Home / Reviews / DIRECTV Review

DIRECTV Review

Posted by: Scott Teran       Updated: 1/16/2017

Video Review

The Bottom Line

DIRECTV has six TV packages with 315+ channels, and more HD channels than most competitors. Also, DIRECTV’s DVR can record 800 hours of TV and movies, while letting you record up to five shows at once. But the downside to DIRECTV is the true cost of its service—the new “all-included” pricing can be high for some.

  • PROS
  • More than 315 channels
  • Great customer service
  • NFL SUNDAY TICKET
  • DVR with 1TB storage
  • CONS
  • Large price increases
  • Requires two-year contract
  • Hard-to-understand pricing
  • Lots of additional fees

Compare the top 10 TV services or sign up for DIRECTV.

 

PRICING 9/10

Pricing has gone up, but there are no more hidden fees.

PACKAGES PRICING CHANNELS CONTRACT
LOWEST
SELECT Package
$50.00/mo$88.00/mo
1st year2nd year
145+ 2 yrs
AVERAGE
XTRA Package
$70.00/mo$118.00/mo
1st year2nd year
220+ 2 yrs
HIGHEST
PREMIERE Package
$125.00/mo$181.00/mo
1st year2nd year
315+ 2 yrs
AVAILABILITY Nationwide
LOWEST PACKAGE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$50.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $88.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
145+
CONTRACT
2 Years
AVERAGE PACKAGE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$70.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $118.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
220+
CONTRACT
2 Years
HIGHEST PACKAGE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$125.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $181.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
315+
CONTRACT
2 Years

What’s the Real Price?

Every TV package at DIRECTV requires a two-year contract, and first-year prices are very different from second-year prices. Each DIRECTV package has a second-year price increase. For example, the SELECT package is listed as $50 a month for the first year, but in the second year that price goes up to $80 a month.

Additional Fees

DIRECTV no longer has additional fees. There used to be additional (hidden) fees for DVRs, receivers, etc., but DIRECTV has put an end to it—for better and worse.  DIRECTV’s “all-inclusive” pricing includes the Genie DVR and three receivers. That means you’re paying for service for four TVs. If you have and want service for four TVs, great, if not, you still have to pay the all-inclusive price.

 

PACKAGES 8/10

DIRECTV’s six TV packages have "all-included" pricing and range from 145–315 channels.

PACKAGES PRICING CHANNELS CONTRACT
SELECT $50.00/mo$80.00/mo
1st year2nd year
145+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV Select Package

Not bad for a basic TV package, but watch out for the price increase.

DIRECTV’s cheapest TV package has 145+ channels for $50 a month for the first year. Many channels are new to us (PIVOT, NewsMaxTV, MavTV), but this package does have some of our favorites, such as Comedy Central, Cartoon Network, FX, and more, including Syfy—home of the Sharknado series.

This package has some great channels (we mention more below), including many in HD, but be sure to check and compare first- and second-year prices.

Notable Channels:
ENTERTAINMENT $55.00/mo$98.00/mo
1st year2nd year
150+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV Entertainment Package

It’s really just the SELECT package plus ESPN.

DIRECTV’s next package, Entertainment, has 150+ channels, and the first-year price is only $5 a month more than the Select package. The small price difference is telling—there isn’t much difference between the Select and Entertainment package, except for sports. Entertainment includes ESPN, ESPN2, and Fox Sports 1.

Notable Channels:
CHOICE $60.00/mo$111.00/mo
1st year2nd year
175+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV Choice Package

If Choice has your must-have channel, get it. Otherwise, go with another package

The CHOICE package has 175+ channels. There’s more channels for the sports fan: ESPNews, ESPNU, MLB Network, and the NFL Network. There’s also IFC, Al Jazeera News, OWN, and others (see more below). The first-year price is only $5 a month more than the Entertainment package, so it may be appealing if you want those 25+ channels.

Notable Channels:
XTRA $70.00/mo$118.00/mo
1st year2nd year
220+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV XTRA Package

XTRA is for the sports completist.

The XTRA package ups the count to 220+ channels, and we think this may be the best package for the all-around sports fan. The previous package has the MLB and NFL Network, but the XTRA package adds the two missing professional sports channels: NBA and NHL TV (in HD too!). Aside from sports, the package adds BBC World News, Sundance, and others (see more below).

Notable Channels:
ULTIMATE $75.00/mo$128.00/mo
1st year2nd year
240+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV Ultimate Package

The non-premium movie channels are nice, but that’s about it.

The ULTIMATE package has 240+ channels, but of those additional channels, many are music or niche channels (El Rey, FXX, DIY Network). There are a few non-premium movie channels added, such as Encore and The Movie Channel, but that’s about it. We’re not sure why the Ultimate gets its own TV package, but it’s always nice to have options.

Notable Channels:
PREMIERE $125.00/mo$181.00/mo
1st year2nd year
315+ 2 yrs

DIRECTV Premier Package

The non-premium movie channels are nice, but that’s about it.

The Premiere package has the most channels and a high price to match. There are 315+ channels, including premium movie channels, such as HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, and Starz. And just when we thought we’d seen all the sports channels, this package adds more: ESPN Classic, Root Sports, Comcast Sportsnet, and others (see more below). There’s also the Outdoor Channel… now, we’ve mentioned everything.

Notable Channels:
SELECT
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$50.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $80.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
145+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV “Select” Package

Not bad for a basic TV package, but watch out for the price increase.

DIRECTV’s cheapest TV package has 145+ channels for $50 a month for the first year. Many channels are new to us (PIVOT, NewsMaxTV, MavTV), but this package does have some of our favorites, such as Comedy Central, Cartoon Network, FX, and more, including Syfy—home of the Sharknado series.

This package has some great channels (we mention more below), including many in HD, but be sure to check and compare first- and second-year prices.

Notable Channels:
ENTERTAINMENT
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$55.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $98.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
150+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV Entertainment Package

It’s really just the SELECT package plus ESPN.

DIRECTV’s next package, Entertainment, has 150+ channels, and the first-year price is only $5 a month more than the Select package. The small price difference is telling—there isn’t much difference between the Select and Entertainment package, except for sports. Entertainment includes ESPN, ESPN2, and Fox Sports 1.

Notable Channels:
CHOICE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$60.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $111.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
175+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV Choice Package

If Choice has your must-have channel, get it. Otherwise, go with another package

The CHOICE package has 175+ channels. There’s more channels for the sports fan: ESPNews, ESPNU, MLB Network, and the NFL Network. There’s also IFC, Al Jazeera News, OWN, and others (see more below). The first-year price is only $5 a month more than the Entertainment package, so it may be appealing if you want those 25+ channels.

Notable Channels:
XTRA
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$70.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $118.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
220+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV XTRA Package

XTRA is for the sports completist.

The XTRA package ups the count to 220+ channels, and we think this may be the best package for the all-around sports fan. The previous package has the MLB and NFL Network, but the XTRA package adds the two missing professional sports channels: NBA and NHL TV (in HD too!). Aside from sports, the package adds BBC World News, Sundance, and others (see more below).

Notable Channels:
ULTIMATE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$75.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $128.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
240+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV Ultimate Package

The non-premium movie channels are nice, but that’s about it.

The ULTIMATE package has 240+ channels, but of those additional channels, many are music or niche channels (El Rey, FXX, DIY Network). There are a few non-premium movie channels added, such as Encore and The Movie Channel, but that’s about it. We’re not sure why the Ultimate gets its own TV package, but it’s always nice to have options.

Notable Channels:
PREMIER
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
PRICING
$125.00/mo
1ST YEAR
— $181.00/mo
2ND YEAR
CHANNELS
315+
CONTRACT
2 Years

DIRECTV Premier Package

The non-premium movie channels are nice, but that’s about it.

The Premier package has the most channels and a high price to match. There are 315+ channels, including premium movie channels, such as HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, and Starz. And just when we thought we’d seen all the sports channels, this package adds more: ESPN Classic, Root Sports, Comcast Sportsnet, and others (see more below). There’s also the Outdoor Channel… now, we’ve mentioned everything.

Notable Channels:

Is DIRECTV Cable or Satellite?

DIRECTV provides satellite TV service throughout the majority of the United States. Unlike cable TV service, DIRECTV sends a signal directly to your home’s southern-facing satellite dish, located on your roof or near your home. Typical cable TV service is delivered through a hardwired connection that performs differently, depending on the technology used (e.g., phone line, broadband Internet, fiber optic cable). DIRECTV satellite TV can deliver high-quality service to remote areas where cable isn’t present or the competition is limited.

CHANNELS 8/10

DIRECTV’s got the NFL SUNDAY TICKET, 145+ channels in its basic TV package, and a healthy offering of HD channels.

NFLSUNDAYTICKET

NFL SUNDAY TICKET

In our DISH Network review, we briefly mentioned DIRECTV’s exclusive NFL SUNDAY TICKET. For NFL diehards, NFL SUNDAY TICKET is a must (or necessary evil), but it’s pricey. It can cost anywhere from $250–$350 annually (some TV packages include one season for “free”). NFL SUNDAY TICKET is the only way to watch every single NFL game, but that may change.

A class action lawsuit has been filed by fans against DIRECTV and the NFL. The suit alleges that DIRECTV and the NFL are in violation of antitrust law. We’ll pay attention to see what happens, but a similar lawsuit was filed against the NHL and DIRECTV, and it resulted in the NHL changing its sports package (e.g. fans can now purchase a single-team NHL package). We’ll see if the same thing happens to NFL SUNDAY TICKET, and whether or not DIRECTV maintains its exclusive NFL sports package.

