Home / Comparisons / DISH vs DIRECTV – 2017 Satellite TV Reviews

DISH vs DIRECTV – 2017 Satellite TV Reviews

DISH vs DIRECTV

Get The Best-Rated TV Service

 

Posted by: Scott Teran       Updated: 1/18/2017

THE BOTTOM LINE

DISH and DIRECTV have much in common—hundreds of channels, varied TV packages, and second-year price increases—but they also have their differences. DIRECTV has better customer service, and its packages and channels provide more selection than DISH. However, DISH’s second-year price increases are less egregious, and its DVR is twice the size of DIRECTV’s. It also doesn’t hurt that DISH has other features we want, such as Netflix.

 
Pricing 10/10 9/10
Packages 8/10 8/10
Channels 7/10 8/10
Equipment & Features 10/10 9/10
Customer Service 5/10 7/10
Total 8.8/10 8.5/10
  See DISH Offers See DIRECTV Offers

PRICING

DISH’s standard rates are only slightly lower than DIRECTV’s, but its 3-Year TV Price Guarantee easily beats DIRECTV pricing. Also, DIRECTV has more fees, and some of them are confusing.

10/10 9/10
  • Fixed 3-Year Pricing
  • Hopper 3 DVR Records 2,000 hrs
  • Regional Sports Fee: None

See DISH Offers

  • Higher Second-Year Price Increase
  • DVR Fee (1 TV): $22.00/mo
  • Regional Sports Fee: $6.00/mo

See DIRECTV Offers

10/10
  • Fixed 3-Year Pricing
  • No DVR Fee with 3 Year Promo
  • Regional Sports Fee: None
See DISH Offers
9/10
  • Higher Second-Year Price Increase
  • DVR Fee (1 TV): $22.00/mo
  • Regional Sports Fee: $6.00/mo
See DIRECTV Offers

Package Comparison Example

To show the difference in pricing, we took comparable packages from DISH and DIRECTV and broke down all the costs. In the example below, you can see why DISH wins in pricing: DIRECTV’s price is more than double in the second year!

TV PACKAGE CHANNELS

PROMOTIONAL PRICE

1st year
2nd year
ADDITIONAL FEES

WHAT YOU ACTUALLY PAY

1st year total
2nd year total
190+ $49.99/mo $49.99/mo $0/mo $49.99/mo $49.99/mo
direct-tv-logo-blue CHOICE 175+ $29.99/mo $74.99/mo $28/mo $57.99/mo $102.99/mo
 
CHANNELS 190+ 175+
Promotional Price
1st year

$49.99/mo

1st year

$29.99/mo

2nd year

$49.99/mo

2nd year

$74.99/mo

Additional Fees $0/mo $28/mo
What You Actually Pay
1st year

$49.99/mo

1st year

$57.99/mo

2nd year

$49.99/mo

2nd year

$102.99/mo

  See DISH Offers See DIRECTV Offers

Offer: 3-Year TV Price Guarantee Promotional Offer

DISH is offering a three-year price guarantee on its TV packages. And though the guarantee is good for three years, there’s only a two-year commitment—i.e, no charge to cancel after the second year. With TV rates increasing year over year across the industry, we think it’s worth checking out.

Fees & More Fees

It can be challenging to make sense of fees. For example, why does DIRECTV have two monthly fees (an “Advanced Receiver Fee” and a “TV Fee”) for one item: the Genie DVR? Here’s a fee comparison that will help.

MONTHLY FEES direct-tv-logo-blue
DVR

Hopper

$15/mo

Genie

$15/mo
+6.50

Receivers

Joey

$7/mo

Super Joey

$10/mo

Virtual Joey

$7/mo

Genie Mini

$7/mo

HD Fee $0 $0
ONE-TIME FEES direct-tv-logo-blue
Wireless Receiver

Hopper

$50

Genie

$99

OTHER FEES
Early Termination Fee

Hopper

$20

Genie

$99

Deactivation Fee

Hopper

$0

Genie

$15

Change Service Package

Hopper

$20

Genie

$10

  See DISH Offers See DIRECTV Offers

For more DISH fees, check Exhibit 1 in DISH’s official service agreement. For more DIRECTV fees, check Section 5 of DIRECTV’s official service agreement.

