the 300–500 range—at least.

But gaming on satellite internet isn’t all bad news. We’ve got some recommendations and tips in our guide to satellite internet gaming.

Q: Do Viasat and HughesNet have early termination fees?

Yes, both Viasat and HughesNet will charge you an early termination fee if you cancel your service before your 24-month contract is up.

Viasat early termination fee

With Viasat, you’re stuck paying $15 per month for every month remaining on your contract. For example, if you cancelled your service only a month after installation, it would cost you $345 in early termination fees. It’s not cheap.5

HughesNet early termination fee

If you cancel your HughesNet service after installation but before your contract is up, HughesNet can charge you up to $400 in cancellation fees, depending on how long you have left on your contract.6

Q: Can I get satellite internet for an RV or boat?

Yes, you can get satellite internet for your RV or boat through a broadband global area network (BGAN).

But be warned, the equipment and service plans for RV-ready satellite internet will likely be much more expensive than what you’d pay to slap a dish on your cabin roof. Check out all the options in our guide to satellite internet for your RV.

Q: Is there unlimited satellite internet?

Yes and no. Viasat advertises unlimited satellite internet plans, but you won’t get unlimited high-speed data.

Instead of disconnecting your internet service if you go over your data cap, Viasat slows your download speed until your next billing period. We cover more of the details in our Viasat data guide.

Q: What’s the satellite internet installation process?

Professional installation services and fees vary, so it depends on the satellite provider you choose and on where you live. Satellite internet providers might offer free installation in one location but charge a fee in another. Most of the time, it should be free.

The actual installation process is usually done by third-party contractors, so feel free to ask lots of questions and make sure to look over the paperwork carefully.

If you live in a townhouse, condo, or any other living situation with a homeowners association (HOA), double-check that you’re allowed to install a satellite dish.

Q: Should I lease or purchase satellite internet equipment?

For both satellite internet providers, equipment leases for $10–$15 per month for the 24-month contract period. Both also offer an option to buy your equipment up front or lease it on a monthly basis.

Viasat equipment: should you purchase or lease?
EquipmentCost to purchaseCost to lease
Satellite antenna and modem$299.99$9.99/mo.
Standard installation$99 or free$99 or free
Lease set-up feeN/AN/A

Data effective 7/30/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

If you go with Viasat, you have to lease your equipment. The cost is $10 per month, and there’s no lease setup fee. You can also go with a “lifetime lease” for a one-time fee of $299.99.

If you plan to have your equipment for more than 30 months, the lifetime lease can save you some money—but it’s not the same as purchasing equipment because you still have to return your equipment if you ever cancel your service.

HughesNet equipment: should you purchase or lease?
EquipmentCost to purchaseCost to lease
Satellite antenna and modem$249.99$14.99/mo.
Standard installation$199.99Free
Lease set-up feeN/A$99

Data effective 7/30/2020. Offers and availability vary by location and are subject to change.

If you go with HughesNet and decide to buy your equipment, the cost works out to be about the same as leasing for two years, and you don’t have to worry about returning your equipment at the end of your contract.

If you intend to have satellite internet for more than two years, it’s not a bad idea to buy your hardware.

Satellite internet myths and facts

Myth 1: Satellite internet is too slow.

Satellite internet now has speeds up to 100 Mbps if you go with Viasat, and speeds of 25 Mbps if you go with HughesNet. That’s pretty fast if you consider most cable and DSL internet plans offer similar speeds.

Satellite internet used to be extremely slow, with download speeds of approximately 750 Kbps. But advancements in technology and new satellites have increased speeds. HughesNet also hopes to boost its speeds up to 100 Mbps in the near future. Thank goodness.

Myth 2: It takes a long time to receive a signal.

You likely won’t notice any difference in how quickly you can do things online with satellite versus how quickly you could do them with cable or DSL. Unless you’re gaming, satellite’s high latency likely won’t affect you.

Latency is the time it takes for data to be sent and received. In the case of satellite internet, it’s the time it takes for information to go from your device to your satellite dish, to your provider’s orbiting satellite, to a separate satellite dish at your ISP, and back again.

As you can see, that’s a lot of steps. And latency has long been a strike against satellite internet.

Latency is higher with satellite internet than it is for cable, DSL, and fiber internet. Cable, DSL, and fiber internet have latency in the 20–50 millisecond (ms) range, while satellite internet ranges can be close to 600 ms.