HD Channels

DIRECTV has more HD channels than DISH. DIRECTV has more than 200+ HD channels available, and DISH has 105+ HD channels (we confirmed these numbers with representatives). How many HD channels you get in each package is a little more complicated. DISH’s Smart Pack has no HD channels, while DIRECTV’s SELECT package has 50+ HD channels. If HD viewing is important to you, DIRECTV would be better. Both DISH and DIRECTV have many of the same most popular channels in HD (e.g. ESPN HD), but it will depend on the TV package, so be sure to check an online channel guide to see which provider has your channel in HD.

Online Channel Guides

We recommend checking online channel guides to help you find the TV packages you want. Here’s a link to DIRECTV’s online channel guide.

 

EQUIPMENT & FEATURES 9/10

The 1TB Genie DVR is pretty great, and some “cool” features make it even better.

EQUIPMENT 9/10

The 1TB Genie DVR is pretty great, and some “cool” features make it even better.

Picking a DIRECTV DVR

There are currently only four DVRs available directly from DIRECTV, and one is not like the others. DIRECTV’s top model, the Genie (HR44), is packed with features. When compared to other DIRECTV DVRs, the Genie is easily the best.

The Genie has a recording capacity of 200 hours in HD (800 hours in SD), a 1 TB internal hard drive, and the capability of recording five channels at once—more than enough for us. The next two options, the HD DVR (HR24) and the TiVo HD DVR (THR22), are essentially the same, but each can only do half of what the Genie does (see table below). As for the standard DVR (R22), its 125 GB hard drive and lack of simultaneous recording makes it the barebones option.

“the Genie requires a minimum two TV setup”

Genie DVR
PRODUCTS RECORDING CAPACITY STORAGE SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING
GENIE 200 HD / 800 SD 1TB 5 Channels
HD DVR 100 HD / 400 SD 500GB 2 Channels
TIVO HD DVR 100 HD / 400 SD 500GB 2 Channels
DVR 100 SD 125GB N/A

HD = High Definition, SD = Standard Definition

GENIE
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
RECORDING CAPACITY
200 HD / 800 SD
STORAGE
1TB
SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING
5 Channels
HD DVR
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
RECORDING CAPACITY
100 HD / 400 SD
STORAGE
500GB
SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING
2 Channels
TIVO HD DVR
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
RECORDING CAPACITY
100 HD / 400 SD
STORAGE
500GB
SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING
2 Channels
DVR
EXPAND FOR DETAILS
RECORDING CAPACITY
100 SD
STORAGE
125GB
SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING
N/A

Currently, there’s a DIRECTV promotion for a “free” Genie, so it would make sense to go with the best available DVR. However, the Genie requires a minimum two TV setup (i.e., a monthly fee for each TV). If you only have one TV, you’ll still have to pay a monthly fee of $13 ($6.50 per TV). We double-checked this with a DIRECTV representative, so beware of the additional fee if you go with the Genie. (And don’t forget the $15 a month “Advanced Receiver Fee” for any DVR.)

Note: Check back for our DISH vs. DIRECTV comparison. We’ll dig deeper into DIRECTV’s offerings and compare features and specs.

EXTRA FEATURES – Restart

We know the feeling of tuning in late and wishing we could restart a show. With DIRECTV’s RESTART feature, we can do that. And we think it’s pretty cool. The RESTART service is included at no charge, but you’ll need the right equipment (check with DIRECTV) and an internet connection. Also, it’s only available on limited channels (see below).

See Restart Channels

EXTRA FEATURES – 72 Hour Rewind

The other DIRECTV feature that grabbed our attention is the 72 HOUR REWIND. The feature allows you to go back, up to three days, to check out a show you missed. We imagine this will come in handy when we hear people talking at work about a TV episode we missed the night before. Like the RESTART feature, it requires the right equipment (again, check with DIRECTV) and is only available on select channels (see below).

See 72 Hour Rewind Channels

CUSTOMER SERVICE 7/10

DIRECTV delivers surprisingly good customer service.

Better than Average (2015 ACSI Report)

In 2014, DIRECTV received the best customer satisfaction rating from the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI), but this year is different. DIRECTV dropped from a score of 69, the best score last year, to a score of 68. While it’s only a small change, it puts DIRECTV behind AT&T U-verse (69) and Verizon (71), two companies whose scores have improved since last year. As for DISH Network, it scored a 68, which is only one point behind DIRECTV. The average TV provider score is 63, so DIRECTV’s 68 isn’t looking too bad. ACSI’s full report on TV providers can be found here (theACSI.org).

Our Experience

We’ve come to expect subpar service from any TV provider, DIRECTV included. But for this review, we’re going to stick with how we were treated this time around.

To our surprise, DIRECTV delivered a pretty solid customer service experience. Without disclosing who we were, we pestered DIRECTV numerous times over a period of seven days. The service we received was almost always helpful. For example, when we asked how many HD channels were in the SELECT package, the representative responded with not only an answer, but also a PDF document with the complete listing of the channels in the package, including local channels. And the representative gave us time to review the document, which we appreciated. Other company representatives we contact typically continue with a sales script or question without hesitation.

There were other times when a DIRECTV representative would try to sell or upsell us after we asked about packages, channels, etc., but none were pushy. Also, when we asked representatives to explain fees (e.g., the “Advanced DVR Fee,” the fee for all DVRs) they usually gave us clear, no-nonsense answers. Overall, we can say our experience with DIRECTV was positive.

TAKEAWAY

DIRECTV is close to being a great TV service.

Is DIRECTV Good?

DIRECTV is better than most TV services. It has a wide selection of channels (in HD too!), the second-best DVR we’ve seen, and customer service that’s more helpful than the competition. But because of its high first-year prices and higher second-year prices, DIRECTV is good, not great.

The ENTERTAINMENT package has what we want

The Genie DVR is easily the best choice with DIRECTV. When comparing its features to other DIRECTV DVRs, it doesn’t make sense to go with anything else. It’s also free for new customers. As for a TV package, DIRECTV’s cheapest option offers a lot of channels, and many are in HD, but we’d likely go with the Entertainment TV package, that way we have some sports channels (ESPN, ESPN2, Fox Sports) for when our friends visit.

If you want to know more and decide for yourself, here’s an overview of DIRECTV packages.

 

Scott Teran - Reviews.org Writer

BY: Scott Teran

Staff Writer

Share this article

Disclaimer: The information featured in this article is based on our best estimates of pricing, package details, contract stipulations, and service available at the time of writing. All information is subject to change. Pricing will vary based on various factors, including, but not limited to, the customer’s location, package chosen, added features and equipment, the purchaser’s credit score, etc. For the most accurate information, please ask your customer service representative. Clarify all fees and contract details before signing a contract or finalizing your purchase.

Our mission is to help consumers make informed purchase decisions. All content remains unbiased and uninfluenced by external compensation including, but not related to, ratings, rankings, and opinions. Our affiliate compensation allows us to maintain an ad-free website and provide a free service to our readers. For more information, please see our disclosures page.

EXTRA FEATURES - Restart Channels

A&E
AUDIENCE Network
BET
Bravo
Cartoon Network East
Cinemax
CMT
CNBC
CNN
Comedy Central
Cooking Channel
Crime & Investigation
DIY
E!
Encore East
Food Network
FYI
Galavision
H2
Hallmark
HBO East
HGTV
History
HLN
Lifetime
Lifetime Movie Network
MTV
Nickelodeon East
OWN
Palladia
Shorts HD
Showtime East
Smithsonian Channel
Sony Movie Channel
Spike
Sprout
Starz East
Syfy
TBS
TCM
The Movie Channel East
TNT
Travel Channel
truTV
TV Land
TWC Deportes
TWC SportsNet
UniMas
Univision East
USA
VH1

EXTRA FEATURES - 72 Hour Rewind Channels

A&E
ABC
AUDIENCE™ Network
BET
Bravo
Cartoon Network
CBS
Cinemax
CMT
CNBC
CNN
Comedy Central
Cooking Channel
DIY
E!
Food Network
Fox
FYI
Galavision
Hallmark
HBO East
H2
HGTV
History
HLN
Lifetime
MTV
MundoFox
NBC
Nickelodeon
OWN
Palladia
Spike
Sprout
Syfy
TBS
TCM
TNT
Travel Channel
truTV
TV Land
UniMas
Univision
UP
USA
VH1
  • Frank N Stein

    Your article states there are additional fees for equipment with directv, however their website claims that all prices for packages include all equipment fees for up to 4 rooms of equipment. Which is it? what you say or what they say…

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hello Frank,
      Thanks for reaching out to clarify!

      The current package prices DO include all equipment AND advanced receiver service fees for up to 4 rooms (A Whole Home DVR + 3 additional receivers). This promotion ends 7/16/16.

      Our post will be updated to reflect this and other changes accordingly as they come.

      The FCC and cable companies are in dispute over DVR/Receiver rights. Promotional offers (specifically equipment pricing) across many brands have changed as a result. In essence, the FCC wants to allow for expansion of competitive third-party devices, whereas the cable companies prefer to have more control with proprietary equipment, citing both technical and intellectual property concerns.

      This is a complicated issue and there is much debate, so we expect to see these sorts of pricing and packages changes to continue. With that in mind, I’d recommend following our social media accounts for the latest on news like this:

      Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/reviews.org
      Twitter: @reviews_org

      -Trevor

  • upset football fan in SC

    I like directv overall, way better value than cable. However, if you are an NFL fan, this is where you need to keep reading. I signed up at the end of the 2015 NFL season. Was automatically signed up for the season even though I didn’t want to because there were fewer than 5 games left. I was told I would get a huge discount for the 2016 season because of this. Low and behold, the max the nfl/directv supervisor person would give me was 20% off, which meant instead of $270 for the entire season, it would be $216. That is not good enough for me since I missed almost the entire season. Bottom line, don’t get directv during NFL season (aug-december), otherwise you will get screwed over, and not get your first season free promotional discount. completely pissed off……Honestly, if there is something better out there, please tell me, because I’m done…..