For more details on packages, see our reviews of DISH and DIRECTV.

PACKAGES

DIRECTV offers more variety, and its starter package, the Select, has plenty of value for its low price.

dish-tv-logotype
8/10 8/10
  • Basic Package Discounted
  • Only Four Packages

See DISH Offers

  • Basic Package has 145+ Channels
  • Choose from Five Packages

See DIRECTV Offers

 

dish-tv-logotype
8/10
  • Basic Package Discounted
  • Only Four Packages
See DISH Offers
 
8/10
  • Basic Package has 145+ Channels
  • Choose from Five Packages
See DIRECTV Offers

 

What’s in a Package?

Overall, DISH and DIRECTV’s packages are pretty solid. There’s plenty of channels (SD and HD), and pricing, despite the second-year increases, is competitive across the board.

CHANNELS PRICING
America’s Top 120 190+ $34.99/mo$34.99/mo 1st year2nd Year
America’s Top 120+ 190+ $39.99/mo$39.99/mo 1st year2nd year
America’s Top 200 240+ $44.99/mo$79.99/mo 1st year2nd year
America’s Top 250 290+ $49.99/mo$80.99/mo 1st year2nd year

 

CHANNELS PRICING
America’s Top 120 190+
1st year

$34.99/mo

2nd year

$34.99/mo

America’s Top 120+ 190+
1st year

$39.99/mo

2nd year

$39.99/mo

America’s Top 200 240+
1st year

$44.99/mo

2nd year

$79.99/mo

America’s Top 250 290+
1st year

$49.99/mo

2nd year

$80.99/mo

 

CHANNELS PRICING
Select 145+ $19.99/mo$49.99/mo 1st year2nd year
Entertainment 150+ $24.99/mo$59.99/mo 1st year2nd year
Choice 175+ $29.99/mo$70.99/mo 1st year2nd year
Xtra 220+ $34.99/mo$77.99/mo 1st year2nd year
Ultimate 240+ $39.99/mo$86.99/mo 1st year2nd year
Premier 315+ $89.99/mo$136.99/mo 1st year2nd year

 

CHANNELS PRICING
Select 145+
1st year

$19.99/mo

2nd year

$49.99/mo

Entertainment 150+
1st year

$24.99/mo

2nd year

$59.99/mo

Choice 220+
1st year

$29.99/mo

2nd year

$70.99/mo

Xtra 240+
1st year

$34.99/mo

2nd year

$77.99/mo

Ultimate 315+
1st year

$39.99/mo

2nd year

$86.99/mo

Xtra 315+
1st year

$89.99/mo

2nd year

$136.99/mo

 

The “+” means you might get a few extra channels, but it depends on your area.

Though we’ve mentioned it already, DISH and DIRECTV both have two-year contracts. We don’t like long-term contracts; however, with one-year or no-contract TV service, you’ll typically find higher prices.

For more details on packages, see our reviews of DISH and DIRECTV.

CHANNELS

Both DISH and DIRECTV have plenty of programming. However, DIRECTV is the only place to find NFL SUNDAY TICKET.

7/10 8/10
  • More International Channels
  • 290+ Channels

See DISH Offers

  • NFL Sunday Ticket
  • 315+ Channels
  • Higher HD Channel Count

See DIRECTV Offers

 

7/10
  • More International Channels
  • 290+ Channels
See DISH Offers
8/10
  • NFL Sunday Ticket
  • 315+ Channels
  • Higher HD Count
See DIRECTV Offers

 

So Many Choices

DISH and DIRECTV both offer hundreds of channels. Besides exclusive programming, if there’s a channel you want, you can likely get it from either DISH or DIRECTV. There are a few exceptions (e.g., the PAC 12 network is only on DISH), but even local channels are available from both satellite TV services. As for On Demand shows and movies, again, both DISH and DIRECTV have plenty to offer… it will just depend on the TV package you choose. The same goes for how many HD channels you’ll get.