Because satellites are positioned 22,000 miles above the earth, satellite internet data just has a long way to travel. It’s also why we basically never recommend satellite internet over other types like cable. But if you live in the country or an area without better internet options, satellite might be your best (and sometimes only) choice.

The most obvious effect of latency is on gaming. Gaming that requires ultra-quick responses, like first-person shooters (FPS), just doesn’t work very well with satellite internet. If you choose satellite internet, you might have to say goodbye to League of Legends.

But other online activities, like web browsing, emailing, and photo sharing, won’t be affected by latency much at all.

Myth 3: Satellite internet doesn’t work when it’s cloudy, rainy, or stormy.

While it’s true that severe thunderstorms, heavy snow, or blizzards can interrupt satellite transmission temporarily, the problem isn’t as significant as some might lead you to think.

Storm-related interruptions are commonly called “rain fade,” and the signal is restored as soon as the storm passes. You can also remove heavy accumulations of snow from around the satellite dish to restore communications.

In contrast, a heavy thunderstorm with fallen trees or other extreme weather with similar effects could disable cable or DSL for days. Again, most satellite internet customers live in rural areas without access to DSL or cable, so even with rain fade, satellite internet is preferable to alternative, slower means of internet service (like dial-up internet).

Myth 4: Satellite internet is too expensive.

Compared to DSL, cable, and fiber internet, satellite is relatively expensive. But its monthly costs have decreased over the years, making it a somewhat more affordable option. (Especially if you have no other internet providers to choose from.)

Nowadays, you can get a Viasat internet plan starting at $30 a month, or a HughesNet plan starting at $59.99 a month.

Sources

  1. Jeff Baumgartner, Light Reading, “Hughes to Plow $50M Into OneWeb,” July 2020. Accessed July 29, 2020.
  2. Gagandeep Kaur, Light Reading, “Bharti Global, British Government Consortium Wins OneWeb Bid,” July 2020. Accessed July 29, 2020.
  3. Michael Sheetz, CNBC, “Amazon’s AWS Establishes New Aerospace Cloud Unit as Jeff Bezos Increases Bets on Outer Space,” June 2020. Accessed July 29, 2020.
  4. Alex Miller, Inside Viasat, “Extreme Weather: How Viasat Protects Its Equipment on the Ground,” February 2018. Accessed July 30, 2020.
  5. Viasat, “Viasat Internet FAQs.” Accessed July 30, 2020.
  6. HughesNet, “HughesNet Frequently Asked Questions.” Accessed July 30, 2020.
  • ZandarKoad

    DishNet is objectively terrible, it’s just a re-branding of one of the other two. After personally installing hundreds of all three systems – DishNet, HughesNet, and Exede – I have to say that Exede always comes out ahead in performance. But their available bandwidth is filling up, so they might not even be accepting new customers in your area.

    • Jenn Diffley

      That’s really good information to have–we haven’t heard anything about Exede potentially running out of bandwidth (thought that wouldn’t be something they’d advertise, obviously). It’s also good to hear from someone who’s had hands-on experience. Hopefully DishNet and HughesNet up their games soon.

      • ZandarKoad

        Actually, DishNet can have a cost advantage, especially when it’s bundled with Dish’s TV service. And then the customer only needs to pay 1 bill which is something consumers always like.

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

          True!

    • Douglas Newton II

      I disagree.. have been with Dishnet over the last three years and have not had a problem with their performance which is through Hughesnet.. we have a pretty consistent 5Mb download and after a year they even increased our data to 14gb anytime … Ever since exede has even showed up on the radar here in Idaho.. they can not give you service.. at least every time I have checked.. Exede used to be Wildblue and as soon as our contract was up we dropped them in an instant, due to very poor performance and erratic internet service..

      • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

        Hey Douglas, really appreciate you sharing this. It’s always nice hearing positive feedback, most people only speak up when they’ve had a negative experience or issue. Glad to hear your experience with dishNet/Hughesnet has been smooth!

    • https://freshcalendars.com/august-2018-calendar August 2018 Calendar

      Why are there only two providers for the best satellite internet of 2018? Here’s what happened. Not long ago, you could choose from five major satellite internet service providers (ISPs). However, as of now there are only two left: HughesNet and Viasat (formerly Exede).

  • Sebastiaan Bol

    Thanks for the update! How do you explain HughesNet is still your no. 1 choice, when Exede offers so much faster internet?