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      We feel your pain. We’ll add the heads up about signing up during the NFL season to our review.

      It’s a bummer, but If you want the NFL Sunday Ticket there’s nowhere else to get it but DIRECTV. It seems each year we hear it may no longer be exclusive, like the NBA League Pass, but until that happens it’s a daydream for football fans.

      If you’re looking for an alternative to DIRECTV, we’d recommend DISH. We rated DISH higher than DIRECTV, and if you select a DISH package with ESPN and the NFL Network (yes, it’s available on DISH), you probably won’t miss any NFL games. We checked the broadcast schedule for the 2016-2017 NFL season, and most, if not all, games are broadcast on NBC, FOX, CBS, ESPN and the NFL NETWORK. Of course, NBC, FOX, and CBS are major networks, so they’re included with any package. If you have those five channels and DISH’s Hopper DVR, which can record up to 8 channels at once, you’re covered if they’re multiple NFL games on at once. Also, for this upcoming season, Twitter will be live-streaming all Thursday night NFL games.

      Hope this information was helpful. If you have another question, let us know. Thanks for telling us what you think about the NFL Sunday Ticket, and again, we’ll be sure to make a note of it in our review.

  • Wireless vs Wired Genie

    I have a question regarding the wireless Genies. Has there been any feedback on whether it is better to go with the wireless or “wired” Genies? I am nervous to use the wireless becuase it seems like anything wireless has connection issues. Also I wonder if it will conflict with my baby monitor. 🙂 Would love any feedback! Thanks!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hello,
      Wireless Genies are a great way to get to “hard to reach” areas of your house, but they do come with the possibility of interference. Many prefer the wireless system for the “clean appearance” or to avoid drilling holes into their walls. Video quality is essentially equal between wired and wireless.

      Wireless Genie boxes may have a $99 wireless set-up fee.

      According to DIRECTV, baby monitors could potentially cause interference, especially with remotes in RF mode. The baby monitor affects the remotes communicating with the Mini Genies more than the receivers themselves. In other words, your television signal should be fine regardless of the monitor, but you may run into trouble when using the remote to change channels, volume, etc. A wired baby monitor connection would not affect the signal.

      Hope this helps, thanks for your question! Definitely a useful tidbit for parents looking into DIRECTV and other TV services.

  • Angela Colson Cummings

    We are very disappointed with Direct TV. I ordered 5 receivers for our vacation home. Was never told during the 45 minute ordering process anything about only being able to watch 3 tvs at a time. I pay for 5 receivers but can’t use but 3. We were told by the installation guy that we could watch 4 at a time. Come to find out you can only watch the main box and 3 minis ant a time, so when everyone goes to bed at night, (4 bedrooms) one can’t get service. This should have been explained. We will be switching over our home account and vacation home providers tomorrow. And the customer service, unless you are ordering new services is awful.

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hello Angela,
      Just to clarify, you have 1 Genie + 4 Minis, right?
      Assuming your Genie is a “main room” (living room/entertainment room/etc) and then each of the 4 bedrooms has a Mini Genie.

      We found this information from DIRECTV’s FAQ section:
      “Genie can provide full HD DVR functionality and DIRECTV programming to up to eight connected TVs. However, only four TVs—including the TV connected directly to Genie—can show live or recorded content at the same time. If you expect to have more than four TVs in use at the same time, we recommend using HD DVRs for those extra TVs to ensure the best entertainment experience.”

      and then in the fine print:
      “In a Genie Whole-Home HD DVR setup, you and your family can watch live or recorded programming on four separate TVs at the same time.”

      So if that is the case, one of the bedroom TV’s would have to have its stream coming directly from the main Genie HD DVR running at the same time, otherwise you would have to order another HD DVR for direct programming.

      It’s unfortunate that you’ve had to go through the hassle already, but if you plan on staying with DIRECTV, our advice would be to clarify exactly what you need with a DIRECTV sales agent specifically regarding bedrooms and receivers, see if they’ll replace the current system with one that allows for individual watching in every bedroom. And we always recommend printable/savable records of your order.

      If you don’t stay with DIRECTV, we’d be curious as to what provider you went with and why, so keep us in the loop, please!

  • John Gabriel

    I was a blind fool using Direct TV. I had the basic package for $39 then after one year it went to $70 I asked to reduce the price and they did for 2 months only then back to $70. The basic was a complete joke. It’s without a doubt the worst package there is with just a few channels. I just switched to xfinity I now have 3 times the amount of channels. I have channels I never heard of even the Sun channel for $39 and this is not a package. This price will NEVER go up. DIRECT TV IS COMPLETE GARBAGE AND A HUGE RIPOFFF. AND YOU HAVE A CONTRACT. Use your head people!!!

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      We wouldn’t recommend the basic DIRECTV package either. The one-year price increase is the worst part about DIRECTV, but it still has great service and selection. It’s a bummer you had to deal with that and we’re glad you like your new TV service.

      • John Gabriel

        I asked direct tv if they could give me a better deal on the crap package I had and they said no. They didn’t even offer me anything else. I said well I am going to call xfinity and order there service and the Direct tv representitive said ok I will connect you with the department to have the equipment sent back. They figure they ripped me off long enough so we were all good. These morons should be coming to my house and getting that dish off my roof and patching the holes is what these a******* should be doing !!

    • Really

      I am going to call about Xfinity. Thanks.

  • Mike Matthews

    After 3 attempts at installation, I’m giving up on DirecTV. On 1st attempt installer refused to install dish. 2nd attempt no installer showed up because supposedly the installation was rescheduled by the system without informing me. On 3rd attempt, even after receiving confirmation calls and texts including a specific install time, no one showed. Customer service refused to escalate my issues to management to get resolved and I’m not wasting another day waiting for no one to show!

    This has been the worst “customer service” experience I can remember!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Oh man, sounds like you got the run-around, that’s rough. Scheduling conflicts are very frustrating. In response, many companies, like Comcast, now offer a guarantee of somewhere around $20 if a technician fails to show up within a certain time frame.

      Just curious, did the technician say there was a specific issue regarding the first installation (i.e. placement, restrictions, etc.)?
      If there’s a potential problem we can warn people about before purchasing, that would definitely be helpful!

    • BIANCA MORELOS

      Delt with the same situation for about 3 months now and nothing has happened

  • Nomi Harper

    published review 8/18/16
    DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY! They will tell you anything, will not note your account with any facts about your call, lie to you, promise you things they don’t deliver, insist on overcharging you, won’t acknowledge dates that are supposed to be entered into the notes of your account, and consume your time. DON’T BE FOOLED, DIRECT TV IS A CROOKED COMPANY!!
    Never in my life have I been so deceived. I was sold a bunch of lies, prices and services I was promised were doubled. An AT&T representative went over my bill in May, 2016 and convinced me to bundle products of phone, internet, tv for a price of $89.99 per month. My service started on May 27. I was deceived when the installer told me that I wasn’t actually getting high speed uverse because my house was too far away from the central office, instead it was a faster DSL plus I was losing my landline and phone would now be going through my internet. I wasn’t happy about that. It’s more secure for a landline to be used as that is not connected with electrical outages. I should mention I used to be a customer service rep and knew all about the ins and outs of that job helping people establish residential service. I received 33 commendations in 2 1/2 years from very happy customers.
    Direct tv promised a tv network that I didn’t receive which I noticed wasn’t recording to my DVR each time I tried to record a program. I called June 24th and was advised that network wasn’t part of my package and would cost me another $20/mo. I was very upset and shocked. I wanted to terminate my service. (you can terminate this contract within the first 30 days and leave without a termination fee, but they didn’t allow that, and I didn’t know this at the time) The next day, June 25, I spoke to the retention department of AT&T who said they adjusted my charges and that I would indeed get the network I wanted and was promised at no extra charge for the duration of my 2 year contract. I was very pleased. However, this didn’t happen. I was charged $161 on my next bill and charges were doubled from what I was promised in the bundle I was sold. After countless calls, I was told I would be charged an early termination fee if I disconnected. I contacted 7 On Your Side. They said they could help me and knew connections in the escalation department, but that they couldn’t do this until a week later, 8/12/16. In the meantime, I made more calls. Eventually, I spoke to a manager from the escalation department yesterday who called me and again insisted I would be charged $420 ETF (early termination fee) but I proved to her that I had called before 30 days were passed to try and cancel and was directed to the retention department. She was horrible, didn’t do her homework to study the notes on my account, made me repeat things so many times, didn’t listen, was talking as if from a script, offered me a $50 reduction from the termination fee, then a $100 reduction and I said NO, don’t waste my time and after more time, she finally offered me to exit without fees. My service was disconnected after 8 hours, though she said it would be done immediately. In the morning, I got an email from direct tv that a charge of early termination would be on my last bill. Unbelievable. I called this morning to find out she never noted my account with the facts that she promised no ETF. This has been one nightmare after another! Don’t be fooled. Don’t get involved with Direct TV. They are the worst Crooks ever!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Thanks for letting us know Nomi,
      Sounds like you had a rough experience. You definitely did well to push back, and it’s very unfortunate that no notes were made of your interactions. Perhaps if you make another call you could directly ask for a copy of your account notes? We definitely recommend getting any promises made in writing, or if nothing else, making sure you get the agent’s name and keeping a personal transcript.