Exclusive and Other Programming

NFL SUNDAY TICKET, the all-access sports package for the NFL, is only available at DIRECTV, while DISH and DIRECTV both have other major sports packages (NBA League Pass, MLB EXTRA INNINGS, NHL Center Ice). DISH does carry the NFL RedZone channel, but then so does DIRECTV.

DIRECTV, like Netflix before it, is making a foray into original programming. It’s created shows like Kingdom and Almost There, but until there’s something essential (e.g., Orange is the New Black), we don’t see this as a noteworthy feature.

If you’re interested in international programming, DISH has an advantage over DIRECTV—DISH has programming in 28 languages, and DIRECTV only has 8 languages.

For more details on packages, see our reviews of DISH and DIRECTV.

EQUIPMENT & FEATURES

DISH’s Hopper DVR beats out DIRECTV’s Genie DVR, and it has features we actually care about (Netflix, Bluetooth, Remote Finder). As for mobile TV, both services have great apps.

10/10 9/10
  • Record 500 Hours (SD)
  • Connect 8 TVs
  • Record 19* Shows at Once
  • Offline Viewing on Smart Devices

See DISH Offers

  • Record 200 Hours (HD)
  • Connect 6 TVs
  • Record 5 Shows at Once

See DIRECTV Offers

 *Record up to 19 shows at one time during Primetime Anytime with 16 any other time

10/10
  • Record 500 Hours (SD)
  • Connect 8 TVs
  • Record 19* Shows at Once
  • Offline Viewing on Smart Devices
See Dish Offers
9/10
  • Record 200 Hours (HD)
  • Connect 6 TVs
  • Record 5 Shows at Once
See DIRECTV Offers

 

For DISH and DIRECTV service, you’ll need a DVR and separate receivers (Joey for DISH, Genie Mini for DIRECTV) for each additional TV. DISH and DIRECTV’s DVRs also function as the main receiver.

PROVIDERS
DVR The Dish Hopper DirecTV Genie
DVR STORAGE 2TB 1TB
Recording Hours 400 HD/1600 SD 200HD / 800SD
Equipment & Features 10/10 8/10
Simultaneous Recording 19* Shows at once 5 Shows at once
Number of TVs 6TVs 8TVs
DVR Fee $12/mo $10/mo

  *Record up to 19 shows at one time during Primetime Anytime with 16 any other time

DISH and DIRECTV’s DVRs are some of the best DVRs on the market from TV service providers.

DISH’s Hopper packs twice the recording storage of DIRECTV’s Genie, and there is only one monthly fee for the Hopper ($12.00 per month), where DIRECTV adds a TV fee of $6.50 per month to the Genie’s $10.00-a-month fee. We also appreciate the capability to record more programs at once with DISH. But DIRECTV did make it a close call: DIRECTV is the only one to offer 4K TV support, and its receiver fees are lower than DISH’s.

Standard & Wireless Receivers

If you want to connect multiple TVs, you’re gonna need receivers, and both DISH and DIRECTV have different options and prices.

RECEIVERS RECEIVERS
The Joey $7/moDISH Network Joey Genie Mini $6.50/moDirecTV Genie Mini
Super Joey $10/moDish Network Super Joey Genie Go $99One Time FeeDirecTV Genie Go

 

What About 4K TV Service?

Currently, DIRECTV is the only satellite TV service to offer 4K TV. Programming is limited, and you’ll need a Genie DVR, a 4K Genie Mini, and a 4K-compatible TV. DISH is working on its own 4K service, but as of this writing, it’s still not available.

If you’re interested purchasing a 4K TV, you can view pricing at Amazon.  Prices range from <$300 – $40k with an assortment of brands, sizes, and quality, so be sure to check their user reviews before purchasing.