    Also, i called with HughesNet and they say they use Generation 4 technology and the competitors Generation 2. They claim the US military uses it and that their customers get 120% of the promised download speed. On the phone they also offered me no termination fee if you cancel within the first 30 days, and they referred to the FAQ on their website. Looking that up learned me they do not offer this at all. It’s terribly confusing and i can’t believe they are not forced by federal law to offer a 30 day try me for free period. 2 years is a long time if you are not happy with it (and $400 is a lot of money for a termination fee + the activation fee that you will not get back).

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Sebastiaan, thanks for the comment!

      It’s definitely a matter of pricing when it came to our decision. With HughesNet, their pricing lasts for the duration of the two-year contract, as opposed to Exede’s rates rising after 3 months of use.

      While Exede does have faster plans overall, their pricing leaves something to be desired. Exede’s initial prices don’t seem too far off from HughesNets, but the cost adds up quickly after 3 months. They also require an additional $10 a month on top of the advertised price to get the max download speed of 25 Mbps. So to get the top speed with the Liberty 30 plan for example, you’re looking at $99.99 + $10 = $109.99/mo for the promotional price, and then after three months it’s $169.99. While some may require these higher speeds from satellite internet, we believe most consumers would find better value with HughesNet.

      You are correct, HughesNet does not offer a 30-day trial period or money back guarantee, which is definitely a drawback. We agree that it’s a large investment both time and money-wise to sign up with a service provider, which is why we take the opportunity at Reviews.org to provide customers with more information and perspective before agreeing to a contract. We always encourage clarification with a sales agent in addition to reading to the fine print.

      Thanks again!
      Let us know who you end up going with and how your experience is!

  • http://www.internetchoice.org/ Jessica Ward

    This is a really great article. I had Exede for a long time and luckily am living in Kansas now with Google fiber, thankfully, but I didn’t have issues with Exede as far as satellite internet goes. I do agree with ZandarKoad though, you need to know if there are data limits.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Thanks! We’ll think of how to make data limits more clear to readers.

      Also, we’re happy you had a good experience with Exede, but we’re jealous you have Google Fiber, ha. (We’d review Google Fiber if it had a larger footprint.)

  • A Name

    I am a little curious about the differences in service. I mean, you guys rate Hughesnet #1, but every other consumer review site I’ve seen with thousands of reviews of Hughesnet’s service has them rated at a solid 1/5 stars. So I can’t help but think you guys must have gotten different service than the other thousands of people did.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      When it comes to customer service, no internet service provider does an outstanding job; in fact, all ISPs could improve their customer service. We’d be curious to know what other reviews you’ve read.

      Also, user reviews can be especially harsh because people usually don’t take time to review a service unless they’ve had a negative experience. If you go to a Yelp page for an ISP or a website like Consumer Affairs (in no way related to Consumer Reports), you’ll find plenty of one-star reviews. However, those websites also try to sale their services to brands to improve their ratings, so we don’t trust them. If you’re looking for reliable information, you can start with the American Customer Satisfaction Index’s annual report on ISPs. It’s one of the first sources we go to for information on customer satisfaction.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Consumer reviews can be especially harsh because people usually don’t take time to review a service unless they’ve had a negative experience. If you go to a Yelp page for an ISP or a website like Consumer Affairs (in no way related to Consumer Reports), you’ll find one-star reviews. However, those websites also try to sale their services to brands to improve their ratings, so we don’t trust them.

      According to the American Customer Satisfaction Index (a source we trust), which surveys tens of thousands of customers, internet service is “the weakest among the 43 industries” it covers—people just don’t like their internet service. Using our criteria, we still think HughesNet is #1. There are only three major competitors in satellite internet, and it happens to be best of what’s available (emphasis on what’s available). If you have access to DSL, cable, or fiber internet, we would always recommend those services first over satellite internet.

      Also, we’re working on a user review system for our website so users can leave their own reviews.