      Out of curiosity, what other services are available in your area?
      DISH offers TV service nationwide, and is DIRECTV’s competitor. You might let them know your situation and see if they would be willing to “earn” your business. Otherwise, Comcast is the nation’s largest cable provider and my family’s been happy with our service for years, especially with the X1 DVR upgrade. Plus, they have no-contract options so you can pull the plug anytime without cancellation fees.

      We hope your current issue is resolved soon!

      • Nomi Harper

        Hi Trevor. I’m going back to Dishnetwork. I was with them over 10 years and they have been the best. Good suggestion to get a copy of the notes on my account. I think the real issue was that reps were not thoroughly reading the notes on my account and lazy.

  • Stanley Stephens

    ATT/DIRECT TV IS BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED IN MY LIFE. I HAD INTERNET SERVICE FOR A FEW YEARS AND NO REAL ISSUES, BUT IN JANUARY I DECIDED TO AD DIRECT TV TO MY SERVICE. (BIG MISTAKE) FIRST OFF I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO LOG INTO MY DIRECT TV ONLINE/ APP BECAUSE THE SAID I NEEDED TO LOG INTO IT WITH ATT, SO I LONG INTO ATT AND NOTHING ABOUT DIRECT TV SHOWS UP. I WAS ON THE PHONE FOR 4 HOURS TRYING TO FIX THIS AND 8 MONTHS LATER IT HASNT BEEN FIXED. NOW WHEN IT COMES TO BILLING THEY ARE A SPECIAL KIND OF STUPID. MY ATT IS DIRECT DRAFT NO PROBLEM, MY DIRECT TV SHOULD BE. WELL EVERY MONTH I HAD TO CALL AND PAY BECAUSE THEY WOULD CUT IT OFF. I WOULD CALL AND PAY DIRECT TV, SOMETIMES THEY WOULD SAY I HAD TO PAY ATT. WELL AFTER 6 MONTHS THE CANCELED MY SERVICE. I CALL AGAIN AND THEY SAY I OWE THEM LIKE $350 I SAID MY BILL IS ONLY $89. THEY SAID I HAVENT PAYED IN 3 MONTHS, SO I CALLED ATT AND THEY SAID DIRECT TV OWED ME A $80 CREDIT. SO I CALLED AND THEY TOLD ME YES THEY DO AND THEY CUT MY SERVICE BACK ON AND I AGREED TO PAYING $200 TO HAVE SERVICE BACK ON (WHY I DONT KNOW JUST TO GET PAST ALL THE BS) WELL APPARENTLY THE CREDIT WAS NEVER APPLIED AND NOW I HAVE A COLLECTION AGENT CALLING SAYING I OWE $500 AND ATT SAID THEY SHOW MY SERVICE AS STILL CANCELED WHEN I HAVE BEEN WATCHING MY DIRECT TV FOR A MONTH.

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      That’s sounds terrible…

      We don’t like having to deal with customer service either. If it’s any help, we recommend using online chat. That way you have records of what a representative told you, and you can also put a movie on or enjoy a drink while you chat. (We think it’s better than holding a phone to your head for an hour…)

      Let us know what happens. We imagine things are getting messy as AT&T tries to bring DIRECTV and U-Verse services (TV, internet, etc) together.

      Also, do you have other options for service in your area?

      • Stanley Stephens

        It’s not a issue of talking to people it’s not getting a straight answer. It’s not getting what’s promised. It’s taking to long to resolve my problem and not seen any results

  • disappointed customer

    Being an x Att employee I know what is expected out of the customer service reps. I’m not sure how Direct TV’s was before the buy out but I have to say the customer service now with Att is terrible and I’m so very disappoint with how Att is letting this happen. If I’m going thru this so are alot more customers and I’m sure they are loosing many. I had recieved a brochure in the mail “join now and recieve a 200 visa gift card” moving to the area it sounded good. Could use the gift card for a number of things needed for the new place. I called Monday and got a rep in USA that spoke english and was very nice and talked me thru it all and took $24.00 from me, which I know they ran a credit check (which by the way should have told me they were doing that) and no problems with the gift card, got me on a decend package. Then transfred me to “installation” no way was it. The guy got on the phone and was eating he put me on hold for 8 mins. and no music, I had no idea where I was transfred because he never addressed the call as Direct TV or Att, not even his name or dept. After 8 mins. he came back on (done eating) and said he could install tomorrow. By the way I told the first lady next week Friday. So I had to explain no next week Friday and he put me on hold again for another 5 mins. Came back on and confirmed installation date, This all took about an hour. Come weds. I recieve an email stating by order was canceled. I called the toll free number and got some guy overseas who I couldnt understand and had to keep asking him to repeat himself slowly. He couldnt tell me why my order was canceled.
    Confirmed that he could place another order same everything and gift card, installation date etc….I placed the order and he wanted another $5.00 I told him I did not want another credit check, well they did it again. Got transfrd to another dept “installation” again, no music nothing. Installation date came and the tech was very nice and all went well. One month later I called asking for my gift card(we all know where this is going), another overseas person, call back in one week. I called back and did get a english speaking rep in the USA very nice said I should hear back by friday. Nothing. I now go back another week later and did get another english speaking USA rep that put a rush on my concern. I just got off the phone from another overseas rep that i couldnt understand and first started out with “I’m so sorry but we cant do anything because the order didnt have a gift card on it” Of coarse I’m extremely upset and told him to cancel the service because Direct TV broke the contract not me. He came back with “well I can give you a 100 credit on the account”. No way I still told him to cancel, thats NOT what the brochure said and I’m looking at it. He again came back with “well I can give you a 200 credit on the account”. So why is it that a new customer has to go thru all this treatment and why do I even have to wheel and deal for my gift card? I can not reccommend the service to anyone and I personally am very dispointed that Att would allow this treatment to customers.

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      That’s a bummer…new customers should be treated better. Are you going to stick with AT&T? Let us know what happens.

  • GoFlyers30

    Same as Mike Matthews. Installation took multiple attempts and they continued making brutal excuses why they didn’t show up.
    Keep your comcast/xfinity account and save yourself the frustration of even worse customer service with att/direct TV.
    Absolute worst experience I have ever had with a cable company… and we all know how low that bar is.

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Ah, that’s rough. Luckily, we’re seeing more companies adopting solutions like technician tracking apps and/or money back guarantees that will hold the companies more accountable for keeping schedules.

      Thanks for your input!

  • Jen H

    I love the channel options you have, and the ability to get Sunday Ticket, but, I am seriously considering leaving Directv when my contract runs out next year. Why? The Genie and mini-genie are TERRIBLE! Both freeze up on me at least once a week, prompting me to reset them at least once a week. I have had the Genie replaced twice, and the mini replaced once. That has been since June 2016. I never thought these words would leave my lips, but, the DVR for Time Warner Cable is 5 times better than the Genie and Mini Genie. That is really sad…

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Jen, thanks for your thoughts!
      Out of curiosity, do you know which versions of the Genie and Genie Mini you have? It’s unfortunate that you’ve had to replace them multiple times without improvement, but perhaps if you clarified which model numbers have not worked, they would have an alternative?
      There is also the possibility of opting for a third party DVR if you’re happy with all other aspects of service.

      We’d recommend contacting DIRECTV with your model number information and see if there’s anything to be done in the way of 1) absolutely ensuring you don’t run into the same problems with replacements, or 2) providing your service at a reduced rate since you will be not using their equipment anymore.

      Let us know what you decide to do!

      • Jen H

        Thanks, Trevor. I haven’t thought about looking to see what version I have. I will follow your advice and reach out to Directv with this information. Thanks!

  • Camila

    Worst customer service ever. We signed up for international and regular channels. Sales rep guarantee they were going to install only ONE antenna on our roof. We signed up under this condition. When the technician finished his job, there were 2 antennas on our roof. They said they are not going to remove. We have to remove our own and pay for the damage on the roof.

  • Phyllis Hamman

    Ok I just signed on To have Direct TV and it is to be installed this Saturday but after reading all of these reviews I’m scared to death I made the wrong decision. It makes me want to
    back out of the deal if that is possible. I have Dish right now and they kept raising the prices and right now I pay almost $100 a month for two tv and 120 channels. Dish sounded like a good deal at $43.99 a month-didn’t mention it is only for one year and the second year it will go up.

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      Phyllis, what DIRECTV package did you sign up for and how many TVs are you setting up? Also, if it helps, you do have 30 days to get a refund with DIRECTV.

      As we mentioned in our review, DIRECTV is pretty good TV service but its price can be a bit high.

  • Eric

    I never write reviews on anything, but my experience with DirecTV was so horrible that I feel obligated. I moved from North Carolina to Ohio and decided to try DirecTV. After installation I never had any channels. I called 3-4 times and they sent someone out twice and they never fixed it. Finally after 3 months of not having cable and calling multiple times they finally realized my zip code in their system was for north carolina and not ohio which was why I was not getting service. I offered them an opportunity to fix it by refunding those months and giving me the package at the price promised but they wouldn’t do it so I cancelled my service. Of course they tried to give me an early cancellation fee ($420) which is the most absurd concept in this scenario. I had to spend over 2 hours on the phone with supervisor after supervisor in order to get my cancellation fee waved and to get refunded for the 3 months I wasn’t receiving cable but for which I was still paying. Oh and of course despite all of that they still sent me a bill for early cancellation which I again had to call and spend more than an hour again trying to get it resolved, which it still isn’t. I’ll be writing a review a day until this is resolved.