Advanced Features

It’s not easy to know which advanced features are available with which service. And many features are unique to one of the services (remote locator), while others are not (picture-in-picture). So, we’ll highlight the best of the best from DISH’s Hopper DVR, compared to DIRECTV’s Genie DVR.

FEATURES DESCRIPTIONS dish-tv-logotype
Netflix Access Netflix streaming from DVR. Pretty blue check mark  
Restart Restart a show that is already in progress.   Pretty blue check mark
Remote Finder Press a button to find your lost remote. Pretty blue check mark  
Auto Skip Automatically skip commercials. Pretty blue check mark  
Watch DVR Anywhere Watch recorded shows on a smart device. Pretty blue check mark Pretty blue check mark
72 Hour Rewind Watch shows you forgot to DVR from the last 72 hours.   Pretty blue check mark
Bluetooth Compatible Connect bluetooth headphones. Pretty blue check mark  
Sports Mix Watch eight sports channels at once.   Pretty blue check mark

 

DISH has a quick video that covers all of its advance features (see below). DIRECTV has its own page for advanced features, but there’s not much information and it wasn’t easy to navigate.

tv-channel-guide

TV on the Web

DISH and DIRECTV’s mobile TV features are extremely similar. DISH customers can log in to dishanywhere.com from a computer to watch DISH content. DIRECTV customers go to directv.com/entertainment to watch DIRECTV content. There is no additional fee for either service, but there are advertisements.

Mobile TV

DISH’s mobile app lets you download shows for offline viewing—a feature we love. You can do the same with DIRECTV, but you’ll need an extra piece of equipment, the GenieGO (a one-time purchase of $99). But to DIRECTV’s advantage, it has apps for NFL SUNDAY TICKET, kids entertainment, and the Apple Watch, while DISH doesn’t. Check out more about mobile apps below.

red-dish-icon

  • DISH Anywhere App
  • Watch shows, movies, and live TV where you want.
  • Search the program guide, schedule DVR recordings, and manage DVR library.
  • Download DVR recordings for offline viewing.
direcTV app icon

  • DISH Anywhere App
  • Watch shows, movies, and live TV where you want on mobile or tablet.
  • Use as a remote, and schedule DVR recordings.
  • Set parental controls, and share what you’rewatching over social networks.
dish explorer app icon

  • DISH Explorer App
  • Use your iPad as a remote, and easily search formovies and shows.
  • Use as a remote, and schedule DVR recordings.
  • Get personalized recommendations based onviewing habits.
NFL Sunday Ticket App Icon

  • NFL Sunday Ticket App
  • Watch live, “out-of-market” NFL games (NFL Sunday Ticket subscription required).
  • Access to Fantasy Zone and Red Zone channel.
  • Fantasy football integration, “big play” alerts,social sharing, and more.
  DirecTV Kids app icon

  • DirecTV Kids App
  • Designed for children (e.g., big buttons).
  • Curated kid-friendly content.
  • Parental ratings and reviews from Common Sense Media.
See Dish Offers See DIRECTV Offers

 

red-dish-icon

  • DISH Anywhere App
  • Watch shows, movies, and live TV where you want.
  • Search the program guide, schedule DVR recordings, and manage DVR library.
  • Download DVR recordings for offline viewing.
 
dish explorer app icon

  • DISH Explorer App
  • Use your iPad as a remote, and easily search for movies and shows.
  • Use as a remote, and schedule DVR recordings.
  • Get personalized recommendations based on viewing habits.
 
See Dish Offers
direcTV app icon

  • DIRECTV App
  • Watch shows, movies, and live TV where you want on mobile or tablet.
  • Use as a remote, and schedule DVR recordings.
  • Set parental controls, and share what you’re watching over social networks.
 
NFL Sunday Ticket App Icon

  • NFL Sunday Ticket App
  • Watch live, “out-of-market” NFL games (NFL Sunday Ticket subscription required).
  • Access to Fantasy Zone and Red Zone channel.
  • Fantasy football integration, “big play” alerts, social sharing, and more.
 