    • Carolyn Burton

      I have hughesnet At The Moment – that’s fixing to change. Not only are they slow as dirt the customer service is outsourced. I spent an hour and a half talking to someone I could barely understand. I have what Should have been a simple issue of getting more data. I tried to do it online and nothing happened (repeatedly). I’ve called customer service in the past, the rep sounded American thus no communication issue and the problem was solved in five minutes. Today I explained my problem right off the bat and she had me do a speed test (which was very slow). I told her I just needed to add data. She said she understood, obviously Not because she had me boot into safe mode and couldn’t get into the internet – no surprise, not all the drivers load in safe mode. Went back to regular mode. Despite the fact that I have Windows 10 in which IE was replaced with Edge, she had no idea what I was talking about and said I should have IE. On the support page they don’t even have a system higher than Windows 7! I usually chat to avoid these communication issued but the chat wasn’t working. I also like having the conversation in writing. She said she’d have to send it to the engineering department and they’d get back with me in 2-3 business days, today is Friday so it will be the middle of next week before someone even gets back to me. I HIGHLY DON’T recommend Hughesnet

  • Jenn Diffley

    You’re right–data limits are brutal. We can emphasize them more from here on out. Streaming is such a big deal now that data limits are especially important.

  • rightislight

    I have/had Exede – WORST service I’ve ever seen both in terms of product and customer service. I warn you to keep away from them unless it’s the only option. Simply horrible!

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      I’m hesitant to ask what made it so bad, but did you find another option for satellite internet? If so, how is it?

      • rightislight

        They said i was getting 12meg. My web searches painted as if it was a 56k speed. I’m not sure how pings come back at 12M but larger format (large packets perhaps) content came back painfully slow.

        Modem needed to be rebooted every morning in order to connect

        Customer service told me to “pound sand” effectively

        After 1 week I realized it wasn’t going to meet my needed. Exede is making pay for my contract anyway. When I’m done I’ll have paid exede $600 for 1 week of extremely poor service

        I learned that I have Charter Cable at the street. They’ll be here next week to run a line to my home. I’m lucky… I know.

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

          Dang, that’s unfortunate to hear. Sorry you had a bad experience, let us know how your experience with Charter Cable internet, we’ll be getting to that review a little later, so it would be helpful to hear your thoughts!

  • iwfau cotmpaiwku

    Satellite internet data package is enough to almost cover one day at my house. What is the point.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Satellite internet is for those who have no other option for internet service.

      • http://mcr.22web.org/ MCRwhatever

        It’s still not good enough. If counting upload and download bandwidth, I use around 200GB a month, every month. I pay about $70 a month for DSL (it’s way overpriced but I don’t have any better options). Hughesnet says after you hit the limit, they will reduce your net speeds to just a little more than dialup speeds. Their highest plan for my area is $130 a month and only includes 75GB. That’s not enough for the price. For $130 a month, I should get 500GB of data at a reasonably fast speed.

        • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

          If you have the choice between DSL and satellite internet, always go with DSL. There’s no question of that here.

  • iwfau cotmpaiwku

    Monthly data allowance lasts one day to be clear.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Well, it just depends on how much you use. Data allowance is like a package of Oreos: it could last weeks or a be gone in one day.

  • James Jeans

    Exede is positively horrible. Bad customer service, bad speeds at inflated prices, wonky data usage determination.

    We live in the middle of BFE, Texas. As a result, satellite internet is the only viable option. We pay nearly $150 a month for the “privilege” of of 25 GB of data per month. That might have been fine a couple of years ago — in fact it was, we’ve been saddled with them for two years and it was mostly okay at first — but now that every single website seems increasingly fond of auto streaming video, those caps can go real fast even when you’re just browsing websites. Facebook is particularly bad. In the last couple of years they’ve implemented video files that just play on their own as you scroll down your feed, and up until recently there was nothing you could do about it.

    On top of that, Windows 10 owners who don’t own the most expensive build have no choice but to accept Windows Updates on Windows terms. With previous versions of Windows you could choose when to download updates, but that’s only an option for people who own the most costly version of Windows 10.

    We’re a household of video game players, and boy… games are big now. If you want to purchase a game like Battlefield Hardline, that’s a 45 GB commitment. That doesn’t include patches.

    Streaming services like Netflix and Amazon Prime and VUDU are right out, as well as most streaming music services.

    The only bright side is the 12 AM to 5 AM window where we have unlimited data. Although not so you’d really notice it. Speeds are often throttled to less than half what they are during the day, and I’m almost positive that some of our unlimited usage is being reported as day time usage, thus eating into our 25 GB data cap. There’s also the issue of their crummy modems. If the power goes out or you need to turn it off and on again to make it work, it has a habit of double, triple, or even quadruple reporting data usage. I know this happens because I’ve used the Exede data monitoring website to keep an eye on it in the past. There’s no way we’re using 25 GB of data in a week and a half, not when all we do during the day is check e-mail, read news, and occasionally browse Facebook.