  • Mdjkieffer

    I would give this a 1 star. For those of you who are used to cable, don’t switch. First, logically speaking, you would think when you buy an “upgraded” package it would contain the same channels as the cheaper package, only get more channels, right? no. Don’t assume. You get whatever DirectTV thinks is better and usually it’s not….What??? Then look closely at all the “extra” channels you get…those are mostly: shopping channels (endless amount), PPV (endless amount) sports (ditto) and religious channels oh and tons of porn, just what your little ones need… Oh and let’s not for get music channels–what is that? like about 100??? If I want to listen to music, I’d turn on the radio. I’m looking for ways to get out of this crappy contract…like if they jack the price up like I hear they do.

  • Nicole Mallaber

    So where do I begin? Honestly if I could give this company negative stars, I WOULD. I am a very patient person and try not to get upset easily but I’m on my last straw!! I’ll start from the beginning, I switched to this company around June because Comcast was overly priced and at&t seemed to be a good company with good prices. I went to an authorized retailer (my first mistake) who signed me up and got me started. In the first month I was back at the retailer, Not knowing he was just a retailer, but anyways. So the first problem, They tried to charge me $186.81 for my first bill when I was told it would only be $119. after tax. So I walked in, Not upset just confused. He said he would email his boss and get it fixed said that I wouldn’t have a payment till August and everything was good. I even mentioned to him please get rid of the free movie channels because I don’t want a pop up bill because I forgot to cancel the trial. So he said he would…. A week later, MY SERVICE IS SHUT OFF. It isn’t my fault he didn’t do his job yet I was being punished. So I called the 800 number, They credited me, and turned it back on. Everything was great again right? NO! So then I start noticing that my tv is recording things I didn’t record and things I tried to, were gone. Like uh what ???? So I went back in to the store, (second time in the same month) They found two other people on the same account as me!! How does that even happen? idk. So they said they would take the people off and it would only be me, Also said again to shut off the movie channels ( because they were still on there) so I didn’t get charged for them again. Great everything is good again right? LOL no. Then I get a bill around August saying I owe over $200 dollars LIKE WHAT. Apparently he forgot to inform me that two months were going to be in one bill, and I couldn’t get around it. I went to the actual at&t store more than upset just confused about everything. They explained everything and mentioned that the damn movies channels were still on there, so I told them no, please I don’t want them on there. (one of the reasons my bill was high that month) so he had to credit me for those. I don’t like being told one thing and then being tossed around from this company. So I paid the bill and then THIS MONTH rolls around, Somehow the company decides to AUTOMATICALLY take $173. out of my account. First off, didn’t sign up for auto pay, secondly MY BILL ISN’T THAT MUCH. I haven’t had a correct bill amount since starting with this company. So i called this past Monday explaining how upset this is making me and I don’t like all the trouble I have to go through just to have tv and internet. He said he would credit me back my money because what do you know, charging me for movie channels that i continually beg to be taken off and he would pay my bill for the month for $119.. Today I look at my account, still no money, the transaction for 173 has went through and been taken out, my bill hasn’t been paid and I haven’t seen the money they owe me. I called in and the computer tells me I have a past due amount and I need to pay my bill before he can help me. SO I asked for a representative and I was put on hold for 20 min before I decided to give up on talking to anyone human. THIS IS RIDICULOUS…. I am so upset I could cry! my tv hasn’t been fixed, things still record without my power, and if one more month goes by and i’m charged for movie channels, I will go completely crazy. I’m ready to cancel, But I don’t want to be stuck with a $400 fee just because I don’t want to deal with any of this anymore. 🙁 This isn’t all the crap I have dealt with, I’ve had many more phone calls and visits…..

  • Angel

    The first thing that irritated me about DirectTV was them not reusing equipment I already paid for. I don’t think I should have to pay to have new equipment installed when I had that done at the place I recently moved from. Just another way to nickel and dime you. To top it all off when everything was said and done they said they would ship boxes to me so I could ship equipment back to them so they wouldn’t charge me because God forbid I turn in the equipment to the DirectTV office in the city I moved to. Not to mention I was on the phone with several representatives prior to my move and not one of them said I had to turn it in to the office I received it from. I called several times to see where the boxes were and was told each time they were on their way…. right…. They supposedly sent out Fedex boxes that never arrived and they ended up automatically taking the funds out of my account every chance they got so when my account was at $0 and there had been 7 failed attempts at charging my account my back froze my account. Thank you DirecTV. I will never do business with you again nor will I ever recommend you to anyone else.

  • Myra

    Most dishonest company I have ever worked with. Promises made but after installation last week found out what I was promised is not actually included and will need to pay more to get what I was promised. Not happy!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hello Myra,
      Do you have your contract/sign-up in writing? We recommend getting a copy of this if possible to hold the company accountable.

      If you’re thinking about cancelling your DIRECTV just be aware of the following:
      -According to DIRECTV’s terms and conditions “If you cancel your order prior to installation, we will issue a full refund.” so if it’s already installed it may be too late to get a full refund.
      -If you fail to maintain your 24-month programming commitment, you agree that DIRECTV may charge you a prorated fee of up to $480 (or $20 per month remaining).

      Our main piece of advice is to call/email customer service and see if you can get the issue resolved by escalating it to a manager/supervisor, letting them know you believed you were promised one thing but are instead getting another—they’d rather keep your business than lose it, so just let them know getting the original deal (in this case free installation) is how to “make it right.”

  • Dylan Campbell

    The ONLY reason you should ever have Directv is if you want the NFL Sunday Ticket. That’s it. That is the only thing advantage that Directv has over Dish. I was a long time (5 years) customer of Directv. In September 2016 I had a new roof put on my house and needed a simple realignment of the dish after the work was completed. Directv told me when I called on September 21st that they couldn’t have a tech there until October 11th!!! Are you kidding me? Three frickin weeks to get a tech out for a 2 minute job? That’s the start of football season, beginning of the fall lineup, start of MLB playoffs, etc. So I called DISH and they said they could be there in the morning to do the full setup at no charge. I was set up by noon the next day. I was able to get the America’s top 250 package with DISH (best package) on 5 Tvs for $32 less per month than I was paying for the Choice package (middle package) with Directv. $143 vs $111 and my price is guaranteed for 2 years with DISH. Directv will always jack up your rates and then you have to call in and threaten to disconnect your service at which time they will give you some discounts. Despite the fact that Directv would not get a service tech to me for 21 days, they still hit me with a $120 disconnect fee. That’s what you get for 5 years of loyalty to Directv. Dish has better channels, better service, and better features. There is no comparison on the DVR and Joey system compared to Directv. DISH blows Directv out of the water with technology. You also get Netflix directly on the DISH Hopper (you still pay the subscription price) so you don’t need a Bluray or Roku in every room to get Netflix. DISH also has Sirius XM in their channel lineup. I’m getting them for free right now. I’m not sure if that is a permanent deal or not, but that would be another feather in the cap of DISH. Customer service? I get directly to a person within a few minutes when I call DISH. I called Directv yesterday and was on hold for a total of 48 minutes before I got to the person who could solve my minor problem (returning the equipment). The AT&T/Directv merger may have been the worst thing that ever happened to Directv. Their customer service has plummeted and they no longer give a damn about their customers at all. It’s too bad, because I would have never left and found out how much better DISH is if they had just provided the service you would expect from your satellite provider.

  • Candy N Bob Bussiere

    We’ve had Direct TV for 8 years now.. We suspended for 1 year after moving to Washington for a year. We came back to our home.. Had direct TV activated but have had horrible experiences with ALL customer service reps to Supervisors not taking my calls. I finally went to the “cancelation Dept where I spoke with MICHAEL! He not only helped me with EVERYTHING.. But he also helped my son, whose bill changed 3 different times.. Michael even lowered the original lowest bill from a credit noone told my son about from $426 to $166! Micheal was not only was able to explain everything in layman terms, but was the nicest, most understanding rep I’ve spoken to with direct TV. In all honesty Michael should be training all the idiot reps AND supervisors who don’t take your calls! He informed me that the cancelation department is really called the “Customer Loyalty Department”.. And he truly is!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      It’s good to hear that you resolved your problems, sounds like Michael was great about explaining things that industry experts sometimes gloss over. Glad your persistence, along with rep’s understanding, paid off for both you and your son–awesome!

  • Troy Barker

    Absolutely disgusting customer service and professionalism. The installer disconnected and moved my internet modem and home phone from another provider and it was not until after he left did I discover neither worked anymore. Then after getting in touch with my internet provider in attempts to fix the issue I discovered that the DirecTV installer actually broke one of my phone jacks inside the house. When I called direct tv for to cancel all my service due to the complete lack of customer service they provide they tell me it will be $480 because none of my issues were with my direct tv and that even though their installer broke and jacked up my other services, which they did acknowledge they did, they tell me it is not their problem because the tv service works. Again absolutely disgusting and I’ll see you in court.

  • Parker Odoms

    when my contract is up with Direct I am so gone. I have never had a worst experience with a cable company! On my first install I ordered 3 box, however the tech only came with two. Then gives me a AV box, and says just run a spliter off one of the two boxes he did bring. When I realized this would not work, and call direct to re-order the 3rd box they said it would be a $99 charge!!!!

    I moved into a new house, and Direct wanted to charge $199 to transfer the service! After about 3-4 calls the said they would take $50 off, and give me a free 3rd box. What happens? they charged the full $199 which I had to call back to get straight. And when the tech came to do the install, he tells me my free 3rd box would be a one time charge of $89. I call direct to resolved the issue the next day, and had to explain the issue FOUR time to FOUR different people to get that problem straight. So when things finally get to what i thought was the end of this nightmare I am told they would need to charge my card for $99, but it would be credited right back…… Yeah right…. 11 days later the money is still not on my card which brings us to today where I have been on the phone for 47 minutes now. Hate is a strong word which I try not to use, BUT I HAVE TRULY COME TO HATE DIRECT TV’S SERVICE!!!!!!