DirecTV Kids app icon

  • DirecTV Kids App
  • Designed for children (e.g., big buttons).
  • Curated kid-friendly content.
  • Parental ratings and reviews from Common Sense Media.
 
See DIRECTV Offers

 

For more details on packages, see our reviews of DISH and DIRECTV.

Customer Service

DIRECTV scored higher with ACSI and J.D. Power, and almost all representatives were helpful when we spoke with them.

5/10 7/10
  • Average Customer Service

See DISH Offers

  • Higher Third Party Rankings
  • Better Customer Servcie

See DIRECTV Offers

 

5/10
  • Average Customer Service
See DISH Offers
7/10
  • Higher Third Party Rankings
  • Better Customer Service
See DIRECTV Offers

 

American Customer Satisfaction Index Report

“The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States,” and in its report for 2015, call center satisfaction for subscription television services was down to an average score of 63 (out of 100). DISH scored 67, and DIRECTV scored 68. (Verizon was #1 with a score of 71.) Both scores are better than average, but still indicate a need for improvement.

ASCI 2015 REPORT
Score 67/100 68/100

 

Source: ACSI 2015 Report.

J.D. Power’s TV Service Report

J.D. Power, a global market research firm, created an independent report for residential TV service. It’s called the Residential Television Service Provider Satisfaction StudySM, and it measures customer satisfaction based on the following criteria: performance and reliability, cost of service, programming, billing, communication, and customer service. Here are the results for DISH and DIRECTV (satisfaction is calculated on a 1,000-point scale).

J.D. POWER 2014 REPORT
Score 734/1000 734.5/1000

 

Source: J.D. Power 2014 U.S. Residential Television Service Provider Satisfaction Study℠

Get Human

We didn’t have much difficulty getting a hold of a representative from DISH or DIRECTV. The most we had to wait was close to five minutes. But we understand that our experience is unique, and there are many factors that affect wait times: location, time of day, day of week, etc. So we went to GetHuman.com to see what others experienced when trying to get a hold of a representative. Here’s the info from GetHuman.

AGENT STATISTICS
Avg. Phone Wait Time 11 min. 15 min.
Avg. Chat Wait Time 12 min. 3 min.
Availability 24/7 8-6 PM PST

 

Source: GetHuman.com

Our Experience

When we reached out to DISH and DIRECTV, we found DIRECTV representatives to be more than helpful. (We did not mention who we are.) DISH representatives weren’t terrible, but they ignored our questions a number of times and tried to upsell us.

For more details on packages, see our reviews of DISH and DIRECTV.

OVERALL WINNER

Dish Network logo

REGION RANKINGS
Pricing 10/10 9/10
Packages 8/10 8/10
Channels 7/10 8/10
Equipment & Features 10/10 9/10
Customer Service 5/10 7/10
Total 8.8/10 8.5/10
  See DISH Packages See DIRECTV Packages

 

DISH is the winner

DISH’s five TV packages, 290+ channels, and top-notch 2TB Hopper DVR (500 hrs HD) make it a highly-rated option for TV service. And though DISH has some of the same pricing issues as DIRECTV (e.g., second-year price increases), its second-year pricing is still extremely competitive, and even more so with its two-year price lock promotion (expires 1/31/16). DISH also supports Netflix, and its other service features (e.g., remote locator) helped it to rate better than DIRECTV.

As for DIRECTV…

DIRECTV’s six TV packages, 315+ channels, and exclusive programming (NFL SUNDAY TICKET) make it one of the better TV services out there. Its 1TB Genie DVR (400 hrs HD) sports some cool features, such as START OVER and 72 HOUR REWIND. However, DIRECTV’s pricing is a bit of a mess. Some of the equipment fees are needlessly complicated, and its DVR fee is slightly higher than DISH’s. Still, DIRECTV is extremely comparable to DISH, and by its own merits, is better than most TV services… just not DISH.