    The typical customer service response to issues like that is “Hmm, weird. Thanks for calling.” I’m not the only person who struggles with this, and it’s frustrating as hell that they have no interest in bettering their service.

    If and when there’s an alternative option for those of us in the boonies, we’re going to drop Exede like a bad habit.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey thanks for your feedback,
      We’re with you, for active online gamers satellite internet definitely isn’t ideal—speeds are slower and data is limited.
      When it comes to data caps, we’re hoping more companies switch to Frontier’s mentality of providing the customer unlimited internet access.
      For anyone curious about how to choose when Windows 10 Automatic updates, we’d recommend this article: http://www.pcworld.com/article/3085136/windows/two-ways-to-control-or-stop-windows-10-updates.html

      If you end up finding a different service, we’d be curious to hear if your experience improves, so keep us in the loop!

    • Rik Belenger

      You can turn off the autoplay for Facebook videos . Settings, app settings, autoplay in the mobile version for phones and tablets

      • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

        Good tip!

  • Bgaf

    I just moved to an area without any high speed internet options. I have to explore satellite internet, however I only use the Internet for social media and streaming. I’ve had Apple TV for years now. I subscribe to HBO NOW and Netflix and I love it. I typically come home from work around 9pm and I sometimes watch different shows for a few hours while also using the Internet on my phone or IPad. I rent and only have a one year lease. It’s not uncommon for me to move frequently due to my job relocating me. What satellite Internet provider is able to accommodate my needs? I feel like these satellite options are so outdated. Who actually finds all of these data limits, contract limits, and speed limits useful? Any chance we will see something that appeals to customers in the real world?

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io Scott T.

      Hmm… you might be in a tough spot. Every satellite internet provider we’ve reviewed requires a two-year contract, and if you try to end the contract early there is usually a high early termination fee (ETF). If you’re renting for just a year, you might have to be a little more creative with how to get internet. We also agree with your sentiment; satellite internet providers should do more to improve the customer experience.

      Do you know what providers are in your area? Also, it’s a good idea to check with your neighbors and see who they use for internet. Let us know what you find out, and we can give you some advice on what to do next.

  • akaraduman

    Is this usable from Turkey ? I’m not really looking for a good customer service, just something that works and can circumvent government cencorship.

    • http://dev-reviewsorg.pantheon.io/ Trevor Wheelwright

      That’s a good question, and one we don’t have the answer to: I would recommend visiting the “View Plans” link for the providers you’re interested in and giving them a call and seeing what they recommend!

      Thanks for your comment!

  • Ronin3087

    There are needs to be a no limit high speed satellite internet service as fast as fiber optics for people who do need the online speed and unlimited data I would pay a lot to have that, oh and for those who don’t know dishnet is hughesnet, or excede they install both systems and don’t actually have there own satellite for the Internet only difference is the modems and equipment says dish other than that it’s the same thing, I’ve had multiple satellite services only options in my area and all are no good in my opinion but when u need internet and certain areas are monopolized there’s nothing that can be done South Dakota has a serious issue with monopolies

  • Todd M.

    I have Exede. If you can afford it, go with them. We have 4 people in our house all internet users. 2 of us do heavy gaming, the other 2 light gaming and we all video stream HD & SD movies and tv regularly along with regular surfing. We try not to watch too many HD movies, that really sucks up the data. We have the unlimited plan but our actual usage is between 120-150 GB per billing cycle. We do go over 150 GB occasionally wich reduces download speed slightly. It’s a little pricey but we live in an area that does not have many hi-speed options so I am happy with the service.

  • SpellWoman Neenah

    I 100% agree with James Jeans’ assessment and other’s of Excede’s “service”, especially the “wonky data usage determination” and the extremely unhelpful, nay useless, customer service.

    I had a 3 gig Verizon MiFi device for many years and hardly ever went over the data max. They had immediate and detailed use metrics reporting (and down to .000) which was easily accessible and with past history available. My use was and still is pretty basic and light – email, browsing and FaceBook (video auto play turned off) and never downloaded or streamed music or videos. I did on occasion upload photos and download OS updates.