  • Denise Elizabeth Hunt

    Direct TV promised me a $200 Visa prepaid reward card if I would switch from U-Verse to Direct TV but after 2 months and several hours on the phone getting the run-around, they stated they were out of the reward cards! And when I told them they lied to me and I wanted to cancel my service, they said that I am under a 2 year contract. So they expect me to keep my part of the deal even when they didn’t! I’m so mad!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Sorry to hear that Denise, do you have your original contract in writing (with the inclusion of the $200 Visa prepaid reward card)? If so you should be able to get some sort of direct compensation.

      Just curious, have you tried to find another provider?

      • Denise Elizabeth Hunt

        I would have to look and see if I have anything in writing about the Visa card. I just have my notes of all the things they promised me if I switched back to Direct from U-Verse. And no I have not looked for another provider since I am under a 2 year contract with Direct. The $200 Visa card promotion was actually heavily advertised at the time I signed up to switch back to Direct.

  • Really

    This is the worst company that I have dealt with. They connect your calls to the Philippians and very often the people you speak with cannot speak English very clearly. I had to wait one hour to speak to a manager who spoke broken English. When I did speak to someone in the US the woman was very rude. They increased my bill by 50 percent and did not forewarn me. The discounts I supposedly had ended with no forewarning. Please avoid these people. This is a ruthless company with little morals. They care nothing about their customers.

    • Kara Appel

      Yes I also got outsourced service. I inquired at to why my bill increased by $55 this month and was informed that I had lost $50 in discounts that I was also unaware of. After talking with my sister who has the same package as me I was extremely upset to find out that she pays less than me when she actually has more receivers! I wanted to know what discounts I could get now and they said I was eligible for a $5 discount. I think it may be worth it to get out of our current contract for $220.

      • Really

        They are a group of rude rogues. I wish I had never signed a contract. Never again. Good luck, Kara.

  • Really

    DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE A GROUP OF ROGUES. THEY CARE NOTHING ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS. THEY DO NOT LET YOU KNOW WHEN YOUR DISCOUNTS END AND YOUR BILL WILL DOUBLE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS LIKE TRASH.

  • Kara Appel

    I am a direct tv customer and have been for almost my entire life as my entire family has direct tv. This could be changing very soon. We are diehard Minnesota Vikings fans, however me living out of the state right now prevents me from getting the games. I called to inquire about purchasing 1 game or 1 team for te season and was told that it was impossible. That did not stop them from trying to sell me movie channels at a discount price. I am not a movie fan but a football fan thank you very much. In the past we were able to order one game during the playoffs for $40 when our friends and family were down for the weekend although it was during playoffs. We did this about 4 times in the past. When I informed the gentleman about this on the phone he pretty much called me a liar. I also inquired about getting a discount for ordering nfl ticket late in the season and he said it would be full price even if i ordered it on the last game of the season. This is not a good way to keep customers. As I am no longer in a contract, I will be searching for alternate tv services. Any suggestions?

  • Halem Albright

    I don’t feel like writing a huge letter but they lied to us, ripped us off, Took $700 from us. it took months to get it back and we are still out $250. We just said whatever, it wasn’t worth the ridiculous fight that we would have to continue to put up to get that money back….directv is the absolute worst company I’ve ever had to deal with.

  • breadisalie

    Subpar performance issue during the political season. Haven’t been able to get Fox News Channel and now I can’t even get CNN. We pay for the NFL ticket too and receive service like this. There is not a cloud in the sky either. It has been this way for the last couple of months.

    They have monopolized the NFL coverage and have subversive customer service. I just tried calling here at 7:10am in the morning and was told by the autopilot voicemail I would have to wait until 8:00am. Save your money and don’t go with Direct TV. They will only get better when they have something or someone to get compete with their sports tickets.

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      Did you end up switching to another TV service?

      • breadisalie

        I called to complain and they gave us a small discount. My husband likes the NFL ticket and that is why we have it. Myself, I don’t care for the NFL ticket price or their customer service. To answer your question, no.

        • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

          Yeah, if you want the NFL SUNDAY TICKET, there’s nowhere else to go. It’s a shame.

          If it helps, there are services out there that will call and negotiate with your TV provider on your behalf. I’ve used one myself for negotiating a lower internet bill (I haven’t tried TV yet).

          Also, I’ll do anything to avoid customer service over the phone. I’d recommend online chat next time. It may take just as long, but you can put on a movie or show while you chat (I do it all the time). And you can save the chat transcript for later use, so there’s no “he said she said” type of stuff if the issue never gets resolved.

          • Anthony Franklin

            PLEASE ignore this advice. You do not need a “negotiating service”. I work for Directv and I can tell you how to lower your bill for free. First, if you are in a contract forget it. The only way to save you money at that point is to reduce services. However, if you are out of contract or 2-3 months from the end of your contract, call in and ask if you can negotiate a new contract. We WANT to help you. And now that you are out of your initial contract, any new contract you qualify for will have discounts that last the full duration of the new contract. We are not out to screw you, I promise. We are people and customers too, so as long as you can ride out the second year of your contract and if you are not too greedy or unrealistic in your expectations and finally as long as you get to the loyalty department (the contracts dept.) we will help you to the full extent of our possibility.
            (And as a brief side note, I wish people would quit thinking we will be more helpful if you threaten to leave. If does not work with us. If we have an offer available to you we will apply it. As I mentioned, we want to help you.)

  • Susan Andrews

    Day 1: was charged for a genie go of which was never purchased. The intaller called to tell the company that it was indeed incorrect and to adjust our payments. This never happened. I had to call to ask for the approx. 100 credit back. It was guaranteed to be put back on my card. I called about 3 more times to check if it was as a month want by with no credit. Each representative had no idea what was going on. That told me it was my credit card company. I called my credit card and they said otherwise. Finally after calling directtv again they said they would credit my directtv accou t instead as they admittedly claimed they were wrong. Then, they have me the wrong credit back. I had to call again. Worst company. Also, charges are ambiguous. Our plan was the Choice plan and went up 50 dollars after the first year. Although this is stated in the contract to go up I was unhappy with the specific amount of increase. When I called to ask what we could do they claimed just to downgrade our plan. No other options were provided to us and so we did to save money. My husband then called to see if other options were available, we were told we could get a lower plan and just pay for the sports channels for a small additional amount. (so our introductory rate of 70 would now be 85 with a lower status plan, but at least not 120 of we stayed in the same plan) only to find out that the plan did not provide the sports channels that the man stated. So we had to call back yet again and change to the entertainment package for about 92. I found out the next day that they were charging us 10 more dollars for just this month as we were “in the middle of the month” how can this be possible when our year contract was up at the end of October and I called right away and it is only November 5th! Geez, can you at least spare the 10 bucks for all the call backs we had to make! Unfortunately, we cannot leave the agreement without paying 200 dollars. So, we are left completely unhappy with the plan (paying more than the introductory rate and for a lower status entertainment plan) I have to say, this is the worst place to deal with, I needed to express this on here to everyone. Directtv is not the type of place that tries to make you stay. It is a. Horrible experience.

  • Ginger23

    I am a Cox Communications TV Customer. I have never worked for Cox and don’t know anyone that does. I’ve been caring for an ill friend for over a week at her home. She has (AT&T) Direct TV. Several months ago I cared for another ill friend with (AT&T) Direct TV.
    DIRECT TV IS HORRIBLE compared to Cox (my home TV provider). All cable providers pricing is skyrocketing. Yes, Direct TV pricing is slightly less than Cox. However you pay for lower quality, the lack of efficiency and lack of programming such as with the Direct TV channel guide and channel selection (i.e. repetitively 3 consecutive channels with the identical show). Direct TV may advertise packages with “X” amount of channels or shows, but in all actuality you only receive a small portion of DIFFERENT shows listed on channels. Direct TV doesn’t even BEGIN to compare with Cox! Cox has very easy to use channel guides (including more program information); with Cox only a couple channels go “off the air”, whereas MANY of Direct TV’s channels go”off the air”; Cox Communications works very well and fluidly. Direct TV’s pauses when switching channels, rebooting, skipping, freezing and the reception are frustrating when you’re used to good service.

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Thanks for sharing that with us Ginger,
      It’s unfortunate that your experience with DIRECTV wasn’t very smooth. Sounds like you went through a lot of different hang-ups with the service while you were caring for your friends and that’s gotta be frustrating. Just curious, have they considered changing providers, and if so, to which provider?

      We are glad to hear positive feedback regarding Cox, maybe you could hop over to our review to let our readers know your experience with it (http://www.reviews.org/tv-service/cox-review/).

      Thanks again!

      • Ginger23

        Hi Trevor, I’m replying as you requested. The friend I’m living with now has a life expectancy of only 3-10 days. That service will be cancelled. The other friend (and I) are definitely switching her BACK to Cox when she’s better and my life settles down. She agrees she made a gross error when she took the advice of her newly-built apartment complex management that was promoting Direct TV at the time. In addition, I have another friend who has Direct TV.
        When visiting her I saw the exact same difficulties but I assumed it was either her ineptness, her TV’s, or the fact that there were 2 (legitimate) Direct TV television hook ups in her home. I did not use the TV remote at her house nor change the channels myself there. BTW Trevor, my Cox Cable bill is less than a $10-$15 difference for so MANY more channels and piece of mind.

        • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

          Thank you for your reply Ginger,
          Our thoughts go out to you and your friends.