Editor’s Note: Though we’ve declared a winner and awarded points for each category, things may change. As DISH and DIRECTV continue to innovate, we’ll update our comparison guide with any new or relevant information. Of course, we’ll also remove anything if it becomes obsolete. If there’s something you think we missed or would like covered in this comparison, please let us know by leaving feedback in the comments section or reaching out to us at info@reviews.org

Scott Teran - Reviews.org Writer

BY: Scott Teran

Staff Writer

Share this article

Disclaimer: The information featured in this article is based on our best estimates of pricing, package details, contract stipulations, and service available at the time of writing. All information is subject to change. Pricing will vary based on various factors, including, but not limited to, the customer’s location, package chosen, added features and equipment, the purchaser’s credit score, etc. For the most accurate information, please ask your customer service representative. Clarify all fees and contract details before signing a contract or finalizing your purchase.

Our mission is to help consumers make informed purchase decisions. All content remains unbiased and uninfluenced by external compensation including, but not related to, ratings, rankings, and opinions. Our affiliate compensation allows us to maintain an ad-free website and provide a free service to our readers. For more information, please see our disclosures page.

  • Derek Jude Tallman

    I want to preface this by saying that I have no experience with Dish as a consumer, only as a guest in someone’s home, but I have had Comcast, Uverse, and currently have DirecTV.

    If you’re not a sports fan, Dish is probably your best bet. It’s cheaper than DirecTV, and comes with Netflix, so you have a ton of options.

    However, if you are a sports JUNKIE like me, not just football, DirecTV gives you access to every pro game not being shown in the local market or a national cable station. Every. Pro. Game. In all four “major” American sports (NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL). If you’re a transplant wanting to follow your childhood teams, or a fantasy fan that likes to watch all of your players live, you cannot beat DirecTV.

    And, since they’ve merged with AT&T, their customer service, in my experience, has been brilliant. Every issue I’ve had has been handled professionally and as quickly as humanly possible. I highly recommend the service. Uverse is pretty good, too, but (other than the occasional satellite/weather issue) DirecTV is all that plus.

    Rabbit ears are better than Comcast, and their customer service is horrible. I’d avoid them.

    Bottom line, if you are only a casual, local sports fan, or not a sports fan, and want “free” Netflix, go with Dish. If you’re a big sports fan, go with DirecTV.

    • Hey Derek,
      Good to hear from someone with personal experience with multiple providers!

      You’re absolutely right, the DIRECTV sports package is by far the most comprehensive for major league sports, and it’s only getting better. How cool is it to be able watch two games at once with split-screen capabilities? It’s nice keeping up with multiple teams, or having fantasy stats off to the side during the main game.

      We’ve been anxious to hear what customers say about the AT&T and DIRECTV merger, so to see that it’s been a positive experience is good news for everyone.

      Thanks for your insight, we appreciate the feedback!
      -Trevor

      • Gerardo Gastelum

        Customer service and price will be sacrificed with the merger. I have both and ever since the cost of having both have gone through the roof and customer service is horrible. I am switching to Dish and T-Mobile

        • Hey Gerardo,

          We’re also wondering how the merger will affect customer service (probably for the worst based on info from the American Custer Service Index).

          DISH does have our highest overall rating (we recommend the America’s Top 120 package), but if you want better customer service Verizon is a great option; it consistently earns high ratings from JD Power and ASCI. You can see our review for Verizon here. Also, Verizon offers a discount if you bundle TV with cellular service.

          Thanks for the comment, and if you have questions, let us know.

        • The trend with mergers seems to be that customer service suffers initially, presumably due to growing pains between the companies. Not only may they have differing philosophies on how best to handle customer service, but there’s also a learning curve for agents to become familiarized with new products, and services. Unfortunately, it takes some time to adjust and improve their customer satisfaction scores as a result.

          Keep in touch and let us know how your service switch goes!