    I was excited upon signing up for Excede’s 10gig service because i thought, “Gee now i can watch a few videos and even stream a few movies or tv shows.” Yah right! Even though my usage has basically been the same, minus uploading photos or doing OS updates, SUPPOSEDLY i am burning through the 10gigs in 2 a 3 weeks…when it actually does work! That’s 3 times data usage in 3/4 to 1/2 the time… uh huh, right! (When looking at the chart on the HughesNet page re what you should be able do with 10gig’s a month, i can only scoff! Certainly NOT with Exceed!) Their Customer Service has been no help at all, and they do not retain any use data history. One thing they will happily do? …try to sell more useless data.

  • Kevin

    Q: Is there unlimited satellite internet
    Yes, it does exist, but there’s a caveat.

    The second statement sir, just reverses the fact that it’s “unlimited” putting it back into the LIMITED category. Honestly these company’s need to be sued for false advertising. It’s frustrating that there isn’t an honest unlimited data, no throttling – satellite internet provider. At least charge by data tiers 10 GB – 20GB you pay x, 21GB – 50GB you pay x or 51-100GB+ you pay this astronomical price of x.

  • David

    I have Hughesnet. It is slow. Extremely slow. And they cap the data. It’s a struggle to stream a low-definition show that stops every 5 minutes to try and buffer (only sometimes successfully) and you’ll run out of data every month (on their best plan). I can stream better quality on my phone with 4G, and frequently can’t even load a normal web page if I turn on wi-fi. If Hughesnet is the winner here truly satellite internet is hopeless. It is the absolute worst and I’m thinking they pay this website because of how unbelievable and inaccurate this review is.

    • Ricardo G.

      You’re making every mistake that they warn about. Did you read the article???

    • Daniel Schink

      You have to upgrade to there Gen 5 sat. They don’t beg you to, you need to call them for the upgrade. HUGE diff. with the Gen 5

  • Michael Bonner

    BEWARE OF EXEDE! Discontinued service and am being treated to either incompetence or shady business. Sent the satellite equipment back per their instructions. First got a call about sending back a projector – which is bizarre. They said they would sort it out. Today I got a bill for the equipment. Had to make another call. They say they can’t figure out why the first equipment call happened – but would not give me any benefit of the doubt that equipment was returned. Now they have to ‘investigate’ — and say they have no way to reach out to me to say the problem has been resolved. Now I have to call yet again next week.

    Whether they are idiots or they have a scummy attrition team is irrelevant. Bottom line – EXEDE is not worth any of this hassle.

    • Sagenova777

      You might have been hit by avalanche…

  • Data Snag

    Going to have to agree with the other commentators on this article. Satellite internet is the worst way to go.

    Scott, if you do not mind I will be creating back links to your articles. Find that your articles are well written.

  • aa aaa

    Hughesnet???? sucks sucks SUCKS, they should all die as far as I’m concerned! Crashed 4 days ago and after 1 1/2 hours talking to India and trying to get him to CANCEL I get xfered to US rep. Offered Gen 4 so if they screwed you before why not again but without lube? They will stop billing me in 4 days (even though it’s DOWN) and I need to send their garbage back to them. For 2 years it barely worked!
    Fortunately I have a Jetpack backup, expensive BUT it at least works.

    Do NOT ever ever EVER sign up with Hughesnet you WILL regret it. Pay extra or use Burger Kings do NOT give them the satisfaction of shafting you!

    Somehow I doubt my nightmare is over… do they want the concrete block my pole is on, who knows!?

  • Gabe1972

    Yep. Just a teensy bit off. LOL.

  • Steve Risner

    We have had Excede for over 2 years and the download speeds rarely reach 9 mbps, having checked the speed on several occasions. Our grandfathered plan allows unlimited data after midnight which is nice for gaming console & tv updates… although the speeds are no better at night. We live in southwest Ohio, not exactly the boondocks so satellite coverage ought to be optimal… which it is not. Not a big fan of satellite internet but with Spectrum refusing to come 300 yards to our property, we have no other choice except Broadband…. after a couple of > $400 Verizon bills, it was an easy change. Our 2 year Excede contract is up & I am considering a change to Hughes Net but apparently their 25 mbps download speed is a hoax??
    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/f841043dceb84a1ec6e4da3f3a398fdb80d771bce4f46e3d53bc5a8a9916d584.png

  • TheCapnVideo

    Verizon 4GLTE home internet was a four day lesson in Bait and Switch. Imagine! I used 10GB data between hook-up and turn on. I was connected on Wednesday. I moved in on Saturday, plugged in my computer and checked my email, couldn’t download it. I had been throttled to 38Kbps. That is a serious choke.