  • Aimee

    I am right there with John Gabriel. I am a DirecTV customer of 4 years. When I first signed on with them they said I had to sign a 2 year contract. This included 1 year of locked in rates, the 2nd year the price can change of which it did… my plan nor equipment changed. I only lost some channels as they were suddenly no longer part of my plan. They offer all these “discounts” the 1st year which is the price they offer. They hide the fact these are discounts and your plan will jump on your next billing cycle on the 13th month. I moved with my boyfriend to his place. He had the account put in his name as I still owned my home. I moved back to my home, had to reopen an account. They had to set up a new account and BAM…. same thing happened…. here I am now on my 13th month on this new account and SAME THING HAPPENED! BUT WORSE! My house was struck by lightening which fried my cable boxes WHICH WERE LEASED! Nothing I could have done to prevent what mother nature had in store. I had the acct suspended until I was able to purchase new tvs, surround sound system, dvd players whole 9 yards. So my bills were put on hold. Well I got my new bill in and its over double what it was 2 months prior! Why?! I asked. Well ma’am your discounts and rebates ended. Those do not carry over even if you have your account suspended. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Every time I call in its a MINIMUM OF 1 HR conversation…. usually on hold most of the time. This company sucks the consumer dry, has hidden fees and has very poor customer service skills. On top of all this headache with my equipment being damaged they wanted to charge me $49.95 for a tech call to check my lines to make sure everything was fine and dandy. At that time the tech would swap even equipment. EVERYTHING WORKS EXCEPT MY CABLE BOXES NOW! Next issue…. my bill is $120+ where before it was $58 and change 2 months ago…. NOTHING CHANGED on my plan. So I said ok lets check other plans and options…. heres how that went….. right down the pooper!
    1. lets go to the most basic package since I currently have 2 tiers up and paying $120+ now a month…. Ok well thats $60 + your 2 boxes, service fees and taxes TOTAL $103 and change. WHAAAAAAAT?! So I get foreign channels, home shopping shows, no music channels, none of the channels I watch and local channels? Sounds like a deal NOT!!!
    2. Ok let’s go from the DVR main box and a standard box for my 2nd box and go to BOTH standard basic boxes w/out DVR… OK well you will have to pay for both out of pocket… $350+ for both YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME!
    The times I have dealt with this ripoff pos company they can take there scams, lies, and false promises and stick it where the sun doesn’t shine! I have been without cable since SEPTEMBER 17, 2016. NEVER DID THEY OFFER TO SEND NEW WORKING EQUIPMENT AND THEY STILL EXPECT ME TO PAY A MONTHLY BILL WHEN I TOLD THEM THE DAY AFTER THE STORM MY EQUIPMENT BROKE AND ITS UNDER LEASE SO THEY HAVE TO REPLACE FREE OF CHARGE…. I STILL HAVE NO WORKING EQUIPMENT! AND THEY EXCEPT ME TO PAY A DIME!? ARE THEY NUTS?!
    ** The only reason why I gave them another chance this last round was because my area doesn’t offer any other cable services. Two years ago I was just able to switch to satellite internet (Hughs Net again CRAP) to DSL. Well now I am going the antenna route. GUESS WHAT?! I PAID $20.00 for this antenna that stays in my house and its sleek…. I GET A TON OF CHANNELS AND IT COSTS ME $0.00 a month! GOOD BYE DIRECTV! NEVER EVER AGAIN WILL I DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THEM!
    DONT GET SUCKED IN TO THIS COMPANY! YOU WILL REGRET IT UNLESS MONEY MEANS NOTHING TO YOU!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Aimee, thanks for sharing your experience, although it definitely seems like you went through a lot of heartache in the process.

      We hope the antenna route goes well, but if not, be sure to let us know if you switch to another provider and how you like them!

  • John Polanyi

    Direct TV would not let me out of contract even though new apartment wouldn’t allow them in. Horrible customer service experience except one lady but charge still showing up on bill. Do business with them at your own risk and hope you don’t have to move.

  • Six Zero

    I’m absolutely sick of the CONSTANT issue with directv. I live in the sticks, so we are stuck between this terrible service or dish network. So we have crap, and more crap. Think I’m talking about weather? Nope. Equipment is glitchy, recordings don’t happen when they are supposed to, sometimes channels are simply blacked out with no messages or outage issues. Customer service is lacking. Let’s talk about billing issues. Aside from the BS price increases, I’ve been charged for a movie I never ordered on multiple occasions. Lemme tell ya, as soon as I am moved outta this cesspool louisiana, directv is gone. Seeya. You guys are worthless. I have a hard time understanding how you’re still in business.

  • Linsey Nelson

    We have had nothing but billing issues with Direct!! We have auto pay and every month our bill is different. My husband has had to call them every month for almost the past year to get it right and the problem is never fixed! I am beyond frustrated and want to cancel!

    • http://www.reviews.org Scott T.

      Have you tried their chat help yet? I stopped making phone calls and started using chat for help, and I’ll never go back. Plus, you can easily keep a record of your chats (I just save it to the computer). Hope it helps.

  • BIANCA MORELOS

    This is the worst company i have ever delt with . spent three months reschueduling and cacelation on there behalf waisting my time, and stating lies to get by to not do an installation. They dont care about there customers or people wanting there service. I expect my full refund and additional credit do to all the incconvinience they have caused during these three months. But for sure they to cheap to pay anyone for incconvinience but charge to do installation at a high price and up there prices for tv entertainment and dont bother to show up. WORST COMPANY EVER… AT&T need to find somone else to partner up with instead of this idoit company.

  • Tony

    I have been with Direct tv for over 3 years now and I canceled my
    services with them because I was periodically being charged for
    fraudulent charges, They have a different address for where the service
    is being provided which must be a system error on their end. When I
    canceled my service with them I was told that I am obligated to pay the
    cancellation fee which I ended up doing, 2 months pass I get a bill
    from them saying Ive ordered Nfl the day before I cancelled, I asked the
    lady to please take her time to see if I have ever ordered or watched
    such a thing in my history she said no you are correct but still we show
    you owe us 49.99 if you do not pay we will send this into collection!
    This company is a complete rip off and fraud, What can I or should I
    do?

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Tony, that’s unfortunate to hear. Have you tried contacting the Better Business Bureau? Perhaps they can help you address this situation. Keep us updated, especially in the event you find the right person at DIRECTV to talk to, or a third party mediator who resolves your issue.

  • Donna Pena

    My bank decided to update my credit card and since then, dealing with DirectTV to make a payment has been a nightmare. I gave them my new card number and they keep deducting the $40 every month, BUT sending a past due bill to the house. Everytime, I keep asking them to solve the issue, and they keep saying they will to make me go away. I don’t get why it is so hard, the company has the balance I need to pay, they have my card information AND my authorization to take the money. Why do I HAVE to call EVERY MONTH to try to correct the information?

    The latest (and what prompted me to write this review) was when I had to make my monthly call because yet another past due bill was received, and I dealt with a “supervisor Bob,” he was condescending, talking over me, and then he hung up the phone. I had to call back again and when I demanded something be done with this, I was promised that it was going to be escalated. I highly doubt DirectTV will do anything about it, given I’m on month three of my bill nightmare and that doesn’t seem to end.

    The company spends millions of dollars in marketing to attract customers, yet they have a HORRIBLE customer service. I will make sure I tell my friends and family to STAY AWAY from DirectTV. If I had treated a customer the way “Bob” did, I’d be fired. I can’t wait to be done with this company forever.

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Donna, sorry to hear that. It should be as simple as correcting the information in their system, as you said. Just curious how you’ll try to resolve this between then and now, perhaps a more formal letter would be easier to escalate?

      At any rate, keep us updated with your situation and let us know if we (Reviews.org) can help you in the event of finding a new service.

  • kendra

    I hate Directv ever since AT&T took over. Customer service reps are not located in the U.S., so you cannot understand anyone, and they are rude. After not paying my bill and letting them turn my service off, they debited my account automatically without my permission for $990 and wouldn’t refund it no matter what. Said it was my fault for not paying my bill, but I was in the process of talking with them about restarting services. NOT NOW and Not EVER!

    • http://www.reviews.org/ Trevor Wheelwright

      Hey Kendra, curious if that is both Early Termination Fees and some sort of “penalty” fee?

  • randy

    Absolutely hate directv…. I will NEVER GO WITH THEM EVER AGAIN! I hope this company fails. It has gone to crap since AT&T bought it