        • Hey Gerardo,
          Thanks for dropping us a comment! It’s definitely a trend that customer service drops (albeit temporarily) after a merger, sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Please let us know how your switch to DISH and T-Mobile goes, we’re always curious to hear back from people with first hand experience in TV/Internet/Phone services.

  • You’re right! We did mess up the table. We’ve had to update this comparison every few months, and we’re currently working to update it again (it should have an update done by the end of next week).

    We do think DISH and DIRECTV are very comparable, but DISH is still the winner.

    The thing that stands out most between the two is price, and that’s the largest pain point we’ve found for customers. DIRECTV introduced “all-inclusive” pricing recently, and it only benefits households with a minimum of four TVs (the fee for four receivers is included in the price). What’s worse is that there is a significant second-year price increase with DIRECTV, even though there is no change in service. (For example, the XTRA package goes from $70 a month to $118 a month.)

    DIRECTV does offer two-year price locks, but only if you bundle with AT&T services like phone or internet. DISH on the other hand offers two-year price locks if you just want TV and it doesn’t make you pay for four receivers.

    It’s a bummer DISH is so bad to work for (do you have link for the source?). It’s nice to hear from technicians, and I’m glad DIRECTV treated you so well.

    • ZandarKoad

      Yes, historically Dish has been cheaper than DirecTV. I agree with that assessment.

      Dish’s standing as the worst company in America was based on reviews from GlassDoor.com. A Yahoo article on The Worst Companies mentions Dish Network here: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/worst-companies-130656663.html

      Usually employee dissatisfaction doesn’t directly affect the customer, so it’s not highly relevant for the purposes of your ranking.

  • Angela

    Are they both equally as good as far as reception & how often they go out……like if it rains, or the wind is blowing hard?

    • Jenn Diffley

      Hey Angela,
      Good question. The deal is that they both rely on external satellite dishes, so both have identical issues with weather (the same way that, when it hails, every car is bound to be damaged, no matter the make or model). So yes, they’re equally good in the reception department. However, DIRECTV has a higher HD channel count, so if you’re looking for higher quality, that might be a deciding factor.

  • Dylan Campbell

    The ONLY reason you should ever have Directv is if you want the NFL Sunday Ticket. That’s it. That is the only thing advantage that Directv has over Dish. I was a long time (5 years) customer of Directv. In September 2016 I had a new roof put on my house and needed a simple realignment of the dish after the work was completed. Directv told me when I called on September 21st that they couldn’t have a tech there until October 11th!!! Are you kidding me? Three frickin weeks to get a tech out for a 2 minute job? That’s the start of football season, beginning of the fall lineup, start of MLB playoffs, etc. So I called DISH and they said they could be there in the morning to do the full setup at no charge. I was set up by noon the next day. I was able to get the America’s top 250 package with DISH (best package) on 5 Tvs for $32 less per month than I was paying for the Choice package (middle package) with Directv. $143 vs $111 and my price is guaranteed for 2 years with DISH. Directv will always jack up your rates and then you have to call in and threaten to disconnect your service at which time they will give you some discounts. Despite the fact that Directv would not get a service tech to me for 21 days, they still hit me with a $120 disconnect fee. That’s what you get for 5 years of loyalty to Directv. Dish has better channels, better service, and better features. There is no comparison on the DVR and Joey system compared to Directv. DISH blows Directv out of the water with technology. You also get Netflix directly on the DISH Hopper (you still pay the subscription price) so you don’t need a Bluray or Roku in every room to get Netflix. DISH also has Sirius XM in their channel lineup. I’m getting them for free right now. I’m not sure if that is a permanent deal or not, but that would be another feather in the cap of DISH. Customer service? I get directly to a person within a few minutes when I call DISH. I called Directv yesterday and was on hold for a total of 48 minutes before I got to the person who could solve my minor problem (returning the equipment). The AT&T/Directv merger may have been the worst thing that ever happened to Directv. Their customer service has plummeted and they no longer give a damn about their customers at all. It’s too bad, because I would have never left and found out how much better DISH is if they had just provided the service you would expect from your satellite provider.