    Local cable provider (Coastal Communications) wants $140 for 20 GB service at 6 Mbps down 2 Mbps up. right. Not going to happen.

    So Hughes is the only option here. 50GB form 8AM to 2AM at 25 Mbps plus 50GB form 2am to 8am for $115/ month 2 year contract. I can’t say you didn’t warn me but I don’t see a choice here.

  • Daniel Schink

    I have Hughes Net and I love it so far. Verizon was screwing me so bad that I was forced to change providers. There speeds are faster than advertized so who am I to complain. Thunder storms do raise havoc for the duration of the storm, but bounce right back There saying that you get a DL speed of 25mbps, but I have had as fast as 44.3mbps and that’s three times as fast as Verizon’s throttled down 10mbps. My UL speeds range from 4.99 to 8.77mbps

  • Daniel Schink

    Get the Hughes Net updated connection to the new GEN 5 Sat and you will be happy

  • Jeffrey Penfield

    There is an option in rural areas that was not mentioned, but it is very, very expensive and I have it. It is a T1 line. Digital lines were placed many years ago starting in the fifties even before there was an internet. These lines are almost anywhere where telephone lines run and only require simple copper wiring. It is designed for businesses. You get an immediate fix whenever the line goes down (within 4 hours even on a Sunday or they stop billing for those hours of missed internet). When I first got the line they had to keep going out and repairing the old broken lines when it rained, but I have not had a single down time for over 365 days once the old lines had been updated. It is a direct connection to the internet and I get 10 millisecond latency. Down speed is identical to up speed and never varies. Data is truly unlimited.Those are the good parts. The bad: Bandwidth is 1.5 MB/sec. It costs $300 per month.
    So why did I get it? I live in the country. No Cable and no DSL is available. Dial up is available, but I would have to pay local toll fees to connect to Dallas. I tried using a wireless hotspot (12 mb/sec), but I ran out of data almost immediately (15Gb) and the cost for added data was approaching the cost of my T1 line and weather affected my connection. I need a reliable connection because I have to connect to an online medical record system that is on a VPN and my wife was taking online college courses. I hate the price, but reliable internet is important to me. The contract is about to expire, so I was considering switching to Satellite. But the article says it too is unreliable with weather, the data is capped and it does not work with a VPN.
    So if you have the money, a T1 line in rural areas is an option. I know that very few home owners use it because every time I call for a technical question, nobody understands that I am a home owner and not a business. If you are really rich you can bundle T1 lines and get speeds up to 12 mb/sec for the low low price of $750 per month.

  • Ryan Duchesne

    Hughes net is complete garbage! $99 for 10 gigs a month is what I was stuck with when I lived just outside of Iowa City, Iowa. They were so bad that direct TV actually let me break my contract because obviously I couldn’t do anything with 10 gigs a month. Anyone who is considering Hughes net, PLEASE go check your cell phone provider and see what deals they have for using your phone as a hot-spot. AT&T and Verizon both had better deals (and I used them instead when I had AT&T then later when I switch to Verizon). Cell phone companies had better deals, you read that correctly. As for the awesome speed you get with the g 5,BAH, you can have super fast speed but what the hell are you going to use it on? A couple movies use all your data. If your a gamer, forget about it. You cannot play online games. They also tell you that you get free internet during off times, I think mine was from 2 am to 5 am, what they don’t tell you is that your speed drops DRASTICALLY! You might be able to download A single movie, if your lucky, or half an (offline) game. Please, stop these companies, do not keep them in business. I was lucky and able to break my contract because of some stuff in my Direct TV contract and ended up getting reimbursed. Most of you won’t get that lucky break, so save your self the anger and frustration. DON’T USE HUGHES NET! It sounds like Exede is pretty much the same company also.

  • Bret Zeller

    No one wants your crappy Ubuntu. Windows is great. If you can’t handle the data, the next best option is a Chromebook.

  • nrdes

    This review needs to be revisited. HughesNet Gen5 speeds are now under 2.5 Mb/s during all but the wee hours. We are getting somewhere between 5 and 10% of the advertised 25 Mb/s rate Hughes advertises. All houses on my road have Hughes and we are all having the same issue, and have for months. It’s terrible. My friends who have Exede aren’t having any problems.