  • Kristi

    Disgusted by Direct TV. In august, while intensively shopping around for tv/internet bundles, we stumbled on Direct Tv. They advertised TV, 8 Mbps of internet (not a lot, I know but we don’t need much) , and a trial of HBO and showtime with the Sunday NFL package with a free Genie AND mini geni. Their website was hard to navigate through, and every time I visited it seemed like the prices were different or the packages were different, and I much rather talked to a live person, so I called one night and talked to a man for about 20 minutes, he told me the package that included 8mbps and tv plus other stuff would be around $90. I got all the details and he was very detailed and polite. I’m very specific when I ask questions, and I ask the same questions multiple times to make sure there’s no confusion and that what they’re saying matches up. I told him thanks and that I would talk to my husband when he got home. We discussed it and the next day I was at work, my husband called Direct Tv confirming questions and talked to a different agent and the price changed to $79. He was excited and when I got home that night we sat down to call Direct TV to set up our bundle. This time we got a new representative. Confirming that our bundle would be tv, 8mbps internet, NFL Sunday package, free genies and trial of HBO. However the price he told us was $89, so it was different but matched up similar to one of the first agents I talked to, and with not a big increase in price, we weren’t too worried about it, so we started the process to set up internet and cable. I was on the phone with this agent for approximately 30+ minutes. I literally asked him “if there were any hidden costs.” And he then told me about a $9 router charge if we rented through them and that after a year the price will rise a lot. I asked so many questions that that particular agent was getting annoyed, but if I’m buying something I try and make sure everything will match up. I even asked him the connection fees and what our first bill total would be. I paid $19.95ish on the phone to him so we would be able to have them come out to set up on tv. Then he set up the , Century Link, internet to come out Friday. We’re an active couple and are hardly home. I work full time and the other part I try and tend to my Dad who’s in the hospital, so like encouraged by Direct TV I pay my bills online. First complaint is their their billing is very confusing. They have all these extra charges and no description of what they are. They purposely try and be as vague as they can. After several problems with our bills and hidden fees (like they failed to tell us although the Genies were free there’s a $7.99 genie monthly fee, so we pay $16/mo for genies, which we cancelled one because of finding that out. ). So I’m paying my bundle online with Direct TV, who were the ones to set up my service and bundles. I notice that there’s a $53.99 charge for HBO, my husband called twice to cancel. They never cancelled. So I called Direct tv and cancelled HBO. They refunded me $30 odd dollars, even though we were charged 53.99 and tried on several attempts to try and cancel. They said that my husband wasnt qualified to cancel, even though we gave all his information while signing up with Direct tv, they never recorded it. After finally getting a chance to look at my paper mail, i see that century link is billing me for internet services. While I’m on the phone with Direct TV for another problem, I ask the agent why I’m getting two different bills for a bundle, he said call century link. I call Century Link and he’s very confused and polite. He takes a while to talk to his supervisors and then comes and tells me that Direct TV never did their job for the bundle, and that all they provided to Century Link was an account number for my Direct TV account, so with the suggestion of his supervisors he actually starts a conference call with me, Century Link, and Direct TV to try and find out why I’m getting charged twice by both companies. The ladies from Direct TV, Kristina and later a supervisor named Latonya, was rude. She told me that the bundle never included internet. First off….if a bundle doesn’t include internet or phone, then how is it a bundle? She then said that the price was never $89 when it included internet. I talked to SEVERAL agents prior, during and after signing up with Direct TV and they all said the bundle included internet (hence the word bundle) for $79-$89 (price changed a lot, depending who you were talking to but all around that ball park). She then kept referencing to the paper mail. I told her that my father is in the hospital and that I’ve been paying my bill online with Direct tv and viewing my account online, so I have don’t have regular access to my paper bill. She said no where does the bill say internet. That’s when I got upset, their terms on DIRECT TV billing is so vague “XTRA” is literally the word next to my amount I’m being charged. No description of what that word means. How does a customer know what the made up term “Xtra” includes or not? I assumed it wasn’t just one thing (tv), that it was my bundle and that the “Xtra” referenced the internet you know, the EXTRA stuff. I told her despite not being able to understand the made up terminology on the bills, it was the several Direct TV agents that confirmed that internet was included. I even had a conversation with the agent I signed up for on how many devices I could use on 8 Mbps, so all of them saying internet included was not accidental. I even told her that I’m not mad that the internet is not included, I’ll cancel that. I’m not trying to get it at that price if it isn’t that price. I just the prior difference waived because I was told $89 and now all together it’s about $178 a month. That’s a very big difference. I’m upset that I’m being charged separately when I was TOLD by several qualified Direct TV agents and yet she is saying I should not listen to Direct TV agents, that I should not pay attention to the online billing, that I should not pay attention to the online account with Direct TV or with Century Link but I should pay attention to the paper mail at my house that doesn’t list internet. All it says is the term “Xtra”. Then it changed to that the account was never bundled and I was supposed to calll Century Link and my telco provider to set everything up, but she added even if it was bundled I would be billed separately and that it would only take $5 off of each service so it would literally still be like $180 a month. That was literally her argument. What’s the purpose of a bundle if it only includes tv and then YOU have to call all these companies and set up service and even when you do that it’s still billed separately and the price doesn’t change. Working in customer service, the customer might not always be right. But don’t try and treat them as a inconvenience when I was repeatedly lied to. When I told her I wasnt upset at her I’m upset at the company. I know she wasn’t the one of several that so poorly misinformed me but I want the service cut off because I can’t afford that $180 a month instead of $79-$89 a month that I was told. (like I said now that I know this price , I’m not trying to get it for less, I just want to cancel. ) She then told me she can do that but it will charge me $20 aMONTH FOR TWO YEARS for breaking the contract, plus the extra 100s of what I owe Century Link because I didn’t know that my bundled was just tv so I was just paying trough Direct tv, Direct tv is also the one who had Century Link come out to install my internet so I had no idea I needed to communicate with them. I did get irritated, I told her I was lied to! How is this my fault? That I just rather talk to someone else that can help me get the two years 20/ month cancellation waived since I was so misinformed. SHE literally said “Well you had 30 days to cancel before the contract started” and where was this information? it was not told to me. I then asked her how was I supposed to know all of this wasn’t bundled , I trusted the agents and my online accounts. She replied “if you looked at your paper mail from Direct tv and Century Link you could’ve noticed this problem earlier.” I started crying because I had told her at the beginning of the call that my dad was in the hospital and I didn’t have access to my home mail, but I checked my online mail and accounts regularly. She was so irritated at me for crying – and after not just her but a few irritated employees I can see that this is a trend from Direct tv. Theyre so nice to you before you buy, and then any problem you have after you purchase, even if the fault is theirs, you’re treated like a liar. She said that “since you say you were SUPPOSEDLY told a different price, she would pass my story on to account services.” When asked If could talk to them, she said no. I asked for a number to call them she said I couldn’t call them that they would call me. When asked for a number or area code so I could recognize the number to answer and make sure I didn’t miss it she didn’t give me one. At my job, we sell Direct TV and dish satellite antennas. I’ll be sure to let everyone know how Direct TV treated me, most customers set up home service after they get the satellites so although me personally stopping Direct TV won’t affect them financially , the THOUSANDS of traveling customers (we get a lot of canadians as snow bird and travelers from the northeastern seaboard) that I have influence over to suggest dish over Direct will have a huge impact. We also live in the house and football and tailgating is huge money business, I’ll definitely be selling the dish satellites and pass the word on to save everyone the trouble from not being harassed by Direct TV.

  • Casey Matthews

    Honestly, I used to be extremely mad at DirecTV, but after reading through a great number of these comments, I am now just incredibly sad that this joke of a company has ripped off this many people.
    I really don’t know what to add to this thread. I’ve read almost verbatim what has happened to me over and over and over again in these comments.
    The customer service is atrocious! (Rude, condescending, inconsiderate, called me a liar, double-talked me, lied to me, insinuated that I cannot do basic math, I can keep going…)
    The billing is unreliable! (Changed monthly yet NO statements were provided so I have no idea exactly what I was paying for other than for them to be rude to me when I called in.)
    The tech support is an utter joke! (Seriously, the “input” button quit on one of my remotes and they wanted to send a tech out to “identify the problem”. Ha! I told them the problem and they didn’t believe me.)
    The final straw was when I rearranged my living room and they were going to have to send a tech out because I “disrupted” the shwm? (they pronounce it “schwim”). Apparently, only a tech can fix this or so I’m told.
    I have never paid an early termination fee to get out of a contract, but I was just THAT unhappy with these con artists. I’m becoming more and more convinced that the only way they are able to stay in business is off of collecting consumers’ early termination fees. Despite being unhappy within days of installation, I toughed it out for 14 months before I was just sick of paying for a “service” that only caused frustration, stress, aggravation, and contributed NOTHING to my household.
    Please, please, PLEASE reconsider giving this company your business as they are only nice until they’ve got your signature on the dotted line and they will say ANYTHING to get that signature.
    I, too, was told that my package included internet, but when I called about it a few days after installation, the CS rep was adamant that this was not a service they even provided. I was treated as though I belonged in a looney bin for even suggesting that they had internet as a service.
    Simply a horrible, horrible, miserable experience that I would like to spare as many people from as possible.

  • Erin Hill

    Help! DirecTV has been charging me for the NFL ticket without my asking or consenting to this. I have tried multiple times now to get it cancelled and to be reimbursed the $269.94 owed to me. I keep getting told they can do nothing for me. Does anyone have advice on how to handle this?

  • Rebecca Reno

    HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!!! They sign you up under false contracts, they over charge unless you get their low rate internet or buy movie packs, when they don’t send your bill they penalize you for it not being sent, they threaten to turn off service if you ask to talk to higher up then supervisor, and it gets worse half people who anwser phone in representative department you can not understand or they hang up on you and do not fix issues. Save your money and don’t sign up with direct tv there are other companies or options more affordable and better customer care service. I was told by a rep I was put in false agreement they were gonna raise Bill $40+ and when I asked to speak higher they said there is no one higher we don’t want your service then said they were gonna cancel service at my cost. Bad company I paid every Bill least they could do is stop ripping off customers and get better company morals.

  • Karina calderon

    Just got off the phone with a representative (Paul) and by far the worse you can even tell by the tone of his voice he didn’t even care! I switched Comcast to this because of the pricing and the deal of having the same amount being charged for 2 years! Not 12 months they never once mentioned that! I even asked multiple times it’s for two years and they assured me yes ! But they sure Lied! I know it wasn’t Paul’s fault of the issue but he didn’t even try to find another solution at all! All I said I will be cancelling this service and not even going to argue with you but just plain rude and not even caring it’s called customer service do something or quit your job! I wish they would have honored what I was told over the phone! Even an att person told me that my biggest mistake was getting direct tv over the phone now that’s sad. But I will be switching providers in the next couple of days !

  • Denise Davidson Mistich

    Disconnected 3 times while trying to establish service. Was not told up front that I have to purchase additional AT&T services after one year in order to keep the price guarantee – which is no price guarantee at all. Took three phone calls to cancel my order. Bad, bad, bad.