    • Tony Duncan

      I installer excede internet for a living and I know all of the plans have changed in all areas some with speeds up to 30mbps and unlimited plans with 150 gig data cap and then throttle down so a lot of the info on here is not correct anymore and needs to be corrected and the speeds and data is supposed to be increasing more in the near future

  • Old Rancher

    You can purchase more high speed data from Exede at $10 per GB. I have used Exede for years and generally like the service; however, for the past couple of months my data has been disapearing as in 150 GB being used in 15 days. So far Exede has not tried very hard to resolve the problem. We use the Internet mainly for e-mail and brousing not for downloading streaming anything and we also do not use Facebook. Customer service is really poor considering this lost data issue.

  • Jonathan Blaser

    a Netflix download program was mentioned in this article. Any recommendations of that type of program?

  • Jonathan Blaser

    You referenced a service that allows you to download Netflix shows during non-peak hours. I did not seem to find any. What service would you recommend?

  • Jonathan Blaser

    You reference the service that lets you download Netflix shows during non-peak hours. I did not find any. What service would you recommend?

  • Doug Wilson

    I heartily agree. I gave up the Microsoft trap for Linux around the 98SE to 2000 era. I spent a little while dual booting while I learned my way around in Linux and soon ditched Windows forever. Now, I loathe being stuck with using a Windows machine. Linux isn’t perfect, but I never have that banging my head against the wall, my machine belongs to Microsoft, shut up and take what we tell you to take frustrations. I am free to dig as deep as I want to dig and change/control anything I desire. Open-source just rocks… 😉

  • aircommuter

    I have Hughes net my current download speed is .18 Mbps yes 18 hundreds of a megabyte. Tried chat, over 1 hour each time but only 8 minutes actual chat, rest of the time waiting because they are trying answer several people at the same time. One agent accidentally sent me a message that was for someone else exposing his email to me and that person had a slow speed complaint too. Tried calling got a message that there was extremely high call volume and call another time. I had better speed with GEN 4 this new GEN is a joke don’t waste your money .

  • Raven TwoSouls

    I am in the exact same situation. people saying you can’t stream etc. on the slow speeds, but my DSL is 1MBS or less so what am I loosing if I happen to get “up to” 25 MBS every once in a while and even when I go over my limit they throttle it down to where I currently am with Verizon DSL (POS) you wanna talk about bad customer service and bad internet,.. try Verizon DSL in a rural area.

    I want to try satelite, but I’m scouring the reviews and getting cold feet.

  • Kelley Malone

    Hughes net is one of the worst people to get internet form. I regret ever getting it with them between their prices, the customer service not speaking English and trying to charge me twice and then cancelling their service with out a warning. You should be sorry for promoting their company.

  • Dcxone

    Nothing has changed from 2015 when net neutrality kicked in until now a few short years later…service remains the same…shitty

  • http://thecheesyanimation.com/ Cheesy Factory

    Internet speed will always come on top in the minds of most consumers. and All things being equal, price should be considered. Thanks much 🙂

  • Randy Filkins

    I have Viasat, and even after my rollover, my speeds are the same as before. When I inquire, they tell me it is due to weather, (when the sky is clear), then they tell me it is “high traffic”.

  • Maria Millett

    Nope, sorry!

  • everydayjohn

    your reviews are not the problem, it’s the AT & T Viasat that is unreliable whether its in a City or the boondocks of a farmer. It’s total customer robbery for the pricing and the service. Most Farmers no longer need a Modem
    and most are Cell Phone Users who can operate the internet from their Cell Phones.

    yet it’s Freedom to be Robbed that attracts anyone who needs Viasat or Hughes Net, EH???

  • everydayjohn

    Your problem is not typical of a farmer out in the boondocks where no Internet Modem exists, Right?
    Why should anyone need to pay $150 month or $300 a month for a Sat Modem, with todays Ce ll Phones available ????

  • Cl Creek

    Viasat is horrid. Their equipment goes down about twice a year and it takes them a week to come out and fix it. Also they treat the techs that come out horribly, so none of them are happy to be there helping you out. I have often had to pay the tech separately to get them to show up and perform the service. Unless they are your only choice, go with anyone else – I have been told that Huges net is just as bad. We have been using their service for 8-years and it has only gotten worse. We would change if we could.